Reviews of Maramba River Lodge 3 stars
Mosi-O-Tunya Road, 10101 Livingstone, Zambia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Assisi, Italy
Okayama, Japan
Llandefeilog, United Kingdom
Arenys de Mar, Spain
Jambiani, Tanzania
Skopje, North Macedonia
Nice, France
Taipei, Taiwan
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewone good barman, nice river view
We made our only mistake in our trip around Zambia by booking this hotel/unit. The place sounded good and was a decent price for an air-conditioned, supposedly glam tent, near the river, with restaurant etc. We expected more of a boutique hotel – instead we got a large, crowded and noisy hotel with little atmosphere. The restaurant typified the place. We sat outside on the terrace and basically had to go to the bar to order our wine, return later to pick up the wine and glasses, go back to order our food from the barman, then wait for around an hour for our mediocre food ( overcooked/inedible Bream, an OK beef curry). We did see the odd waiter but( we found out a little later) service charge of 10% was included automatically in your check and was not optional, so if the waiting staff were invisible or huddled together chatting they got a tip anyway. The barman was great and worked as hard as he could making up for the distracted/invisible serving staff, but he was trapped behind the bar and he couldn’t speed up the cooking of the food( they also seem to cater for large corporates and kids groups, so not so much a boutique hotel as a large canteen with garden units attached?) We got the service charge removed after an awkward discussion at check-out, but you want a nice experience in a town with 50 plus good accommodation options, not a broody and sad conversation at check-out. We booked eight different hotels and lodges in Zambia and this was the only disappointing one. Avoid this one – there are so many better options in Livingstone and near the falls.
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGem of a place. Quiet, clean, excellent well trained staff set in serene surroundings.
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful location - especially the river. Hippos visiting my tent at night and lots of elephants roaming around freely. Loved the tent.
Mosquitoes! Restaurant was disappointing. Because of the location, a car is necessary.
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewWe had a beautifull stay at Maramba. Perfect location for everything related to the falls.
No musquito nets available in the luxury tents...
Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast and Dinner was good.
A few more options for dinner On one of the days, we needed to leave early (7am) for a tour. Breakfast was not ready at that time (continental section was not laid out). We ordered our english breakfast but came 6.50 which means we had to rush to eat and didnt have time to finish our tea/coffee (we were there at 6.30 yet were told that breakfast is served from 6am). We also mentioned that we have a pickup at 7am.
Reviewed: 25 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful grounds and location
Nothing to not like
Dear Meleita It was nice having you as our guest. We appreciate your positive feedback this helps us Know if are doing well or not. Looking forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Reviewed: 10 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful location along one of the side rivers of the Zambezi and very quiet. You can see hippos and crocodile along the river from the restaurant and pool area. The staff at the restaurant was very kind and friendly. The beds in our tent were comfortable and warm (as nights were quite cold) and we had an AC in the room that also had a heating option. While there's lots of mosquitoes in Livingstone, the property did not have many so we slept well.
Overall, the service was really below expectations - especially at the reception. We struggled to organise activities and get support when asking for information so we used another company for 95% of the activities we planned. The toilet had none of the amenities it was meant to (e.g. shampoo/conditioner, body lotion..etc.) - we had 1 body wash which we had to move between the sink and the shower, so we asked for an extra one that was not provided to us. Our tent did not have a toilet curtain/door and only an outdoor shower, which is not ideal in the morning and at night when it's quite cold. Our sink tap was leaking and the toilet wasn't flushing properly. We did raise this hoping it could be fixed but we could only move room so decided to stay to avoid having to re-pack everything. The tent was not well cleaned, we had drawers with food and chargers inside, hair under the bed..etc. The food at the restaurant is quite basic, wouldn't recommend it for dinner/lunch and the breakfast is quite basic. We decided to do an early check out (a day prior our original intended departure date) and informed the reception a day prior but at check out, the reception staff provided us with the bill with 1 less night than what we had originally booked with the same total price without highlighting this to us. Luckily we noticed and asked to amend it to keep the same night rate to avoid paying for 5 nights having slept there for 4. We thought it was quite unprofessional not to tell us but simply update the number of nights in the invoice.
Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe WiFi connection was really bad for the rooms you could only get good WiFi connection from the restaurant, bar and the reception but not for the rooms. Otherwise everything was good apart from the WiFi
Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewLIKED EVERYHING STAFF WAS FRIENDLY, FOOD WAS GOOD!! LOVED MY TENT.
NOTHING!! I LIKED EVERYTHING
Reviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe welcome at the reception was amazing, the entire staff at the lodge was exceptional. The scenery was breathtaking and peaceful. A visit is underway
Nothing
Thank you for your wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again.
Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, friendly staff. Restaurant and Bar areas are great for watching wildlife on the river.
Dear Kathrin Thank you for your wonderful review, We are glad you had a nice stay.
Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewStaff was friendly and helpfull.
Wifi was off most of the time. Steak was not eatable.
Dear Petrus Apologies for the challenges that you had with the wifi and the steak which you were not able to eat. Your feedback helps us to know the areas that needs to be worked on and Improved. Thank you so much.
Reviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewBeautiful gardens, close to nature, comfortable accommodation.
Dear Mariaan It was so nice hosting you here at maramba river lodge and we are very Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Staff were Knowledgeable and friendly and that you had comfortable accommodation. Your feedback helps us to Know if we meet our Guests expectations or if we need to improve. Thank you.
Dear Mariaan It was so nice hosting you here at maramba river lodge and we are very Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Staff were Knowledgeable and friendly and that you had comfortable accommodation. Your feedback helps us t… Show more
Reviewed: 14 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewBreakfast location was truly amazing. Who could ask for better than an amazing, cooked breakfast overlooking the river while elephants frolic in the water!?
Nothing at all
Dear Julie Thank you for your feedback its great to hear that you enjoyed the cooked breakfast and your stay with us. This helps us now if we are reaching up to our guest expectations.
Reviewed: 12 August 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewVery comfortable stay. Lovely clean well looked after lodges. Everyone was very helpful and friendly. The view of the animals onsite and across the river. The food was amazing and large portions. Definitely enjoyed our stay.
Dear Deborah It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, food was amazing, staff was helpful and friendly. This helps us now if we are reaching up to our guest expectations. Thank you.
Reviewed: 18 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewLovely pool and breakfast.. enjoyed watching the hippos and monkeys
Very quiet in no the evening, not a great dinner atmosphere. Power outages. It would have been nice to have been offered a better room as it was our honeymoon and there was lots of empty cabins/tents.