8.9

Reviews of Laragh-on-Hogsback

1 Orchard Lane, 5721 Hogsback, South Africa

  • Michael

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely large rambling garden property with privacy close to the main road.

  • Ashleigh

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Thumeka

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The cottage was very cozy and well equipped. The Host Norman was very friendly and attentive. The property is on a nice quite street.

    Nothing

  • See the property
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Excellent location, friendly host, the cabin was cosy and well stocked. It was a cold weekend and the woodstove did a great job heating up the living area.

    Wifi was slow, but not unexpected given the remote location of Hogsback

  • Julie

    Reviewed: 18 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    We absolutely loved our stay in Yellow Wood Cottage. The accommodation was comfortable and cosy and set in a large and beautiful garden. The wood burner and electric blankets kept us toasty warm and the bed was truly one of the comfiest I have slept in outside of my own home. Everything was clean and the cottage was well appointed. We would love to return.

    Leaving!

  • Monica

    Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Juliet

    Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Took a wrong turn, drove for an hour on a bad gravel road,but the hostswere patiently assisting me with directions

  • Busisa

    Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Diane

    Reviewed: 22 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Carl

    Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Great fire place. Kitchen well equipped

  • Le

    Reviewed: 30 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Cillie

    Reviewed: 27 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Open airy feel of the house and the garden

    Unfortunately the main road runs right in front of the property. Trucks are loud coming past. Bathroom heater did not work as well as Wi-Fi (they did try hard to get it up and running.)

  • See the property
  • Babalwa

    Reviewed: 26 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The place is cozy, warm and inviting. The hosts are incredible, nothing too much to ask. Loved the place...I will definitely be back!

  • Lizeka

    Reviewed: 11 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The hosts were accommodating, and added an extra bed when our party grew. Every bed had an electric blanket, even the extra bed, which was fantastic because it is cold in the mountains. There was also a fireplace and firwood to stave off the cold.

    The WiFi was as good as non-existent, that's how bad it was. It only worked somewhat on the evening of our arrival. For the next two days it would not even show. The temperature for the hot water was set too low for our comfort. The door lock for the bedroom would jam and we would struggle to open it. This was very scary at first as the person thought she had been locked in. It would disturb others, for example, if one was trying to open the door to go to the bathroom at night. The solution was to leave it open, which meant no privacy for anyone.

    Property response:

    Hi Lizeka Thanks for your valuable feedback. It is disappointing that you did not contact us about the challenges you experienced during your stay - all of these could have been easily addressed. Except for the WiFi connectivity which is beyond our control. The WiFi is usually good at 10-12 Mbps and we subscribe to 2 different network providers. Regrettably, recently both service providers have not delivered their usual service levels. Our options are very limited. We are pleased that you enjoyed the fireplace and electric blankets. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

    Hi Lizeka Thanks for your valuable feedback. It is disappointing that you did not contact us about the challenges you experienced during your stay - all of these could have been easily addressed. Except for the WiFi connectivity which is b… Show more

    Laragh-on-Hogsback
    13 May 2025
  • Alice

    Reviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Close to the center, in a quiet, huge park with magnificent trees. Spacious challet and bathtjb and nice little fireplace. Lovely welcoming hosts, although the humongous ridgeback are not used to children and must be watched when in the park!

    The mold on the wall and smell is not too bad but enough to be a concern. The double mattress is old and deep to the center.

  • See the property
  • Zintle

    Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The space was comfortable,lovely, clean and beautiful. The fireplace and the heater in the bathroom made the stay more pleasant

    There was no iron in the cottage

  • Matthew

    Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Johan

    Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    I am sure this cottages could be a nice retreat for staying over for a longer time span than overnight accommodation.

    The bathroom was cold. Although there was an heater on the wall it did not worked. The tv presented a problem but the owner repaired the problem. The roads to the property was due to the rain not in a good shape

    Property response:

    Hi Johan Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your overnight stay with us. The smart TV can be a bit challenging because of technology. The bathroom heater does work, so not sure what happened, which is why we always ask our guests to contact us - usually this kind of issue is simple to resolve. We hope to see you back for a longer stay next time.

    Hi Johan Thanks for taking the time to give us feedback on your overnight stay with us. The smart TV can be a bit challenging because of technology. The bathroom heater does work, so not sure what happened, which is why we always ask our g… Show more

    Laragh-on-Hogsback
    9 May 2025
  • See the property
  • Natalie

    Reviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely peaceful location.

  • Fiona

    Reviewed: 13 March 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
    Property response:

    Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us, Fiona. We are pleased you gave us full marks for cleanliness, comfort, location, facilities, staff, and value for money. Your feedback on further ways to improve would be most helpful.

    Laragh-on-Hogsback
    21 March 2025
  • Thando

    Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    There was mold in the bedroom .. just next to the bed.the mat in the lounge was dusty . You can tell hasn’t been cleaned in a long time .

  • See the property
  • Lance

    Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Wonderful big garden. Cottage is equipped with everything you need.

    The rain

  • Bert

    Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Goldblum

    Reviewed: 12 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Great location! We felt securely nestled in the serene splendor of our surroundings. Central to all Hogsback has to offer. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely return soon. Cyclist and teenager friendly too.

    I cannot say, we were most impressed.

  • See the property
  • Lizwi

    Reviewed: 31 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Not applicable

  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Etara 1 & 2 Complex

Sveti Vlas, Bulgaria

Hotel Römerhof

Bingen am Rhein, Germany

Red Roof Inn San Antonio Airport

San Antonio, United States

Baeren Ostermundigen

Bern, Switzerland

Grey Fox Inn

Stowe, United States

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...