Reviews of The Frederiksted Hotel 3 stars
442 Strand Street, 00840 Frederiksted, US Virgin Islands

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
London, United Kingdom
Abraão, Brazil
Egerszalók, Hungary
Baile Felix, Romania
Martina Franca, Italy
Königsbrunn, Germany
Santa Teresa Beach, Costa Rica
Alanya, Turkey
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBREAKFAST
NO ELEVATOR
Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 June 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewI love staying here!!😁
We love having you! Please keep coming!
Reviewed: 5 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe Frederiksted Hotel is in an excellent location for easy walking to restaurants, shopping, and the pier for water activities. The small window a/c unit did a great job keeping my room cool, reducing humidity, and drowning out any noises. The staff were very friendly, helpful, and accommodating.
I was in a farthest room for hot water. I learned to let the hot water run a bit (wasteful) in order to have a warm shower. The mattress was softer than I like. I didn't have pleasant view through my window. I didn't like that I couldn't get breakfast (anywhere!) until something opened at 8:00 AM. I'm an early riser and like to fuel up before I do an 8:30 AM or later activity. There's a cash-only breakfast restuarant on the ground floor that opens at 8:00 AM. By the time it opens and you get your order in, it can be 8:45 AM before you get your food. I solved this by getting breakfast items for my room from a grocery store a few streets over.
Thank you so much for your review. We do have a breakfast spot around the corner that opens at 6 a.m. Wish we knew you were an early riser and would have sent you there, so sorry! Happy to see you had a wonderful time! Thank you for your review and stay. Come back any time!
Thank you so much for your review. We do have a breakfast spot around the corner that opens at 6 a.m. Wish we knew you were an early riser and would have sent you there, so sorry! Happy to see you had a wonderful time! Thank you for your… Show more
Reviewed: 27 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe staff was amazing, the hotel price was a good deal. I want to thank MeMe, Veronica, & Coya they were very accommodating to our every needs. Made us us feel very welcomed.I will definitely visit here again. Thanks Ladies
The only thing that I didnt like was on day 3 we saw a few bugs in our room but the staff upgraded our room with no extra charge, they were very apologic & accommodating, so I'm not Gona give a bad review because I'm on an island so no telling what kind of bugs & creatures you will see.
Customer service is so important to us that you have the best experience! Thank you so much for the review and we hope to accommodate you again!
Reviewed: 21 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe staff was very friendly & quick to respond to any questions or needs. Victoria at the front desk was especially pleasant & helpful. The room was comfortable. The hotel had a perfect downtown/ocean front location & we always felt safe. coming & going. Parking was very easy & we never had to park more than a few feet from the entry.
The restaurant was closed the week we were there, so that was kind of a shame. It is an older hotel so not the most modern facilities, but it was comfortable. There is no elevator so just be prepared to climb stairs. with your luggage.
Thank you so much for staying and your review, Nelda! Maybe upon your return we will have an elevator that we anticipate on getting. Fingers crossed! The lady that owns the restaurant happen to be on her annual vacay and I am so sorry you missed her. I hope you got to enjoy all the other places in walking distance. Thanks again!
Thank you so much for staying and your review, Nelda! Maybe upon your return we will have an elevator that we anticipate on getting. Fingers crossed! The lady that owns the restaurant happen to be on her annual vacay and I am so sorry you m… Show more
Reviewed: 21 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe facility was very clean & good price, staff was so friendly
The water pressure in the shower was super low barely came out but the water was hot
Thank you so much for staying! Wish I knew about your pressure so we could have fixed it for you. Probably just a quick shower head change. Please come back in the near future!
Reviewed: 18 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewOur plane got cancelled so we booked the hotel at the last minute, and we were glad to get a room. We had minimal time in the hotel. The reception area was clean and efficient and the staff member was very positive. The room had a little kitchenette that we didn't use, but it would have been nice if we were staying longer.
The double or full size bed was ok. but it kind of sunk toward the middle, but it worked out ok for our one, short night needs.
Thank you, Paul! Hope your last flight was less stressful. Hope you can visit the island once again and you can come stay with us. We have some new super comfy kings you won't want to get out of!
Reviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGreat restaurant, great location.
I could hear conversations in the hallway from my room.
Thank you for staying and your review. We are under new ownership and making all kinds of changes and one happens to be replacing the window louvers to eliminate noise. The new windows are on the way! Come back and stay with us!
Reviewed: 18 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe property was very clean and right across from the ocean. The view was beautiful. The 2 women that ran the front desk were very polite and helpful. Overall the property was exceptional.
The room we stayed in was the King size bed on the 2nd floor. The view was amazing. The court yard is a neat area also. Breakfast is delicious and priced very well.
Reviewed: 14 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewExactly what I was looking for on the main beachfront street. Loved the balcony room
Thanks so much, Sharon! We hope to have you back! Call us for promos!
Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGreat location to downtown Frederiksted; onsite restaurant is only open 8-11 for breakfast and cash only, that said it was very reasonably priced and good food. Several area restaurants, but some are closed on certain days, some are only "bar" food. Good ones were the Flyer at the Victoria House and 69 hidden behind a dive shop near the pier. 2 "grocery" stores nearby - one is like a gas station convenience store; the other was slightly larger but limited selection.
Kitchenette has a frig, and stove and microwave, but no cooking utensils. Dishes to have a bowl of cereal were borrowed from the community kitchen and no kitchen sink. Other rooms had kitchen sinks, but no stove. no one had utensils. This location does not have a pool, the pool is a couple blocks down and is $25 for a pass.
Thank you Laura! Yes we only have 4 rooms with gas stoves we offer. I am happy you took advantage of the community kitchen. We hope to have you back!
Reviewed: 12 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe staff were great, location is central and lovely. Room was clean and comfortable.
The place is a bit dated, and the water pressure was not great.
Thanks so much Katherine! We have new owners so we are working on updates daily. Please return in the future and see all the amazing things we update!
Reviewed: 31 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewBedding, towels were old and had been used excessively. The sheets were yellow and I felt there were bedbugs! The floors are old and the overall sense was of dirty/old items. For the price, I was expecting at a minimum cleanliness
Thank you Noemi for your review. A little confused about the linens because they are dark grey and brand new. We have new ownership so we are adding new and updating every day. We hope you return and give it a second chance as we make all the positive changes.
Thank you Noemi for your review. A little confused about the linens because they are dark grey and brand new. We have new ownership so we are adding new and updating every day. We hope you return and give it a second chance as we make al… Show more
Reviewed: 29 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewLooks better in the pictures. Stained floors, poor ventilation, overall not a high quality stay.
Thank you so much!
Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe location and view was tremendous. Staff was very responsive. The staff went out of the way to ensure my after hours check in went flawlessly. Restaurants in comfortable walking distance. Very friendly atmosphere
I dislike the cavalier attitude of the government authorities. Something should be done in governance. It is hard to believe that this Island is governed by the United States of America. Roads could also be improved.
Awesome, thank you so so much!
Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThe balcony faced the ocean, so that was good. There is an awesome breakfast place downstairs. Location of Hotel was ideal for us. Also want to add, the staff was the very best!! They were very flexible and responsive!
Although hotel was clean, there was a dead bug squashed in the corner of one of the draws. There are gaping spaces in door so was always concerned something would crawl in. Water was never hot...only tepid..Otherwise, no other issues.
Thank you for your review and Happy Holidays!