Reviews of SureStay Hotel by Best Western Chula Vista San Diego Bay 3 stars
699 E Street, Chula Vista, CA 91910, United States

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Lavasa, India
Possidi, Greece
Campbellsville, United States
Fort Pierce, United States
Aggius, Italy
Montreuil-Bellay, France
Eggersdorf, Germany
Tbilisi City, Georgia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewall great!!!
Dear Cristina, Wow! Thank you for your amazing review! We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay with us. Your kind words inspire us to keep delivering exceptional experiences. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStaff was nice
There was a strong chemical smell, almost like an air freshener, it burned our noses
Dear Almendra, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to hear that you found the staff to be nice. We truly apologize for the strong chemical smell you experienced during your stay. Your comments are valuable, and we will be looking into this matter to ensure a more comfortable environment for our guests in the future.
Dear Almendra, Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's great to hear that you found the staff to be nice. We truly apologize for the strong chemical smell you experienced during your stay. Your comments are valuable, and we will be lo… Show more
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLarge rooms, location close to restaurants and bars Breakfast was nice.
It was all good
Dear Jackson, Thank you for sharing your thoughts! It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the spacious rooms and the convenient location, as well as the breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon!
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGood location, great restaurants nearby. Close to trolley.
Breakfast options limited.
Dear Alan, Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay and appreciated the location along with nearby dining options. Your feedback regarding breakfast options is noted, and we will look into ways to improve. We hope to welcome you back again soon!
Dear Alan, Thank you for sharing your experience! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your overnight stay and appreciated the location along with nearby dining options. Your feedback regarding breakfast options is noted, and we will look into wa… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewClose to the train station
Dear Alessandra, Wow! Thank you for your amazing review! We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay with us. Your kind words inspire us to keep delivering exceptional experiences. We can’t wait to welcome you back soon!
Dear Alessandra, Wow! Thank you for your amazing review! We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had a perfect stay with us. Your kind words inspire us to keep delivering exceptional experiences. We can’t wait to welcome you back soo… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location for our event . We go to shows at the Amphitheater and this works well.
The shower/tub was extremely slippery and my wife had a scary experience that could have been really bad. She’s doing ok but the tub needs grip strips . I told the front desk and the gal with the Russian accent was not helpful and she said that she was aware of the issue. I explained that management needs to be informed. It was our wedding anniversary and we had a nice stay. Someone will get hurt if this is not addressed.
Dear Rick, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you loved the location and enjoyed your stay for your wedding anniversary. However, we are truly sorry to learn about the slippery shower/tub and your wife's experience. Your concern is noted, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention for further action. Safety is a priority, and we will ensure that this matter is addressed. Thank you for your input, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Dear Rick, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're glad to hear that you loved the location and enjoyed your stay for your wedding anniversary. However, we are truly sorry to learn about the slippery shower/tub and your wife'… Show more
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBeds were comfortable Air conditioner worked well
Stained and slippery bathtub Rooms are small and outdated Has table but no chairs Parking was limited Breakfast was mediocre at best, very disappointing
Hi Karen, We are glad to hear that you found the beds comfortable and the air conditioner effective. However, we apologise for the issues with the bathtub, room size, and the limited parking. We also understand your disappointment with the breakfast and will review this to improve the quality in the future. Your input is important to us, and we’ll work to address these concerns to provide a better experience for our guests. We appreciate you bringing these matters to our attention.
Hi Karen, We are glad to hear that you found the beds comfortable and the air conditioner effective. However, we apologise for the issues with the bathtub, room size, and the limited parking. We also understand your disappointment with the… Show more
Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe rooms have been upgraded and felt comfortable and clean.. staff was kind and considerate and very fair booking price.... Will stay again
Obviously the place is being rehabbed so hopefully the outside concrete paths and stairways will be cleaned up Considering the area, we felt safe and it really was quiet on the second floor The only negative was the stairs.. be careful, they are old and extremely steep.. I reinjured my knee through no one's fault but the steepness forces much weight on each limb
Hi Marilyn, We are so glad to hear that you found the rooms comfortable, clean, and well-priced, and that the staff made a positive impression with their kindness and consideration. It’s great to know you felt safe and enjoyed the quiet atmosphere on the second floor. We appreciate you bringing the condition of the stairs to our attention. We will certainly take a closer look at them as part of the ongoing renovations to ensure a safer experience for all guests. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope your knee heals quickly!
Hi Marilyn, We are so glad to hear that you found the rooms comfortable, clean, and well-priced, and that the staff made a positive impression with their kindness and consideration. It’s great to know you felt safe and enjoyed the quiet at… Show more
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe rooms are very comfortable and clean.
Hi Raul, Thank you for your 10-star rating! We are thrilled to hear that you found the rooms comfortable and clean, and that you felt the price offered great value. We always strive to provide a pleasant experience for our guests. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay!
Hi Raul, Thank you for your 10-star rating! We are thrilled to hear that you found the rooms comfortable and clean, and that you felt the price offered great value. We always strive to provide a pleasant experience for our guests. We hope … Show more
Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewIt is a nice motel, ideally located just outside San Diego but surrounded by restaurants and across the street from the Trolley Station.. Small but nice pool. Decent size and clean rooms. The staff is friendly.
Room cleaning only every other day.
Dear Guest, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, and friendly staff during your stay. It’s also great to know that you found the pool and rooms to be nice and comfortable. We appreciate your note about room cleaning every other day. We will consider this as we work to improve our services for future stays. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back soon!
Dear Guest, We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, and friendly staff during your stay. It’s also great to know that you found the pool and rooms to be nice and comfortable. We appreciate your note about room clean… Show more
Reviewed: 29 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewSHAMPOO , CONDITIONER. DOORDASH , MICRO, AIR CONDITION STRONG,
NO IRON
Hi Alex, Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed the strong air conditioning, the provided toiletries, the convenience of a microwave, and easy access to DoorDash; those are all amenities we are glad you found useful during your stay. However, we do apologise that an iron was not available in your room. We understand how important that can be for guests, especially during longer stays or for business travel. Your feedback has been shared with our team as we continue to look for ways to improve guest comfort and convenience. We appreciate your input and hope to welcome you again soon.
Hi Alex, Our team is happy to hear you enjoyed the strong air conditioning, the provided toiletries, the convenience of a microwave, and easy access to DoorDash; those are all amenities we are glad you found useful during your stay. Howeve… Show more
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewHi Carl, Thank you for your kind 8-star rating and feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we’re always looking for ways to make our guests’ experience even better. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon for an even more enjoyable visit.
Hi Carl, Thank you for your kind 8-star rating and feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and found our location convenient. Your satisfaction is important to us, and we’re always looking for ways to make our guests’ experien… Show more