8.2

Reviews of Hotel Intertropics

265 Hoima Road, Kampala, Uganda

  • Aminata

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The staff peoplewas amazing, the food is really good. I had a great time.

    the toilet was broken, the apartment was a bit old but very functional, the network don’t work good.

  • Pieter

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    staff was excellent and very friendly the ethiopian for was wonderful

    they don’t take credit cards and the internet is unstable but we had a great time here

  • Geoffrey

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The staff was amazing ! Kudos to the two very young ladies working there, always smiling and friendly, they made our stay really pleasant. The restaurant was nice, with delicious Ethiopian dishes (and other options), we ended up eating there almost every evening. The bed was comfortable.

    A constant struggle to have hot water in our room. We had hot water half of the time. The room was very noisy, with Christian and Muslim prayers early in the morning just outside the window. Bring some earplugs with you if you want to sleep in the morning 😁 Other than that, we had a very pleasant stay, especially due to the amazing staff.

  • See the hotel
  • Freddie

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The staff;from the owner and especially Andrew the manager,exceptional man with a personal touch. He didn't just show me where the ATM machine was located, but escorted me off the hotel premises to the Absa ATM then and back to my hotel. When I wanted a local sim card it was the same treatment from management. Andrew organized a motor taxi(boda boda) for me when I wanted a tour of the city with a knowledgeable and personable motor tour guide.. My next trip to Kampala, I'm surely staying at same inter tropics Hotel. When I had queries, both the owner and manager spoke to me personally and that was reassuring.

    The receptionist didn't fully explain the facilities the hotel offered,I essentially had to ask or discover through other guests. But otherwise it was a great stay.

  • Maliheh

    Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    A Stressful Start to My Stay My check-in experience at this hotel was very stressful. Despite my prior request for a room on a low floor with a good view and the confirmation from the hotel about my request , I was told upon arrival that the first-floor room was unavailable. I was initially offered a room on the third floor, which I declined due to personal reasons, and after expressing my dissatisfaction, I was placed in a room on the second floor. Unfortunately, this room had no hot water and no functioning television. I first reported the issue at 6:20 PM, and was told someone would be sent. However, no technician arrived and I called again at 6.50 PM and waited until 7:20 PM — a full hour later , then the technician arrived and even then, the issues remained unresolved. The technician left at 8 PM promising to return with a remote control, but by 8:20 PM, I received a call from reception stating there was no remote available. I believe, I was entitled to some refund as I have booked a room with the mentioned facilities, but they argued that they offered me a double room which I preferred to have the room that I booked with those facilities. On the second day, one of the owners got involved and moved me to a better room that finally had hot water but not the working TV with satellite. However, it still did not have a good view as initially requested. Also very unreliable WiFi and several times my work was disturbed due to the WiFi disconnection. I hope the hotel management recognises the stress and inconvenience this caused at the beginning of my stay. A more professional and prepared approach would have made a significant difference.

    Not organised and not responsive staff

    Property response:

    Dear Maleheh, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your arrival. We understand how important it is to accommodate our guests' preferences, and while we did our best to meet your requests, please note that the room you booked, which is located on the first or fourth floor and does not feature a balcony, is clearly indicated on our listing. We also strive to provide accurate information regarding room floors and views to ensure transparency. Regarding the issues with the hot water and television, we acknowledge the delays in resolving these matters and apologize for any inconvenience caused. Our team is committed to improving our responsiveness and ensuring such issues are handled more efficiently. We appreciate your understanding that our staff attempted to accommodate your needs and that a move was arranged to a better room during your stay. Nevertheless, we regret that some expectations were not fully met. Your feedback is invaluable, and we will use it to enhance our service quality and staff responsiveness. We truly regret the stress you encountered and hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more seamless experience in the future. Thank you once again for your constructive comments.

    Dear Maleheh, Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your arrival. We understand how important it is to accommodate our guests&… Show more

    Hotel Intertropics
    1 July 2025
  • Philipo

    Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Melwin

    Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Romeo

    Reviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Arifa

    Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Everything is easy to found.

    Surrounding

  • See the hotel
  • Junior

    Reviewed: 12 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Clean and good staff

  • 3.0 Poor
    Anonymous

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The environment was fair

    There was too much noise from the staff Even upto 10pm,when we needed to rest we couldn't Tell me why my fiancee was charged extra money because I checked out early since I had a bus to catch at 7:30am The shower heads are not clean Different price is put on the booking site and on ground it's different,yet breakfast was included but they told us the money was only for bed

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback. We take all concerns seriously and are committed to continuous improvement. Below, we address your points transparently: We Are Investigating: 1. Noise Levels: We regret any disturbance you experienced. Quiet hours begin at 10 PM, and we will reinforce this policy with our staff. We are reviewing internal logs and will take corrective action if lapses occurred. 2. Shower Cleanliness: Housekeeping follows strict sanitization protocols. We will inspect all shower heads promptly and enhance our deep-cleaning schedule. Clarifications for Accuracy: 3. Checkout Charge: Our records confirm you checked in at 7:00 AM on 02 June and checked out at 12:40 PM on the following day, as discussed in our WhatsApp exchange (excerpt available). The 20,000 UGX charge reflected a discounted late-checkout fee. 4. Pricing & Breakfast: - Your Booking.com reservation excluded breakfast and matched the rate paid. [Screenshot available upon request.] - Requests for complimentary breakfast or meals after checkout fall outside the agreed terms. Regarding Conduct: We must address documented incidents: - Threatening to "rank" our hotel conditionally ("Would you like me to rank your hotel or no?"). - Refusing to pay for late checkout despite prior agreement. Such behavior undermines constructive dialogue and mutual respect. Our Commitment: We are proactively auditing noise protocols and cleanliness standards based on your feedback to improve our service.

    Thank you for your feedback. We take all concerns seriously and are committed to continuous improvement. Below, we address your points transparently: We Are Investigating: 1. Noise Levels: We regret any disturbance you experienced. Quie… Show more

    Hotel Intertropics
    3 June 2025
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 28 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Willy

    Reviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Waad

    Reviewed: 24 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    I loved taking care of cleanliness and renewal every morning and Julia, the receptionist, supervisor and cleanliness staff.

    I didn't like the worker's treatment of the kitchen. Shadia was not happy to receive the orders and come late. The place is not quiet. I recommend the removal of the football field from the side of the hotel. It is very annoying. I advise you to review all the bathroom tools that need maintenance.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the experience and appreciated our staff’s efforts. We’ll consider your suggestions about fans in all rooms and overall comfort. I wish you had asked for it as we had them. We apologize for the issues with kitchen service, noise from the football field, and bathroom maintenance. We will promptly address these to improve your next stay. Thanks again for your insights. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

    Thank you for your valuable feedback. We're glad you enjoyed the experience and appreciated our staff’s efforts. We’ll consider your suggestions about fans in all rooms and overall comfort. I wish you had asked for it as we had them. We a… Show more

    Hotel Intertropics
    24 May 2025
  • Cross

    Reviewed: 22 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The staff and management were approachable, friendly and professional in their work. Very much appreciation to the Hotel manager who was always with a smile and ready to listen to any concern. Though i had to leave a day before my expiration of stay due to work related issue, he was very understanding sorted me out. It's a value for money.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your kind words! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our team’s friendly service. Looking forward to welcoming you again!

    Hotel Intertropics
    22 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Buchweka

    Reviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Werner

    Reviewed: 11 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Georges

    Reviewed: 8 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Georges

    Reviewed: 7 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Lisa

    Reviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Intertropics and so delighted to have found this very affordable haven in Kampala. From the moment we arrived we were welcomed at reception by the lovely Hanna who was keen to make sure we were absolutely happy with our room. The room was basic but had everything we needed including wardrobe space to hide away our suitcases. The staff were exceptional and really make Hotel Intertropics a special place to stay, with a special mention for Jemmy and Shadia who were always most helpful with any requests we had and always had a smile and greeting for us. Manager Andrew was visibly present throughout our stay and checked with us to ensure everything was to our taste during our stay. Though we are not yet headed back to the airport, we discovered that they offer a hotel shuttle so will be remembering that for our next arrival in Entebbe. I would highly recommend Hotel Intertropics for anyone looking for an affordable place to stay within minutes reach of areas in central Kampala such as Acacia Mall(we paid 12,000 ugx for an uber ride to Acacia Mall from the hotel!). Although Hotel Intertropics is located within the city of Kampala it is very peaceful and calm and we had no noise interruptions throughout our stay. There is a sauna and steam at the hotel as well as very affordable massage packages, we will definitely be returning for a longer stay to make use of these services when we are in Kampala

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Hotel Intertropic. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our welcoming team. It's fantastic to know that our affordable rates, peaceful atmosphere, and convenient location made your visit memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Your high praise means a lot to us. Safe travels, and see you again soon in Kampala

    Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at Hotel Intertropic. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated our welcoming team. It's fantastic to know that our affordable rates, peacefu… Show more

    Hotel Intertropics
    5 May 2025
  • Willy

    Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Willy

    Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The friendliness and flexibility of the staff. Nothing I asked was ever too much. They have a few Ethiopian staff and offer Ethiopian specialties in their restaurant. I visited Ethiopia in 2012, so it was really nice to find authentic Ethiopian food again

    Property response:

    Thank you for sharing such a heartfelt review of your stay. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our team’s friendliness and flexibility. and that our Ethiopian specialties brought back cherished memories of your 2012 trip. Our Ethiopian staff and chefs love sharing their culture’s flavors, so your praise means the world! We’re equally grateful for your generous Booking.com scores and kind words. Hosting someone as warm and friendly as you was a genuine pleasure.

    Thank you for sharing such a heartfelt review of your stay. We’re thrilled you enjoyed our team’s friendliness and flexibility. and that our Ethiopian specialties brought back cherished memories of your 2012 trip. Our Ethiopian staff and c… Show more

    Hotel Intertropics
    25 April 2025
  • Abdirahim

    Reviewed: 13 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel was cool and nice

    The calmness, the food The ethopian traditional food also very nice

    Property response:

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Intertropics in Kampala! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, appreciated the calm atmosphere and food—especially the Ethiopian traditional dishes. Your perfect score of 10 for cleanliness, staff, comfort, and facilities means a lot to us, and we appreciate your 7.5 for location and value. Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to enhance the experience for future guests. We hope to welcome you back soon!

    Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Intertropics in Kampala! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, appreciated the calm atmosphere and food—especially the Ethiopian traditional dishes. Your perfect score of 10 for cl… Show more

    Hotel Intertropics
    13 April 2025
  • Osama

    Reviewed: 8 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...