Reviews of Charlotte House
13A Avenida Norte, 01101 La Unión, El Salvador

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewClean property, nice location with easy access to restaurants and ocean view
Reviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewClose to restaurants
Terrible experience as toilet in bathroom had no cover, apt extremely hot and only ac in second floor was in bedroom. Fan was not strong enough to cool place down, not enough towels offered. Outdated and old. Loud music nearby going till 4am.
Reviewed: 13 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThis place is so much bigger than advertised. You get the whole house, with a downstairs sofa and fridge. Its on a quiet street and convenient for the central market, local bars on the waterfront and the dock to Nicaragua.
The upstairs was quite hot during the day, although the air conditioning did work well in the bedroom.
Reviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReally clean apartment. We stayed one night to catch the ferry to Nicaragua - an easy walk from the apartment. We liked that it had a fridge and air conditioner in lounge and bed room.
It would be good if there was a toilet seat on the toilet. Would also be great if there was filtered water on the property. I would not stay in La union for more than one night. Felt dingy with lots of seedy bars. Fine to stop on way to somewhere else.
Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewNothing
I spent over $200 to have drunk guys passed out in front of my hotel, and one tried to rob my cab driver. No one spoke English, and my cab driver tried to speak for me. They would not accept a card and made me follow them to multiple banks to find a working cash machine. I did not stay after that, so I don't know how the actual "hotel" is. I took pictures of the guys and sent everything to booking. They gave me a $20 credit. Absolutely the worst experience of my trip.
Hello Collins, good afternoon, we are sorry that you had a negative experience on your trip. We have had many guests, all of them, absolutely all of them, including some from the USA, as well as the majority of those from Europe, and none of them express what you have said, they are the first and the only ones to have problems with their stay. Our hostel in the city of La Unión is the best, and our clients say so, not me.
Hello Collins, good afternoon, we are sorry that you had a negative experience on your trip. We have had many guests, all of them, absolutely all of them, including some from the USA, as well as the majority of those from Europe, and none … Show more
Reviewed: 27 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe perfect spot for anyone looking to stay in La Union! We thought we were getting just a room, but you get the whole place! It has a massive TV, great aircon both upstairs & downstairs (I think we would have melted without it🤣), huge & comfy double bed and the WiFi works perfectly! The shower is also fabulous, had lovely smelling shampoo & conditioner and there’s a lovely little balcony you can relax on! But the best thing about this place is Enrique, his lovely wife & Jon who is next door! They helped us sort out our trip to San Salvador, we would’ve been completely lost without them! They’re all always ready whenever you need them, and they’re all so friendly and welcoming 🤍
The only thing I would say is to perhaps get a toilet seat😉🤣 but that’s it!
Reviewed: 25 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe owner was very friendly, spoke englisch and the check in went very smouth! Defenitly not a hostel, it was more like an appartment! You have so much space. 2 different seating areas and a big 4 person bedroom!
Reviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewWe loved all the things this Hostal had to offer. The owner was very nice and he was available to call anytime.
Reviewed: 20 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified review