Reviews of Thon Partner Hotel Dockyard 3 stars
Byggnad 37, Nya Varvet Skeppet Ärans väg 23, 426 71 Gothenburg, Sweden

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Allersberg, Germany
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Prata Camportaccio, Italy
Marbella, Spain
Portree, United Kingdom
Dubna, Russia
Westwood, United States
Yangon, Myanmar
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewPerfect place when you have a vehicle. Is located outside of the city center but it has a private parking space. Rooms, staff and breakfast are all great.
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation was great. The view from the room was excellent and it was quiet.
The shower is positioned next to the light switch, which gets wet when you shower. I got an electric shock.
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe location and the surroundings were great for kids, breakfast was awesome. Good value for money! Even without a car easy to reach if do not mind walking :).
Hello, Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you liked our hotel, welcome back!
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat room and lovely breakfast
Signed was uncomfortable (as they often are)
Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Reviewed: 20 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe room was spacious. Breakfast was good.
The bathroom door was so noisy that you could wake up others. The toilet seat was broken when we were there. Cleanliness can be improve. If you dont have a car, its far from city center so just keep in mind.
Hi, Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you had a good stay and we will of course take your feedback with us! Welcome back
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewQuiet place, nice ambiance.
Restaurants were closed on a Monday afternoon/evening.
Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLoved the location
Restaurant
Hi, Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful stay with us and hope to see you again soon!
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location with views. Lovely spacious clean and comfortable room. Great breakfast. Knowledgeable staff of the area
Not enough choice at the bar e.g didn’t have tonic for a g&t or lemonade
Hi, Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you had a good stay and we will of course take your feedback with us! Welcome back
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe checkin was fast and easy, the breakfast buffet was excellent, and the terrace in front of the hotel was a wonderful place to start the day.
Although the room looked clean and the sheets fresh, the bin in the room was not empty and the hallway (outside the room) needed a good cleaning, that didn't happen while we were there (2 nights). I would have liked to have breakfast buffet until 10 or 10.30 (it ended at 9.30, but they were understanding with those being a little late).
Hi, Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you had a good stay and we will of course take your feedback with us! Welcome back
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt was good location, good price, good breakfast, free parking
We had two beds, one of them was good, family slept very well, but second one was awful, made sounds everytime when you turning, and i was waking myself every time i turned. Night was almost without sleep
Hi, Thank you for your nice review, we are glad you had a good stay and we will of course take your feedback with us! Welcome back
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewonce we reported the issue to the reception, they took our complaint seriously and sent a cleaner immediately, which we appreciated.
Very Disappointing Stay I would not recommend staying here unless they seriously improve their cleaning standards. We booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 children, but when we arrived, the room was very dirty and clearly not prepared. Even worse, the hallway leading to the room was covered with leaves and small stones, which made it feel more like an abandoned building than a hotel. There were no extra towels or sheets provided for the sofa bed, which was supposed to accommodate our children.
Im so sorry to hear about the lack of cleaning! Thank you for you honest feedback, we appreciate it.
Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewBeware of this hotel! They canceled my booking at the last minute! There was an AC/DC concert in the city last night, and all hotels were fully booked. I had made my reservation months in advance, but when I arrived at the property around 10:00 PM, the receptionist told me my booking was canceled because I arrived after 6:00 PM and hadn’t informed them. This so-called “policy” was never communicated to me and the official check-in time was stated to be until 10:30 PM. It gets better. The receptionist stands in front of me and acts like she is calling another hotel. She confirms that this other hotel has room available and will take me in. Naively I went there immediately, only to find out that they were completely full and had never been contacted by anyone from the Thon hotel. What a disgraceful and deceitful act! I was left with nowhere to stay in a fully booked city, despite having planned everything well in advance. I have never encountered such cynical and appalling behavior from a hotel in all my travels. Please be cautious!
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI've stayed here here before, and the location is very nice, staff was nice, and we could get a room where could bring our dog with us. Very important for us.
We picked the same location as last time, as it really fit well within out schedule, but now breakfast was moved up several hours. Making it impossible for us to get any food inn before we left. Asking the staff if they could accommodate us with something simple before we left was met with just a empty "no go".
Thank you!
Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location. Clean Felt they needed more staff as young couple were run off their feet, although helpful. Bar was not stocked up and lots of waiting to be served.
More staff needed A bit chaotic at breakfast .. staff again .. but food choice good.
Thank you so much, Im glad that you saw that our staff did their best due to lack of staff.
Reviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewgood location and free parking, there is a playground and a recreation area.
Stayed for the second time in 3 weeks. Like last time, the bathroom was dirty.
Im so sorry to hear this! But thank you for your kind words.
Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewthe penthouse design
A little bit dust. Due to the room location is next to the garage station, some flies would get in the property.
Thank you kindly!
Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe general quality felt in this lovely hotel after Thorn Group took over! The location and the hotel in it self is great. I
This is our second stay this year. Last time we came, we had to change our room straight after arrival because of dirt on the desks. This time we found it almost inpossible to call the hotel before booking, and later on the day of arrival. We wrote to the hotel on a very hot summer day, and wanted to hear, if by any chance we could tjek in earlier than 15 th o clock because of a old mum, who was struggelig with the heat and moving around because of bad knees (Plus 75 year) The hotel simply never replied, and when we arrived after 15 th o clock our room was not cleaned and ready. There was a huge line of wating guests in the reception, and the young Danish woman was trying her best to help us, but her colleague kept sitting behind the reception area even full of waiting guests. The hotel was very dirty in the halls, like full of mud and kept being dirty until we left after one night. Even the flowers in the restaurant were half dead. The buffet was half empty around nine o clock. We stayed many times in this hotel, because we as a couple have a history there, and probably because of this were more tolerant than many people would be. This is probably going to be our last stay. We gave direct feedback last time, but felt no one took us seriously. In our experience it looks like poor management. It seem to be a staff and taking in more guests and types of guests, than the hotel can really manage at the same time. We understood there were 5 teenage football teams the day before we came. Possible the mud on the floors were from their boots and not cleaned days after ...
Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe location is amazing. You can just sit outside the hotel and view the Dockyard which during daytime and night is relaxing experience. It's very close to the downtown by car so thats also a plus. The family room was huge, however the hotel is old.
The check in team didnt give me a parking sticker and I was given a hefty ticket for parking at night. Considering this was paid for in the booking. When I contacted the hotel they told me that it was my responsibility to register my vehicle and not the responsibility of the receptionist.
Hi, Thank you for your review. We offer free parking, this does not affect the price of the hotel rooms. To get parking you need to register at our parking screen in the lobby. This is not something we at the reception do for the guests. We apologize if you feel that the information was not sufficient.
Hi, Thank you for your review. We offer free parking, this does not affect the price of the hotel rooms. To get parking you need to register at our parking screen in the lobby. This is not something we at the reception do for the guests. We… Show more