Reviews of Avalon Hotel 4 stars
Kungstorget 9, Centrum, 411 17 Gothenburg, Sweden

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Saltillo, Mexico
Akyaka, Turkey
Chartres, France
Březnice, Czech Republic
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Istanbul, Turkey
Budapest, Hungary
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewWe loved the location, the lovely staff, the stylish room, the great rooftop pool and our wonderful jacuzzi bath.
We loved everything about our stay.
Dear Tracey-Ann! Thank you for your well written review. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us. You are welcome back! Kind regards, Elina, Avalon Hotel
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat location
Nothing
Dear Ian! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a nice stay here at Avalon Hotel. You are welcome back! Kind regards, Elina, Avalon hotel
Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location is excellent, the breakfast was fantastic.
The bed wasn't very comfortable and I didn't sleep too well.
Dear John! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. How sad to hear that you did not sleep so well in our beds. Unfortunately, we have the same type of beds in all our rooms, which is a DUX bed. You are welcome back! Kind regards, Elina, Avalon Hotel
Dear John! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast. How sad to hear that you did not sleep so well in our beds. Unfortunately, we have the same type of beds in all our rooms, which is a DUX bed. You are welcome… Show more
Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewAvalon's location is great and so was the staff. The design of the hotel and interior is unique and quirky, which is nice in contrast to the chain hotels. The breakfast was also great.
In out room, the shower and toilet were located together with only partial possibility to prevent water from the shower splashing across the floor. In addition, the bed was on a slightly raised level which one does not think about until one needs to get up in the middle of the night.
Dear Anders! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you had a nice stay and enjoyed our breakfast. We are sorry that the water from the shower splashed out on the toilet area. You are welcome back! Kind regards, Elina, Avalon Hotel
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewExcellent location, nice decor
Staff attitude in restaurant and bar only just on the right side of acceptable (front desk was fine). Restaurant staff were borderline rude and inattentive. It wasn’t a big deal for me personally, but the hotel bar closed at 1230 at night when it was literally full of residents who had filled the hotel to attend a concert that ended after 11pm. Rooms OK, but when I pay 4000 SEK for one night in a twin room I expect a window curtain that functions well, and the door design on the bathroom is bizarre.
Dear Jerome! Thank you for your review. How unfortunate to hear that you did not have a good experience in our bar and restaurant and that you were not very happy with your room either. When there are concert days or other days when the demand for hotel rooms in Gothenburg increases, unfortunately the prices go up. We hope that you had a nice visit to the city. Kind regards, Elina, Avalon Hotel
Dear Jerome! Thank you for your review. How unfortunate to hear that you did not have a good experience in our bar and restaurant and that you were not very happy with your room either. When there are concert days or other days when the dem… Show more
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewSuperbe hôtel. Staff very professional and friendly,Love the bed setting very comfortable . Breakfast buffet superb
Little more Vegan &vegetarian option On the menu à la Carte
Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our team professional and friendly. It's also great to know that you appreciated the comfort of our beds and the breakfast buffet. We truly value your feedback about expanding our vegan and vegetarian options on the à la carte menu. We’re always looking for ways to enhance our offerings, and your suggestion is definitely something we'll take into consideration moving forward. We hope to welcome you back soon for another great stay!
Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our team professional and friendly. It's also great to know that you appreciated the comfort of our beds and the breakfa… Show more
Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGood sized rooms, great breakfast, helpful staff, rooftop pool
Rooms were too hot - air conditioning did very little. Some street noise - windows only single-glazed
Hi Andrew, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Welcome Back! Best Regards Kamilla, Avalon Hotel
Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewClean and comfortable
The food is horrible.
Hi Keyvan, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like the food, was it anything in particular you didn't like? Have a nice day! Best Regards Kamilla Grodzki General Manager
Hi Keyvan, Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room. We are sorry to hear that you didn't like the food, was it anything in particular you didn't like? Have a nice day! Best Regards Kamilla Grodzki General M… Show more
Reviewed: 25 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewCentral location and breakfast was included and decent selection of food
Room was weird mish mash design of modern features and old dated wood panelling with awful gaudy curtains and I was absolutely miles from the lifts - also windows had thin glass so I was woken up by all the noises on the street outside - cleaning lady repeatedly banged her vacuum cleaner off my door at 8am which was annoying - after check in no member of staff said hello or acknowledged me in reception, restaurant or bar etc
Dear Jamie! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not like your room and we apologize if the cleaning lady woke you up with her vacuum cleaner. You are welcome back! Kind regards, Elina, Avalon Hotel
Dear Jamie! Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not like your room and we apologize if the cleaning lady woke you up with her vacuum cleaner. You are welcome bac… Show more
Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewIt is situated in the center of the city and close to shops and restaurants. Also, the breakfast is great!
The single beds are very small. The bathtubs is hard to get in (it’s very high and I’m a tall person).
Dear Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble getting in and out of the tub. Next time you can ask for a room that has a shower. You are welcome back! Kind regards, Elina, Avalon Hotel
Dear Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble getting in and out of the tub. Next time you can ask for a room that has a shower. You are welcome back! Kind regards, … Show more
Reviewed: 12 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 11 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewLovely staff and atmosphere Attractive comfortable room Check out extended to 14:00
Some street noise
Hi Hugh, Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back! Best Regards Kamilla, Avalon Hotel
Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 June 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewGreat location and stylish premises.
Dear Olena, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad you had a nice stay. Welcome back! Best regards Kamilla, Avalon Hotel
Reviewed: 30 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified review