8.4

Reviews of Effie Mountain View Gecko Villa

Old East Coast Road, Le Rocher, Mahe, Seychelles

  • 7.0 Good
    Andras

    Reviewed: 17 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • Lee

    Reviewed: 2 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Teresa

    Reviewed: 17 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Location near bus stop. Large patio with Mountain View. Sid was extremely helpful and Shirley helped us contract for tour and taxi.

    Early checkin in was requested but never acknowledged. Proprietor was unwelcoming but Sid let us sit on our bloating while he finished preparing our unit for checkin.

  • See the property
  • Gregor

    Reviewed: 10 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    located between Victoria centre and SEZ airport. Small Supermarket and Bus Station nearby. No restaurants or Takeaways within walking distance. We were allowed to leave the luggage until the afternoon as we had a late flight out of SEZ

    Property response:

    Dear Gregor, Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate it. There are 2 take away switching walking distance but they are open only during lunch. At night you can order online and have it delivered. Kind regards Shirley

    Dear Gregor, Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate it. There are 2 take away switching walking distance but they are open only during lunch. At night you can order online and have it delivered. Kind regards Shirle… Show more

    Effie Mountain View Gecko Villa
    10 April 2024
  • Ondrej

    Reviewed: 5 February 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    The host is very kind person. She helped us with all small things we asked for including orientation in the city, organizing our "unorthodox" arrvial and departure. The appartement is lovely, and originally styled reminiscent of Hindu and Budhist India. The private terrase is beautiful, full of flowers and also friendly to small animals including endemic Seychelle green gekko, and Seychelle scink!!! We also noticed Seychelle Kestrel flying over our heads just sitting there! We enjoyed breakfasts there very much and also early dinners before sunset. Airconditioning works perfectly.

    It is not about disliking (as we knew where we were going), but it is good to be aware of that the house location is close to industrial zone and water canal. That said we were ready for some moskitos, less glamorous disctrict compared to Eden island :) and meeting common people on the street while waiting for bus for example. We handled moskitos properly, accepted local atmosphere and were grateful for a few short street contacts with very friendly and polite local people who were all very helpful in assisting us moving around and finding direction.

  • Manca

    Reviewed: 29 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Molyneaux

    Reviewed: 30 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    Self catering only

    I am very happy with our decision to use this facility

    Property response:

    Thank you so much, it was a real pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to host you again.

    Effie Mountain View Gecko Villa
    30 October 2023
  • Lea

    Reviewed: 6 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    We stayed here for one night so we could catch out early flight the next day! The driver was perfectly reliable and for our occasion it was absolutely fine! The host was super kind!

    There are no restaurants around, so you have to order food (which costs 100rp) extra or cook something by ur self

  • Veaceslav

    Reviewed: 1 August 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    The property itself very good. There is enough space, it’s clean and privat. There is a super small shop right on front of property one can buy water etc.

    The location is awful , if you don’t have a car, you would spend all the time 300 for a taxi even 2 minute. And it’s not walkable area at all. We booked it by mistake and immediately asked to cancel a booking, but host refused, even that it’s was 2 weeks prior to arrival. Check out 10:00, we asked to go a bit later , she also refused. Even that there was empty rooms, so it wasn’t problem because someone waiting check in.

    Property response:

    Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Our hotel policy doesn’t allow for cancellation on the date that you were asking, you did not say that you made a mistake at booking but only said that you cannot come without giving any reasons and you did not ask immediately after booking which normally you have a few hours to be able to cancel without occurring any charges. You also did not ask for late check out, you only ask us what is the latest time for check out and we gave you our official one which is 10am. There are bus stop just outside the villa to both Victoria and all around the island which you could have used instead of taxis. So sorry we were not able to please you and thank you for having chosen our villa. Kind regards Shirley

    Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Our hotel policy doesn’t allow for cancellation on the date that you were asking, you did not say that you made a mistake at booking but only said that you cannot come without giving any reasons and yo… Show more

    Effie Mountain View Gecko Villa
    1 August 2023
  • See the property
  • Diana

    Reviewed: 27 May 2023 · Stayed in April 2023

    Verified review

    They were so helpful to arrange a a taxy to collect us in the middle of the night! The property is very spacious super clean and immersed in gorgeous greenery. Unfortunately we only stayed one night would highly recommend for longer stays

  • Moonchild93

    Reviewed: 8 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review

    Exellent location. Beautiful, clean comfortable place. We love the outside garden with big table. Hosts live just next door so it was very easy to contact them in case we needed anything. They are just amazing. Super friendly and helpful. Just around the corner there is a shop. Villa is located in the middle of the isnald so that its very close to all parts of the island. The best beaches within short driving distance

    One of the bedroom ac was quite noisy

  • Megan

    Reviewed: 27 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023

    Verified review

    Very nice place to stay with a private patio and a lot of privacy. The host was extremely nice and helped us with booking the ferry at the last minute. Definitely recommended!

  • See the property
  • Miriam

    Reviewed: 5 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023

    Verified review

    Very nice and spacious place! The host was very kind and helped us out for any inquiries. Enjoyed staying there and would recommend it!

  • Robert

    Reviewed: 30 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review
  • Bernard

    Reviewed: 30 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Marcus

    Reviewed: 23 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review
  • Alex

    Reviewed: 12 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review

    Many thanks to our dear host! She went out of her way to make sure our stay is perfect. A true model of hospitality! The villa itself was very nice: spacious, with a great bedroom, comfortable bed and powerful AC. We also had a huge private garden with a table and a set of soft chairs. I wish there was a hammock there, that would be absolutely fantastic.

    The only tiny issue I had is that I ran out of toilet paper in the early morning. I wish there was an extra paper roll in the bathroom.

  • Jason

    Reviewed: 10 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 19

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...