Reviews of Effie Mountain View Gecko Villa
Old East Coast Road, Le Rocher, Mahe, Seychelles

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 17 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewLocation near bus stop. Large patio with Mountain View. Sid was extremely helpful and Shirley helped us contract for tour and taxi.
Early checkin in was requested but never acknowledged. Proprietor was unwelcoming but Sid let us sit on our bloating while he finished preparing our unit for checkin.
Reviewed: 10 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewlocated between Victoria centre and SEZ airport. Small Supermarket and Bus Station nearby. No restaurants or Takeaways within walking distance. We were allowed to leave the luggage until the afternoon as we had a late flight out of SEZ
Dear Gregor, Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate it. There are 2 take away switching walking distance but they are open only during lunch. At night you can order online and have it delivered. Kind regards Shirley
Dear Gregor, Thank you so much for your positive review. We really appreciate it. There are 2 take away switching walking distance but they are open only during lunch. At night you can order online and have it delivered. Kind regards Shirle… Show more
Reviewed: 5 February 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewThe host is very kind person. She helped us with all small things we asked for including orientation in the city, organizing our "unorthodox" arrvial and departure. The appartement is lovely, and originally styled reminiscent of Hindu and Budhist India. The private terrase is beautiful, full of flowers and also friendly to small animals including endemic Seychelle green gekko, and Seychelle scink!!! We also noticed Seychelle Kestrel flying over our heads just sitting there! We enjoyed breakfasts there very much and also early dinners before sunset. Airconditioning works perfectly.
It is not about disliking (as we knew where we were going), but it is good to be aware of that the house location is close to industrial zone and water canal. That said we were ready for some moskitos, less glamorous disctrict compared to Eden island :) and meeting common people on the street while waiting for bus for example. We handled moskitos properly, accepted local atmosphere and were grateful for a few short street contacts with very friendly and polite local people who were all very helpful in assisting us moving around and finding direction.
Reviewed: 29 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewSelf catering only
I am very happy with our decision to use this facility
Thank you so much, it was a real pleasure to host you and we are looking forward to host you again.
Reviewed: 6 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewWe stayed here for one night so we could catch out early flight the next day! The driver was perfectly reliable and for our occasion it was absolutely fine! The host was super kind!
There are no restaurants around, so you have to order food (which costs 100rp) extra or cook something by ur self
Reviewed: 1 August 2023 · Stayed in July 2023
Verified reviewThe property itself very good. There is enough space, it’s clean and privat. There is a super small shop right on front of property one can buy water etc.
The location is awful , if you don’t have a car, you would spend all the time 300 for a taxi even 2 minute. And it’s not walkable area at all. We booked it by mistake and immediately asked to cancel a booking, but host refused, even that it’s was 2 weeks prior to arrival. Check out 10:00, we asked to go a bit later , she also refused. Even that there was empty rooms, so it wasn’t problem because someone waiting check in.
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Our hotel policy doesn’t allow for cancellation on the date that you were asking, you did not say that you made a mistake at booking but only said that you cannot come without giving any reasons and you did not ask immediately after booking which normally you have a few hours to be able to cancel without occurring any charges. You also did not ask for late check out, you only ask us what is the latest time for check out and we gave you our official one which is 10am. There are bus stop just outside the villa to both Victoria and all around the island which you could have used instead of taxis. So sorry we were not able to please you and thank you for having chosen our villa. Kind regards Shirley
Dear guest, Thank you for your review. Our hotel policy doesn’t allow for cancellation on the date that you were asking, you did not say that you made a mistake at booking but only said that you cannot come without giving any reasons and yo… Show more
Reviewed: 27 May 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewThey were so helpful to arrange a a taxy to collect us in the middle of the night! The property is very spacious super clean and immersed in gorgeous greenery. Unfortunately we only stayed one night would highly recommend for longer stays
Reviewed: 8 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewExellent location. Beautiful, clean comfortable place. We love the outside garden with big table. Hosts live just next door so it was very easy to contact them in case we needed anything. They are just amazing. Super friendly and helpful. Just around the corner there is a shop. Villa is located in the middle of the isnald so that its very close to all parts of the island. The best beaches within short driving distance
One of the bedroom ac was quite noisy
Reviewed: 27 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewVery nice place to stay with a private patio and a lot of privacy. The host was extremely nice and helped us with booking the ferry at the last minute. Definitely recommended!
Reviewed: 5 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023
Verified reviewVery nice and spacious place! The host was very kind and helped us out for any inquiries. Enjoyed staying there and would recommend it!
Reviewed: 30 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewMany thanks to our dear host! She went out of her way to make sure our stay is perfect. A true model of hospitality! The villa itself was very nice: spacious, with a great bedroom, comfortable bed and powerful AC. We also had a huge private garden with a table and a set of soft chairs. I wish there was a hammock there, that would be absolutely fantastic.
The only tiny issue I had is that I ran out of toilet paper in the early morning. I wish there was an extra paper roll in the bathroom.
Reviewed: 10 November 2022 · Stayed in November 2022
Verified review