Reviews of The Surfing Turtle 4 stars
69 Calle Fernández Garcia, 00773 Luquillo, Puerto Rico

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI had a great stay here! The room was clean, comfortable, and exactly as described. The location is excellent — very close to the city center and the beach. Check-in was smooth, and the host was friendly. I’d definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the area, and I’d be happy to come back!
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we truly appreciate your recommendation. We'd be happy to welcome you back anytime!
Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewClean quiet
Hi Rogers, Thank you so much for the perfect rating! We're happy to hear that your stay with us met your expectations. We'd love to welcome you back anytime!
Reviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewRestaurant was across the street
It’s so dirty outside property
Thank you for your review and for highlighting the convenient location near the restaurant. We're sorry to hear that the area outside the property didn’t meet your expectations — while it's not directly under our control, we’ll continue doing our part to keep our space as clean and welcoming as possible. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host you again!
Thank you for your review and for highlighting the convenient location near the restaurant. We're sorry to hear that the area outside the property didn’t meet your expectations — while it's not directly under our control, we’ll cont… Show more
Reviewed: 17 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewVery close to Luquillo beach and good restaurants close by.
It is very very loud at night. They provide ear plus abs know how bad it was. We called because the nose was keeping us awake and clearly got violent. The owner said it was normal there and nothing he could do about it. It hairband. He claimed he calls the police but they don't care or come. Ruined part of our trip because we were so exhausted from not sleeping.
Hi Tara, Thank you for your feedback. We’re truly sorry to hear that the noise affected your rest. While our location is in a lively area, there are certain days — mostly on weekends — when the noise levels can be higher. We understand that some guests are more sensitive to noise than others; while some are able to sleep through it, others may find it more difficult. That’s why we provide earplugs and do our best to contact local authorities when needed. Noise enforcement can be inconsistent, although the police station is located near in the area and they are aware of the situation. We regret that this impacted your stay and appreciate you bringing it to our attention.
Hi Tara, Thank you for your feedback. We’re truly sorry to hear that the noise affected your rest. While our location is in a lively area, there are certain days — mostly on weekends — when the noise levels can be higher. We understand that… Show more
Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThis small hostel is on one of the side streets that leads to the plaza. So you don't get the direct noise from the plaza but you're right there! It's also a 5-minute drive from the famous Luquillo restaurant row. The king room was very comfortable. All of the details were right on point! The coffee bar/convenience area was such a pleasure. Aside from offering a working fridge, microwave and coffee maker, they also have a couple of mugs and ... wine glasses with a wine bottle opener! The details let you know there was a lot of love poured into the concept of this room. From the decor to door stoppers, TV, hair dryer, turtles on the duvet. Right in the room there are beach chairs and umbrellas. The beach is a 3-minute walk! Also nearby are restaurants, bars and a cool, open-air area with a small stage with live music right on the beach boulevard. We got a chance to glance quickly at the room with the bunk beds and it looked very clean and roomy. Don't forget to have breakfast on the rooftop! You get a small view of the beach, and the wood bunks are just calm. There are rooms up there, as well.
Hi Dahlia, Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all the little touches — as you mentioned, each one was added with love. We always strive to make our guests’ stays as comfortable as possible, and it truly means a lot to know we hit the mark for you. We’d love to welcome you back anytime you’re in Luquillo again!
Hi Dahlia, Thank you so much for your kind and detailed review! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated all the little touches — as you mentioned, each one was added with love. We always strive to make our … Show more
Reviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewLocation, decor, rooftop lounge all wonderful. Great restaurants in walking distance. The behavior of the locals with the loud/blaring music and racing up & down the streets to the early morning we could have done without that so thank you for the ear plugs. Beach chairs and umbrella really enhanced our visit to the beach!
Hi Joosten, Thank you so much for your kind review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location, décor, rooftop lounge, and the easy access to great restaurants. We're also glad the beach chairs, umbrella, and earplugs helped enhance your stay and comfort. While the lively local atmosphere can sometimes be a bit much, we truly appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you back again for another memorable visit!
Hi Joosten, Thank you so much for your kind review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the location, décor, rooftop lounge, and the easy access to great restaurants. We're also glad the beach chairs, umbrella, and earplugs helped en… Show more
Reviewed: 25 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe location is great for the beach. The room has everything you need and more... beach chairs, umbrella, a yoga mat was great! The patio with the view on Ocean is great!
The AC directly sending air on the bed. The Saturday night party in town(I understood that night why there were ear plugs in the room!) No convenience store close or grocery.
Thank you for your review! We're delighted that you enjoyed the convenient beach access, the amenities like the beach chairs, and the beautiful ocean view from the patio. As for the lively weekend nights, Luquillo's vibrant atmosphere is part of the local charm. We understand it can be a bit loud for light sleepers, so we provide earplugs to help minimize any inconvenience. We hope to welcome you back soon!
Thank you for your review! We're delighted that you enjoyed the convenient beach access, the amenities like the beach chairs, and the beautiful ocean view from the patio. As for the lively weekend nights, Luquillo's vibrant atmosph… Show more
Reviewed: 19 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThey provide beach chairs and yoga mats! These perks are greatly appreciated! Short walk to the beach.
There is no one on the property. They respond through messaging but there isn’t anyone on site or tourist information available to guide you.
Hi Jill, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the beach chairs, yoga mats, and the convenient walk to the beach. As a self-check-in property, while we don't have staff on-site, we are always here to help with any questions, recommendations, or guidance to make your stay enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back to Luquillo in the future!
Hi Jill, Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the beach chairs, yoga mats, and the convenient walk to the beach. As a self-check-in property, while we don't have staff on-site, we are always here to help with any ques… Show more
Reviewed: 8 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewFun location very close to all the action and Sama a great restaurant on the beautiful beach nearby. Comfortable room.
A bit noisy for us oldies, but fun part of town away from the touristy strip.
Hi Marisa, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location, the nearby beach, and your comfortable room. We understand that the lively atmosphere may be a bit noisy but we appreciate your perspective on experiencing an authentic part of town. We’d love to welcome you back anytime!
Hi Marisa, Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our convenient location, the nearby beach, and your comfortable room. We understand that the lively atmosphere may be a bit noisy but we appreciate your perspective on experi… Show more
Reviewed: 11 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewClean, modern room (room 2), quick walk to the beach and restaraunts. Nice little touches like complimentary beach chairs, hair dryer, coffee, water. Super easy check in and out.
The shower is super pretty and nice fixtures BUT the shower pressure goes away after 2 minutes, shower temp turns cold randomly and stays cold unless you mess with it a bit and the shower has no means to keep water going towards the drain, water will be all over the bathroom and pool behind the toilet. The street noise is insane (we stayed Sunday to Monday) so I wouldn’t recommend if you’re a light sleeper, have kids or need any type of quietness to sleep (the complimentary earplugs did not help BUT it was very nice of them to provide them anyways. They can’t control street noise)
Hi Marina, Thank you for your detailed feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and the complimentary amenities we provide. We appreciate you bringing the shower situation to our attention—we’ll have our team look into it to see if any adjustments can be made. As for street noise, we understand it can be challenging for light sleepers, and while we provide earplugs as a courtesy, we understand that they may not work for everyone. We truly appreciate your stay and your honest input—you’re welcome back anytime!
Hi Marina, Thank you for your detailed feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and the complimentary amenities we provide. We appreciate you bringing the shower situation to our attention—we’ll have our team look into it… Show more
Reviewed: 6 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewRoom is comfortable Staff not present but reacting very fast on messages
It's not really a problem, but there is a step in the floor and you have to be careful not to fall
Hi Gijs, Thank you for your great review! We're glad you found the room comfortable and appreciated our quick responses. We appreciate your note about the step and will make sure to highlight it better for future guests. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we’d love to welcome you back anytime!
Hi Gijs, Thank you for your great review! We're glad you found the room comfortable and appreciated our quick responses. We appreciate your note about the step and will make sure to highlight it better for future guests. It was a pleasu… Show more
Reviewed: 18 January 2025 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThis was hard to rate. The room was great, very comfortable bed and lovely ambiance - we were very excited upon arrival. Communication with the staff was all via platform (never saw anyone) but the instructions and responsiveness was good. There was a country wide power-outage when we arrived and while the property doesn't have a generator, the staff were very gracious around how this might impact our stay if we needed to explore alternative options. There is no on-site parking but we were able to easily park on the streets around the accommodation. The room also had beach towels, sun chairs and an umbrella which was a delightful touch.
The noise. I would recommend requesting not to stay in room 1 or 2 located on the street front of the building. There were extremely loud cars and even louder boom boxes along the street until the early hours of the morning (after 1am). It literally sounded like they had placed a large speaker directly outside our door. It is a popular area with a few restaurants and bars around, but we have never stayed anywhere so noisy. If you love to stay out all night this may not be a problem - we had an 8am flight so for us, not so great.
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about your stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, found the bed comfortable, and appreciated the thoughtful touches like the beach towels, sun chairs, and umbrella. It’s also great to know that the self-check-in process and our responsiveness met your expectations. We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused by the noise during your stay. Our property is located in a lively area near restaurants and bars, which can sometimes lead to increased noise levels, especially on weekends. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback about your stay with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room, found the bed comfortable, and appreciated the thoughtful touches like the beach towels, sun chairs, and umbrella. … Show more
Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGreat stop on our way to Vieques. The food truck area had a band a good food. The ST offered make your coffee in your room better than Americano across the street!!
It was better than we expected
Hi Kelly, Thank you for your kind review! We’re thrilled to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the local food trucks and band—such a fun touch to the area! We’re also glad you appreciated the coffee setup in the room. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Vieques.
Hi Kelly, Thank you for your kind review! We’re thrilled to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed the local food trucks and band—such a fun touch to the area! We’re also glad you appreciated the coffee setup in… Show more
Reviewed: 8 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewVery close to beautiful beach. Breakfast spot across the street was delicious!
The area around the place was very run down. The liquor store at the end of the street was a very busy local hangout. A little uncomfortable since I was a single woman with kids traveling!
Hi Lisa, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the nearby beach and the breakfast spot across the street! Our location in the heart of the community gives guests a true sense of the local area, though we understand that the neighborhood’s lively energy may feel different for everyone. We appreciate your feedback and will continue to focus on ways to enhance our guests’ comfort. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Hi Lisa, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the nearby beach and the breakfast spot across the street! Our location in the heart of the community gives guests a true sense of the… Show more
Reviewed: 18 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewThe decoration, smelling, the location in a way
The location; it’s in front of a street and my room was in front too. The noise from outside
Hi Yolanda, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you appreciated the decoration, scent, and aspects of our location. We apologize for the noise from the street that affected your stay. While we unfortunately can't control external noise, we do provide complimentary earplugs to help ensure a comfortable night's sleep. We hope you'll consider staying with us again for an even better experience.
Hi Yolanda, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you appreciated the decoration, scent, and aspects of our location. We apologize for the noise from the street that affected your stay. While we unfort… Show more
Reviewed: 8 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewThe property owner is the nicest and most efficient out within the country. There is a little bit of poverty, but the town itself is a jam in the rough. Please go visit.
Hi Micheal, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience. It was our pleasure to host you, and we're glad that our efforts contributed to making your stay enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you our way!
Hi Micheal, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience. It was our pleasure to host you, and we're glad that our efforts contributed to making your stay enjoyable. We look f… Show more
Reviewed: 31 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewThe service was excellent. The owner even got my mother a taller beach chair. Communicating with the owner was very easy. The place was very clean.
I didn't mind the street noise because I am from the city.
Hi Marelvis, Thank you for your feedback! It was a pleasure hosting you. You are welcome back anytime.
Reviewed: 30 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewVery clean, very quiet, right next to the beach and across the street from restaurants. Very friendly staff.
No parking on-site, needed to find street parking. However, It was not hard to find a spot and had no issues with it being the street overnight.
Hi Christine, Thank you sincerely for sharing your review with us. Your feedback is greatly valued and deeply appreciated. We hope for the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Thanks