Reviews of The Shady Rest Hotel 3 stars
Section 4 Lot 7 Taurama Road, 111 Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat aloo parathas and coffee in the palm-shaded courtyard. Great Indian food in the restaurant Fantastically friendly staff who rapidly became like old friends
Wifi is practically non-existent and needs a serious upgrade
Thank You for Your Feedback Dear Mr. Nicholas, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the aloo parathas, coffee, and the ambiance of our palm-shaded courtyard. It’s wonderful to know that our Indian cuisine and the hospitality of our team made you feel right at home — we’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to the staff! We also appreciate your honest feedback about the Wi-Fi. We're aware it’s not up to the mark and are actively working on improvements to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the near future. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon — hopefully with upgraded Wi-Fi and the same warm smiles!
Thank You for Your Feedback Dear Mr. Nicholas, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the aloo parathas, coffee, and the ambiance of our palm-shaded courtyard. It’s wonderful to know that our Indian … Show more
Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation and friendly staff
Cost..a little over others
Dear Conrad, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found our team to be friendly and welcoming — we truly believe that great service makes all the difference! We also appreciate your feedback regarding our pricing. While we may be slightly above some alternatives, we strive to provide excellent value through our service, comfort, and overall guest experience. That said, your input is invaluable as we continuously review our offerings to ensure they meet our guests’ expectations. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Reservations Team!
Dear Conrad, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and found our team to be friendly and welcoming — we truly believe that great service m… Show more
Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified review1. Senior and line staff 2. Location 3. Food 4. Value for money
Dear Mr. Ganesh, Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We're thrilled to hear you had a comfortable stay and appreciated the efforts of both our senior and line staff. It's also great to know you enjoyed our location, food, and found the experience to be a good value for money. Your comments truly motivate us to keep delivering the best possible service—we hope to welcome you back soon!
Dear Mr. Ganesh, Thank you so much for your kind feedback! We're thrilled to hear you had a comfortable stay and appreciated the efforts of both our senior and line staff. It's also great to know you enjoyed our location, food, and… Show more
Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified review1 towel for 2 guests Room was not so clean
Reviewed: 29 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewVery convenient location
Remote controls for both air-condition and TV weren't in the room when i checked in.
Dear Dee, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the absence of remote controls for both the air-conditioning and TV in your room upon check-in. Our team strives to ensure all amenities are readily available, and we regret that this was overlooked. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We value your patronage and hope to provide you with a smoother experience in the future.
Dear Dee, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused by the absence of remote controls for both the air-conditioning and TV in your room upon check-in. Our team strives to … Show more
Reviewed: 23 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe breakfast designed in a very palatable manner with multiple options. They mainly serve continental sort of breakfast and should include some other cuisine too. The location is easily accessible with taxi service and a nearby busstand too.
Dear Anweshak, Thank you for your thoughtful review! We are delighted to hear that you found the breakfast selection palatable and enjoyed the variety of options available. We truly appreciate your suggestion regarding adding more cuisines, and we will certainly take it into consideration to enhance our offerings. It’s great to know that our location was convenient for you, and we’re happy that transportation options made your stay even more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Dear Anweshak, Thank you for your thoughtful review! We are delighted to hear that you found the breakfast selection palatable and enjoyed the variety of options available. We truly appreciate your suggestion regarding adding more cuisines… Show more
Reviewed: 21 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewClean and comfy bed
Total chaos at check in. Would only accept cash no cards. I had no cash on me. No breakfast included receptionist said it was only included for genius level customers (which I am)
Clarification Regarding Your Reservation Dear Mr. Jeffery, Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience. We sincerely regret any frustration encountered during check-in and would like to clarify the situation. Upon reviewing your reservation details through Booking.com, we found that no payment was made prior to your arrival. While we do accept cash as a payment method, we did not state that we exclusively accept cash—other payment options are available. Unfortunately, since you did not have cash at the time of check-in and no prior payment had been completed, this may have contributed to the confusion. Regarding breakfast, we apologize for any misunderstanding. Your reservation did not include breakfast, and our policy states that complimentary breakfast is offered only to Genius-level customers whose booking includes it. We understand this may have been unexpected, and we appreciate your feedback as we continuously strive to improve clarity in our communication. If you have any further concerns or require assistance, please don’t hesitate to reach out. We value your patronage and hope to provide you with a smoother experience in the future.
Clarification Regarding Your Reservation Dear Mr. Jeffery, Thank you for reaching out and sharing your experience. We sincerely regret any frustration encountered during check-in and would like to clarify the situation. Upon reviewing yo… Show more
Reviewed: 8 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe room was soo noisy, there was a machine working just out side the wondow
The linen on the bed was not clean. And no pillow cases in one pillow
Dear Mr. Ryan, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we regret that we fell short on this occasion. We appreciate you bringing the noise issue and housekeeping concerns to our attention. We will address these matters with our team to ensure they are promptly resolved. Please know that we are committed to improving our services and providing a more comfortable experience for all our guests. We truly value your input and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved stay. If there’s anything further we can do, please let us know. Safe travels!
Dear Mr. Ryan, Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we regret that we fell short on this occasion. We apprec… Show more
Reviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewWashrooms poor condition Door locks not working
Dear Mr. Lakshman, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the washroom condition and door locks. Providing a comfortable and secure stay for our guests is our top priority, and we regret that we fell short in this instance. Please know that we are actively addressing these issues to ensure improvements are made promptly. Your feedback is invaluable, and we appreciate your patience and understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future for a much-improved experience.
Dear Mr. Lakshman, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the washroom condition and door locks. Providing a comfortable and secure stay for our guests i… Show more
Reviewed: 26 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewGreat room
All wqs good
Subject: Thank You for Your Kind Words Dear Poli, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your recent stay at Shady Rest Hotel. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. It was our pleasure to host you, and we greatly appreciate your kind feedback. Our team strives to make every guest's stay memorable, and knowing that we met your expectations brings us great joy. We hope to welcome you back to Shady Rest Hotel in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if there's anything we can assist you with during your next visit. Warm regards, Cecile Mag-uyon
Subject: Thank You for Your Kind Words Dear Poli, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your recent stay at Shady Rest Hotel. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a pleasant experience with us. It was… Show more
Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewQuite and comfortable with good and friendly workers
Eberything for me was ok
Dear Poli, We sincerely appreciate your kind words and positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Shady Rest Hotel. It means so much to us that you had a wonderful experience, and we are delighted to have been a part of making your visit enjoyable. Our team takes great pride in providing exceptional service and creating a warm, welcoming atmosphere for all our guests. Your feedback is truly encouraging, and we will share your thoughtful words with the team to inspire them even more. We hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay. If there is anything we can do to make your next visit even better, please don’t hesitate to let us know. Thank you again for choosing Shady Rest Hotel.
Dear Poli, We sincerely appreciate your kind words and positive feedback regarding your recent stay at Shady Rest Hotel. It means so much to us that you had a wonderful experience, and we are delighted to have been a part of making your vi… Show more
Reviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewUnfortunately there was no jug to boil the water so we had to ask for it.
Dear Christine, Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the absence of a jug in your room during your stay. Providing a seamless and comfortable experience for our guests is our top priority, and it is disappointing to learn that we fell short of your expectations in this instance. We deeply regret that you had to request one instead of finding it readily available in your room. Please rest assured that we are taking immediate steps to address this matter and ensure such an oversight does not occur again in the future. Should you have any additional feedback or require further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. It is our privilege to make your stay as pleasant as possible. Once again, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and appreciate your understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and provide you with the exceptional experience you deserve. Warm regards, Cecile Mag-uyon Reservations Team
Dear Christine, Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience caused by the absence of a jug in your room during your stay. Providing a seamless and comfortable experience … Show more
Reviewed: 23 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified review