9.0

Reviews of Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa 4 stars

Village Tiahura, 98729 Papetoai, French Polynesia

  • Felicity

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was quite expensive but small shop nearby had all we needed. The location and style of the hotel was quite I expected but really heavenly and would certainly recommend to anyone looking for perfect location and ambience

    Maybe have the bar open later

  • Zafar

    Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Nothing, Absolutely terrible

    Bad location, no restaurant on premises, only breakfast room service only. Not worth the money, not sure how booking.com rated this place with high stars.

    Property response:

    Thank you for specifying that you would not recommend our hotel to your friends because unfortunately, while we offer dreams and magic, we do not offer the soul that goes with them. Our hotel is reserved for epicureans eager for art and beauty, and apparently, that is not what characterizes you. And rest assured, I will not recommend you to my hotelier friends wherever they are in the world.

    Thank you for specifying that you would not recommend our hotel to your friends because unfortunately, while we offer dreams and magic, we do not offer the soul that goes with them. Our hotel is reserved for epicureans eager for art and bea… Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    19 August 2025
  • Daniela

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location was exceptional right on the lagoon we had a small private beach

    The bedroom filled with mosquitoes at night

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea. It was a real pleasure to welcome you. Regarding mosquitoes, I don't really understand how you could get them at night, since all you have to do is turn on the air conditioning to protect yourself. Furthermore, and as explained at length in the information book available in your suite, with links to detailed explanations, we are located in a protected area, and the use of chemical products is prohibited. Our garden is a fragile ecosystem; mosquito eradication is not possible without destroying the lagoon and terrestrial ecosystems, and it is not desirable from the point of view of the conservation of our ecosystem and human health. We strive to limit their proliferation using natural methods, such as repellent plants and the diffusion of non-harmful repellent substances, and we invite our guests to protect themselves using natural methods, such as essential oils, citrus and citronella essences, etc. If our guests come from all over the world to our islands, it is to enjoy their generous and lush nature. To ensure this continues for future generations, we must prevent the biological destruction that chemicals produce and adapt our way of life to our ecosystem.

    Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea. It was a real pleasure to welcome you. Regarding mosquitoes, I don't really understand how you could get them at night, since all you have to do is turn on the air cond… Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    11 August 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Katie

    Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Marla

    Reviewed: 28 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Location is spectacular and the massages just off the lagoon were a highlight.

    It’s difficult to find on a private road next to the general store.

    Property response:

    We sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to leave a review. I am surprised, however, that you gave a 5/10 rating for the location when you mention, and I quote, "a spectacular location." If you think the place is difficult to find, know that paradise is rarely found by the roadside. To clarify this point, I would like to point out that our establishment is a green haven set on the water in a protected lagoon area. That our environment is the most beautiful on our entire island since it is a nature reserve, protected from fishing or exploitation activities, making the site exceptional. While we are not accessible by road, Polynesia has Google Map technology. The hotel is geolocated and is close to the meeting points of the island's service providers. Finding us is therefore not difficult, but it requires knowledge or research before setting off with your vehicle to an unknown island. It's precisely our private and secluded nature that our customers seek. It's unfortunate that you let your negativity override your reason; the site can't be "spectacular" and at the same time receive a 5/10 rating, which is barely average. The reader will notice the inconsistency. Really, I don't understand.

    We sincerely thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to leave a review. I am surprised, however, that you gave a 5/10 rating for the location when you mention, and I quote, "a spectacular location." If you thi… Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    30 May 2025
  • Karen

    Reviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    We love boutique hotels above all other travel accommodations and have stayed in them all over the world. This is THE BEST one EVER. So unique and beautiful and private and quiet. The decorations and gardens and overall ambiance of it all are a true labor of love and dedication to artistic expression. Can't say enough. Breakfast is available, and there is a great beach restaurant a few doors down for lunch. The kitchenette has a microwave, toaster, blender, egg cooker, coffee machine, water heater, refrigerator. The resident cats are very friendly!

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea.It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    14 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Blaise

    Reviewed: 4 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    good location on the water and quirky design

    hard to find and no food apart from breakfast. Canoe hire could be free considering price of rooms .

    Property response:

    Paradise is rarely found by the roadside... But even in Polynesia, Google Maps are available, allowing everyone to access even the most hidden paradise. As for kayaks, they cost money, and the reason is very simple. We have to replace them every year, and we've lost or broken oars. It's a big expense, which we partially recoup with rentals. As for the fact that we only offer breakfast, you'll have noticed that all the amenities are close to the hotel and that your suite was equipped with a kitchenette. Thank you for choosing our hotel for a one-night stay during your trip to Polynesia.

    Paradise is rarely found by the roadside... But even in Polynesia, Google Maps are available, allowing everyone to access even the most hidden paradise. As for kayaks, they cost money, and the reason is very simple. We have to replace them … Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    4 April 2025
  • Peter

    Reviewed: 30 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • John

    Reviewed: 22 February 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • David

    Reviewed: 8 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Excellent breakfast delivered to our room. Locally made toiletries were very nice. Shower worked well. Abundant fish life off the deck of our suite plus sharks and rays seen at twilight. Eileen was very helpful in organising transport and a tour. Nearby Holy Steak House was very good for dinner and included a pick up service. Small supermarket within easy walking distance.

    No plug for the kitchen sink. The 3 rooms were separated by sets of sliding doors. Central room between bedroom and bathroom was partially open to outside which enabled mosquitoes to enter. Insect repellent recommended. Lighting in bathroom was minimal.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your comment. Just to clarify, the room that separates the bedroom from the bathroom is an indoor garden, certainly, covered and landscaped but it remains a garden with its advantages and disadvantages. I don't quite understand about the sockets? Near the sink of the bar, there is a group of 3 sockets, and in total 7 sockets in the kitchen-bar area. Regarding mosquitoes, you will not have missed that we are in the tropics... Inside you just have to turn on the air conditioning so that you are not bothered and outside, you have to put products on your skin. You stayed in the middle of the rainy season... even by treating, it is useless, the rain eliminates the products. Besides that we only use ecological methods, which is understandable since our hotel is "placed" on the lagoon. As for the lighting in the bathroom, there is a huge mother-of-pearl chandelier that is absolutely beautiful but doesn't illuminate much...same for the wall lights. I'm going to make sure there is more light... Thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea.

    Thank you for your comment. Just to clarify, the room that separates the bedroom from the bathroom is an indoor garden, certainly, covered and landscaped but it remains a garden with its advantages and disadvantages. I don't quite under… Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    8 January 2025
  • Kimberly

    Reviewed: 29 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    This is such a wonderful property- the years of care and personal time invested by the owner and staff are evident in every turn. Location is so convenient, but when there you feel separated from the daily life of the island enterprises. It’s a little slice of heaven on Moorea. The grounds of the hotel itself are fascinating and overflowing with tropical trees and flowers and statuary. The cats are so friendly and make it feel like home (but we love animals). The entire staff want nothing more than for you to relax and enjoy and will go out of their way to assist you with anything they can. They were all so nice and helpful and pleasant. We ordered breakfast each night and it was delivered promptly the next morning and was delicious every day. We were out exploring or doing activities most days so weren’t there much during the daytime. We had a couple nice dinners out and had delivery from Holy Moly Steakhouse one night when we wanted to stay in. So several choices for dining options in your suite or nearby depending on your schedule and preferences. We had a rental car from Avis that we picked up at the ferry port in Moorea and dropped off at the airport in Moorea which I would recommend to make it easier to get around. It was very easy to navigate around the island. But several of the restaurants and activity coordinators will gladly pick you up and drop you off at the hotel if you don’t want a car. It was a very safe location and we had a mixed crowd of guests during our stay. Solo female travelers, couples with very small children, mixed generational families (grandparents, parents, older children, etc), and some couples either honeymooning or vacationing. It was a nice mix and everyone just kind of did their own thing. It never felt crowded or too full. It was perfect.

    Nothing at all- it was a favorite of our trip and we would definitely return.

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for your lovely comment. It was a great pleasure to meet you and I hope we will have the opportunity to see you again. In the meantime, we wish you wonderful holidays and much happiness.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    29 December 2024
  • Cory

    Reviewed: 25 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Magical property, but don't tell anyone about it! It is a amazing secret. This property is a labor of love and passion as you will see in displayed in the plants and artwork. Every nook and cranny is thought of. Snorkel/surf directly out of this lagoon. What not to expect: No poolside shennanigans and nothing moves quickly. Schedule resteraunts and taxi's before you leave!!! If you wait, "it will not be possible". Rather, plan ahead. Beds are best we have had in our travels. It's tropical, so bugs are a thing, just know that. Eileen will handle your every need.

    This has nothing to do with the resort, just a culture of the island...resources such as taxis or resteraunt availability, is VERY limited. All of the taxis, all of them, may be at the ferry dock and not operating near you unless you have pre-arranged. You order dinner for delivery no later then 3pm, if you want to eat at 7pm. Waiting to decide where you eat, means you will not eat.

    Property response:

    Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and thank you again for choosing it for your stay in Moorea.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    26 October 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Aysegul

    Reviewed: 17 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • Costin

    Reviewed: 7 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    The tastefull design, the deck, the interiör spaces arround the bar and the deck. Good value for the money

    Nothing to object

    Property response:

    Thank you for taking the time to rate our hotel and thank you again for choosing it for your stay in Moorea.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    9 October 2024
  • Oliver

    Reviewed: 16 September 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    Beautiful setting, very quiet and boutique, great cocktails,

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for your lovely comment and thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    16 September 2024
  • See the hotel
  • Jeunel

    Reviewed: 10 September 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    We're so glad we chose to stay here - it's such a beautiful and peaceful place. The location is quiet and private, but just a short walk or drive to restaurants and nearby places to explore. There's a grocery store just up on the main road that is well stocked with food supplies and drinks. We found marinated fish and sushi in the food cabinet, which made an ideal ready-made meal to enjoy in our room. For anyone that wants to see tropical fish but doesn't want to snorkel, this is the place - and for anyone that does like to snorkel, this is the place. We loved being able to sit on the deck and watch fish of all colours and sizes swim around our feet. As well as a variety of smaller fish, we saw manta rays during the day then eagle rays and [friendly/timid] reef sharks at night. The resident cat politely ignored us until we decided to make friends, after which it was lovely to have him join us one evening for a spot of fish watching. The deck was so relaxing and peaceful we could have happily spent our entire stay there. The bed was very comfortable, the room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The air-conditioning and wi-fi worked well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Would love to go back.

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for your lovely comment and thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    12 September 2024
  • Nico

    Reviewed: 7 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    Great location in front of Moorea's most famous snorkeling spot; impressive deck with direct access to the lagoon with numerous sharks and rays; comfortable rooms - bed, including a kind little host (cat)

    Small details showed the room was a bit old, like the shower not being well screwed to the wall

  • Juliet

    Reviewed: 24 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Sue

    Reviewed: 22 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • Carla

    Reviewed: 6 August 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review

    Great communication, comfortable, clean all set in an amazing slice of paradise.

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for your lovely comment and thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea.It was a real pleasure to welcome you and we hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    6 August 2024
  • 3.0 Poor
    Susan

    Reviewed: 2 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    not much. did not meet our expectations and very unfriendly staff. we ended up leaving all day and coming back only late at night to sleep.

    there was construction going on in the main communal space. furniture was covered is sheets to protect from dust, and areas roped off. construction noises/hammering and drilling happening on and off throughout the day. this was not disclosed to us prior to selecting this hotel. The pictures on booking.com did not reflect the current state of the hotel. all very disappointing.

    Property response:

    I am astounded by your bad faith. Indeed, when you arrived at 8am in the morning, there was a bit of noise from the work. You were supposed to arrive only at 3pm and we had planned to finish some improvements while our guests closest to the work were doing activities outside. We were understanding and agreed to welcome you 7 hours before check-in, offering you flower necklaces and welcome cocktails and we did our best to settle you into your suite well before check-in time. There was no more noise during your entire stay because the work was interrupted for several days. We were redoing a lounge which is now finished and I invite you and the readers of your message to go to our Facebook page to see the result. Furthermore, our hotel has multiple indoor and outdoor lounges and only one was under construction. I agree with you on one point, the photos do not reflect all the magic of our hotel, that is in any case what 99% of our customers say. Your criticism is unbearable while the specificity of our hotel is to have spaces whose beauty is praised. And that is the reason why there was work... to make it even more beautiful. As for the staff, your criticism is particularly unfair, even mean because all our employees are pleasant and smiling. However, you were particularly unpleasant, not very smiling, you did not greet anyone, so perhaps you should make your personal criticism. There is still something that I have difficulty understanding, how could you have been bothered by the noise of the work when you say you were never there during the day....

    I am astounded by your bad faith. Indeed, when you arrived at 8am in the morning, there was a bit of noise from the work. You were supposed to arrive only at 3pm and we had planned to finish some improvements while our guests closest to the… Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    3 July 2024
  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Fiorenza

    Reviewed: 30 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    Lagoon right in front of the hotel, nice deck to see sharks and rays at night.

    Insects in the room

    Property response:

    You are surprised to have come across insects in a hotel whose specificity is to be ecological, concerned about the environment and the future of our planet. Polynesia is still a privileged, unpolluted place and we, the Polynesians, do not want our magical islands to suffer the very serious harm that you know in your highly polluted countries. In an ecosystem, we do not kill biodiversity and we do not use chemicals that are dangerous for health and the environment. Pesticides kill all insects including bees and pollinators, threatening all biodiversity. So, the consequence of not using them is that there is all this life. It is a living universe. I am sorry that you considered the fact of having come across two unfortunate insects as a major problem. There were so many wonders to contemplate...

    You are surprised to have come across insects in a hotel whose specificity is to be ecological, concerned about the environment and the future of our planet. Polynesia is still a privileged, unpolluted place and we, the Polynesians, do not … Show more

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    1 July 2024
  • Patoo

    Reviewed: 28 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    Love the private patio overlooking the lagoon. You can see sunset and sunrises from the patio. You can see fishes right in the water. We also saw stingray. There's no restaurant at the bungalow, but you can order food from front desk. There's a common bar area and common game room if you don't want to stay in your room. The decoration is very spa like with in-door pond. There's a market and food places within walking distance from the bungalow. Tour will come pick-up from this location.

    Bring insect repellent with you. There's AC inside the bedroom, but it's open floor concept, so instead of enclosed room, there's an open garden bamboo that give you privacy but does not prevent mosquitos from coming in the living room area. Not wheelchair friendly. Rooms are separate by patio glass door. You can hear loud noise from boat passing by or jet ski rental sometime.

    Property response:

    Thank you for taking the time to comment and thank you again for choosing our hotel for your stay in Moorea.

    Hôtel Fenua Mata'i'oa
    29 May 2024
  • Ann-marie

    Reviewed: 29 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Windsor Hotel Cairo

Cairo, Egypt

House Jelena

Seliste Dreznicko, Croatia

Hotel Del Golfo

Procchio, Italy

B&B Lindenbank

Wattenwil, Switzerland

7 Kholmov Hotel

Kirov, Russia

Anne's House

San Giuliano Terme, Italy

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...