Reviews of Hotel Cocotal 2 stars
Avenida principal Isla Grande, Isla Grande, Panama

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat affordable place in the center of town with friendly staff. The room was clean, bed was good and the airco works. You can use the beach chairs free of charge and they offered us a welcome cocktail upon arrival. Breakfast was tasty as well.
The shower was good, but could've been better. But certainly good enough.
Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewAwesome location and great staff
Reviewed: 20 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful on the ocean property. You get straight from the boat to the hotel and you are accommodated immediately and can start enjoying the pristine beach immediately as well. They have floatables and ammenities to further enjoy and make your beach experience more comfortable which was great and what I was looking for. Beach exper was super!
Door frame and lock was hanging from a thread. Cable was dead most of the time. No warm water. Bathroom was in ok condition. No toiletries except for 1 very cheap soap for 4. We had to ask for one more at least. Air conditioner started leaking heavily but was promptly "fixed" by the management by making it leak to the outside of the room. We went for the beach experience so these details were..lets say passable, as beds and sleeping were pretty ok and AC still worked fine. Restaurant pricing was steep but convenient.
Reviewed: 17 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewBooked 4 nights at Cocotal, it was a good location with a beautifull vieuw. The personel was amazing! Very good people who care for the people and work hard. Good service! The place was comfortable and the food was excellent! The room was normal and could be better, but for an island it is okay. Many thanks to the people working here for the amazing service.
The room could be a bit better to compete with the price of the stay.
Reviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewNice hotel on the beach
Toilet didn,t worked
Reviewed: 5 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe breakfast was really good, simple but a good variety. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The area was really pretty with lots of fresh air.
The grounds and hotel area were not as clean and maintained as I would like to see. I understand this hotel being a little rustic and right on the beach so sandy, but at one point a dog urinated in the main outdoor corridor and even staff members just stepped around it until it dried.
Reviewed: 1 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewLocation
Dirty, not hot water
Reviewed: 27 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe staff at the hotel were amazing! They were extremely helpful and friendly (particularly Stefan)!
Reviewed: 24 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewIt's dog friendly and there was a sweet little puppy. Nice calm water good for paddle boarding.
The rooms are dark and sparse; no hot water, no balcony, no fridge, no drinking water provided, no bedding except a single (stained) sheet, no beach towels, no balcony, no view (besides a pile of trash next to the hotel), no wifi, and poor data signal. There was water constantly leaking in the main hallway making it very slippery and covered in mud. The bath towels have holes, and there is black mould in the bathroom. I asked for a blanket and they brought me one that smelled like mould, and didn't have another one. They took the blanket to wash it but then didn't ever give it back to me before I slept, despite asking repeatedly. There was crazy loud music thumping through the walls all night not to mention loud people walking by at all hours of the night since the hotel room door is 1 foot from the public road. The menu prices were very high and we waited almost 2 hours for food, and my friend and I were served our meals 30 minutes apart. The parking lot charged us for 4 days instead of 3 and said if we didn't pay the extra day we couldn't park there. Despite calling them the night before to confirm our arrival and then also confirming our boat pick up 40 minutes before, when we arrived at the hotel with all our luggage the manager asked us "you're checking in tomorrow right?". When we said "no, today" we had to wait 2 hours for them to apparently clean the room, even though we arrived at 4:00 pm, 2 hours after the posted check-in time. No apology or acknowledgement was offered. We left after the first night but got no refund (nor apology). My advice is to stay far, far away.
Good afternoon. In response to your comments, I would like to say that I am very sorry that you did not like the island, the hotel, the surroundings, the music or the children. In response to your comments, you know that the parking is private and we have absolutely nothing to do with it, although all the clients are always very satisfied, because it is somewhat cheaper than the one in the village. It is true that you had to wait a few minutes when you arrived, because the hotel was full every day during those days, being the school holiday week. I think that you were well attended to, as we are always doing with all our clients, but I also sincerely believe that you did not accept fate, because people go to the island to enjoy the beach, the good atmosphere, the music, etc. You said you wanted to rest and didn't want to listen to music in the dining room where we always have it, because that's what all the clients ask for. You've commented on the sheets and towels and I'm not going to answer you because it's not worth it. You complained about the noise in the street and that's an issue that we obviously can't control. The room happens to be the largest, it has plenty of light and you chose it because you were with a very large pet and you didn't want to climb stairs. No hotel room has a balcony. In any hotel on the island it has hot water because the water always comes out lukewarm. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly for all the clients except for you. I don't understand why. If the food seemed expensive to you, you had other options on the island, but honestly, people come to our restaurant from many other hotels. Indeed, you asked for a blanket because they had the air conditioning very strong, I imagine so that the pet wouldn't get hot and the one you took at first you said it smelled a little damp and the blanket was quickly washed to be given to you again. I sincerely believe that for a relaxing vacation, it is not the best destination.
Good afternoon. In response to your comments, I would like to say that I am very sorry that you did not like the island, the hotel, the surroundings, the music or the children. In response to your comments, you know that the parking is pri… Show more
Reviewed: 16 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 31 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewWe are very grateful for all the attention and care we received in Isla Grande, Colón – Panama. The Staff was amazing and did all their utmost to provide us with the best experience. The room was also very nice and spacious, with even 2 beds. The food was also very tasty, both at breakfast and lunchtime. Very much recommended.
Nothing to add.
Reviewed: 15 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewThe location
Everything was fine
Reviewed: 6 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewOceanfront
There was no water and bottled was not offered. Unable to wash hands after bathroom use. When checking in, no greeting. No offer to escort to room. WiFi code not offered. Optional tours or anything about the location was offered. We had to repeatedly go to the office to enquire about WiFi code. Water. Things to do in the area.
Reviewed: 4 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe hotel is strategically located near the beach and has an excellent view from the dinning room
Although the weather was hot, there was no hot water available in the shower
Reviewed: 1 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewGreat location right on the beach. We snorkelled right outside the hotel and saw a lot of colourful fish. The owners were really nice people and super helpful they went above and beyond. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and the AC was very cold. The food there was also really good and the restaurant staff were very friendly.
Reviewed: 1 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe location is very good. The ease of leaving the car and the boat trip is very practical. The staff was very good and the food was delicious.
The stairs to get to the room are dangerous should consider emergency water system Do not throw food waste into the sea, you can see the grease while you bathe. Add wastewater treatment system
Reviewed: 29 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewIt was an amazing stay, stuff is very friendly and nice. Location is perfect!
Reviewed: 19 March 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewLocation
A little old
Reviewed: 5 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewStaff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious
Water stopped several times during our stay. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable.
Reviewed: 4 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe staff is kind and super attentive. There is also a natural pool by the deck and the food is amazing!!
The facilities are poorly maintained. It is not worth for the money. It would be a great plus to allow guests to bring their own drinks without charging additional fees.