7.4

Reviews of Hotel Cocotal 2 stars

Avenida principal Isla Grande, Isla Grande, Panama

  • Sergio

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Merijn

    Reviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Great affordable place in the center of town with friendly staff. The room was clean, bed was good and the airco works. You can use the beach chairs free of charge and they offered us a welcome cocktail upon arrival. Breakfast was tasty as well.

    The shower was good, but could've been better. But certainly good enough.

  • Philip

    Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Awesome location and great staff

  • See the hotel
  • Alfredo

    Reviewed: 20 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful on the ocean property. You get straight from the boat to the hotel and you are accommodated immediately and can start enjoying the pristine beach immediately as well. They have floatables and ammenities to further enjoy and make your beach experience more comfortable which was great and what I was looking for. Beach exper was super!

    Door frame and lock was hanging from a thread. Cable was dead most of the time. No warm water. Bathroom was in ok condition. No toiletries except for 1 very cheap soap for 4. We had to ask for one more at least. Air conditioner started leaking heavily but was promptly "fixed" by the management by making it leak to the outside of the room. We went for the beach experience so these details were..lets say passable, as beds and sleeping were pretty ok and AC still worked fine. Restaurant pricing was steep but convenient.

  • Julian

    Reviewed: 17 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Booked 4 nights at Cocotal, it was a good location with a beautifull vieuw. The personel was amazing! Very good people who care for the people and work hard. Good service! The place was comfortable and the food was excellent! The room was normal and could be better, but for an island it is okay. Many thanks to the people working here for the amazing service.

    The room could be a bit better to compete with the price of the stay.

  • 7.0 Good
    Miroslav

    Reviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Nice hotel on the beach

    Toilet didn,t worked

  • See the hotel
  • Andres

    Reviewed: 5 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Lourdes

    Reviewed: 2 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The breakfast was really good, simple but a good variety. The staff was really helpful and friendly. The area was really pretty with lots of fresh air.

    The grounds and hotel area were not as clean and maintained as I would like to see. I understand this hotel being a little rustic and right on the beach so sandy, but at one point a dog urinated in the main outdoor corridor and even staff members just stepped around it until it dried.

  • Vanderpool

    Reviewed: 1 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Location

    Dirty, not hot water

  • See the hotel
  • Nathan

    Reviewed: 27 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The staff at the hotel were amazing! They were extremely helpful and friendly (particularly Stefan)!

  • Beckarrooo

    Reviewed: 24 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    It's dog friendly and there was a sweet little puppy. Nice calm water good for paddle boarding.

      The rooms are dark and sparse; no hot water, no balcony, no fridge, no drinking water provided, no bedding except a single (stained) sheet, no beach towels, no balcony, no view (besides a pile of trash next to the hotel), no wifi, and poor data signal. There was water constantly leaking in the main hallway making it very slippery and covered in mud. The bath towels have holes, and there is black mould in the bathroom. I asked for a blanket and they brought me one that smelled like mould, and didn't have another one. They took the blanket to wash it but then didn't ever give it back to me before I slept, despite asking repeatedly.  There was crazy loud music thumping through the walls all night not to mention loud people walking by at all hours of the night since the hotel room door is 1 foot from the public road.  The menu prices were very high and we waited almost 2 hours for food, and my friend and I were served our meals 30 minutes apart.  The parking lot charged us for 4 days instead of 3 and said if we didn't pay the extra day we couldn't park there.  Despite calling them the night before to confirm our arrival and then also confirming our boat pick up 40 minutes before, when we arrived at the hotel with all our luggage the manager asked us "you're checking in tomorrow right?".  When we said "no, today" we had to wait 2 hours for them to apparently clean the room, even though we arrived at 4:00 pm, 2 hours after the posted check-in time. No apology or acknowledgement was offered. We left after the first night but got no refund (nor apology).  My advice is to stay far, far away.

    Property response:

    Good afternoon. In response to your comments, I would like to say that I am very sorry that you did not like the island, the hotel, the surroundings, the music or the children. In response to your comments, you know that the parking is private and we have absolutely nothing to do with it, although all the clients are always very satisfied, because it is somewhat cheaper than the one in the village. It is true that you had to wait a few minutes when you arrived, because the hotel was full every day during those days, being the school holiday week. I think that you were well attended to, as we are always doing with all our clients, but I also sincerely believe that you did not accept fate, because people go to the island to enjoy the beach, the good atmosphere, the music, etc. You said you wanted to rest and didn't want to listen to music in the dining room where we always have it, because that's what all the clients ask for. You've commented on the sheets and towels and I'm not going to answer you because it's not worth it. You complained about the noise in the street and that's an issue that we obviously can't control. The room happens to be the largest, it has plenty of light and you chose it because you were with a very large pet and you didn't want to climb stairs. No hotel room has a balcony. In any hotel on the island it has hot water because the water always comes out lukewarm. The Wi-Fi worked perfectly for all the clients except for you. I don't understand why. If the food seemed expensive to you, you had other options on the island, but honestly, people come to our restaurant from many other hotels. Indeed, you asked for a blanket because they had the air conditioning very strong, I imagine so that the pet wouldn't get hot and the one you took at first you said it smelled a little damp and the blanket was quickly washed to be given to you again. I sincerely believe that for a relaxing vacation, it is not the best destination.

    Good afternoon. In response to your comments, I would like to say that I am very sorry that you did not like the island, the hotel, the surroundings, the music or the children. In response to your comments, you know that the parking is pri… Show more

    Hotel Cocotal
    3 October 2024
  • Eduardo

    Reviewed: 16 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Thomas

    Reviewed: 6 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    James

    Reviewed: 31 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review
  • Tiago

    Reviewed: 24 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    We are very grateful for all the attention and care we received in Isla Grande, Colón – Panama. The Staff was amazing and did all their utmost to provide us with the best experience. The room was also very nice and spacious, with even 2 beds. The food was also very tasty, both at breakfast and lunchtime. Very much recommended.

    Nothing to add.

  • See the hotel
  • Csabane

    Reviewed: 15 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    The location

    Everything was fine

  • Michele

    Reviewed: 6 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    Oceanfront

    There was no water and bottled was not offered. Unable to wash hands after bathroom use. When checking in, no greeting. No offer to escort to room. WiFi code not offered. Optional tours or anything about the location was offered. We had to repeatedly go to the office to enquire about WiFi code. Water. Things to do in the area.

  • Agustin

    Reviewed: 4 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The hotel is strategically located near the beach and has an excellent view from the dinning room

    Although the weather was hot, there was no hot water available in the shower

  • See the hotel
  • Jenna

    Reviewed: 1 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    Great location right on the beach. We snorkelled right outside the hotel and saw a lot of colourful fish. The owners were really nice people and super helpful they went above and beyond. The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean and the AC was very cold. The food there was also really good and the restaurant staff were very friendly.

  • Diego

    Reviewed: 1 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The location is very good. The ease of leaving the car and the boat trip is very practical. The staff was very good and the food was delicious.

    The stairs to get to the room are dangerous should consider emergency water system Do not throw food waste into the sea, you can see the grease while you bathe. Add wastewater treatment system

  • Olesya

    Reviewed: 29 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    It was an amazing stay, stuff is very friendly and nice. Location is perfect!

  • See the hotel
  • Gary

    Reviewed: 19 March 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    Location

    A little old

  • Eric

    Reviewed: 5 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    Staff were very friendly and breakfast was delicious

    Water stopped several times during our stay. The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable.

  • Desiree

    Reviewed: 4 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review

    The staff is kind and super attentive. There is also a natural pool by the deck and the food is amazing!!

    The facilities are poorly maintained. It is not worth for the money. It would be a great plus to allow guests to bring their own drinks without charging additional fees.

  • See the hotel
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...