Reviews of Beechwood Boutique Accommodation 4.5 stars
842 George Street, North Dunedin, 9016 Dunedin, New Zealand

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Grove City, United States
New Delhi, India
Tsuchiura, Japan
Klong Muang Beach, Thailand
Vetschau, Germany
San Priamo, Italy
Castelnuovo del Garda, Italy
Preddvor, Slovenia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewClean modern and warm
No electric blankets 😊
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewA lovely spacious apartment with large King bed which are hard to find these days and sparkling clean.
Just the car park a bit tight but ok by morning
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation was great, car parking great, clean units
Road noise and partying students was an issue, husband is 6ft 2 tall and the shower was too small for him. Room accommodated four people but no room to sit four people. No electric blankets on the bed was a huge issue for my elderly parents
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we really appreciate it. As you are aware Dunedin is vibrant student culture can bring with it a certain level of noise at times, particularly during weekends or local events. While this is part of the city’s unique character, we understand it may not suit everyone but unfortunately, some things are out of our control. Regarding the bedding, while we don’t provide electric blankets, our rooms are well heated, and we have additional blankets available upon request to ensure guest comfort throughout the colder months. You mentioned the shower being too small for your husband, the room you selected is one of our more compact options. We do have larger rooms available that feature more spacious bathrooms, including both adjustable and rain-style showerheads, which may be a better fit. Lastly, there are two stools stored under the luggage shelf in your room, which many of our guests use to comfortably seat four at the table. As a fellow motelier, I'm sure you understand the balance we try to strike between space, comfort, and functionality within each room type. We do our best to clearly represent these features on our booking platforms, but we’re always happy to assist directly in choosing the most suitable option for your needs.
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, we really appreciate it. As you are aware Dunedin is vibrant student culture can bring with it a certain level of noise at times, particularly during weekends or local events. While this… Show more
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI have stayed here before when visiting my son at university. Staff excellent. Rooms comfortable and spotlessly clean. Close to the university. Very fair price for location/ room. Would stay anytime visiting my child in Dunedin
Hi Charlotte, we truly appreciate your kind words and continued support, and we look forward to welcoming you back anytime you're in Dunedin. It's guest like you and your family that make our job rewarding.
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewwarm and lovely place. Highly recommend.
Thank you for your kind review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIf you’re looking for a clean, comfortable, and welcoming place to stay Beachwood is a fantastic choice. Our family loves staying here and it will without doubt be the first pick when returning to Dunedin.
Nothing at all
Hi Willie, thank you for your kind review, it truly means a lot to us. It's guests like you and your family who make what we do so rewarding. We always enjoy having you stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location, the cleanness of the accommodation, the staff, the setting inside
N/A
Hi Micheila, thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure to host you.
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery central, super clean and super helpful hosts. Will definitely stay there again.
Hi Shannon, Thank you so much for your kind review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation, clean, nice decor
It was great
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVery clean. Welcoming hosts. Warm.
Thank you for your thoughtful review, it was a pleasure to host you.
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVery modern and clean apartment. The staff were very friendly and provided lots of tourist information.
Nothing
Thank you for your kind feedback. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure having you as our guests,
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStaff is nice. Location is great because there are some fast food restaurant nearby. They even offer body lotion which is really good!
Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe heater was on and it was warm, clean, spacious and cosy. It was very well-equipped and had a heated bath rail. Quiet. I have stayed in their teeny tiny room at the front of the property and I quite like that too. This time, I wanted to treat myself so went for luxury. I was not disappointed.
Maybe the outside steps get icy. Luckily, it was an ice free Dunedin today.
Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe accommodation was very modern, clean & overall lovely. Close to lots of shops & a great location.
It was a little noisy at night with people walking by being quite loud, till around midnight or a little later. But apart from that it was great & once asleep was absolutely fine
Reviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat option for a family of 4. Well appointed room with everything we needed. Very clean and tidy. The heated floor in the bathroom was a very nice addition for a winter trip to Dunedin. Great location to walk to Forsyth Barr Stadium.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again sometime.