Reviews of Kowhai Apartment - private opposite golf course central Wanaka
33 Stratford Terrace, 9305 Wanaka, New Zealand

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewCozy small flat. Central
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location was excellent. It is right opposite the golf course and just a short walk into the town. The host was incredibly helpful and responsive. The apartment is spacious, and the shower was excellent.
The kitchen area is a little small. We self-catered the whole time and there wasn't a lot of room to prepare food. However, it was really well equipped.
Hi Christine I am super happy you enjoyed your stay at the apartment, enjoying the space and the showering!. Thanks for your feedback on needing more food prep space, I will see how I can improve this :-)
Reviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewGood location, we could walk into town. The bathroom was excellent.
The sitting/dining room/kitchen was uninspiring, you could have been anywhere.
Hi Douglas Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy you liked the location and enjoyed the bathroom. I am sorry you didn't find the main area decor to your liking. I will take a look and see where we could improve. Cheers Katherine
Hi Douglas Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. I am happy you liked the location and enjoyed the bathroom. I am sorry you didn't find the main area decor to your liking. I will take a look and see where we could improve. C… Show more
Reviewed: 16 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewAn absolutely excellent apartment with an exceptionally well-equipped kitchen (even had salt, pepper and oil!). It's really a 9.5! The bedroom was big and the bed very comfortable with top quality linen, towels and toiletries. Ideal spot during you travels as a washing machine and dryer are available (note, not in the apartment itself but in a separate room just behind it). It's a little far from the centre of Wanaka (uphill) but walking-distance from a vineyard so bonus!! Well organised as the entry instructions and wifi info were all sent in advance, and the host was helpful and friendly!
A little carton of fresh milk would have been welcome! Seems this is standard everywhere in NZ where there is a fridge but everything else was great!
Wow! Thanks Olivia for taking the time to write us a detailed review it is really appreciated. I am super happy you really enjoyed the apartment and will look at supplying milk again :-)
Reviewed: 15 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewGreat accommodation, really good and everything we wanted, including use of a washing machine
Thanks Kate for taking the time to write us a review. I am super stoked to hear the apartment was all you wanted it to be and you made use of the extra amenities :-)
Reviewed: 19 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewHi Rebecca Thanks heaps for taking the time to write us a review it is really appreciated. I am stoked you were happy :-) Cheers Katherine
Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewLovely courtyard to relax and enjoy the morning sun! Well equipped and great location.
Unfortunately the washing machine was not working and we needed up having to hand wash our clothes. Many flies upon arrival though we managed to get rid of most of them after the first day.
Thanks for taking the time to write a review it is much appreciated. I am really sorry the washing machine was out of action for your stay and did cause you inconvenience. And sorry to hear about the fly issue, I will look for a solution.
Reviewed: 12 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe property, although quite small, was thoughtfully furnished with good quality fittings. Clean and tidy in a quiet location not too far from the town centre.
Unfortunately, there was no air conditioning and being February it became quite hot inside. The window in the bedroom didn’t open so it became more uncomfortable in the night. We had to open the outside door all night to get air through the apartment.
Thanks for your review I really appreciate you taking the time to write one. I am sorry to hear of your discomfort at the heat during the night but rest assured the bedroom window does open and is not a fixed piece of glass. I have also added a pedestal cooling fan for night time cooling as a result of your feedback :-)
Thanks for your review I really appreciate you taking the time to write one. I am sorry to hear of your discomfort at the heat during the night but rest assured the bedroom window does open and is not a fixed piece of glass. I have also add… Show more
Reviewed: 5 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewExcellent apartment. Plenty of room. Everything you need . Close to shopping centre. Highly recommended.
Hi Francis Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and I am super happy you enjoyed the apartment :-) Take care Katherine
Reviewed: 2 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewVery Nice house and host in Wanaka
Hi Stefan Thanks heaps for taking the time to write a review. I especially love your title and am super stoked you feel this way. Take care and have a safe onwards journey. Katherine
Reviewed: 29 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGreat little place, cute courtyard, new kitchen and bathroom, warm and light. Definitely recommend. Walking distance into town. Close to amenities.
Hi Michael Thanks heaps for taking the time to write a review. I am super stoked you enjoyed your stay. Take care and have a safe onwards journey. Katherine
Reviewed: 11 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe property was in a nice quiet location and only a short walk to the centre. The studio is much nicer in person than the photos online. It’s modern and spacious for a 1 bedroom. Katherine was lovely to deal with and will definitely book here again!
Only minor but the lounge wasn’t comfortable. Having a microwave in the studio would have been great.
Hi Joanne Thanks for taking the time to write us a review as I really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment. I have noted your comment about having a microwave and also that you didn't find the lounge comfortable. If you have time to elaborate on why you found it this way I would really appreciate the further detail.
Hi Joanne Thanks for taking the time to write us a review as I really appreciate it. I am glad you enjoyed the apartment. I have noted your comment about having a microwave and also that you didn't find the lounge comfortable. If you … Show more
Reviewed: 31 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 31 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewGreat location and really nice to have the outside space
Not appropriate for 4 adults as the only bathroom is directly off the bedroom. Would be fine for a family but not 2 couples and we had to book an extra room elsewhere. This is on the description but not very clear so wanted to highlight it
Hi Rebecca First thanks for taking the time to write a review it is most appreciated. However, the many photos clearly show the bed arrangement and where the bathroom is located. If there was doubt or it was unclear to you I am always responsive to questions as you experienced in your request to drop your luggage in early and place your Xmas leftovers in the fridge prior to the stated check in time. In addition my cleaner worked extra hard to have the apartment ready for you at 2pm which is way earlier than the stated 4pm check in time. I do not feel the 5 you gave reflects the service you received. The price you paid is for a 1 night stay which is unusual for the Wanaka area at this time year. I am sorry you had a car accident on the morning of check out and can only guess that this reflects your view of the stay as I believe your ratings are unwarranted.
Hi Rebecca First thanks for taking the time to write a review it is most appreciated. However, the many photos clearly show the bed arrangement and where the bathroom is located. If there was doubt or it was unclear to you I am always respo… Show more
Reviewed: 5 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewClean and cosy in a great setting, nice and modern apartment, comfy bed
Wow, thanks Abi I really appreciate your great review and I'm super happy you had a great stay :-)