Reviews of Alpine View Lodge 4 stars
23 Studholme Road South,RD 2, 9382 Wanaka, New Zealand

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Callao Salvaje, Spain
Nha Trang, Vietnam
Kata Beach, Thailand
Ooty, India
Hetzdorf, Germany
Bastia, France
Seliste Dreznicko, Croatia
Maclear, South Africa
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery queue peaceful location. We had a lovely little deck to sit out on and admire the views. Whilst the place was slightly dated it was extremely clean
We could hear the people in the room next to us.
Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery peaceful and private. Warm and clean, bathroom has a huge bath which was nice for soaking in. Beautiful views out over the fields and hills. Walkable into town, especially with the lovely views, but some would probably prefer to drive.
The bed was very hard and my partner was in a bit of pain the following day, though I didn't mind so much. Another few pillows would have been nice but those are minor issues, overall a nice little place.
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation was good for us and the instructions to get in were good
It was cold in the room it would have been nice if a heater was on. The bed is very hard there is only 1 pillow. There was a hair and dead bug on the floor of the bathroom and they ask you to take your shoes off but leave you some shoes to use but not sure if they have been cleaned between people i wasn’t comfortable using them
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewIt’s really beautiful inside the room. Clean and lovely
Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewExtremely comfortable bed. Most other things met our needs.
Being short I found the locked box for the key was too high up for me to see the numbers. I would have liked the ability to have some brighter lighting in the main area. It was difficult to get ready for a special function with such dim lighting.
Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThis is a beautiful location, and the accommodation incredibly cozy and full of charm. A beautiful place to wake up, and have a quiet and relaxed breakfast before starting your day in Wānaka or heading off to the ski fields. The hosts have put a lot of thought and care into crafting the stay, and it shows. I could easily have stayed for days and days more.
The WiFi was a bit unintuitive - and seemed to work for some things but not others on my phone (though it didn't impact the streaming services on the TV at all). I ended up using mobile data so it wasn't an issue but might have been if you were relying on the WiFi for anything.
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewNice quiet location
First of all since there’s no staff at the desk, only a phonenumber, which is fine, if they would pick up or call back… which didn’t happen. The heater in our unit blew cold air and it was freezing. I guess there was staff since we saw light in windows looking right on to our terras (there were blinds, but you just don’t feel private). We ended up using the load bathroom heater to get some warmt in the unit! All the “notice “ letters are pretty annoying and not welcoming, especially if you don’t provide a clean and fully functioning unit yourself. The bathroom light over the bath was broken so you have bade and shower in the dark! In 5 weeks NZ this was the worst room we had and I would have left if I could. Especially bad that nobody could be reached to help out or move us to another unit.
We would like to clarify a few important points regarding your stay. As clearly stated in our check-in instructions, Alpine View Lodge operates on a self check-in and check-out system. All contact information is provided in the in-room guest guide. If you were unable to reach us by phone, it’s possible our staff was briefly away from the landline. However, you could also have contacted us via the Booking.com messaging system — we always respond promptly and would have immediately replaced the lightbulb upon receiving your message. The bathroom is fitted with three overhead lights. One bulb may have been out, but the remaining lights are sufficient for normal use. Therefore, the claim that you had to bathe in the dark is not accurate. Regarding the heat pump, we inspected it after your departure and confirmed that it is working properly and blowing warm air as expected. We also compared it to a brand new unit in another room. Please note that in Wanaka’s winter, where temperatures often drop below freezing overnight, any heater may take longer to warm up the space. Our self check-in system is designed to offer guests flexibility and convenience. As we do not take credit card deposits, we provide a few basic notices in the room as reminders — such as no smoking, not flushing sanitary products, and safety precautions regarding the mezzanine railing. These are all common-sense measures intended to protect both guests and the property. We do not believe they should be interpreted as unfriendly. As for your privacy concerns: your unit includes a private terrace, and the glass doors are equipped with full blackout curtains. The windows on our side of the building are also covered with blinds at all times. Since both sides remain fully covered, there is no visibility into or out of either room. If your expectations of privacy require absolute separation from any adjacent structures, you should consider booking an entire standalone building, well away from any neighbours, to meet your personal standards. Lastly, we believe your ratings of 2.5/10 for cleanliness and value are not a fair reflection of our service. Our housekeeping team works with great care to prepare and maintain every room to a high standard. At NZD $200 per night, the room you stayed in represents excellent value for quality accommodation in Wanaka during the winter season. We welcome all genuine feedback and strive to improve, but we must respectfully reject claims that are inaccurate or misleading. For your reference, just a few days before your stay, another couple spent 7 nights in the exact same room — they rated their experience 9 out of 10.
We would like to clarify a few important points regarding your stay. As clearly stated in our check-in instructions, Alpine View Lodge operates on a self check-in and check-out system. All contact information is provided in the in-room gues… Show more
Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewClose proximity to the town centre, undercover parking, property was clean.
Felt like the personal touch was missing. Very minimal provisions made; for example 1 x pillow per person, watered down dishwashing liquid, 1 x towel per person, 2 x logs for the fire for a 2 night stay. There were also lots of signs inside the accommodation, making requests to do certain things. For example: “please don’t cook spicy foods because they leave a lingering smell, please don’t put luggage on the beds, dont wear your shoes inside, no smoking, turn off heaters and electric blankets when not in use”. The bed was EXTREMELY hard.
Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVery nice backyard and good view of Alpine from living room window
We followed property rules to turn off aircon and heater before heading out for dinner. When we returned it was freezing cold and the air conditioner was so weak and everyone was wearing their outdoor coat for hours. The air conditioner definitely need an upgrade for sure. Next morning there was no hot water. No one answered phone call but responded booking.com message pretty quickly and property manager did turn up quickly but couldn’t fix it. We ended up used freezing cold water and property manager did offered $60 cash back.
Dear Yao], We are truly sorry to hear that you experienced an inconvenience with the hot water on the morning of your departure. After a sudden temperature drop overnight, the gas pipe froze unexpectedly, which temporarily affected the hot water supply. Following an inspection by the gas company, we were advised that the issue resolved itself as the outdoor temperature rose — by around 9:00 AM, the hot water was functioning again. Unfortunately, by that time, you had already left. Please know that we check all room facilities daily, including hot water systems. The morning you checked out turned out to be the coldest morning of the season here in Wanaka — even the Cardrona ski field delayed its lift operations until 10 AM due to heavy frost. We deeply regret the discomfort caused by this unexpected weather event. We value your feedback and have since added extra firewood to the two-bedroom cottage, so guests can enjoy the fireplace for additional warmth. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future under better circumstances. Warm regards, Alpine View Lodge
Dear Yao], We are truly sorry to hear that you experienced an inconvenience with the hot water on the morning of your departure. After a sudden temperature drop overnight, the gas pipe froze unexpectedly, which temporarily affected the ho… Show more
Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewNice garden and views.
Very cold inside. Took a long time to heat up.
Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe cabin is on a private property with 2 other cabins close by. The view of the mountains is stunning. It is a short 5 min drive to town, but you could walk. It was very quiet, but then we also were the only people at the accommodation. I would feel a little less comfortable if the other buildings were occupied as they were very close together. The kitchen had a microwave, stove, oven, dishwasher and full-sized fridge. The lounge/dining area was perfectly adequate and the house decorated nicely. We even had a carport for the car which we appreciated as it rained while we were there.
The house was quite cold, even with the aircon heater and radiators on. There is a fireplace but no firewood to light. That was a shame. So we were a bit cold at night. The kitchen while equipped with appliances, could do with a few extra dishes and cooking utensils to make self-catering a little easier.
Reviewed: 22 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewLovely quiet homely place. Loved it, clean, comfortable, warm.
Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe accommodation is located on a hill upon the Wanaka town, which has a beautiful view of the Autumn mountain and courtyard. The decoration of room is bright and cheerful. Although a 10-min drive is needed to the town, it offered the different view of the mountain which will be a unique way to explore Wanaka apart from the lake.
Reviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewVery clean and tidy house. Rooms were very comfy. The environment is just superb. We saw a group of rabbits hopping around the house when we came back from dinner.
Would be perfect if cooking oil could also be provided.
Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewClean, comfortable
The shower head could not be held on the wall. We had to hold it to have a shower. It’s not convenient….
Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewSoft bed, cozy inner environment, great garden view especially.
None
Reviewed: 23 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLovely decor in the room, they thought of everything. Washing and dryer was easy to find and use.
Pillows were too high and hard, so I just used one of the cushions instead. Not a problem really. It's a long walk from the centre of town so keep that in mind if you all want to have a few drinks.
Reviewed: 22 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewCottages are very clean and happy that there is a dryer.
Nothing to not like