Reviews of Thamel Hotel & Spa
Keshar Mahal Marg, Thamel, 44600 Kathmandu, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI spent almost three months at the hotel and I highly recommend this very well-located place. You benefit from the proximity to Thamel, but without the disadvantages of the noise. The place is very clean, and the staff is always cleaning. The staff is super friendly. At the reception, Bibek is always in a good mood and welcomed me with a big smile. There is a rooftop with yoga mats. They also have a food service and a coffee machine. If you are considering a long stay, this is a very good option, whether in a dormitory or a private room.
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI had stayed in thamel hotel and spa for one night room was clean and every staff was helpful. The hotel also provides different types of services like hiking trekking heli tours mt flight etc. they also provides free information. I also take the massage it was very good.the reception guys bibek and abinash is friendly and active.
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewWe stayed for one night as a family. Everything was nice – the room was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. A good stay overall.
Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStaff are very helpful and polite especially in the reception
Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe location is in East Thamel, close to many restaurants and attractions. The staff are also very friendly and helpful. They helped me arrange express laundry service, which was great. I dropped off my laundry around 10:30 and got it back around 19:00, which was pretty handy. My reservation included breakfast, and you can choose from different options like a classic breakfast, farmer's breakfast, or French toast. The staff will cook it fresh for you, so it takes a bit of time, but it’s a nice chance to chat and socialize with other guests while you wait. The guests I met were usually friendly and easy to talk to.
Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast was very healthy and energetic. About the location its fabulous and cost effective too. The staffs were very good and hospitality was best among all. About cleanliness they take care of that everyday.
Maybe the fan and cooling system needs to be changed and the art work should be more glowy than dull.
Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewRoom was good, neat and clean. Reception both guys (Day & Night shift) are so supportive. Cleaning both ladies were so kind and supportive. Everyone talk to me with beautiful smile and kind words. Hospitality of Nepal is awesome.
They don’t have halal foods. I have recommendations for owner instead of purchasing non halal meats and chicken if they stated to purchase halal meats and chicken, it can be served to both religions (Muslim and Non Muslim). Rest everything was perfect.
Reviewed: 4 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe dorms were the best I've seen with the lockers built in. Whether top or bottom bunk, it's pretty comfortable to manage the way the beds are built. Great location though and highly recommended
The shared bathroom is not just for a couple rooms. It's like 4 different rooms so it's 12 people or so to the single bathroom.
Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewEasy check in process Friendly reception Free breakfast Hotel manager is kind to arrange our day trip to Nagarkot and provide us hiking sticks since it's monsoon season Great location, near many eateries and convenient stores, and money exchange too! Room is cool with strong AC
The room is a bit smaller than advertised, but it's manageable. Shower could have been more consistent. We had to wait 5 mins for the heater to work properly.
Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewDorm rooms were very well built and whether you get a top or bottom but, there's a locker. They give you a free water bottle. Great location near garden of dreams and tucked in the back so it was quieter at night. The AC in the room was excellent even with 6 full beds.
The single bathroom was hard by the entire floor so about 12-16 people sharing at a time.
Reviewed: 18 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewExcellent hotel, all clean, very comfortable and clean bed, each bunk bed has individual light, drawer with security, electricity socket, every day they clean the bathroom, the food is delicious and the best of all is the attention of the staff, VERY GOOD.
Reviewed: 17 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewverry good nd comfortable services
excellent
Reviewed: 10 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewPerfect
Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewEverything 😊
Nothing
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for writing feedback about your stay. We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. We are glad to know that you like our place and overall services. We want to thank you so much for sharing your feedback. Regards, Bikram Thapa | Manager THAMEL HOTEL & SPA PVT. LTD. Keshar Mahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Dear Anonymous, Thank you so much for writing feedback about your stay. We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to wr… Show more
Reviewed: 1 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewEverything was wonderful spa + Hotel and the manager Bikram And the assistant Naveen went out of the way to guide and help us. nice serene environment
Dear NITIN, Thank you so much for writing feedback about your stay. We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write about it. We are glad to know that you like our place and overall services. We would like to thank you so much for sharing your feedback Regards, Bikram Thapa | Manager THAMEL HOTEL & SPA PVT. LTD. Keshar Mahal, Thamel, Kathmandu 44600, Nepal
Dear NITIN, Thank you so much for writing feedback about your stay. We are pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our team’s efforts and takes the time to write … Show more
Reviewed: 29 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewNo elevator
Reviewed: 24 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReception staffs are good but the dining hall staffs are yet to be improved
Reviewed: 19 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewNice staff, good location, comfortable bed, good rooms!
Sometimes a bit noisy due to the surroundings and the rooms that are not soundproof
Dear Vera. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay, We are taking steps to resolve all the problems you mentioned. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you soon. Do let us know if we can help you in any way for your future travels to Kathmandu. Best wishes Bikram
Dear Vera. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay, We are taking steps to resolve all the problems you mentioned. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you soon. Do let us know if we can help you in any way… Show more
Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewVery central, but quite and private
The fan and the contacts to charge the device didn’t work properly
Dear Olga. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay, we are taking steps to resolve all the problems you mentioned. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you soon. Do let us know if we can help you in any way, for your future travels to Kathmandu. Best wishes Bikram
Dear Olga. We apologize for the inconvenience you faced during your stay, we are taking steps to resolve all the problems you mentioned. We hope we have the opportunity to make it up to you soon. Do let us know if we can help you in any way… Show more