Reviews of Thagu Chhen, a Boutique Hotel 3 stars
Itachhen-15, 44800 Bhaktapur, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Milan, Italy
Case Nuove, Italy
Nerviano, Italy
El Chalten, Argentina
Kato Daratso, Greece
Swan Hill, Australia
Premantura, Croatia
Cresco, United States
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewQuality of the revamping, decoration, size of the rooms. View on the town
No lift
Namaste Olivier, Thank you very much for your kind review and for staying with us. We're so pleased to hear that you appreciated the charm of Thaguchhen, the quality of the restoration, the décor, and the spaciousness of the rooms — as well as the beautiful view over Bhaktapur. Regarding your comment about the absence of a lift: we completely understand that this may be an inconvenience for some guests. As our property is located within the Bhaktapur UNESCO World Heritage Site, there are strict preservation guidelines in place which unfortunately do not permit the installation of elevators in traditional buildings like ours. We always do our best to assist guests with their luggage and to make their stay as comfortable as possible despite this limitation. Thank you once again for your thoughtful feedback. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to welcome you back to Bhaktapur in the future. With much gratitude, Umesh Dulal Duty Manager
Namaste Olivier, Thank you very much for your kind review and for staying with us. We're so pleased to hear that you appreciated the charm of Thaguchhen, the quality of the restoration, the décor, and the spaciousness of the rooms — as… Show more
Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewGreat hotel. The staff was courteous and professional, the room was clean and spacious, the breakfast was rich and luxurious. We would be happy to come back again at any opportunity.
Namaste Naama, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re truly delighted to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us. It’s always rewarding to know that our staff’s hospitality, the spacious and clean rooms, and the rich breakfast made a positive impression. Your kind words mean a lot to our entire team. We would be absolutely thrilled to welcome you back anytime you’re in Bhaktapur again. With much gratitude, Umesh Dulal Duty Manager
Namaste Naama, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re truly delighted to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us. It’s always rewarding to know that our staff’s hospitality, the spacious and clean rooms, and the ri… Show more
Reviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewI stayed in the third floor apartment of Thagu Chhen (note: no lift), which was really spacious with a fantastic view over Kathmandu. It was clean and comfortable and the staff were always very helpful. The kitchen facilities were fine though there wasn’t a fridge. There are plenty of shops and restaurants right nearby, including a good breakfast at the sister hotel just across the road. Bhaktapur has a nice feel to it: you’re near Durbar Square though away from the most touristy part of the town. The room faces onto the street and is single-glazed, so there is some noise but not particularly bad at night (all of TC’s rooms face the front except the studio on the top floor but that has no a/c and is quite a bit smaller). I was working in Kathmandu and Dhulikhel – Bhaktapur is a good half-way location, and the apartment was conducive to getting on with work. I would stay here again.
Namaste Richard, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and found it clean, comfortable, and conducive to your work. It’s great to know that the view over Kathmandu and the spaciousness of the suite added to your experience, and we’re especially pleased that our team could assist you throughout your stay. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the kitchen facilities and the absence of a fridge — it’s something we are actively considering for future improvements. It’s also wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the peaceful yet well-connected location of Bhaktapur, and found the area and our breakfast. We’re happy our space served you well during your time working between Kathmandu and Dhulikhel. Thank you again for your thoughtful review — and we’d be delighted to welcome you back anytime. With much gratitude, Umesh Dulal Duty Manager
Namaste Richard, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and found it clean, comfortable, and conducive to your work. It’s great to know that the v… Show more
Reviewed: 18 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe space and size of the suite are incredibly large and spacious. It features a generous living area with a balcony, which we didn’t use due to the air pollution outside. However, the living room was extremely comfortable, perfect for watching TV, exercising, doing yoga, relaxing, or even taking a nap. The kitchen is spacious but has only the basics, suitable for preparing tea, coffee, or simple meals. We requested a French press at the reception to make coffee, and they provided it immediately. The bathroom is large, but there is no curtain or partition to prevent water from spreading across the floor when showering. However, there is hot water. There wasn’t a hairdryer in the room, but upon request, the reception brought one right away. The bedroom is incredibly cozy and inviting, with a very comfortable bed. You can choose between soft ambient lighting or brighter lights. The windows are soundproof, which is great since the room overlooks the street, but no noise can be heard inside. The room itself is also very spacious. We stayed on the third floor, and the staff kindly helped us carry our luggage up upon arrival and down upon departure. Upon arrival, we were welcomed with a delicious hot drink and a small welcoming ceremony, which made our stay feel even more special. One morning, they generously offered us a free tour of the more local, less touristy temples, and we absolutely loved experiencing the authentic atmosphere of the area. The best part? The service was absolutely outstanding. Breakfast was delicious, served at the restaurant of the hotel across the street, The Nanee. The service and quality were excellent. We also had dinner there one evening, and everything was exquisite. Thank you!
While the overall experience was wonderful, I felt that the pricing was quite high compared to the general cost of living in Nepal. The rates are set as if we were in Europe, which makes the stay less affordable considering the local standards. A more adjusted pricing would make it even more appealing for travelers.
Namaste Mariana, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a thoughtful and detailed review of your stay with us. We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had unique experience at Thagu Chhen, and that so many aspects of your visit—from the spacious suite and comfortable living area to the warm service and authentic local tour—made your stay special. Your kind words about our staff and hospitality truly mean a lot to us. We’re especially glad that you appreciated the little touches like the welcome ceremony, personalized assistance, and the thoughtful amenities provided on request. It’s our aim to make every guest feel at home, and it’s wonderful to hear that we were able to do so during your stay. Thank you once again for staying with us and for your kind appreciation. It was a pleasure to host you, and we hope to welcome you back again in the future. With much gratitude, Umesh Dulal Duty Maanager
Namaste Mariana, Thank you so much for taking the time to share such a thoughtful and detailed review of your stay with us. We’re absolutely delighted to hear that you had unique experience at Thagu Chhen, and that so many aspects of your … Show more
Reviewed: 7 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewSpacious comfortable rooms, good breakfast across street at more modern sister hotel, walkable distance to main sights.
Unsightly views out most windows, unappealing art/decorating, a bit dark and depressing.
Namaste Lorraine, Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We sincerely appreciate your review and glad to know that you had a good time during your stay in Bhaktapur with us. We are also sad to see that you did not enjoy our facilities as we expected. We understand the view from our first floor is not the best right now as there is construction going on of a house in front. We generally avoid forwarding this room to our guests. But, during your booking dates all our rooms were already occupied , so we had to forward you the room on our first floor. As you mentioned in your review, that the room is excellent, the only problem was the view due to construction. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. And, we will keep your review in mind before forwarding this room to our other guests. With best wishes, Aditya Piya Host of Thagu Chhen
Namaste Lorraine, Thank you very much for taking your time to review us. We sincerely appreciate your review and glad to know that you had a good time during your stay in Bhaktapur with us. We are also sad to see that you did not enjoy our … Show more
Reviewed: 28 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewThe hotel is a traditional hotel in the Nepalese style and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.
Namaste Donald, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Thagu Chhen, Bhaktapur. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Bhaktapur again. With much gratitude, Aditya
Reviewed: 10 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewThe location. The staff. The hospitality. The environment. The food. Simply everything was a pleasant experience and exceeded my expectations. I highly recommend Thagu Chhen and The Nanee. Thank you for making my stay pleasant and comfortable.
Namaste Kaden, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Thagu Chhen, Bhaktapur. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Bhaktapur again. With much gratitude, Aditya
Reviewed: 25 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewI loved the charm of Thagu Chhen, and also make sure to stay here during visits to Nepal. It never disappoints. In fact, the place appeared better maintained than in prior years. It felt more upscale than it used to be, especially the breakfast options.
n/a
Namaste Shangrila, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Thagu Chhen, Bhaktapur. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Bhaktapur again. With much gratitude, Aditya
Reviewed: 13 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewBreakfast was excellent with ample choices for pastries, protein, and fruit.
I wish I could have stayed longer.
Namaste, Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us at Thagu Chhen, Bhaktapur. We are looking forward to welcoming you to Bhaktapur again. With much gratitude, Aditya
Reviewed: 11 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewRien, nothing, nada
The propane heating in the room. Having a propane tank in the room, near the bed did not help us to sleep. Is it safe? The odor of the gaz burning…. Awfull No fridge, a kitchen for indian customers…. I could cook a wonderfull naan bread, or a tandoori chicken, but no fridge. A strong sound of ventilation in the kitchen. We asked to turn it off but they could not. The pollution is so strong that we had to leave after one day…. We paid for the complete location 70US$/night for 3 nights. We should have a refound for this awfull hotel. The price of this location could not be more than 25US$/night
Dear Denis, Greetings from THAGU CHHEN , Bhaktapur, Nepal! Thank you for your precious time in reviewing us. We are very sorry to know that you had to face problems and had an unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We have already fixed these problems. The gas heaters are no longer in the bedrooms and we have a common fridge in our lobby for all our guests. We are also very sorry that we could not refund your payment as it was done through booking.com. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us next time as well. We are looking forward to welcoming you here at Thagu Chhen again to make sure you have a better experience. Thank you for your feedback. Regards Umesh Dulal Thaguchhen, Bhaktapur
Dear Denis, Greetings from THAGU CHHEN , Bhaktapur, Nepal! Thank you for your precious time in reviewing us. We are very sorry to know that you had to face problems and had an unpleasant experience during your stay with us. We have alread… Show more
Reviewed: 10 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewEverything was Great! The room was clean and cozy, quite and stylish and have panoramic city-mountain view. The staff is very helpful and welcoming and help me with all my issues. I have the room on the top floor with separate huge shower with big window, this was amazing. The bed was super-comfy. 3-5 Mins walk from Durbar square and other historical places of beautiful Bhaktapur city. 20 mins taxi from Changu Narayan temple which is highly recommended to visit. 40 mins (approx, depends on traffic) from Kathmandu centre. Delicious breakfast in nearby hotel restaurant. Definitely recommend to stay in Bhaktapur for 2-3 nights and choose this hotel!
We are happy that we were able to meet up to your expectations. The main motto of Thagu Chhen is guest satisfaction and we are fully committed to fulfill it. The whole team of Thagu Chhen is striving to meet up to a high standard of service. We hope to host you again and again, during your future visits to Nepal.
We are happy that we were able to meet up to your expectations. The main motto of Thagu Chhen is guest satisfaction and we are fully committed to fulfill it. The whole team of Thagu Chhen is striving to meet up to a high standard of service… Show more
Reviewed: 28 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewI love the balcony and the view, the breakfast was the best one i had in Nepal, staff very nice and helpful
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Thank you !
Reviewed: 15 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023
Verified reviewThagu Chhen was a great mix of traditional and modern architecture and far more reasonably priced than some of the other "traditional" style hotels. The facilities were good and the room comfortable but the best part was definitely the view out over the old capital of Bhaktapur. The hotel was only a 5 minute walk from all the beautiful world heritage sights on offer, which the staff were happy to recommend.
As a western tourist I had to pay to enter the old city where the hotel is located but if you're planning to visit anyway, which I definitely recommend you do, it's not really an issue.
Dear Nicholas, Greetings from THAGU CHHEN , Bhaktapur, Nepal! Thank you for your precious time for reviewing us and it was our pleasure to know That You enjoyed your stay with us. And as we know Bhaktapur is the heritage place and this is rules for the entry ticket we are really sorry for that. Thank you for recommending our place and our team is highly encouraged from your wonderful feedback. In addition Bhaktapur is a wonderful town to visit and experience the culture, festivals, lifestyle, culinary & many more.... We look forward welcoming you again soon. Thank You Pawan Nepal Duty Manager
Dear Nicholas, Greetings from THAGU CHHEN , Bhaktapur, Nepal! Thank you for your precious time for reviewing us and it was our pleasure to know That You enjoyed your stay with us. And as we know Bhaktapur is the heritage place and this is … Show more