Reviews of Tanani Newa Home
Tanani Tole Patan Dhoka Lalitpur Nepal, 11188 Patan, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewI love to stay and enjoy the local culture celebration with comfort staying.
Thank you, Tribhuwan, for the wonderful review! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the local culture. We hope to see you again soon!
Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewI had a great stay at Tanani Newa Home, the host Shova and Dinesh were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel is located inside an courtyard off the streets so they picked me up there and walked me to the hotel and when also personally walked me off and helped me get in a taxi to the airport. The rooms are clean and and has just all you need. The hotel is perfectly located at a walking distance to Patan Durbar square, so I got a chance to walk the streets of Patan and explore a little, building up the excitement until I reached Durbar. Staying there made my experience in Kathmandu wonderful, I definitely recommend staying there!
Dear Victor, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Tanani Newa Home. It is our pleasure to welcome you and assist that you need. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Dear Victor, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay at Tanani Newa Home. It is our pleasure to welcome you and assist that you need. We look forward to welcoming you… Show more
Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewAmazing experience here! Dinesh & Shova are lovely people, very welcoming and super helpful. Dinesh took some time to show us Durbar Square and we learned a lot! The location is perfect to visit everything. The room was very spacious, confortable and clean. We would definitely stay here again. Thank you so much for your hospitality and hope to see you again soon!
Nothing
Thanks a lot for staying with us. You both are so friendly. You are doing great job in Nepal helping Nepalese students to improve their education quality. We are very happy that we had an opportunity to host a guest like you. We look forward to seeing you again.
Thanks a lot for staying with us. You both are so friendly. You are doing great job in Nepal helping Nepalese students to improve their education quality. We are very happy that we had an opportunity to host a guest like you. We look fo… Show more
Reviewed: 3 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewShova, the host was very welcoming and kind. She checked in with me as she was worried if I was sick in the room since she didn't see me the whole day but I actually just went out very early. The room was clean and spacious. The location was quite centered.
Dear Ashely, Thank you for your nice review. We are very glad that you had wonderful time staying at Tanani Newa Home. We look forward to seeing you again.
Reviewed: 2 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you again.
Reviewed: 29 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewThe room and bathroom were very spacious, clean and comfortable. The hosts are the most kind people, always available for questions or a friendly chat. The location right next to Patan Dhoka is ideal to start your walking tour through the city. As a bonus: the wifi was very fast, and there is a rooftop terrace with great view!
Thanks for your review. we are very glad that you had a pleasant stay at Tanani Newa Home. We had a nice conversation in different aspect. Thanks once again for choosing Tanani Newa Home and we look forward to seeing you again.
Reviewed: 14 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewVery quiet place and pleasant to stay. Worth the experience. Very clean room.
Thank you very much for your review. It is our pleasure to host a guest like you . You are so friendly and polite. We look forward to seeing you in future.
Reviewed: 30 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewWhen I first arrived, Mr. Maharjan kindly picked me up at Patan Dhoka, and both he and Mrs. Maharjan helped me carry my two heavy suitcases up to the third floor. The room was clean, tidy, and spacious. Mrs. Maharjan even provided me with a super warm blanket when the weather got cooler. She waited up for me when I returned late in the evening and checked in on me with messages—so thoughtful! Even on cloudy days when there was no hot water, she turned on the power to heat it for me. It truly felt like home, so warm and welcoming. Plus, the location is great—close to Patan Square, with a beautiful neighborhood full of cozy cafes.
Thank you for your review. It is our pleasure to host a guest like you. You kept room so clean during your stay with us. Thank you once again for choosing Tanani Newa Home. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Reviewed: 31 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 January 2024 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewI highly recommend staying at Tanani Newa Home. I here for 4 weeks in late 2023. The hosts Shova and Dinesh graciously advised me on a variety of things to make my stay easier. My room was spacious and clean, and the roof terrace has wonderful views of Kathmandu and the mountains. The location is FANTASTIC. The home is at the back of a quiet square close to Patandhoka, an area known for its momo. You are about a 10 minute walk from Patan Durbar Square and a 10 minute drive to Kathmandu. I walked almost everywhere. The airport is close -- about 30 minutes in traffic, 15 minutes in the middle of the day -- but far enough away that you don't hear planes flying overhead. Shova can help you arrange for taxis to the airport (or anywhere else around Kathmandu) for a better price than the pre-paid taxi service and much more reliable than the InDrive app. Some other helpful logisitics: the area has lots of good food options (most places are cash only, but are cheaper and just as good as fancier options elsewhere). I used the family's kitchen for some light cooking too. I borrowed a pot and cooking utensils, and could store some leftovers in the fridge. I had brought a tupperware, bowl, plate, and eating utensils with me, but they offered to loan me some too. There is a microwave to reheat the leftovers. My room had a hot water kettle, which I used to boil water for drinking and tea/coffee. Bhat-Bhateni, a local super market chain, is also about a 10 minute walk away. There is a large washing machine available (a small fee per load), with plenty of clothesline space on the roof and in the Nepali sun everything dried within a day. There is no dryer (which was fine with me, just FYI). They have a solar water heater on the roof terrace that produced really hot water, a luxury I hadn't anticipated but really appreciated for showers. Overall, I want to emphasize that this is a really great place to stay, and I plan on going there again whenever I go back to...
Honestly nothing "bad" or "problematic," but some unexpected cultural differences that I wish I knew beforehand so I'll share to help others be better prepared (this was my first time in Nepal). You take your shoes off when inside the home, so maybe bring slip on shoes and your own slippers (there are some community slippers you can borrow as well, which is what I did). The no-shoes-policy is common in other homes and offices, so this could serve you well throughout your time in Nepal. In December it could get chilly outside, and, like most buildings in the Kathmandu area, there is no central heating. I recommend planning on wearing warmer clothes when in the room (there is also a space heater and hot water bottle available if you need them -- and, like I mentioned before, you can take a hot shower). Also, like many Nepali establishments, there is an extra fee (I think 4%) for using a credit card -- paying in rupees with no fee at a good exchange rate is also an option. There is an ATM nearby, but since there is a 25,000 rupee limit for each withdrawal (max 1 lakh (100,000) per day; this is a Nepali rule for all ATMs) you should plan ahead if you want to pay in cash.