Reviews of Shiva Guest House 2 stars
MCCH+PF, Durbar Square-5, Bhaktapur 00456, Nepal, 44800 Bhaktapur, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Elk Grove Village, United States
Vancouver, Canada
Chelles, France
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Gándara, Spain
Vanderbijlpark, South Africa
Nozawa Onsen, Japan
Zagreb, Croatia
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLovely room with a good view. Comfy bed. Friendly and helpful staff
Thank you for your feedback . We hope to see your next visit. Greetings from Team Shiva.
Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewPerfect location on Durbar Square,, the only pedestrian rea of Bhaktapur. Stunning view from the window on the square. ATM Machine located just there. The owner helped us downloading the taxi app, offered us coffee and water too which was unexpected but super nice.
We could not really understand if there was a closing time in the evening. We went back at around 9:00 pm and a staff member was kind of waiting for us to close the gate.
Dear Irene Thank you for the feedback .
Reviewed: 26 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewBest Location, it is located In Bhaktapur square Very kind and helpful staff
It was such a Sleepless night because of the noices of everything, the crowd,the strayed dogs and the bells ringing loudly in the early morning
Dear Asiree Thank you for your feedback and i am sorry for the noise from the square due to the festival season.
Reviewed: 5 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewNot clean Service pathetic
Thank you for your review because of the pathetic service , you again stayed 2 more night with us. Really appreciated. Have a good day.
Reviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewI come every year 1 or 2 times because I like it that much.
Thank you and see you again .
Reviewed: 28 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewAmazing location with great views, the people were so so friendly and helpful, and on top of that the bed was soft and the bathroom was modern. Really loved this place and would recommend it to everyone!
Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again .
Reviewed: 27 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewI actually booked this place by accident, and was expecting to be in another hotel we used before. However we were chuffed to bits with the error, a truly fantastic location, stunning views of Dubar square , very nice and helpful staff, we could not of asked for more.
Nothing
Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed: 21 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThe view was super amazing
There is no nearest power outlet located next to my bedrest. Shower can be improved
Dear Abdul Thank you for your feedback . We appreciated you feedback but shower due to the world Heritage area we cannot put the tank on high so pressure is little low .
Reviewed: 2 June 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewThe Shiva Guest House is located in the heart of Bhaktapur which makes it easy to explore all sights on foot. The room was cosy, with an amazing view and was clean. Wifi works well and the staff was very friendly. I can also recommend their restaurant! The food was great! I loved everything about my stay ar Shiva Guest House and would stay there again.
Dear Katja Thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again.
Reviewed: 18 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewIt is located in Durbar Square, the view you get is amazing.
The room got heated fast but at night it gets cool but I suggest adding an AC or a cooler, the room needs it.
Dear Trilook ji Thank you for for your feedback . Due location and space in heritage site we couldn't keep AC but we have manage with fan . Have a good day.
Reviewed: 30 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewThe staff was extremely nice and welcoming. Excellent restaurant (we had breakfast and diner there). The location in Bhaktapur is amazing.
Bed quality should be improved. Construction work in front of the hotel (but there was absolutely no noise during our stay).
Dear Frederic Thank you for your feedback.
Reviewed: 29 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewFriendly staff but lazy because rooms weren’t cleaned at all, bathrooms were dirty and not well preserved. Nope not a good hotel. If you want more persons, you need to do more efforts. Good location!
Dirthy
Dear Lotte Thank you for your feedback and we appreciated but budget room is simple and cheap room with common bathroom . Where guest and public also used the rest room so they make dirty we try to clean time to time .
Reviewed: 5 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe good restaurant inside.
The noise of the bells during the night coming from the Square pilgrims.
Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback and we are sorry for noise from temple as its the livelihood of the people towards the culture. Shiva Team
Reviewed: 11 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024
Verified reviewThe view from my window was amazing! I stayed for 3 nights and was happy with the quality of food and general comfort of the room for the duration of my stay.
The ceilings in the washrooms are a bit low. Anyone who is more than 6 feet would have struggled to stand up straight in the shower area.
Dear Angeline Thank you for your words and feedback. Well about the ceiling for bathroom due to world heritage site located we need to maintain the building structure . See you again and have a great trekking.
Reviewed: 4 February 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewThis is an amazing place, you could not get more central. The view from the front windows is something like on a postcard. The bells in the morning add to the atmosphere. The staff bend over backwards to help and arranged our airport shuttle quickly. Top marks
Dear Philip Thank you for your feedback and greetings from all the our team. See you again.
Reviewed: 9 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewThe property overlooks the square, currently being rebuilt so lots of scaffolding, but location is great, we could see the square from our room. It’s in the old town 15$/1800 rupees entrance must be paid to access the area, the pass is valid for the length of your visa (you only need to pay once)
This is a known travellers hangout, seems popular amongst tours, and probably has been on guide books, because we saw more foreigners here than other hotels, even if value for money is much better in many other hotels. It has a nice restaurant, nice staff, and rooms are clean, but small, windows are old school and cold air comes in even when they are closed, budget room has shared bathroom, where hot water is scarce. Overall i wouldn’t mind any of it if it was half the price, we moved to a hotel just outside the square and for 30% less got a large double room, with own bathroom, a sunny terrace hangout and overall a better treatment.
Dea Robin Thank you for your feedback. But according to budget room you book its simple and affordable.
Reviewed: 7 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewSpectacular view from the window. Very central. Comfortable bed. Quite at night. Good wifi.
Extremely low ceilings. If you taller than 180 this place is not right for you.
Dear Yulia Thank you for your feedback and sorry for inconvenience caused of hight as we are in world heritage site and according to rules we cannot make tall house.
Reviewed: 11 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewIn the middle of durbar Friendly owner Good breakfast and coffee
So damn noisy, earplugs wont safe you 10+ Dogs barking from 21pm to 5am Temple bells ringing starting 4:30 am every minute Yes i saw it in other reviews.. but its even worse than i immagined. Sorry
Dear Kevin Thank you for your review . Well its not fair for the review that you got disturbed from out side , temples and dog as you are in world heritage site and the livelihood is the same here every day which some costumer don't like but most of the costumer come here to observed it. Well the costumer costumer comfort we cannot change the system hope you understand.
Dear Kevin Thank you for your review . Well its not fair for the review that you got disturbed from out side , temples and dog as you are in world heritage site and the livelihood is the same here every day which some costumer don't like bu… Show more
Reviewed: 11 November 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewProperty was PRIME location. The view from the window was beautiful and the room was really clean and cosy.
Thank you for your warm words and we hope to see you again. Shiva Guest House
Reviewed: 5 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewLocation
Toilet needs some cleaning
Thank you for your feedback and well its common bathroom and we do time to time clean but some costumer do not take care . We are sorry for the inconvenience.
Reviewed: 23 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewFantastic location
Dear Jenny Thank you for your feedback and have a great trekking .