Reviews of Newa Home 2 stars
Kaldhara Marg, 44600 Kathmandu, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewIt’s super close to the city and very easy to reach , and everything is near by , the people working there is very polite and well mannered and so helpful
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are truly pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that our team, as well as the location, met your expectations. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future 😇 Warm Regards NIKESH Sindali Newa home family
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We are truly pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay and that our team, as well as the location, met your expectations. We sincerely hope to welcome you again in the future 😇 … Show more
Reviewed: 27 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewStaff were very kind. Great location, with a lovely rooftop and cafe on the bottom floor. The airport pick up service was convenient and seamless. Rooms were kept clean and shower was good.
Rooms weren’t serviced so always had to ask the front desk for water and toilet paper - not a big issue, the staff were very kind. We loved our stay here for the most part, the biggest draw back was that we were facing into another hotel that would play music extremely loudly both late at night and early in the morning. It also sounded like furniture was always being dragged around in the room above us - not sure if that was the hotel or the guests that happened to be staying there. The wifi was a little spotty.
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We’re really glad to hear that you enjoyed the warm hospitality of our staff, the convenience of our location, the rooftop view, and the airport pickup service. We’re especially happy to know that you found the rooms clean and the shower comfortable. We sincerely apologize for the noise disturbances and any inconvenience caused by having to request basic room supplies. We appreciate your understanding and will take your feedback seriously as we look into ways to improve room servicing and soundproofing. We’re also working to improve the WiFi stability. Thank you again for staying with us—we truly value your feedback and hope to welcome you back with an even better experience next time. Regards NIKESH Sindali Newa home Family
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We’re really glad to hear that you enjoyed the warm hospitality of our staff, the convenience of our location, the rooftop view, and the airport pickup service. We’re especia… Show more
Reviewed: 24 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewWell located. Close to the center, but on a quiet area. My type of room was ok for the price I paid.
Only 1 soap for a double room. No shampoo.
We're delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience with us .Your feedback is invaluable as we strive to improve and deliver the best service possible . thank you so much
Reviewed: 16 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewEverything was good. Very good value for money .
Hot water in basin will be helpful .
Namaste Thankyou for your positive feedback 😇
Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 31 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 28 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewEveryone was very welcoming and the hospitality was second to none. Newa Home is in a good location for people wanting to visit Thamel but it was just outside the hustle and bustle on a quiet street. The hotel owner, Prem, was a lovely man and very supportive in my hour of need. I fell sick one day and he insisted he take me to the clinic and he stayed with me while I was there and was extremely caring and kind.
Thank you so much for writing such a nice review,
Reviewed: 25 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 November 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewIt’s been the best place to stay, as it was close to Thamel, but out of the noisy crowds as well. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Feel like home. Appreciate the hospitality and help of the staff a lot!
Thank you for the amazing review.
Reviewed: 13 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThis is a hotel that makes you feel at home. The interiors are wooden and beautiful red brick. The interior gives a traditional rustic vibe. I loved the creativity that was put into the decor. Each of their door handles are sculptural with metal and wood engraving. The rooms are clean and cosy. There was hot water supply with complimentary tea. They even have a cafe and all of the staff were helpful.
Thank you so much giving us wonderful review.
Reviewed: 23 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewFriendly staff, beautiful building, seating on the rooftop
Cockroaches in the bathroom
Reviewed: 21 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewGreat location on edge of Thamel but away from the mayhem; very helpful & helpful staff; they are happy to store extra luggage in safe place if you go trekking; nice clean room w decent wifi and hot showers
Thank you so much wonderful review.
Reviewed: 22 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewI had a beautiful room, which was very cosy. The bed was very comfortable and everything was absolutely clean. The staff was super friendly and kind. The area was quiet and just walking distance to Thamel. I will definitely come back here when I’ll be back in Kathmandu.
Thank you so much madam, for writing such a kind reviewers.
Reviewed: 24 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewThe ambiance of the place was delightful, with a welcoming atmosphere that made the stay enjoyable. The staff were exceptionally friendly and kind, always ready to assist with a smile. The rooms were spacious.. It provided excellent value for money, with a prime location in Thamel—convenient yet far enough from the noise to ensure a peaceful stay.
There were a couple of issues during my stay. The air conditioning wasn’t working properly, and water dripped from it throughout the night, forcing us to switch it off. Unfortunately, there were no ceiling fans, making the situation quite uncomfortable. Although we received a small stand fan upon request, it was extremely dusty and ended up spreading dust throughout the room. Additionally, the toilet was not very clean. The property has great potential, but it needs better maintenance to enhance the overall experience.
Reviewed: 6 June 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewSuch a lovely place to stay in Kathmandu. Staff were fantastic and helped us print out some visa documents. We felt very welcomed there and really looked after 😆 We arrived very early in the morning one day (5:30am) and the owner very kindly offered us a room until ours was ready at 2pm, so we could rest. Location is in the Thamel area but just in the outside (2/3 min walk) so it’s perfect! we extended many time and would recommend 😆
Thank you so much such a wonderful comment.
Reviewed: 22 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewLoved the hotel aesthetic and decor. The staff were very polite and helpful with all of our queries and concerns.
The room and bathroom were very small and congested.
Reviewed: 18 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewI liked the place. Nice and decent athmosphere. Roof for morning practices and lobby to park the bike. Thank you!
Thank you so much for writing such a great review.
Reviewed: 17 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewI just wished if they had kitchen of their own. Which had proper menu. But the stay itself was very comfortable! Staff there is amazing. Very helpful. Rooms were clean. It had a homely feel to it.
Thank you so much for writing such a great review
Reviewed: 5 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 May 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewLocation is good
It's not clean. There were bedbugs in one of the rooms we stayed. There was music playing in the neighbouring hotel from 8 am to 8 pm. One night there was a fight at 3am in the morning, and police came to the premises. The rooms that are facing the street are noisy from 6am in the morning. One of the rooms didn't have AC or fan working. We had to leave the hotel at 1am and find another place to stay.
Reviewed: 12 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewIt was a very comfortable stay. The room was clean with cosy beds. There was running hot and cold water. There was AC available for the hot days. The location was very good too as it was only few minutes walking distance away from Thamel which has nice cafes, restaurants and shops.
Thank you very much for giving us such a good review of our hotel.