8.1

Reviews of Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group 4 stars

KGH Sqaure | Thamel, Thamel, 44600 Kathmandu, Nepal

  • Rosalind

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Sandeep

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Only location i liked

    Rooms, bathrooms are not clean, food is below average n not worth the price

  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Vignesh

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great central location! Fantastic, calm gardens amongst the chaos of Thamal. Abundantly tempting breakfast and lovely staff!

    Property response:

    Dear Daniel, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re delighted that you enjoyed our central location, peaceful gardens, tempting breakfast, and the hospitality of our team. It’s always our goal to create a calm and welcoming haven in the heart of Thamel, and your kind words mean a lot to us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kathmandu Guest House on your next visit! Warm regards, KGH Management

    Dear Daniel, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re delighted that you enjoyed our central location, peaceful gardens, tempting breakfast, and the hospitality of our team. It’s always our goal to create a calm and welcoming hav… Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    12 August 2025
  • Mayumi

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Rebecca

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The fresh air, tranquility and beauty of the courtyard with amenities. ATM located inside the walls. They seem to understand needs of foreign travelers.

    Awkward uncertainty on tipping protocol and giving my business purchase when I am ready. I now realize people are more hard up for cash during the off season.

    Property response:

    Dear Rebecca, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed the fresh air, peaceful atmosphere, and the beauty of our courtyard. It’s wonderful to know that you appreciated the amenities we’ve provided — including the on-site ATM — and felt that we understand the needs of international travelers. We also truly value your honest feedback regarding tipping and purchasing during your stay. We understand that cultural differences around tipping can sometimes feel unclear, and we’ll do our best to communicate this better in the future to help guests feel more comfortable. Your perspective is appreciated, especially during the off-season when things may feel a bit different on the ground. We hope to welcome you back again soon and wish you safe and happy travels ahead. Warm regards, KGH Management

    Dear Rebecca, Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed the fresh air, peaceful atmosphere, and the beauty of our courtyard. It’s wonderful to know that you appreciated the amenities we’ve… Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    1 August 2025
  • Gareth

    Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Harley

    Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Pramod

    Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Pramod

    Reviewed: 27 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Ajay

    Reviewed: 25 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Maurice

    Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Nada

    Reviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Location Cleanliness

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Dear Nada, Thank you for your feedback! We’re happy to know that you appreciated the location and cleanliness of Kathmandu Guest House. It’s always rewarding to hear that our efforts are noticed. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon! With Regards, KGH Management

    Dear Nada, Thank you for your feedback! We’re happy to know that you appreciated the location and cleanliness of Kathmandu Guest House. It’s always rewarding to hear that our efforts are noticed. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming y… Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    24 June 2025
  • Jerry

    Reviewed: 16 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely communal garden, good breakfast, secure. I have stayed here occasionally over the past 30 years and it is still pretty good value for money if you want to be in the tourist area.

    Outside on he streets can be a little overwhelming on a Friday evening if you want peace and quiet - though you will find that peace in the KGH garden. I was disappointed that the wifi lost connection in my room when making a group call on line.

    Property response:

    Dear Jerry, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for being a loyal guest over the past 30 years — that truly means a lot to us. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the serenity of our garden, the breakfast, and the overall value we continue to offer in the heart of Thamel. It's always our goal to provide a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle just outside our gates. We do, however, sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the Wi-Fi during your group call. We understand how important a stable connection is, especially for online communication, and we are actively working to improve coverage and reliability in all our rooms. We hope to welcome you back again soon, and please don’t hesitate to reach out directly so we can ensure your next stay is even more comfortable. With Regards, Sajani Shrestha

    Dear Jerry, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience and for being a loyal guest over the past 30 years — that truly means a lot to us. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the serenity of our garden, the breakfast… Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    22 June 2025
  • See the property
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 15 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    KGH's central location in Thamel is certainly advantageous; however, the room we were assigned was disappointingly small for two guests. The proximity of the bed and the single table made for an uncomfortable experience, falling short of our expectations. Although I chose KGH based on a recommendation, the room amenities were inadequate. During our stay, I observed that most of the hotel staff were primarily focused on cleaning the premises, which resulted in minimal attention to the needs of the guests. On a positive note, the breakfast was satisfactory, and we appreciated the pleasant atmosphere of the dining area.

    The room and its amenities were not satisfactory; the hotel staff could have shown a greater attentiveness to the needs of the guests.

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly value your feedback, as it helps us improve the quality of our services. We're glad to hear that you appreciated our central location in Thamel and enjoyed the breakfast and the ambiance of our dining area. However, we're genuinely sorry to learn that the room you were assigned did not meet your expectations. Comfort and guest satisfaction are priorities for us, and we regret that the room size and amenities fell short during your stay. Your observations regarding our team’s attentiveness are also taken seriously. While cleanliness is a key part of our service, we understand the importance of balancing it with attentive and responsive guest care. We will review this with our team to ensure better engagement and support for our guests moving forward. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to provide you with a more comfortable and welcoming stay. With Regards, KGH Team

    Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We truly value your feedback, as it helps us improve the quality of our services. We're glad to hear that you appreciated our central location in Thamel and en… Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    22 June 2025
  • Nina

    Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Alejandra

    Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Location is great, staff is great, the lobby area is beautiful, restaurant has many options and they have live music in the evening

  • See the property
  • Siddhartha

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    I’m biased - it’s owned by my friend Shaguni - but it’s an awesome place Momos could be better though

  • Andrew

    Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Hamida

    Reviewed: 30 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Malcolm

    Reviewed: 29 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. Really friendly and efficient staff. All the facilities you could want and more. Very helpful when arranging tours, onward travel, taxis etc. Also booked us in to the KGH group hotel in Pokhara, which is equally excellent.

    Nothing

  • Gaëlle

    Reviewed: 26 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Kathmandu Guest House is a peaceful escape from the bustle of Thamel. The garden is quiet, the rooms are comfortable, and the atmosphere invites both focus and rest. It’s simply a place where you feel good. The staff are kind, discreet, and always available if needed. It’s the kind of place I’d love to come back to, to write, to breathe, or just to slow down.

    The only problem? You don’t want to leave and visit the city 😅

    Property response:

    Dear Gaelle, Thank you so much for your beautiful words. We're delighted to hear that Kathmandu Guest House offered you a peaceful escape and the kind of atmosphere that nurtures both rest and creativity. It means a lot to us that you appreciated our garden, the comfort of the rooms, and the presence of our team. We strive to create exactly that feeling—a place where you can slow down, breathe, and feel at home. And we completely understand… it is hard to leave sometimes! 😄 We’d be honored to welcome you back whenever you feel the need to write, rest, or simply be. With Regards, Sajani Shrestha

    Dear Gaelle, Thank you so much for your beautiful words. We're delighted to hear that Kathmandu Guest House offered you a peaceful escape and the kind of atmosphere that nurtures both rest and creativity. It means a lot to us that you … Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    27 May 2025
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Friendly and helpful staff. Cleanliness. The gardens were peaceful - wonderful places to read! Diverse breakfast choices.

    People smoking in the gardens and outdoor restaurants. A “no-smartphone” zone in the gardens would be nice!

    Property response:

    Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful gardens, the cleanliness, our breakfast offerings, and especially the friendliness of our staff—it truly means a lot to us. We also appreciate your thoughtful feedback regarding smoking and smartphone use in the garden areas. Your suggestions are valuable and will certainly be considered as we look for ways to enhance the tranquility of our shared spaces. We hope to welcome you back soon for another relaxing stay! With Regards, Sajani Shrestha

    Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful gardens, the cleanliness, our breakfast offerings, and especially the friendliness of our staff—it truly means… Show more

    Kathmandu Guest House by KGH Group
    27 May 2025
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Vistula Hotel

Świecie, Poland

Saraya Resort

Alinda, Greece

Francisco Grande Hotel and Golf Resort

Casa Grande, United States

Tayburn House

Dunkeld, United Kingdom

Residence Airone

Lignano Sabbiadoro, Italy

Chambres d'Hôtes De Caïre Noù

Saint-Martin-dʼArdèche, France

Chailey Court at Basingstoke

Basingstoke, United Kingdom

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...