Reviews of Hotel Dancing Yak
Jomsom Airport, Mustang, 33100 Jomsom, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGood location Good food
It feels like there is no privacy with how little sound proofing there is. I can hear everything outside of the room very clearly. There is only a thin curtain on the windows, which doesn't give full privacy. The staff knocked on our door and called inside to us while we were resting. Good intentions to help, but it felt a little bit intrusive.
Thank you for the review. I am sorry about your experience which was not great as per your expectations. With due respect ,I would like to apologize for your experience and also wanting to let you know our staff just knocked your door inorder to call you for your dinner order as per you had told us you would order at that time and it was also for your health benefit to have food on time not get ill coming up in the mountains, rather than a disturbance. And it wasn't a knock in the middle of night. It was around 6 pm as per your request. And about the curtains. Our curtains are not visible from outside which is kind of full privacy. There is no way that someone can see through your curtains. And for the review readers who thinks the hotel is not aware of privacy , that would be wrong. All the walls are about 12 inch thick which you won't find in any other hotels since it's an old styled stone and mud house. Any way i am keeping this message inorder not to have misunderstanding future coming guests. We always respect guests privacy. Thank you for staying with us and choosing us despite of your experience.
Thank you for the review. I am sorry about your experience which was not great as per your expectations. With due respect ,I would like to apologize for your experience and also wanting to let you know our staff just knocked your door inor… Show more
Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThis is an authentic Himalayan experience. Owner said it used to be family home but turned into a lodge, then had to reclass as hotel. The room was spacious and clean, nice en-suite, good food in big portions. Nurse from Pokhara stop outside, loads to see.
No problems here, but you need to know the stairs are typically steep as across most of rural Nepal.
thank you for staying with us. We are aware of the stairs, and will try to fix them if possible as well.
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVintage style stay.
Missing Spray Jet at toiletarie, but can be managed if u are flexible.. The rooms are cozy but this is what u get at 3500 m altitude. Some fresh air move needed inside rooms and Main Dinning area, which will make stay more energetic. Overall , it's good to go.
Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewIf I could rate Dancing Yak higher than 10, I would !!! Simply the highlight of my Nepal trip. My room was spacious and cosy/authentic. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and I had a great view of the nearby mountains. The owner and his staff went above and beyond for me. The owner even sat down with me, took his time and told me about the area and where/what I could go and visit. He also helped me rebook my bus ticket to Pokhara and he even drove me 5 KMs on his motorbike to a place from where I could easily hike up to a small authentic village. I don't think this is something that everyone should expect, but it just tells you something about how well they treat their guests!!!! I was supposed to stay at Dancing Yak for 3 nights, but I ended up extending my stay twice 😊
We always make sure hospitality as our prior importance. And it was so lovely to host you as an our guest. We make sure our guests turn into our friends after staying with us. Thank you Sir.
Reviewed: 4 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewIt was a very pleasant stay overall. Food was great. The owner took us for a little walk in the mountains at night for star gazing. We also got excellent views of Mountain Nilgiri in the morning. Very glad we stayed there.
Reviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewClean and confortable room. Hot shower, good food, beautiful decoration. But more important the kindness of the host and all the help and advices for your stay !
Guests comfort is our first priority. Come as a guest and go as a friend is our motto. Thank you for staying with us and also for visiting the mountains of Nepal.
Reviewed: 13 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewi din't take breakfast, because i gone out 5.15 AM.
You haven't booked for a room which gives you breakfast and non of the hotel in mountain serves you tea at 4 am sir. But our staff has still served you tea at 4:40 am in the morning.
Reviewed: 12 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThe host was very kind and interested; we had a great conversation! The facilities were also very good—towels, toilet paper, and excellent Wi-Fi! The price was great for the value!
Reviewed: 22 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewGood location. But the hotel is old. Better to renovate.
Stair for going to the 1st floor is very dangerous made of wood very steep. Old model.
Reviewed: 5 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewLocation
The receptionist was not there when I reached. I had to call him and do the checkin.
Sorry. It's a family run business. My mom was there .she can't speak English properly. But she was there.
Reviewed: 24 November 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewWe had a lovely time at Dancing Yak. Tsewang & the whole team were a pleasure to spend time with. We will definitely be back next time we stay in Jomsom!
Thank you for your kind words
Reviewed: 6 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewLocation right across from the airport. Basic facilities but so charming and authentic. Staff and food are exceptional. Staff always ready to help and anticipate travel problems for you. Food is from scratch, cooked by local, young man, and served hot and delicious. Meet the owner. He’s an amchi or healer. So interesting and kind and he’ll show the spot for best photos. A real Mustang experience.
Guests need to ask for towels.
Reviewed: 18 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewLocation is near the airport
Smelled like paint. They didn’t know we were coming. Wifi didn’t work. The power went off few times. Sheets didn’t look clean.