Reviews of Hotel Ama-La, Thamel, Kathmandu 4 stars
Shanti Shikshya Marg P866+M37 Kathmandu, Thamel, 44600 Kathmandu, Nepal

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Basic breakfast
Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe options in the breakfast can be improved.
The bathroom space is not that comfortable. We have adjusted, though. I can understand that this can't be improved due to lack of space.
Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your suggestions and will take them into consideration as we continue to improve our offerings. We also understand your comments about the bathroom space and appreciate your understanding of the limitations. While the layout cannot be changed, we are always looking for ways to enhance comfort within the existing space. It was a pleasure having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your suggestions and will take them into consideration as we continue to improve our offerings. We also understand your comments about the bathroom space and appreciate your understanding of… Show more
Reviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLocation and cleanliness
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again!
Reviewed: 22 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe room was good and quite clean.
I paid extra for breakfast. The breakfast didn’t come and the man was rude. They tried to charge me 1800 rupees for a taxi to the airport. A trip that’s 600. I said yes because I needed it there at a specific time and couldn’t wait. The taxi wasn’t there despite me telling them I was only paying more if it was definelty there for me.
Hello tuff, sorry for the inconvenience. our rate for airport pickup or drop is Rs 1800 as this is for a private car with a green number plate, registered specially for tourist transportation. kindly note that the rate reflect the quality, comfort, and regulation standard, and therefore cannot be compared to regular public taxi . and also sir we only charged you for tha fanta you ordered your breakfast was already included in your plan we are very sorry for the inconvenience you have experienced
Hello tuff, sorry for the inconvenience. our rate for airport pickup or drop is Rs 1800 as this is for a private car with a green number plate, registered specially for tourist transportation. kindly note that the rate reflect the quality, … Show more
Reviewed: 16 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewI dislike that the water in shower was always cold
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We’re always looking to improve, and your suggestions are appreciated.
Reviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLocation, good size room, rooftop area for views. Friendly staff, clean room.
Noise and dust from building works around the hotel area. Noise from adjacent hotel. Noise from roadside area. No lounge to relax - just plastic seating in foyer and dining area on rooftop which we could only use for a short time due to pollution levels and constant noise around the hotel area.
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, clean and spacious rooms, rooftop views, and especially the warm service from our team. While some of the factors are unfortunately beyond our control, we genuinely regret any inconvenience they may have caused during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to offer you a more relaxing stay in the future.
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, clean and spacious rooms, rooftop views, and especially the warm service from our team. While some of the factors are unfortunately beyond our… Show more
Reviewed: 8 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe staff and manager were extremely nice and helpful. The room which had been reserved for us was nice but it had some smoke smell, despite being a non-smoking room. When we complained about it, it was immediately agreed and a solution was looked for in order to accommodate us. We were upgraded to a very nice room, even larger than the first one. The hotel is located at the limit of Thamel. Although in a very busy area, it is very quite thanks to being at the end of a small alley. The manager also gave us a lot advice about our travel, and they agreed to keep our luggage while we are travelling out of Kathmandu. I strongly recommend this hotel.
Nothing
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay enough to extend it. It means a lot to us that our staff, especially our manager and Bandana Sapkota, made your experience special. The rooftop is indeed a favorite spot, and we're glad you got to relax there and take in the stunning views. We truly appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back anytime
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay enough to extend it. It means a lot to us that our staff, especially our manager and Bandana Sapkota, made your experience … Show more
Reviewed: 31 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewVery comfortable beds and exceptionally nice and helpful staff.
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay enough to extend it. It means a lot to us that our staff, especially our manager and Bandana Sapkota, made your experience special. The rooftop is indeed a favorite spot, and we're glad you got to relax there and take in the stunning views. We truly appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back anytime
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay enough to extend it. It means a lot to us that our staff, especially our manager and Bandana Sapkota, made your experience … Show more
Reviewed: 18 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewI felt incredibly comfortable at the hotel and enjoyed my stay so much that I decided to extend it by two additional days. The staff was exceptionally friendly, always attentive, and welcoming. I had many memorable moments with the hotel manager, who was not only professional but also genuinely warm and approachable, took the time to sit at my table and chat. The hotel’s rooftop quickly became one of my favorite spots. I spent a lot of time there, sitzing in the sun, reading a book. The view from the rooftop was stunning. The location of the hotel is also very good. My room was clean, well-maintained, and even equippe a hairdryer. A special thank you also goes to the receptionist Bandana Sapkota, who was very, very friendly and kind.
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay enough to extend it. It means a lot to us that our staff, especially our manager and Bandana Sapkota, made your experience special. The rooftop is indeed a favorite spot, and we're glad you got to relax there and take in the stunning views. We truly appreciate your feedback and would love to welcome you back anytime
Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay enough to extend it. It means a lot to us that our staff, especially our manager and Bandana Sapkota, made your experience … Show more
Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewWe were very pleased with this hotel. I don't think you could find a better value. It exceeded our expectations for the price. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. The location was wonderful - right in the heart of Thamel, yet tucked away enough that it was quiet in the room. The room was plenty spacious and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was basic, but better than most 3-star hotels in the U.S. - there were boiled eggs and other warm food options. It would have been even better up on the rooftop terrace, which is open in the warmer months. We still went up there and enjoyed the views of the city from this quiet and quaint spot.
We liked everything about this hotel, however one thing to be aware of is that the shower is not separate from the sink/toilet area in the bathroom. This was a surprise to us and different from what we are used to, but it turned out not to be a negative - the water was plenty warm and there was good water pressure. Just make sure to close the toilet lid before you shower. My husband did not :-).
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review! We're thrilled to hear that you had such a positive experience and that our hotel exceeded your expectations in terms of value, comfort, and service.
Reviewed: 27 December 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewbreakfast ok need to develop
We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Reviewed: 16 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewComfortable bed, location was convenient for us in Thamel, rooms were clean, wifi works well. Was very quiet at night time. We were able to leave our bags behind for 3 weeks with the hotel whilst we went trekking.
Breakfast options didn’t have soy milk (alternative milk) so were unable to eat there.
Thank you for your review! It’s great to know you found the rooms clean and that our luggage storage service was helpful for your trip. Your input is valuable, and we’ll keep it in mind as we continue to improve.
Reviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewPerfect Stay in the Heart of Thamel I recently had the pleasure of staying at this charming hotel in the Thamel area, and I can’t recommend it highly enough. From the moment I arrived, the staff made me feel incredibly welcome. Their warm smiles and attentive service created such a friendly and inviting atmosphere, making me feel right at home. Whether it was helping with luggage, recommending local spots, or organizing day trips, they went above and beyond to ensure I had the best experience possible. The location is unbeatable! Nestled in the vibrant heart of Thamel, the hotel is within walking distance of all the best cafes, restaurants, shops, and cultural sites. It’s the ideal base for exploring the lively streets of Kathmandu while still being a peaceful retreat when you want to escape the city’s hustle. My room was clean, comfortable, and well-equipped, providing a perfect space to relax after a day of sightseeing. I especially loved the rooftop terrace, where I could unwind with a great view of the city. If you’re looking for a place with excellent service, a prime location, and a welcoming atmosphere, this hotel is an absolute gem! I can’t wait to return on my next visit to Kathmandu.
Nothing
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed our central location in old Kathmandu and that our staff provided attentive service. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Reviewed: 25 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewI love everything about this property! The staff are amazing! The had been very helpful even before I arrived at the hotel. That was my first time in Nepal and they just made it so magical 🥰🥳 The location is perfect. It's in the shopping centre, food is easy to find, SIM card shop is just 5 minutes walking from the hotel.
Nothing.
Thank you for your review! We're thrilled to hear that you had a positive experience. It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Reviewed: 30 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 30 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewEverything! Especially the staff! Manager Ram is kind, courteous and thoughtful. Best food I’ve ever had in a hotel. Sandeep helped my driver find the hotel, then he gave me a warm welcome at the front desk. The terrace view is wonderful as well!! I’ll return!!
Nothing
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and detailed review! We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Reviewed: 25 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewIt felt like home. Everything
Nothing
Reviewed: 20 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewSimple, clean, uncomplicated, and right at the heart of Thamel. Also affordable and staffs were amenable.
There was construction going on, so the sounds and fumes were unpleasant. But I asked for a room change, and that happened quickly. Thanks to the wonderful frontdesk staffs.
Reviewed: 17 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified review