Reviews of Vaeshartelt Maastricht 3 stars
Weert 9, 6222 PG Maastricht, Netherlands

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Kinbuck, United Kingdom
Segrate, Italy
New York, United States
Cerveteri, Italy
Korsør, Denmark
Bempton, United Kingdom
Milan, Italy
Rome, Italy
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful park-like setting outside, but reasonably close to Maastricht and the American Cemetery. It was very nice to sit outside and enjoy an afternoon "fika" - a Swedish word that defines a leisurely coffee and pastry in the garden, although in my case it was Dutch beer and bitterballen.
Dear Feike, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the peaceful, park-like setting and made the most of a relaxing “fika” — even with a Dutch twist of beer and bitterballen! It was a pleasure having you, and we hope to welcome you back again sometime. With kind Regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Dear Feike, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the peaceful, park-like setting and made the most of a relaxing “fika” — even with a Dutch twist of beer and bitterballen! It was a pleasure having … Show more
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe hotel and grounds are beautiful and the staff were charming and helpful. A short train or bus ride to the centre of Maastricht. Restaurant was very good with good ambience. Would definitely return and recommend.
Nothing.
Dear Tom, Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the grounds, and the service from our team. It's also great to know that you appreciated the easy connection to Maastricht and had a pleasant experience at our restaurant. Your recommendation truly means a lot to us. We would be delighted to welcome you back anytime! Warm regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Dear Tom, Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, the grounds, and the service from our team. It's also great to know that you appreciated… Show more
Reviewed: 19 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewNice, quiet room; Great location near Maastricht; beautiful grounds; The ancient trees are beautiful; very friendly staff. Great breakfast in a very comfortable breakfast room. Plenty of free parking; WiFi was reliable and fast; relaxing on the terrace with a drink was perfect.
There is really only one menu although the terrace, bistro and restaurant have different names. Making reservations for dinner was not straight forward. We ask for a reservation on the terrace but were told that was not possible In the evening, about half of the tables on the terrace were reserved. Same applies for breakfast, although there was plenty of room. The sink in our room leaked. After repairs, all the towels were gone and not replaced. We had to go to reception to get new ones. The mattresses need replacing but are still serviceable. There is no coffee in the room.
Dear Glen, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful room, our friendly staff, and the beautiful surroundings. We appreciate your comments regarding the dinner reservations, room amenities, and maintenance — your input helps us improve. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Dear Glen, Thank you for your detailed feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful room, our friendly staff, and the beautiful surroundings. We appreciate your comments regarding the dinner reservations, room amenities, and main… Show more
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewDog friendly Really nice area huge park Calm
Thank you, Nancy! Lovely to hear you enjoyed the calm surroundings and that your dog felt welcome too. Hope to see you again soon! With kind Regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStaff and service
Nothing
Reviewed: 14 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThank you we had a wonderful stay. The grounds, the breakfast restaurant and the restaurant on the grounds were lovely spots for catching up with friends. The room was comfortable and good sized.
Some of the room decor felt a little outdated. Everything was clean but the room wasn't giving the same level as the rest of the hotel. We arrived by train and it is 20e to get a taxi from the train to the hotel one way and there is pretty much no other option unless wanting to walk min 20mins with bags.
Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautifull location. The Hotel offered prior arrangement for our trip to the Andre Rieu Concert which we accepted. This we found very accommodation prior to our stay The dinner at the Els Bistro was lovely. The view of the gardens was great (but due to heavy rain we could not experience it.
There were no coffee making facilities in the room. Upon returning the evening we enquired for hot water and was told there is a kettle in the room. It wasn't. I was feeling ill and needed hot water to make my medicine. For the price we paid we would have expected a minimum of coffee making facilities. (there were none in the other room of our family as well)
Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautifull Venue in a beautiful location. The dinner was lovely and the Hotel made our trip to the Andre Rieu Concert very easy. The view of the gardens was great (but due to heavy rain I could not experience it.
Dear Schalk, Thank you for your kind words! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed the venue, dinner, and that we could help make your visit to the André Rieu concert smooth and enjoyable. It's a pity the rain kept you from fully experiencing the gardens. Hopefully next time the weather will be on your side! Warm Regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Dear Schalk, Thank you for your kind words! We’re delighted to hear you enjoyed the venue, dinner, and that we could help make your visit to the André Rieu concert smooth and enjoyable. It's a pity the rain kept you from fully experiencin… Show more
Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewEverything
The smell through the halls to dog
Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery pet friendly!
Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewSmell in the bathroom
Dear Maartje Thank you for your review. Thank you for letting us know and we will take this up with our team. We hope to see you again in the future. With kind Regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFriendly staff, service. Set up. Gardens. Choice of beverage and food.
Art work in the room
Hi Sofi, Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service, our friendly staff, the setup, gardens, and the variety of food and beverages we offer. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the artwork in the room. We hope to welcome you back soon! Warm regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Hi Sofi, Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing your experience with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed the service, our friendly staff, the setup, gardens, and the variety of food and beverages we offer. We als… Show more
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStunning castle on a beautiful tucked away property
Gorgeous property, charming hotel.
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewOnly liked the location
To expensive, need renovation, unfriendly staff.
Hi Helena, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear that you appreciated our location. We’re truly sorry to learn that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding pricing, the condition of the property, and staff service are taken seriously, and we will use them to help guide improvements. We appreciate your honesty and hope you'll consider giving us another chance in the future. Kind regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Hi Helena, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear that you appreciated our location. We’re truly sorry to learn that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments regarding pri… Show more
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLovely garden location not near the old town centre but a beautiful building
Service could be a bit slow and certain doors were locked at night but no one had told us so we wandered around for a while trying to get back in
Dear AnnaB, Thank you very much for your review! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting and the charm of our building. We’re sorry to hear about the confusion with the doors at night and the slow service you experienced. Your feedback is very helpful, and we’ll make sure to communicate better with our guests about access after hours and work on improving our service speed. We hope to welcome you back again soon! With kind Regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Dear AnnaB, Thank you very much for your review! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the peaceful garden setting and the charm of our building. We’re sorry to hear about the confusion with the doors at night and the slow service you experience… Show more
Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation was great
Lack of seating and resources. First night, all tables were full so we could not eat at restaurant. In the end, we had to eat on the lawn (picnic tables) and serve ourselves. Frankly, from this high establishment I expected better. Second night: bar was open until 11 but they would not serve little "bites" which disappointing since it is on the snacks provided at the bar. Overall, I thought the staff friendly but under-trained, often having to refer to the men at behind the bar to answer my questions.
Hello Richard, Sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than 5-stars. If you’re open to discussing any feedback you have with us, please feel free to email (info@vaeshartelt.nl) or call (043-3690200) us. Kind regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Hello Richard, Sorry to hear that your experience with us was less than 5-stars. If you’re open to discussing any feedback you have with us, please feel free to email (info@vaeshartelt.nl) or call (043-3690200) us. Kind regards, Team Va… Show more
Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLovely building and great grounds.
There were plenty of young staff who were lovely but didn't appear to be anyone directing them. Long waits for a drink first night when plenty of staff. Book a table you go in and no one is there and no one came. Had to go to the bar for attention. The wash basin was in the room and not in the bathroom.
Hi Christopher, First and foremost, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As an organization, we’re able to learn and grown from this. We will definitely be looking into your feedback to see what we can improve. Hopefully, despite the points indicated, you still had a pleasant stay at Vaeshartelt and we may welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Hi Christopher, First and foremost, we’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. As an organization, we’re able to learn and grown from this. We will definitely be looking into your feedback to see what we c… Show more
Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewA fantastic hotel! Perfect surroundings for travelling with a dog! Very nice breakfast! A lot of things to choose from. Good coffee!
-
Hi Elisabet, We’re happy to read that you’ve had a pleasant stay at Vaeshartelt. We hope to welcome you again at some point in the future! Kind regards, Team Vaeshartelt
Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified review