8.5

Reviews of Buena Onda Backpackers 1 stars

Barrio Frente Sur, de Casa Dragon 50 m a mano izquierda, 99999 San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua

  • Nanja

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The location was perfect, just on side of town but only 5 mins walk. With the most amazing view of San Juan! It was so nice just to sit in the communal place or even better in the swimming pool and see the sunset.our host elvin was lovely and very helpful. Also if you stay here you must go and get a coffee with the lady just around the corner from the hostel, we went here everyday to get our morning coffee, run by a lovely couple from their home and very nice coffee!

    Nothing

  • Nathalie

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Nathalie

    Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Eleanor

    Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The bedroom was comfy and the staff were incredible - shoutout to Elvin who was really helpful; he got up in the middle of the night to help us, and gave us lots of tips on where to go and where to eat.

    It was basic but exactly what we needed.

  • Maya

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Such a great place over looking the beach. A little up the hill in a quiet environment. Great facikities on the top floor - pool, kitchen, pool table and much more.

    The stairs

  • Stefan

    Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The location, a little bit in the hills, is actually quite nice, but that's about it.

    Very spartanly furnished rooms. Unfortunately, it's very, very loud around the clock. There's a large construction site going on next door, and dogs bark and birds scream at night. You'd imagine it would be nice, but unfortunately, it wasn't. I learned that the owner, from Canada, has been out of the country for a few months, which might be one reason why everything seems a bit run-down and unkempt. Air conditioning isn't included, of course (it costs $7 per night), and breakfast wasn't available either. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • See the hotel
  • Gareth

    Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The view is the one good thing going for it.

    The Hostal was locked up and I couldn’t get in after it was arranged I would arrive between 1-2pm. I had to leave and go to another hostel

  • Byron

    Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Rob

    Reviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Great view Very friendly staff - good recommendations Pool table Swimming pool

    One small issue is although it says you get aircon on booking.com it isn’t actually included!! There is a $7 per night charge to have aircon in the room which is a bit cheeky as on the booking they confirm the room has aircon but doesn’t mention it being an additional cost. Would advise change this to not mislead future guests!

    Property response:

    Hello Rob, thank you for your stay at our hostel. Regarding the air conditioning fees, as mentioned during your visit, in the room description and in our booking form, it is clearly mentioned the additional fee of $7/night for use. We are really sorry that currently with Booking.com, everything cannot be mentioned even more clearly. We have also modified our reservation confirmation message to make everything clearer and are trying to get Booking.com to modify their platform. For anyone else reading this message, please be aware that most reservations in rental establishments, it is a regular standard in Nicaragua to charge the air conditioning fees extra given the low prices of accommodation and the high cost of electricity. Have a good rest of your trip ☺️. And really sorry that this little misunderstanding prevented you from rating us well 🤷🏻‍♂️

    Hello Rob, thank you for your stay at our hostel. Regarding the air conditioning fees, as mentioned during your visit, in the room description and in our booking form, it is clearly mentioned the additional fee of $7/night for use. We are r… Show more

    Buena Onda Backpackers
    20 June 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Argentina

    Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Matt

    Reviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    You go here for that view on the relaxing balcony, and its fantastic. Sandra, Jimmy and Elvin, who run it are all great and happy to answer any questions. And they'd just opened up the pool area when i got there for sunbathing

    Its kind of expensive for a room with no AC or fridge but that seems to be the norm in Nicaragua. But that view from the hammock though..... 😍

    Property response:

    Hello Mat, thank you for your comment. We were pleased to welcome you, you were an excellent customer. As you mentioned, yes, it is important to check the amenities in the establishments chosen in Nicaragua because the standards in Central America are not the same as in North America or Europe. For example, you chose a room with a terrace and a sea view, for air conditioning, it was the ground floor rooms. I hope that at the end of your stay you enjoyed the opening of the new swimming pool. Have a good rest of your trip.

    Hello Mat, thank you for your comment. We were pleased to welcome you, you were an excellent customer. As you mentioned, yes, it is important to check the amenities in the establishments chosen in Nicaragua because the standards in Central … Show more

    Buena Onda Backpackers
    2 May 2025
  • Andjela

    Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Location. The kitchen is well-equipped, which we appreciated. The wife of the owner was nice.

    I stayed at Buena Onda with my sister and unfortunately, our experience was far from what we hoped. On our very first night, we encountered cockroaches—first in the bathroom and then in our room. One even fell on my hand while I was sleeping. We ended up spending that night on the terrace because we couldn’t get any response from the owners from around 9 PM until late the next morning. When they finally did respond, the reaction was shockingly dismissive. The owner (the husband, who handles the WhatsApp communication) basically shrugged it off, saying, “you know where you came, it’s a warm climate.” No apology, no concern, nothing. He was generally rude and uninterested in helping. The wife, on the other hand, was kind and did try to be helpful, but she wasn’t the one handling guest issues online, which made things frustrating. The rooms aren’t cleaned unless you specifically ask, and even then it doesn’t seem to be a priority. The place is also very noisy, which made it hard to sleep, but on the plus side, we did spot birds and monkeys in the trees nearby—that was actually really lovely. The kitchen is well-equipped, which we appreciated, but there’s no free filtered water. There’s some in the fridge, but you have to pay extra for it, which feels a bit stingy for a hostel. All in all, it’s just not worth the price. Between the pests, lack of response from management, and overall poor value, I wouldn’t stay here again unless I had no other choice.

    Property response:

    Hello Andjela, we are really sorry to read all that dissatisfaction. To just clarify, we are a small establishment with us and two employees, so not really a 24-hour reception as in a large hotel. Our apartment is directly in Lhotel and in the evening or night, the customers are always welcome to come to do us by their needs. Something you did not do to your first night. The next morning at the first hour of taking your message, we explained that the hotel was full of the Holy Week and not to be able to move. Dubmeme makes no other institution has an affordable price like the our was available. So we redid early the morning the whole house of your home, changed your sheet, treated the entire product, provided an essential diligence diffuser and we have air conditioning for free for the entirety of your stay. We know that it is always unpleasant to see this kind of boyfriend in our room or bathroom. Unfortunately, being Holy Week, the Week La.lushalée of the Year, having an establishment whose concept is with lots of air open on the outside, being pasted on the jungle at the back of the building. Even if we have standard North American cleanliness, which we pass Mope and brooms 3-4 times a day, that the establishment is treated every week against the bibes, it rearmed us the opportunity and it is upon you that it happened and it has been ruined your experience. Which is normally extremely appreciated by our customers. I wish you a good stay of travel.

    Hello Andjela, we are really sorry to read all that dissatisfaction. To just clarify, we are a small establishment with us and two employees, so not really a 24-hour reception as in a large hotel. Our apartment is directly in Lhotel and in … Show more

    Buena Onda Backpackers
    2 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Patrick

    Reviewed: 22 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Louise

    Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely comfortable, friendly well equipped Hostal. Fabulous views of bay. Saw birds and squirrels from terrace. Staff helpful. Bed comfortable and big. 2 fans in room. Optional a/c.

    Couldn’t control temperature of shower (I found too hot!) Hill up to property and lots of steps up to rooms. Toilet very cramped.

  • Timo

    Reviewed: 19 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Very friendly and helpfull people! The place itself is beautifull, the facilities and rooms are great. Would recommend anybody to stay here.

  • See the hotel
  • Lengsavath

    Reviewed: 15 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Better then expected. We liked everything.

  • Sian

    Reviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Great common areas (hammock, pool, sofa) Lovely view over San Juan Very tasty coffee Big room Helpful hosts (arranged our airport shuttle) Friendly guests Good local recommendations

    Few cobwebs we had to clean in our room Exposed nails in the wall behind our bed (the hosts did say they will be cutting these) Very thin walls so not much privacy

  • Holly

    Reviewed: 21 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Amazing views of San Juan, the owners were so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great too and the rooms were clean. The location wasn’t far from town at all but it’s in a more local area so there will be dogs barking etc but it’s not bad, just bring some ear plugs and you’re fine.

    Our room was right next to the communal area so you did hear everything but it was quiet from around 10:30 and also we came across the biggest tarantula AHHHHH!! 😂

  • See the hotel
  • Jan

    Reviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • Greg

    Reviewed: 26 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Great location and hosts. Excellent value for the money.

    Nothing

  • Mohamed

    Reviewed: 26 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Esther

    Reviewed: 20 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Spacious room, nice view from the terrace. Tasteful different breakfast every morning and available kitchen, with fridge and tea and coffee for free!

    They are building a swimming pool, so that’s quite noisy, but within a few months it will be the perfect place to stay!

    Property response:

    thanks for your stay Esther. I hope you come back a other time 😊

    Buena Onda Backpackers
    20 February 2025
  • Coline

    Reviewed: 12 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    I really liked the vibe at Buena Onda Backpackers. It's welcoming, personal and very relaxed 🙂 the owners and the other guests during my stay there were very friendly. My room was extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfast was really good. Lying in one of the hammocks while overlooking the bay of San Juan gives you the 100% holiday feeling! 🙂

    Property response:

    thanks a lot. have a god trip on Nicaragua and come back when you want 😊👌🏽

    Buena Onda Backpackers
    12 February 2025
  • Alyssa

    Reviewed: 7 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Katy

    Reviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    High quality accommodation with amazing sea views. Huge bed with comfortable mattress, the room feels luxurious for a hostel. Sandra was so welcoming and gave us lots of useful information.

    Construction work at the moment was a little noisy quite early in the morning, but they compensate with a free breakfast at the moment which was welcomed. Bed needs more pillows or cushions as there is no headboard. Free drinking water would be a nice touch but they do sell bottles.

    Property response:

    Thanks for your comments 🙂 You are welcome to come back.

    Buena Onda Backpackers
    15 February 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...