Reviews of Buena Onda Backpackers 1 stars
Barrio Frente Sur, de Casa Dragon 50 m a mano izquierda, 99999 San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe location was perfect, just on side of town but only 5 mins walk. With the most amazing view of San Juan! It was so nice just to sit in the communal place or even better in the swimming pool and see the sunset.our host elvin was lovely and very helpful. Also if you stay here you must go and get a coffee with the lady just around the corner from the hostel, we went here everyday to get our morning coffee, run by a lovely couple from their home and very nice coffee!
Nothing
Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe bedroom was comfy and the staff were incredible - shoutout to Elvin who was really helpful; he got up in the middle of the night to help us, and gave us lots of tips on where to go and where to eat.
It was basic but exactly what we needed.
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewSuch a great place over looking the beach. A little up the hill in a quiet environment. Great facikities on the top floor - pool, kitchen, pool table and much more.
The stairs
Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe location, a little bit in the hills, is actually quite nice, but that's about it.
Very spartanly furnished rooms. Unfortunately, it's very, very loud around the clock. There's a large construction site going on next door, and dogs bark and birds scream at night. You'd imagine it would be nice, but unfortunately, it wasn't. I learned that the owner, from Canada, has been out of the country for a few months, which might be one reason why everything seems a bit run-down and unkempt. Air conditioning isn't included, of course (it costs $7 per night), and breakfast wasn't available either. I wouldn't stay here again.
Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe view is the one good thing going for it.
The Hostal was locked up and I couldn’t get in after it was arranged I would arrive between 1-2pm. I had to leave and go to another hostel
Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewGreat view Very friendly staff - good recommendations Pool table Swimming pool
One small issue is although it says you get aircon on booking.com it isn’t actually included!! There is a $7 per night charge to have aircon in the room which is a bit cheeky as on the booking they confirm the room has aircon but doesn’t mention it being an additional cost. Would advise change this to not mislead future guests!
Hello Rob, thank you for your stay at our hostel. Regarding the air conditioning fees, as mentioned during your visit, in the room description and in our booking form, it is clearly mentioned the additional fee of $7/night for use. We are really sorry that currently with Booking.com, everything cannot be mentioned even more clearly. We have also modified our reservation confirmation message to make everything clearer and are trying to get Booking.com to modify their platform. For anyone else reading this message, please be aware that most reservations in rental establishments, it is a regular standard in Nicaragua to charge the air conditioning fees extra given the low prices of accommodation and the high cost of electricity. Have a good rest of your trip ☺️. And really sorry that this little misunderstanding prevented you from rating us well 🤷🏻♂️
Hello Rob, thank you for your stay at our hostel. Regarding the air conditioning fees, as mentioned during your visit, in the room description and in our booking form, it is clearly mentioned the additional fee of $7/night for use. We are r… Show more
Reviewed: 6 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewYou go here for that view on the relaxing balcony, and its fantastic. Sandra, Jimmy and Elvin, who run it are all great and happy to answer any questions. And they'd just opened up the pool area when i got there for sunbathing
Its kind of expensive for a room with no AC or fridge but that seems to be the norm in Nicaragua. But that view from the hammock though..... 😍
Hello Mat, thank you for your comment. We were pleased to welcome you, you were an excellent customer. As you mentioned, yes, it is important to check the amenities in the establishments chosen in Nicaragua because the standards in Central America are not the same as in North America or Europe. For example, you chose a room with a terrace and a sea view, for air conditioning, it was the ground floor rooms. I hope that at the end of your stay you enjoyed the opening of the new swimming pool. Have a good rest of your trip.
Hello Mat, thank you for your comment. We were pleased to welcome you, you were an excellent customer. As you mentioned, yes, it is important to check the amenities in the establishments chosen in Nicaragua because the standards in Central … Show more
Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLocation. The kitchen is well-equipped, which we appreciated. The wife of the owner was nice.
I stayed at Buena Onda with my sister and unfortunately, our experience was far from what we hoped. On our very first night, we encountered cockroaches—first in the bathroom and then in our room. One even fell on my hand while I was sleeping. We ended up spending that night on the terrace because we couldn’t get any response from the owners from around 9 PM until late the next morning. When they finally did respond, the reaction was shockingly dismissive. The owner (the husband, who handles the WhatsApp communication) basically shrugged it off, saying, “you know where you came, it’s a warm climate.” No apology, no concern, nothing. He was generally rude and uninterested in helping. The wife, on the other hand, was kind and did try to be helpful, but she wasn’t the one handling guest issues online, which made things frustrating. The rooms aren’t cleaned unless you specifically ask, and even then it doesn’t seem to be a priority. The place is also very noisy, which made it hard to sleep, but on the plus side, we did spot birds and monkeys in the trees nearby—that was actually really lovely. The kitchen is well-equipped, which we appreciated, but there’s no free filtered water. There’s some in the fridge, but you have to pay extra for it, which feels a bit stingy for a hostel. All in all, it’s just not worth the price. Between the pests, lack of response from management, and overall poor value, I wouldn’t stay here again unless I had no other choice.
Hello Andjela, we are really sorry to read all that dissatisfaction. To just clarify, we are a small establishment with us and two employees, so not really a 24-hour reception as in a large hotel. Our apartment is directly in Lhotel and in the evening or night, the customers are always welcome to come to do us by their needs. Something you did not do to your first night. The next morning at the first hour of taking your message, we explained that the hotel was full of the Holy Week and not to be able to move. Dubmeme makes no other institution has an affordable price like the our was available. So we redid early the morning the whole house of your home, changed your sheet, treated the entire product, provided an essential diligence diffuser and we have air conditioning for free for the entirety of your stay. We know that it is always unpleasant to see this kind of boyfriend in our room or bathroom. Unfortunately, being Holy Week, the Week La.lushalée of the Year, having an establishment whose concept is with lots of air open on the outside, being pasted on the jungle at the back of the building. Even if we have standard North American cleanliness, which we pass Mope and brooms 3-4 times a day, that the establishment is treated every week against the bibes, it rearmed us the opportunity and it is upon you that it happened and it has been ruined your experience. Which is normally extremely appreciated by our customers. I wish you a good stay of travel.
Hello Andjela, we are really sorry to read all that dissatisfaction. To just clarify, we are a small establishment with us and two employees, so not really a 24-hour reception as in a large hotel. Our apartment is directly in Lhotel and in … Show more
Reviewed: 22 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLovely comfortable, friendly well equipped Hostal. Fabulous views of bay. Saw birds and squirrels from terrace. Staff helpful. Bed comfortable and big. 2 fans in room. Optional a/c.
Couldn’t control temperature of shower (I found too hot!) Hill up to property and lots of steps up to rooms. Toilet very cramped.
Reviewed: 19 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewVery friendly and helpfull people! The place itself is beautifull, the facilities and rooms are great. Would recommend anybody to stay here.
Reviewed: 15 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewBetter then expected. We liked everything.
Reviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewGreat common areas (hammock, pool, sofa) Lovely view over San Juan Very tasty coffee Big room Helpful hosts (arranged our airport shuttle) Friendly guests Good local recommendations
Few cobwebs we had to clean in our room Exposed nails in the wall behind our bed (the hosts did say they will be cutting these) Very thin walls so not much privacy
Reviewed: 21 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewAmazing views of San Juan, the owners were so friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great too and the rooms were clean. The location wasn’t far from town at all but it’s in a more local area so there will be dogs barking etc but it’s not bad, just bring some ear plugs and you’re fine.
Our room was right next to the communal area so you did hear everything but it was quiet from around 10:30 and also we came across the biggest tarantula AHHHHH!! 😂
Reviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGreat location and hosts. Excellent value for the money.
Nothing
Reviewed: 26 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewSpacious room, nice view from the terrace. Tasteful different breakfast every morning and available kitchen, with fridge and tea and coffee for free!
They are building a swimming pool, so that’s quite noisy, but within a few months it will be the perfect place to stay!
thanks for your stay Esther. I hope you come back a other time 😊
Reviewed: 12 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewI really liked the vibe at Buena Onda Backpackers. It's welcoming, personal and very relaxed 🙂 the owners and the other guests during my stay there were very friendly. My room was extremely clean and comfortable and the breakfast was really good. Lying in one of the hammocks while overlooking the bay of San Juan gives you the 100% holiday feeling! 🙂
thanks a lot. have a god trip on Nicaragua and come back when you want 😊👌🏽
Reviewed: 7 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewHigh quality accommodation with amazing sea views. Huge bed with comfortable mattress, the room feels luxurious for a hostel. Sandra was so welcoming and gave us lots of useful information.
Construction work at the moment was a little noisy quite early in the morning, but they compensate with a free breakfast at the moment which was welcomed. Bed needs more pillows or cushions as there is no headboard. Free drinking water would be a nice touch but they do sell bottles.
Thanks for your comments 🙂 You are welcome to come back.