7.8

Reviews of The Art Hotel 5 stars

Plot 13A, Block 111 Chief Yesufu Abiodun Oniru Rd, Victoria Island, Victoria Island, 106104 Lagos, Nigeria

  • Mr

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    I had a great stay at The Art Hotel. From when I arrived, the staff were warm and welcoming. My room was comfortable, and had such a cozy, homey feel that made me instantly relax. I also really enjoyed the breakfast, it was fresh, delicious, and the perfect way to start my day.

    Property response:

    Dear Mr. Jide, We’re so happy to hear you felt so welcomed and at home with us. Knowing your room brought you comfort and relaxation truly warms our hearts, and we’re delighted you enjoyed starting your mornings with our breakfast. Your kind words mean the world to our team, we can’t wait to welcome you back for another memorable stay. Toyin

    Dear Mr. Jide, We’re so happy to hear you felt so welcomed and at home with us. Knowing your room brought you comfort and relaxation truly warms our hearts, and we’re delighted you enjoyed starting your mornings with our breakfast. Your ki… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    12 August 2025
  • Kelvin

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Oneva

    Reviewed: 27 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The room accommodations- the bathroom, the bed and sitting area, the hotel’s decor and the restaurant.

    Power outages

    Property response:

    Dear Oneva, Thank you for your kind words about our rooms, décor, and restaurant. We’re truly delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the past power outage. I’m pleased to share that this is no longer an issue, as we have now installed an inverter system to ensure uninterrupted comfort for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even smoother experience. Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Oneva, Thank you for your kind words about our rooms, décor, and restaurant. We’re truly delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the past power outage. I’m pleased to share that this is no … Show more

    The Art Hotel
    12 August 2025
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Quiet, peaceful and an exceptional place

    Property response:

    Dear Michael, Thank you for your kind words. We’re delighted to know you enjoyed the peaceful and exceptional atmosphere we work hard to create. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for another relaxing stay. Toyin

    The Art Hotel
    12 August 2025
  • Alicia

    Reviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Nigeria was a place I’d never been before. Despite what you see and hear on the news I made the leap of faith to visit for a friend’s birthday. My expectations were quickly let down. From checking in to the hotel immediately there were issues with the payment as I have a UK Bank account the transaction was pending and the receptionist at first was denying check in until we paid again despite the fact that the payment had left my account. After speaking to the manager we were given a room. The maintenance and up keep of the hotel is very poor. The photos you see on the website are far from a true reflection. Door handles broken, unfinished work to the room/hotel with marks and scratches on everything. For a 5 star hotel attention to detail and cleanliness is missed. Any 5 star hotels in Nigeria are easily the equivalent to 3 stars in the UK. For British holiday makers I would avoid Nigeria altogether and staying in this hotel. Safety is compromised hugely as the agenda to follow and attack women for because of their race is totally unacceptable. I had the night porter follow me to my room insisting to help me with my bag. The night porter put my bag down in the room and closed the door behind him with myself and the porter in the room I began to feel frightened as he asked me to sit on the bed. I proceeded and demanded for him to leave however he was standing in front of the door refusing to move. I eventually was able to pull the door open and after 5/6 times continuously asking to leave he finally did. I barricaded and locked myself in my room afterwards scared and fearful. My safety was truly compromised. I felt powerless which has given me severe anxiety attacks. This was an incident that happened with one porter but what makes me worry more is how often this must be happening on daily basis with tourists of a different race being targeted.

    Property response:

    Dear Alicia, We are truly sorry that your first visit to Nigeria and your stay with us did not reflect the safety, care, and comfort that all guests, especially solo travelers, rightfully expect. What you’ve described is deeply troubling, and your feelings of fear and distress are entirely valid. Following your report, we immediately launched an internal investigation, which resulted in disciplinary action against the staff member involved, including a formal warning and suspension. While we understand that this cannot undo the experience, please be assured that it has led to further strengthening of our guest protection and conduct protocols. We are also retraining our staff to reinforce boundaries and professional engagement. We also regret the frustration you experienced during check-in. International card payments can sometimes delay, and we’ve since adjusted our process to improve communication and ensure that such incidents are managed with greater clarity and compassion. Regarding your concerns about facility maintenance, we acknowledge that some areas need improvement. Efforts are currently ongoing to enhance our room upkeep and guest experience quality. The Art Hotel is a proudly diverse space that welcomes guests from all backgrounds and nationalities. We do not take any allegation of racial targeting lightly. What happened to you does not represent who we are or the kind of experience we stand for, and we will keep taking every necessary step to ensure this never happens again. We regret that your journey with us led to anxiety and disappointment. Should you ever consider giving us a second chance, we would be committed to restoring your confidence in every way we can. Sincerely, Management The Art Hotel

    Dear Alicia, We are truly sorry that your first visit to Nigeria and your stay with us did not reflect the safety, care, and comfort that all guests, especially solo travelers, rightfully expect. What you’ve described is deeply troubling, … Show more

    The Art Hotel
    21 June 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Mr

    Reviewed: 12 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    I had a wonderful stay at The Art Hotel. The staff were incredibly welcoming and attentive, which made the experience even more enjoyable. The room I stayed in was cozy, warm, and had such a homey feel, I truly loved it. Everything about the space made it easy to relax and feel comfortable. Highly recommend!

    Property response:

    Dear Mr. Jide, Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing The Art Hotel! We're truly delighted to hear that you felt at home with us — that cozy, relaxed feeling is exactly what we aim to create for every guest. Your compliments on our staff mean a lot to us, and we’ll be sure to pass along your appreciation to the team. It was a pleasure having you, and we can’t wait to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Mr. Jide, Thank you so much for your kind words and for choosing The Art Hotel! We're truly delighted to hear that you felt at home with us — that cozy, relaxed feeling is exactly what we aim to create for every guest. Your compl… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    21 June 2025
  • Churchill

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 25 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    My second time here alone this time. I could see the facility is not only well maintained, there is also a face lift in the room I was in. As usual I was greeted pleasantly by staff and it really felt like heaven

    Property response:

    Dear Michael, Thank you so much for coming back, we’re honored to have you again! It’s wonderful to hear that you noticed the upgrades and that our team made you feel right at home. Creating that “heavenly” experience is exactly what we strive for, and your kind words mean a lot to us. We can’t wait to welcome you back for your third visit, hopefully not alone next time! Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Michael, Thank you so much for coming back, we’re honored to have you again! It’s wonderful to hear that you noticed the upgrades and that our team made you feel right at home. Creating that “heavenly” experience is exactly what we s… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    25 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Christine

    Reviewed: 23 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Amazing and friendly staff

    Damp smell in the room. They may need to change the carpets

    Property response:

    Dear Christine, Thank you for your kind words about our amazing and friendly staff! We also appreciate your feedback regarding the damp smell in the room. We're already looking into it and will assess the carpets as part of our ongoing maintenance efforts. Your comfort is important to us, and we’ll make sure improvements are made. We hope to welcome you back soon with an even better experience! Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Christine, Thank you for your kind words about our amazing and friendly staff! We also appreciate your feedback regarding the damp smell in the room. We're already looking into it and will assess the carpets as part of our ongoin… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    25 May 2025
  • Carol

    Reviewed: 20 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    I loved the art gallery. And the restaurant was a lovely place to see the view outside

    Maintenance issues esp lift. My friend was trapped in the lift for 30 minutes I felt there was not enough space for guests to relax outside of the hotel room. The pool area was very windy. The lobby area was often over crowded by weddings or conferences attendees.

    Property response:

    Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re glad you loved the art gallery and enjoyed the view from our restaurant — those are both special parts of our space we’re proud of. We sincerely apologize for the maintenance issues you encountered, especially with the lift. The incident involving your friend is deeply regrettable, and we’re actively working with our technical team to ensure such occurrences are completely avoided moving forward. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the limited relaxation areas and the occasional crowding in the lobby. Your comments are valid, and we’ll be looking into ways to improve guest comfort, particularly during high-traffic events. Thank you once again for your honest feedback. It helps us get better, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back with a much-improved experience. Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Carol, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re glad you loved the art gallery and enjoyed the view from our restaurant — those are both special parts of our space we’re proud of. We sincerely apologize f… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    23 May 2025
  • Ifeatu

    Reviewed: 17 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The breakfast was buffet and I like the fact that there were lots of options like Nigerian, English, Intercontinental and what have you. The unique thing about the location was fact that one could easily view outside with its lush vegetation and the beautiful scenery from the surrounding environment. It was a wow! Experience for me

    The fact that my stay was short. I look forward to going there again soonest possibly with my spouse.

    Property response:

    Dear Ifeatu, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the variety at our breakfast buffet and the unique charm of our location. The serene views and lush surroundings are some of our favorite features too, and it's wonderful to know they added to your experience. We’re especially glad it was a “wow!” moment for you, even though your stay was short. We look forward to welcoming you and your spouse for another memorable stay in the nearest future. Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Ifeatu, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're truly delighted to hear that you enjoyed the variety at our breakfast buffet and the unique charm of our location. The serene views and lush surroundings are some of our favorit… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    23 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Anthony

    Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Olubunmi

    Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    NOTHING

    This should be a 3star hotel. how can the rooms intercom not be functional. the towels OMG. The bathroom was flooded, The hotel has just one elevator. the breakfast was zero, no options nothing. it was a disaster.

    Property response:

    Dear Olubunmi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're truly sorry to hear about the issues you encountered, your experience does not reflect the standard we aim to provide. We want to let you know that the issue with the room intercoms has now been fully resolved. We understand how essential communication is for guest comfort, and we’ve taken steps to ensure this doesn't happen again. We’re also currently reviewing our breakfast service, facilities, and housekeeping processes to address the other concerns you mentioned. Your experience matters to us, and we’re committed to making the necessary improvements. Should you choose to visit us again, kindly reach out to us directly on +234 916 610 5381 prior to your arrival. We’d love the opportunity to make your next stay a much better one. Thank you once again for your feedback, it’s helping us grow and improve. Warm regards, Toyin

    Dear Olubunmi, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're truly sorry to hear about the issues you encountered, your experience does not reflect the standard we aim to provide. We want to let you know that the issue w… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    17 May 2025
  • Daramola

    Reviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was really good nice varieties

    Property response:

    Dear Daramola, Thank you for your kind feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the breakfast, and the variety offered. We look forward to welcoming you back for another great start to your day! Toyin

    The Art Hotel
    14 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Essi

    Reviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Location was great. Staff nice. Nice Art throughout the facilities. Pool side rooftop bar was also very nice.

    1. The hotel is not well maintained and it's sad to see some parts not looking fresh at all, like the carpets which looked quite dirty. 2. There is also a lingering unpleasant smell in the corridors as well as when you walk into the room, which is quite off putting. 3. Finally, there is far too many half naked prostitutes walking around all day long !!

    Property response:

    Dear Essi, Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the aspects you enjoyed, including our location, staff, art, and rooftop bar, we truly appreciate it. We’re also grateful that you took the time to share your concerns. Please know that we are currently undergoing phased renovations aimed at refreshing key areas of the hotel, including rooms, carpets and ventilation, to improve the overall guest experience. Regarding the concern you raised about inappropriate behavior on the premises, we take this very seriously and are actively working with our security and management teams to ensure a more respectful and comfortable environment for all our guests. Your comments help us improve, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a much-improved experience in the future. Toyin

    Dear Essi, Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the aspects you enjoyed, including our location, staff, art, and rooftop bar, we truly appreciate it. We’re also grateful that you took the time to share your concerns. Please kn… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    14 May 2025
  • Michael

    Reviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The service was top notch. I stayed in a room that had been newly renovated. The staff were very professional and extremely helpful

    Property response:

    Dear Michael, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the newly renovated room. It's also good to hear that our team’s professionalism and helpfulness stood out, we’ll be sure to pass along your kind words. We look forward to hosting you again soon! Toyin

    Dear Michael, Thank you for your wonderful feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the newly renovated room. It's also good to hear that our team’s professionalism and helpfulness stood out, we’ll be sure to… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    14 May 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    Bright

    Reviewed: 10 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Dolo

    Reviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • Adeola

    Reviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    I arrived at the art hotel in VI Lagos. The reception wasn’t good- I stood there but no one attended to me. I went to sit and then I was attended to, I paid 601,705.58 naira for 2 nights, then I was taken to the room. When I got there I went over to the bedside to pick up the phone and dial reception, then COCKROACHES🪳🪳🪳started coming out from the bedside locker!!! I showed the staff who took me to my room, he took a picture - roaches in a 5 star hotel!!! I was as shcoked 😮😮😒🙈🙈 Then I decided to inspect the whole room, I found hair and streaks of dirt in the floor and chewing gum in the bathroom. I informed the staff I would not be staying there. We went back downstairs and the manager - Abdul came to speak with me to persuade me to stay and I refused. After about half an hour of persuasion, I insisted I would not stay, then he game me a refund form to fill and I did. I left the arts hotel shortly after filing the form but up till now I have not received a refund. Guys avoid this hotel at all cost, it’s a waste of time and there is no 5 star service here at all, avoid at all cost, you have been warned!!!

    Property response:

    Dear Adeola, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your visit to The Art Hotel Lagos. It is always our intention to deliver exceptional service and comfort to every guest, and we regret that we fell short in your case. We have thoroughly investigated your concerns, and we can confirm that no cockroaches were found in the room during our inspection. However, we take cleanliness and guest comfort extremely seriously, and we have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping and front desk teams to ensure higher standards are consistently maintained. We understand how important a prompt refund process is, and we have gone ahead to refund the full amount paid at the hotel. Kindly confirm receipt as all efforts to reach you directly have proved abortive. Your feedback is valuable, and we are committed to using it to improve our services. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity in the nearest future to provide the high-quality hospitality The Art Hotel is known for. Regards, Toyin

    Dear Adeola, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had during your visit to The Art Hotel Lagos. It is always our intention to deliver exceptional service and comfort to every gues… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    6 May 2025
  • 3.0 Poor
    Rachael

    Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Nothing

    Not comfortable. It needs refurbishment

    Property response:

    Dear Rachael, Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your experience did not meet expectations. Please know that renovations are currently underway to upgrade our facilities and enhance overall guest comfort. We’re committed to creating a more refined and enjoyable stay, and we hope to welcome you back in the nearest future once these improvements are complete. Regards, Toyin

    Dear Rachael, Thank you for your feedback. We regret that your experience did not meet expectations. Please know that renovations are currently underway to upgrade our facilities and enhance overall guest comfort. We’re committed to crea… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    6 May 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Isa

    Reviewed: 19 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Julia

    Reviewed: 16 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The breakfast did not have enough meat. I only had one meat.

    The room could have been cleaner

    Property response:

    Dear Julia, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the breakfast options and room cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our kitchen and housekeeping teams to ensure improvements are made. We truly value your input and hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience on your next visit. Regards, Toyin

    Dear Julia, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear that the breakfast options and room cleanliness did not meet your expectations. Your comments have been shared with our kitchen and housekeeping teams to ensure imp… Show more

    The Art Hotel
    18 April 2025
  • Paul

    Reviewed: 3 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...