Reviews of Strand Hotel Swakopmund
An der Mole, 9999 Swakopmund, Namibia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Lido di Jesolo, Italy
Bridgeport, United States
Bidart, France
Folgosinho, Portugal
Belize City, Belize
Mirissa, Sri Lanka
Kathmandu, Nepal
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewAll was very good View , staff, parking
Attached to the hotel is a seafood restaurant , food was mediocre at best, service was rubbish and it is over priced
Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewExcellent location. Great food. Clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. They recommended the dunes tour that was brilliant
Nothing
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewLovely location.
Nothing at all
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, your positive feedback is much appreciated ! We look forward to your next visit to our lovely town and the Strand Hotel. Warm Regards Christo de Jager General Manager
Reviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI liked the direct hotel staff friendliness.
I didn’t like the service we received at the hotel main restaurant. The kitchen staff seemed overwhelmed because they kept forgetting to prepare our meal orders both for dinner and breakfast. We only got our meals after we stood up to make a follow up with the kitchen staff
Dear Kgomotso, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for your positive feedback, but even more so for highlighting the experience you had in our breakfast restaurant, please accept my sincere apologies that your experience did not live up to our promise. Please feel free to contact me directly when you next visit us. Warm Regards Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Kgomotso, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, your feedback is much appreciated. Thank you for your positive feedback, but even more so for highlighting the experience you had in our breakfast restaurant, please accept my… Show more
Reviewed: 15 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI have been to 63 countries. The staff reception here and one other place in Cape Town, South Africa were tied for the absolutely best and most friendly staff at reception of any place in the world! Every time we walked in from shopping or eating or walking about we were recognized and genuinely welcomed. I repeat, GENUINELY welcomed! The staff spoke to us in various locations with various recommendations. We were treated better than family! The location was fantastic. We slept with the balcony door open to listen to the waves as we slept. The ocean view was well worth the price. Parking was easy and free. Security at the hotel and the parking lot was superb. The luggage handler was a consummate professional both coming and leaving. The breakfast kitchen staff were super friendly and accomodating. If there is one place I had to live in Namibia it would be Swakopmund! If there was one hotel for me to stay in at Swakopmund it would be this hotel! We walked to safe shopping. We walked to safe restaurants. According to the local merchants there is a huge shoplifting problem there so may stores “buzz” you to let you in. I maintained situational awareness and no one ever tried to pickpocket us or steal a purse.
Dear Mr Albrecht, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your kind words about our establishment, our team and our facilities. It is heartwarming to hear that we were able to let you experience Namibia through our eyes! I will most certainly pass on your compliment to our team, we take great pride in our service levels and I am delighted that we could add to the enjoyment of your holiday in our beautiful country and our town. We hope to welcome you back to Swakopmund and the Strand Hotel soon ! Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Mr Albrecht, Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for your kind words about our establishment, our team and our facilities. It is heartwarming to hear that we were able to let you experience Namibia through… Show more
Reviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis hotel and its staff are wonderful. The linens and towels are top quality. The room was beautifully decorated and had a great view of the water. The restaurant was delicious, and the breakfast was next level. I don't actually eat in the morning, but I did here. They had vegetables and fruit that could be blended for a fresh juice, incredible pastries, meats and cheeses, pancakes, cereal--everything. The location was central and within walking distance of bars, restaurants, bakeries, and museums. Parking was easy and free.
This place is expensive, but if don't mind spending some money-it is worth it.
Dear Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, your positive feedback is much appreciated! We are very proud of our Farmhouse Deli breakfast and team, we strive to always provide our guests with (what we consider) the best breakfast in Namibia ! I will certainly pass on your compliment to our breakfast team and our kitchen brigade. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Strand Hotel, Swakopmund soon. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Rachel, Thank you for taking the time to post your review, your positive feedback is much appreciated! We are very proud of our Farmhouse Deli breakfast and team, we strive to always provide our guests with (what we consider) the bes… Show more
Reviewed: 26 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewEverything
NA
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable visit. Warm Regards Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that we were able to meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and look forwa… Show more
Reviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewOutstanding hotel, beautiful rooms, super friendly staff, great location. It was perfect choice for us.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities, service and especially our team. I will most definitely pass on your feedback to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to our beautiful town, Swakopmund and the Strand Hotel. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities, service and especially our team. I will most d… Show more
Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe disabled room was one of the best I’ve ever experienced, especially the bathroom.
The cost of accommodation was a bit high.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comment with us on Booking.com. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our facilities, restaurants and location, especially your recognition of the comfort and quality of our accessible rooms. We are continually re-evaluating our offerings and pricing to ensure they align with the level of comfort, service and exclusivity that we provide to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful town Swakopmund and our Hotel. Warm regards, Christo de Jager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comment with us on Booking.com. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback on our facilities, restaurants and location, especially your recognition of the comf… Show more
Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe bed size should be King Size and not Queen size
Towels were fire for the family room
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us on Booking.com. As a company we greatly value our guests’ feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of service at all times. Just to kindly note, the room you stayed in features two high-quality twin beds - each 190 long x 220 cm wide - joined together with a premium topper to create a king-size sleeping surface. We understand that bed sizes can vary between countries, but rest assured, the combined setup offers the full comfort and dimensions of a standard king-size bed. We are actively re-evaluating our offerings to ensure they align with the level of comfort, service and exclusivity that our guests expect. Therefore, it would be wonderful if we could engage with you to obtain further details regarding your remarks about the towels. Please feel free to reach out to me directly via Christo.dejager@ol.na. We hope that we can provide an experience that not only meets but exceeds your expectations during any future visit with us. Warm regards, Christo de Jager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us on Booking.com. As a company we greatly value our guests’ feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of service at all times. Just to kind… Show more
Reviewed: 16 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLovely room and beautiful views. Staff was so friendly and efficient. Lovely hotel.
Dear Mrs Fourie, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated ! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities, service and especially our team. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to our beautiful town, Swakopmund and the Strand Hotel. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Mrs Fourie, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated ! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities, service and especially our team. We look forw… Show more
Reviewed: 13 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewExcellent hotel with a beautiful view over the ocean. Very clean and comfortable rooms. Super delicious breakfast. A very good choice.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to our beautiful town, Swakopmund and the Strand Hotel. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you … Show more
Reviewed: 24 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewResturants and staff are excellent.... but the building is getting old, hallway carpets are old, stained and smelly, the Wifi only works properly around reception (crazy for the price they charge) ..... so for what they charge, I really would not recommend. Stay in town somewhere and come down to enjoy the resturants..... the breakfast is excellent!
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurants, provided services and excellent breakfast offerings, we will certainly pass on the compliment to the respective teams. While we are delighted that you had a positive experience with our hospitality and dining, we sincerely regret that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your comments about the building’s condition and hallway carpets. Maintaining a welcoming and comfortable environment is a priority for us, and we’re continuously working on improvements. Your feedback has been shared within the management team to guide our ongoing refurbishment efforts. Regarding the WiFi, we understand how important reliable connectivity is, and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. Please know that this is not a permanent challenge, we are already in the process of upgrading our network to ensure stronger and more consistent coverage throughout the property. We do hope to welcome you back to our beautiful town and the Strand Hotel Swakopmund in the future, where we can provide an experience that not only meets but exceeds your expectations. Warm Regards. Christo de Jager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments about our restaurants, provided services and excellent breakfast offerings, we will certainly pass on the compliment to the respective teams. While we are delighted that you had a posit… Show more
Reviewed: 21 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewGood location, nice stay
In comparison to the other O&L locations this one can't compete. Hotel withdrawed payment twice, which was too difficult for them to rectify.
Dear Mr Meier, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. At Strand Hotel Swakopmund, we are committed to delivering the highest standards of service and we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused by the delay in processing your refund. Ensuring a seamless experience for our guests is our priority, and we acknowledge that we fell short in this instance. Please rest assured that this can be seen as an isolated case, and steps have been taken to prevent a recurrence. We truly value your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Strand Hotel Swakopmund or any of our O&L Leisure properties in the future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly if there is anything else that we can assist you with. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Mr Meier, Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us. At Strand Hotel Swakopmund, we are committed to delivering the highest standards of service and we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused by the delay in processing … Show more
Reviewed: 13 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewAll the staff are so friendly and ready to assist at all times
The environment
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated ! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities and services. We would love to understand more about your thoughts on the environment, as your feedback is invaluable to us. Please feel free to share more details or reach out to us directly at shs.reception1@ol.na We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to our beautiful town, Swakopmund and the Strand Hotel. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated ! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities and services. We would love to understand more… Show more
Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewWas very nice
The service is very good
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to our beautiful town, Swakopmund and the Strand Hotel. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive feedback, it is very much appreciated! It is always a pleasure to hear that we have met our guests' expectations regarding our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you … Show more
Reviewed: 9 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewEverything perfectly good but not to justify $435 per night. Ruby was however very helpful and seafood restaurant very good
Value for money
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments about Ruby, we will most definitively pass on the compliment. As a company we greatly value our guests’ feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of service at all times. We were therefore concerned to read, that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations regarding our value for money offering. As part of our commitment to continuously enhancing guest satisfaction, we are actively re-evaluating our offerings to ensure they align with the level of comfort, service and exclusivity that our guests expect. We do hope to welcome you back to our beautiful town and the Strand Hotel Swakopmund in the future, where we can provide an experience that not only meets but exceeds your expectations. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your kind comments about Ruby, we will most definitively pass on the compliment. As a company we greatly value our guests’ feedback as we constantly strive to maintain the highest level of service at all… Show more
Reviewed: 18 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGreat location. Good food.
Slightly small room with no bath tube. Shower plumbing poor - it flooded the bathroom: poor design.
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review and kind comments about our facilities. I would like to thank you for bringing your concern to my attention. We hold our service and product to a high standard and will focus on the areas that you have mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to our beautiful town and the Strand Hotel Swakopmund. Warm Regards, Christo de Jager General Manager
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your positive review and kind comments about our facilities. I would like to thank you for bringing your concern to my attention. We hold our service and product to a high standard and will focus on the a… Show more
Reviewed: 15 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified review