Reviews of Gondwana Etosha Safari Lodge 4 stars
10 km south of Andersson Gate on the C 38, 9000 Okaukuejo, Namibia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Beaune, France
Bischofswiesen, Germany
Torre dell'Orso, Italy
Christchurch, New Zealand
Columbus, United States
Collesalvetti, Italy
Arco, Italy
New Delhi, India
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewA relatively large but very convenient lodge situated just outside the Etosha National Park. We stayed for a night before heading into the park for a few days. The lodge is popular with larger groups and can feel a little impersonal as a result. However, it is well set up and the staff are very friendly.
Reviewed: 16 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewI was visiting a friend in Namibia and went couple of days by myself to Etosha for my first safari experience. I was the only solo traveller at Etosha Lodge (most stay at Etosha camp down the hill) and I felt so safe and taken care of by all the staff. Special shout out to Mr Nico and Wilka and to the Game Drive guide Lucas for making my days so special. The room is a a little hut with all comfort and the food is served in the main lodge with a beautiful view. The food was varying everyday and was very tasty, a special thanks to the chef here for taking on the challenge to satisfy all types of customers and taste. Will definitely visit again when in Namibia
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, comfortable rooms. Excellent staff. Dinner was expensive but the food was good.
Dear Barnard, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, and thank you for the kind words about our team. We are truly pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay. It was our utmost pleasure hosting you, and we look forward to seeing you soon again. Kind regards, Your Gondwana Team
Dear Barnard, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us, and thank you for the kind words about our team. We are truly pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay. It was our utmost pleasure hosting you, and we lo… Show more
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe place and the deck in front of the Savanah is AMAZING
People in the lobby
Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon again. Kind regards, Your Gondwana Team
Dear Maria, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It was our pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon again. Kind regards, Your Gond… Show more
Reviewed: 28 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation Stuff
Expensive Some of the food
Dear Cinzia, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It was our pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you soon again. Kind regards, Your Gondwana Team
Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLoved the dinners and breakfasts as well as sunsets on the deck.
The slow computer system for payments etc.
Dear Melinda, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have also taken note of your concerning feedback to review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Your Gondwana Team
Dear Melinda, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have also taken note of your concerning feedback to review. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regar… Show more
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewAVOID, BED BUGS - We have been given a room with dozens of BED BUGS (room 40) - see pictures below. When we noticed it and complained at the reception, they told us they will ask the house cleaning service to go remove them… finally they granted us another room (room 56). When we got there, we checked the beds and actually also found some bed bugs in the room, and that the mastress had been changed 5 days ago (see picture). The worst is maybe the answer of the staff when we told them the second room was also full of bed bugs : « please wait a bit so that we can check the new room we will give you does not have any ». I would have hoped none of the rooms ready for guests have bed bugs… Eventually, they did not even accept to refund us and we had to search another hotel late in the evening
Dear Clémence, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and we have investigated this issue with immediate effect. Our team will reach out to you shortly to discuss your experience in more detail. Kind regards, Your Gondwana Team
Dear Clémence, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We truly regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and we have investigated this issue with immediate effect. Our team will reach out to you shortly to discuss your experie… Show more
Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewI’ve had more than 30 different bugs and insects inside my room (and even inside my mosquito net), some I identified, some I didn’t… I decided to leave one night earlier and when I told the receptionist that things weren’t alright, she didn’t even bother ask me why
Dear Renato, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We regret your experience during your stay and have investigated this concern immediately. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a positively different experience in the future. Kind regards, Your Gondwana Team
Dear Renato, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We regret your experience during your stay and have investigated this concern immediately. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities, and we hope to have the opportunity… Show more
Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewLovely place, amazing food (we had game meat every night - Eland, Oryx, Springbok -), amazing breakfast, very comfortable bed and pillows, natural insect repellent in the rooms with lemongrass, natural views from the room - nice sunset -, very friendly staff. We arrived with Namibia2GO, till the other Gondwana hotel, and we were transferred for free to the hotel (6 kms away), also for free when leaving. We booked the full day safari with them (about 80 EUR per person) during 3 days and the service was very good, a lot of food for lunch included, and we saw a lot of animals. Very close to one of the Etosha gates, just 10 min drive. We would come back, for sure!!!!
Wifi mostly didn't work. It was very very difficult to be connected. We were surprise when we arrived and we were told the wifi password with the comment "but it normally doesn't work". And we were told wiki was only available -when working- in the lobby or restaurant, not in the rooms. Our room 13 was closed to the lobby and restaurant, but the hotel has plenty of rooms very far away from them, and people even had to use their cars to go from the room to the restaurant.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe food was great, the staff was very friendly, the location with respect to the distance from Etosha park was very convenient.
The bathroom (shower area) has no doors or curtains and the setup was not convenient. We will not visit the lodge again just because of that.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 4 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewdinner was overpriced and there was no bar fridge in the bedroom
a bar fridge in the bedroom
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 28 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewNice Individual suites with parking in front, very kind staff, good breakfast and diner buffet.
The wifi was almost always not working.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 27 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewVery nice rooms with everything you need. The setting is awesome, and upon driving to the central building you can spot zebras. Food is great, and so is the winelist. There are three different pools, one for each section of the lodge.
Staff is rather indifferent…. Friendly, but not. Ery warm
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 22 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe room was functional and comfortable. The staff were super attentive and friendly
The WiFi access was very bad and the air conditioner in my room wasn’t cooling enough.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewViews and food, atmosphere
The bushes in front of the balcony terrace could be lower to have even better view from the room.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 12 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewStaff were nice and the viewing deck is excellent. Room was ok, parking could be better
Parking around the rooms was problematic
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more
Reviewed: 3 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful property, stunning location. Staff is amazing. The food at Restaurant on site was excellent 👌🏻
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was great having you here and we look forward to being your host again in the future. Sincerely, Your Gondwana Team
Reviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewClose to the Anderson Gate, short drive to the park. Beautiful sunset view from the common terrace.
The staff were not particularly friendly or attentive and often appeared irritated. The rooms were poorly equipped - no iron, hairdryer, or power adapters provided. Towels had an unpleasant smell, and the mattress was extremely uncomfortable, with a noticeable dip in it. Overall, the experience fell far short of what one would expect from a luxury stay. Service was very slow — everything took an unusually long time. The food was also disappointing and didn’t meet expectations. No working WiFi in the reception zone. No WiFi in the rooms.
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We will do our utmost best to catch up to our previously good and very good reviews. We look forward to being your host again at one of our lodges in the future. Sincerely, Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While we wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it… Show more
Reviewed: 28 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewA jewel of a resort. Excellent service and food.
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It was great having you here and we look forward to being your host again in the future. Sincerely, Your Gondwana Team
Reviewed: 26 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewVery peaceful and comfortable. The staff were very friendly and always ready to help especially the Chef.
The WiFi network was bad.
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Kind regards Your Gondwana Team
Dear Guest, We appreciate your review and appreciate your honest feedback. We regret that we could not meet your expectations but we are glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. K… Show more