8.4

Reviews of Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive 5 stars

Boulevard Ixtapa Zona Hotelera, 40884 Ixtapa, Mexico

  • Marroquin

    Reviewed: 9 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Kori

    Reviewed: 31 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Daniela in the kids club is AMAZING, as well as the food staff, gym, and spa staff! The food was also much better on this stay than the last. I had a great facial too! Appreciated the gym.

    We had to switch rooms three times. The first was on the roof with a broken lock on the door and tons of hair in the bathroom. The second room smelled so bad of toxic chemicals that we couldn't be in there. Staff members and folks from neighboring rooms agreed that the room was unbearable to stay in. They were not very gracious or accommodating when needing to switch rooms again. Additionally, we paid online for two adults and two children but they failed to honor the second adult and wanted me to pay more than the initial reservation. The front desk staff is very rude and lacks customer service skills. Also, they make going to the "restaurants" difficult and don't want to give you a reservation to eat at them unless you've been there a certain number of days and somehow they are always "full" even when there seems to be no one in them.

    Property response:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Kids Club with Daniela and that you enjoyed the food, gym, spa, and facial treatments. Your kind words about our staff mean a lot to us! However, we sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We regret that your room experience did not meet expectations and that the reservation process and dining arrangements caused frustration. Please know that we take your feedback seriously and will address these concerns with our team to improve our service and ensure a better experience for all our guests. Your comfort and satisfaction are our priority, and we truly appreciate your insights. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the exceptional stay you deserve.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Kids Club with Daniela and that you enjoyed the food, gym, spa, and facial treatments. Your kind words about our s… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    3 April 2025
  • Gandhi

    Reviewed: 27 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Good variety was amazing!

    Loud music by pool all day start I’m at 10 am. People smoking on the beach. Italian restaurant staff was too busy not enough servers, I had to get up and get a drink from pitchers myself. The waitress who served (girl I her late 20’s with hair up in a bun) missed our ordered, did not give suggestions when asked, her attitude was not friendly and rude, so did not tip her. Host made it up she was super nice and helpful. On a good note food was good as well!

    Property response:

    Dear Gandhi, Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re sorry to hear that the music and atmosphere did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for the service issues at the restaurant. Your feedback is valuable, and we’ll share it with our team to improve in those areas. We’re glad you enjoyed the food and that the host was able to assist you. We hope to welcome you back and provide a better experience in the future.

    Dear Gandhi, Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re sorry to hear that the music and atmosphere did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for the service issues at the restaurant. Your feedback is valuable, and we’ll share it w… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    28 February 2025
  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Marva

    Reviewed: 21 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • Barry

    Reviewed: 18 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Food was not great

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel's location and the beach proximity. We truly appreciate your compliments about our team. They work diligently to ensure that all of our guests are well taken care of during their stay. We are, however, sorry to hear that our buffet offering didn't fully meet your expectations in terms of taste. Our chefs take great pride in preparing dishes that reflect both local flavors and international options, all while maintaining high standards. We understand that everyone has unique preferences, so in order to accommodate our guests of all nationalities and tastes, we intentionally avoid making the dishes too spicy. To give our guests more flexibility, we offer a spice station at the buffet so that you can season your meal just the way you like it. Thank you once again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

    Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel's location and the beach proximity. We truly appreciate your compliments about our team. They work diligently to ensure that all of our guests are well taken care of during their… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    24 February 2025
  • Monica

    Reviewed: 13 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Very big and a lot of open spaces

    The room doesn’t have a fan in the bathroom. It is just like a pretend one. Just one channel in English on tv

    Property response:

    Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We will continue working to improve our services.

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    14 February 2025
  • See the property
  • Pineda

    Reviewed: 7 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Food overall was good, pools and beach access were nice.

    The area designated for smoking penetrates the entire first floor, reception, sitting and inside restaurant. Also, the A/C was set to 22.5 Celsius, that was difficult for sleeping comfortably.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your kind comments about the quality and variety of our buffets. Our team of chefs works hard to offer a wide range of local and international dishes, and we are delighted to hear that we were able to satisfy your palate. Were also thrilled that you enjoyed the beauty of our beach and pool areas. We deeply regret the inconvenience caused by the air conditioning unit in your room, and we sincerely apologize for not being informed immediately. Had we known, we would have gladly sent a technician to resolve the issue and ensure your complete comfort during your stay. Please remember that our reception is always available to assist with any needs you may have. Additionally, we have taken note of your feedback regarding the assigned smoking areas. We will share your comments with the appropriate department for further review and consideration. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

    Thank you for your kind comments about the quality and variety of our buffets. Our team of chefs works hard to offer a wide range of local and international dishes, and we are delighted to hear that we were able to satisfy your palate. Were… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    11 February 2025
  • Gary

    Reviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel was in a perfect position. It was only a five minute walk when they dropped us off at the bus stop and also the waiters and the waitresses were all amazing. They were all friendly at breakfast lunch and dinner they all went out of their way to be nice to the guests and also the chefs working behind the counters they were also very friendly. so all in all that was a wonderful holiday to this wonderful hotel and we would definitely be going back.

    The only thing we didn’t really like was there was not enough sunbeds by the pool area and we think like most people we speak to saying that there should be a rule about people leaving towels on the sunbeds early in the morning. If you do not use the sunbeds within a certain amount of time they should be taking away for other guests to use the sunbeds. and also when we went for breakfast lunch and dinner we had to give our room number to the young lady at the entrance to the restaurant, but none of them literally spoke to anyone when they were going to the tables with the customer. not even a smile they were all miserable acting as though they did not want to be there so I think they need to be spoken to and to be told to be a bit more polite and courteous to the customers because we are the ones that are paying their wages.

    Property response:

    Dear Mr. Gary, We are thrilled to hear that your stay at our hotel was wonderful, and we are delighted that you are considering returning without hesitation. Thank you for your kind words about our prime location in Ixtapa. We are proud of our unbeatable position, allowing guests to enjoy the beautiful El Palmar beach. We also greatly appreciate your compliments about the service provided by our waitstaff and chefs. Rest assured, we will personally pass along your praise to them, as their dedication to ensuring your well-being during your stay is deeply appreciated. Regarding sun lounger reservations, we would like to clarify that, in line with hotel policy, reservations are not permitted. While we make every effort to enforce this rule, especially during periods of high occupancy, we regret that we were unable to fully manage this during your visit. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused. We were concerned to read your comments about our hostesses, as they are typically praised for their professionalism and friendliness. What you described is not typical of our standard, and we sincerely appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Your feedback will be shared with all department heads for further evaluation and action if necessary. Thank you once again for sharing your experience with us. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

    Dear Mr. Gary, We are thrilled to hear that your stay at our hotel was wonderful, and we are delighted that you are considering returning without hesitation. Thank you for your kind words about our prime location in Ixtapa. We are proud of… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    11 February 2025
  • Ayala

    Reviewed: 13 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    The staff is amazing, they go above and beyond to meet all your needs. Gabriel who is in the kitchen overheard my daughter saying that she wanted red velvet cake after they had run out, he went and got her some and brought it to her table without us having to ask. He made her day. They check often to see if you need anything, including more drinks. Please make sure to tip them, we saw that hardly anybody tip and they absolutely deserve it. Please tip, they work hard.

    1. It's 7:30 am and people have already reserved all the recliners by placing shoes, towels, shirts on top of them. You literally have to go and compete to get a recliner. This was every day... Have only seen this on some cruises and even there is discouraged, not here. 2. The food is very basic and very repetitive. The quality is very low, including at the specialty restaurants. In their defense they do give you plenty. They had Paella and lobster day. Paella was actually really good, lobsters they only had 100 for the entire hotel. 3. Drinks are horrible, generic syrup, low quality alcohol. Bartenders and servers try and are happy to recommend alternatives. Make sure you ask for brand Bacardi and tequila... Only upon request. Please tip is not their fault, they really try. 4. The front desk is only interested in selling you an upgrade package... Don't take it is not worth it. The specialty restaurants are not better than the buffet. If you must take it, request a late check out, is the only thing that might be of any value. 5. Mexican Night. The talent is amazing you can tell some of the dancers have professional training. However the event is poorly organized. This is the only time I felt the servers did not want to be there and did not want you there either... Again the food is bad, the drinks are worstanf the service was bad too. 6. If you leave your towel for 5 minutes, they will steal it, you will have to pay $20 for it. Keep an eye on it. 7. Shower does not have a door, water will get everywhere, but if it did you would not be able to open the bathroom door.

    Property response:

    Dear Mr Ayala, We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us.According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter." Sabores del Pacífico" is an additional gastronomic activity different from what is usually found in buffet restaurants. We are pleased to offer a plus to our guests with a selection of dishes with seafood delicacies such as fish and shellfish, lobster, which usually has an extra cost, and We grant it free of charge exclusively in this activity that lasts 1 hour and is subject to hotel scheduling on Saturdays.We are thrilled you enjoyed the varied entertainment program organized by our professional team and enhanced by their genuine friendliness and enthusiasm to make sure all guests joining into the daily activities are having a memorable moment among us and we will certainly not we fail to share your congratulations with the entire team. We are working on the areas of opportunity that you point out to us and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.

    Dear Mr Ayala, We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your well… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    19 August 2024
  • See the property
  • Jose

    Reviewed: 6 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024

    Verified review

    Good place to be on vacation

    All the food is ready for all time

    Property response:

    Thank you very much for sharing your vacation experience at our facilities. We are waiting for you again in this your home.

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    10 May 2024
  • 7.0 Good
    Benjamin

    Reviewed: 18 April 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review
  • Melody

    Reviewed: 3 March 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    -Sunset ala-a,carte was very good. Service was very good! -Waiters around swimming pool very good

    -Ver, Very poor food, same thing every day, lots of left overs, of 7 nights we were there ice cream machine worked for …maybe a day and a half. -I expected to see different theme noghts

    Property response:

    Dear Melody, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our specialty a la carte restaurants and that you liked the kindness and kindness of our staff. Although we regret that the experience in the buffet restaurants did not live up to your expectations, we have conveyed this to our kitchen staff and executive chef to improve the area of opportunity that you mentioned to us. We hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again.

    Dear Melody, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed our specialty a la carte restaurants and that you liked the kindness and kindness of our staff. Although we regret that the experience in the buffet restaurants did not live up to your ex… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    6 March 2024
  • See the property
  • Kelly

    Reviewed: 1 March 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    The grounds were very well kept. The porters were very helpful. Wesco? Caught me as soon as I got off the elevator to collect my bags and gather the rest of my families bags together so we could have breakfast and he checked us out and called our cabs to get to the airport on time.

    Needs some updates. You could see light around the room door so it was very noisy. The concerts were very loud at night on the Mountain View side. Not many food choices as all the restaurants are not open every night. A lot of Mexican cuisine. Need to have at least one restaurant open early for kids. 7 pm was the earliest they could eat dinner.

    Property response:

    Dear Ms. Kelly, Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we are grateful for the time you spent to share a review of your personal experience in the hotel. We regret that our buffet couldn´t meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. On regards to the noise, we will also communicate it to the corresponding departments so that we can make improvements on the comfort of our guests. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance

    Dear Ms. Kelly, Our guests' comments provide us with an opportunity to see our hotel through their eyes giving us insight into any service that may have room for improvement to enhance our future guests' stay among us, therefore we … Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    4 March 2024
  • Saul

    Reviewed: 27 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024

    Verified review

    Staff were attending really well Food, fun and facilities were excellent

    Everything was fine Nothing to say

    Property response:

    Dear Mr. Saul, we are excited to know that your stay was satisfactory and that you liked both the service of our staff and the food. We hope to visit us again.

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    27 February 2024
  • Richard

    Reviewed: 2 February 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Location. Good food and drink.

    Our refrigerator never worked. We were promised a working refrigerator daily but never happened. We had perishables which we had to ice down using zip lock bags and ice. Luckily I travel with zip locks. Wish staff was truthful.

    Property response:

    Dear Mr. Richard, sorry for the inconvenience caused, we would like to clarify that the rooms have a minibar and not a refrigerator, the cooling times work differently, but the reception does have a refrigerator where you can store your medications and it is available in case that our guests require it.

    Dear Mr. Richard, sorry for the inconvenience caused, we would like to clarify that the rooms have a minibar and not a refrigerator, the cooling times work differently, but the reception does have a refrigerator where you can store your med… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    12 February 2024
  • See the property
  • Lorena

    Reviewed: 13 January 2024 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review
  • Hugo

    Reviewed: 13 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Very good

    No balcony in my room

    Property response:

    We also greatly appreciate your highlight on the good value of our All Inclusive type of meal plan . We have rooms of each category that do not have a balcony, these are the ones located in each column of the building due to the type of building, however these rooms are larger and the window is made of glass and you can enjoy the view. We encourage you to request a change of room with a balcony from reception on your next visit. We are sure that they will do their best to offer an alternative for subsequent days if there is no availability at check-in.

    We also greatly appreciate your highlight on the good value of our All Inclusive type of meal plan . We have rooms of each category that do not have a balcony, these are the ones located in each column of the building due to the type of bui… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    13 January 2024
  • Margaret

    Reviewed: 22 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Lorena

    Reviewed: 29 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review
  • Rogelio

    Reviewed: 30 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    Booking.com

    Property response:

    The access to our Wifi service may be slower during peak hours when many guests login to our network, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our techincal department for revision and improvement.

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    1 September 2023
  • Rubén

    Reviewed: 12 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    Dinners at special restaurants were good, water temperature was warm and very comfortable all the time

    regular restaurants had always, always the same menu, very long tails for taking lunch or breakfast and sometimes the food was insufficient

    Property response:

    We do everything possible to ensure that our clients can enjoy an enriching gastronomic experience in an unbeatable environment and with excellent service. Our food and beverage team will continue working to surprise you with delicious local and international dishes on your next visit, both in the specialty restaurants and in the buffets. We regret the exceptional wait at peak hours in the buffet restaurants. We would like to mention that the Restaurants have long hours so you can have food with peace of mind at breakfast, lunch or dinner.

    We do everything possible to ensure that our clients can enjoy an enriching gastronomic experience in an unbeatable environment and with excellent service. Our food and beverage team will continue working to surprise you with delicious loca… Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    26 August 2023
  • See the property
  • Jonathan

    Reviewed: 27 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 25 July 2023 · Stayed in June 2023

    Verified review
  • Xploremx

    Reviewed: 25 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    The facility is great, food was great as well, and the shows are amazing

    They take forever to help you at the frome desk, they had so much ppl standing up waiting for only 2 ppl helping on front desk

    Property response:

    We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be happy to know their efforts have been appreciated.It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our réception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the réception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned.

    We thank you for your very kind words about our entertainment team as they work tirelessly every day to entertain our guests during their stay among us, we will make sure to relay your praising comments to them and we are sure they will be … Show more

    Barceló Ixtapa - All Inclusive
    26 July 2023
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Residenz WALDOASE

Ahlbeck, Germany

Mas des Oliviers

Nice, France

Villa Sayada

Luang Prabang, Laos

Kiss Gardenhome Chic Hotel

Hat Yai, Thailand

Borgo Camicia In

Barcellona-Pozzo di Gotto, Italy

Angkor Reas Guesthouse

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Chateau de la Grave

Bourg-sur-Gironde, France

Roma Aussie Tourist Park

Roma, Australia

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...