8.1

Reviews of Thumbi View Lodge

Village Road, Cape Maclear, Malawi

  • Jan

    Reviewed: 29 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Gaia

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The only good reason to choose this place is the view. That's the only good reason. All the rest ? Overpriced and overestimated.

    Overpriced and overrated. 20$ for a shared dorm with no towel included, full of dust and sand (at least swipe the floor before someone is coming in and I was the first one entering that room) toilet with no lights, no toilet paper, no soap, dirty swimming pool, overpriced food, and really slow service at the reception. I had to wait 30 minutes to check out because the guy at the reception didn't know that I paid my stay at the arrival and was keep asking me who was the guy I paid at (seriously ?!?!?) Definitely not worth the money you pay for staying here.

    Property response:

    We would like to clarify a few points: Our rooms are cleaned every day, whether or not new guests are arriving not. You were informed, beforehand, that dorms do not have towels and that one available. We load a deposit on your tab, which gets taken off, when you hand the towel back, as is standard practice through the world. We acknowledge there was a mix-up during your check-in. The correct procedure was not followed, and this matter is being formally addressed with the staff member involved. Our pool is maintained daily. It is treated with chemicals every day and vacuumed every morning to ensure it remains clean and safe for guests. With regard to food pricing, the burger you ordered was K14,000. The dinner buffet, you did not want, is priced at K18,000, offers a variety of dishes including rice, wraps, salad, pops, potato curry, chickpea curry, and chicken curry, with unlimited servings. if could have helped it you mentioned there was not toilet paper. we have 10 people in the other dorms, who knows, maybe someone used the last and did not tell anyone either. We do not have staff stationed at the toilets, monitoring toilet use by the minute. it gets checked twice a day. I was not aware of the 1 light bulb not working. Thank you for letting us know, we will immediately change it.

    We would like to clarify a few points: Our rooms are cleaned every day, whether or not new guests are arriving not. You were informed, beforehand, that dorms do not have towels and that one available. We load a deposit on your tab, which … Show more

    Thumbi View Lodge
    24 August 2025
  • Alexandre

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Really relaxing location, wonderful place to lean back and enjoy the view it offers. Great food, too!

    All good!

  • See the property
  • Jan

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Dangere

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Great location and friendly staff but rude owner.

    Rude owner, wi-fi was terrible and food was one course only set menu no choice.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed the location and found our staff friendly. To clarify, our set menu is designed to offer quality at great value, and it is a single-course offering. $10 for a main course, at the rate of prices in Malawi, can clearly not be a 3 course meal.  To which you responded, "I did not look at the price of the meal." Regarding the comment about the owner, I simply explained that a full three-course meal isn't feasible at the price of a main. Then I went out of my way to make sure you have a 2 course meal the next night, for which I prepared the dessert myself, and to which you then did not show up for. Stating the facts are not the same as Being rude. As for the Wi-Fi, we haven’t had similar feedback, but we’ll continue to monitor it to ensure everything runs smoothly.

    Thank you for your review. We're pleased you enjoyed the location and found our staff friendly. To clarify, our set menu is designed to offer quality at great value, and it is a single-course offering. $10 for a main course, at the rate … Show more

    Thumbi View Lodge
    4 June 2025
  • Bradley

    Reviewed: 1 June 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Dimmock

    Reviewed: 17 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Margo

    Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Marthie

    Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Everything! The extra mile that the owners will do to help in anyway is a big plus!!! The friendly staff , the lovely food ! The stunning view! The scuba And the beautiful fish Eagles 🦅!!! What a beautiful sight!!!

  • See the property
  • Kealeboga

    Reviewed: 8 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    I loved the location, views from the main area and the music. Meal portions were also good.

    The shower drainage in the family room was slow.

  • David

    Reviewed: 28 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Relaxed atmosphere

    I liked everything!

  • Randy

    Reviewed: 16 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Breakfast was generous with varied menu.

    Rooms could have used AC

  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Suade

    Reviewed: 6 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • John

    Reviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Great location, fantastic shared spaces, nice rooms with mosquito nets.

    Strong pressure to add on purchases to your stay. Rooms are very hot at night.

  • Zuneid

    Reviewed: 21 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Miku

    Reviewed: 2 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Gramani

    Reviewed: 26 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Location is good, right in front of the lake, the place is absolutely beautiful. Staff was super nice.

    There's no wifi in the rooms, and the wifi at reception was not so good.

  • Maj

    Reviewed: 22 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    The room (in the back yard, double room with own toilet & shower) was very good for the price. The location is perfect, in a quiet area, and just a short walk to the village. The food was very tasty, with vegetarian options available. The staff was super friendly, always smiling. We stayed for 10 nights and wouldn't have wanted to leave. Try the sunset cruise with their catamaran :) also the National park is a short walk away from the lodge, so we took a hike towards the view point and to Otter Point.

    The water in the shower was piping hot, no matter what time of the day. Luckily the pool and the lake provided us some cooling :D

  • See the property
  • Jenpil78

    Reviewed: 17 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    It was all good. Great pool, cafe and bar.

    The rooms need hooks to hang clothes up. The bathrooms, and in particular the shower heads need urgently replacing. Rusty, bent and hardly any water comes through. The path from the bar to the non-lake facing rooms needs more lighting.

  • Jenpil78

    Reviewed: 17 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    I liked everything. The staff, the bar, the cafe and food, the pool. The rooms could use an update though, but for $25 a night, it was fine. Just.

    The non-lake facing rooms were a bit decrepit. They need some hooks on the doors! There is nowhere to hang your clothes at all! A few nails in the back of the door would be better than nothing. Also, the shower head was rusty, bent and hardly gave me enough water to rinse my hair or wash my body. Just a trickle..Not good.

  • Edward

    Reviewed: 16 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Great views, great food, friendly staff, good value.

  • See the property
  • David

    Reviewed: 11 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • Jack

    Reviewed: 10 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Yuka

    Reviewed: 13 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Staff were friendly and enjoyed the atmosphere.

    I asked them if I can get a offering letter for my visa but still now I don't receive any reply from them about it. If someone look for it or need prompt reply for any questions, I recommend to book other hotels where can assist you.

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...