Reviews of Lotus by Serendib 4 stars
Glyn Jones Road, off Namiwawa Avenue, Blantyre, Malawi

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewgood protein meals with good taste
cleanliness was not as expected
Dear Charles Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. and fuels our commitment to continual improvement. We have noted your feedback and are actively working to address the issues you mentioned. Be rest assured that we are dedicated to enhancing your future experiences at Lotus hotel, and we eagerly anticipate welcoming you back soon to showcase the improvements made. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
Dear Charles Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. and fuels our commitment to continual improvement. We have note… Show more
Reviewed: 20 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewMostly everything
Bathroom needs an upgrade, especially shower
Dear Heinlene Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. and fuels our commitment to continual improvement. We have noted your feedback and are actively working to address the issues you mentioned. Be rest assured that we are dedicated to enhancing your future experiences at Lotus Hotel, and we eagerly anticipate welcoming you back soon to showcase the improvements made. Should you have any further concerns or suggestions, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at sales@serendibhotels.com Your feedback and input are always welcomed and valued. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
Dear Heinlene Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. and fuels our commitment to continual improvement. We have note… Show more
Reviewed: 9 April 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewThe location was quiet and green. It felt safe and was well maintained. The room was comfortable although a little tired. The staff were friendly. The complimentary car wash was great.
The stay was good. It could have been improved by a few small touches. I had guests stay for breakfast, which was billed for despite not having availed myself of breakfast for three mornings. The bees in my room were guests for the first two days and then retreated. The cost of everything was understood and considered in full.
Dear Ivan Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. and fuels our commitment to continual improvement. We have noted your feedback and are actively working to address the issues you mentioned. Be rest assured that we are dedicated to enhancing your future experiences at Lotus Hotel, and we eagerly anticipate welcoming you back soon to showcase the improvements made. Should you have any further concerns or suggestions, please don't hesitate to reach out to us at sales@serendibhotels.com Your feedback and input are always welcomed and valued. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager rodney@serendibhotel.com
Dear Ivan Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with each and every stay. and fuels our commitment to continual improvement. We have noted yo… Show more
Reviewed: 1 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewStaff and location
Quality of food need to improve ,shower tap broken and dirty.
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's only when you give us this valuable feedback that we know if we have met your expectations and continually strive to improve. We have taken a serious note on your comments that needs improvement. We hope that this has not permanently marred your expectations of Lotus Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again very soon to experience the improved stay. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's only when you give us this valuable feedback that we know if we have met your expectations and continually strive to improve. We have taken a serious note on … Show more
Reviewed: 18 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewThe staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food in the restaurant was good, they have a beautiful lobby too.
It was quite a noisy stay from people shouting in the hallway (most likely other guests), and the cleanliness off the bathroom that needed abit more attention to detail such as ensuring toiletteres were topped up and shower doors and floor were clean. Other than that, good stay.
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken a serious note on bad experience at our hotel and would like to assure that such shall not recur during your next stay with us. We hope that this has not permanently marred your expectations of Lotus Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again very soon to experience the improved stay. If you have any further concerns, please share it with us on our email- sales@serendibhotels.com. Your feedbacks and suggestions are always welcome. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken a serious note on bad experience at our hotel and would… Show more
Reviewed: 10 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewThe room was not thoroughly cleaned, with food from previous guest sitting in drawers left to rot and the bathroom was poorly cleaned.
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken a serious note on bad experience at our hotel and would like to assure that such shall not recur during your next stay with us. We hope that this has not permanently marred your expectations of Lotus Hotel. We look forward to hosting you again very soon to experience the improved stay. If you have any further concerns, please share it with us on our email- sales@serendibhotels.com. Your feedbacks and suggestions are always welcome. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken a serious note on bad experience at our hotel and would… Show more
Reviewed: 16 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 15 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewQuietness and location
The showers were not working properly in both rooms we stayed in
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken the necessary measures to address the maintenance matters in our bathrooms. We would like to assure that such shall not recur during your next stay with us. We hope that this has not permanently marred your expectations of Lotus HOTEL. We look forward to hosting you again very soon to experience the improved stay. If you have any further concerns, please share it with us on our email- sales@serendibhotels.com. Your feedbacks and suggestions are always welcome. Warm reagrds, Hotel General Manager
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken the necessary measures to address the maintenance matte… Show more
Reviewed: 11 August 2023 · Stayed in July 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewThe hospitality was on point.
N/A
Dear Edward, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's only when you give us this valuable feedback, that we know we have met your expectations and continually strive to improve . Thank you for giving us this proverbial pat on the back, you have truly made Lotus Hotel Team’s day! We will strive to deliver great experiences consistently, please do come again. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
Dear Edward, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's only when you give us this valuable feedback, that we know we have met your expectations and continually strive to improve . Thank you for giving us this pro… Show more
Reviewed: 5 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewThe room was very clean
My breakfast pack was late, the options for hot beverages were not replenished and the shower head needed a bit of a fix
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken the necessary measures to address the service delivery in our restaurant and maintenance matters in our bathrooms. We would like to assure that such shall not recur during your next stay with us. We hope that this has not permanently marred your expectations of Lotus HOTEL. We look forward to hosting you again very soon to experience the improved stay. If you have any further concerns, please share it with us on our email- sales@serendibhotels.com. Your feedbacks and suggestions are always welcome. Warm regards, Hotel General Manager
A refreshing day to you our Valued Guest, Thank you for your valuable review and feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We have taken the necessary measures to address the service delivery … Show more
Reviewed: 16 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 November 2022 · Stayed in October 2022
Verified reviewThe price was good. The service was good.
There were no elevators. I had to climb the stairs with all my luggage.
Reviewed: 12 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 25 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewthere was no hot water in the showers so cold showers were required. when I told them about this, they just shrugged their shoulders. Additionally, they charged me about twice the amount of the booking.
there was no hot water in the showers so cold showers in the morning were required. When I told the front desk about this, they just shrugged their shoulders. Additionally , they charged me about twice the amount of the booking.
Reviewed: 24 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewNothing
Staff were inefficient. Room did not have towels until I asked. Room had mozzy's with no repellent candles or device available. Water in the shower was a warm trickle. loud music from the party they were hosting until the early hours of the morning. And the icing - although they say breakfast served at 6am, what they actually meant 7. Had butter and jam sandwich for breakfast because breakfast not ready before I needed to leave. One of the reasons I booked is they offered breakfast before I had to leave. I literally book to spend the night ahead of my early flight. All I needed was a good night's rest and a decent breakfast....which they failed failed failed....
Reviewed: 22 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewwater supply very weak, hot water only after water runs for 10-15 minutes