Reviews of Amaryllis Hotel Blantyre 5 stars
2 Laws Road, Blantyre, Malawi

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 17 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery comfortable and welcoming and will come again
Internet
Dear Stephanie, Thank you very much for your kind words. We’re delighted to hear that you found your stay comfortable and welcoming, and that we fulfilled your needs overall. We sincerely apologize, however, for the inconvenience you experienced with the internet. Please rest assured that our team is working on improving the connectivity to ensure a smoother experience for our guests in the future. We truly appreciate your feedback and are very glad to know you will be returning, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed Managing Director
Dear Stephanie, Thank you very much for your kind words. We’re delighted to hear that you found your stay comfortable and welcoming, and that we fulfilled your needs overall. We sincerely apologize, however, for the inconvenience you expe… Show more
Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewFriendly staff, decent breakfast, great location, clean, comfortable, and updated rooms.
N/A
Dear Adam, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, breakfast, location, and the comfort of our rooms. It’s truly an honor that you are considering making us your main place to stay in Blantyre, we look forward to welcoming you back again and again. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed Managing Director
Dear Adam, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, breakfast, location, and the comfort of our rooms. It’s truly an honor that you are considering making us your main place… Show more
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe food was delicious. There were a few changes of the breakfast buffet everyday with lots of Malawian local delicacies. The hotel is centrally located in the city with beautiful views from our room on level 7. Robert made us great lattes, and Trinity, a server was very warm and friendly. Always knew our daily coffee orders.
The public could access even the room levels. We had people coming to the room levels just to take photos and videos even when they were not guests at the hotel. Friday and weekends were the most noisy days. We could hear music from the bar even at midnight, such an inconvenience.
Dear Dorah, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast offerings, especially the variety of Malawian local delicacies, as well as the beautiful views from your room. Your kind words about Robert and Trinity have been shared with them they will be thrilled to know they made your mornings extra special. We sincerely apologize for the concerns you raised regarding access to guest room floors and the noise disturbances over the weekend. Please rest assured that your feedback is taken seriously, and we are actively reviewing our access control measures and sound management to ensure a more peaceful and secure environment for our guests. Thank you once again for choosing Amaryllis Hotel. We truly value your comments as they help us improve. We hope to welcome you back for an even better experience in the near future. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed Managing Director
Dear Dorah, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our delicious breakfast offerings, especially the variety of Malawian local delicacies, as w… Show more
Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe breakfast has little variety of food.
Dear Dimas, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our gym facilities and found the room clean and well-organized, your comfort is our priority. We also appreciate your comment regarding breakfast. Your suggestion has been noted, and we are continually working on enhancing our offerings to better meet our guests expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better experience! Best Regards, Ramy Waheed Managing Director
Dear Dimas, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our gym facilities and found the room clean and well-organized, your comfort is our priority. We also appreciate your comment regarding break… Show more
Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewStaff, location
I stayed at this hotel last year and was very satisfied, but unfortunately, this time the experience was disappointing, especially considering the high price. The quality of service has significantly declined. Breakfast was particularly poor. Very limited selection, mostly local dishes, and missing basic items like cheese. There was no espresso coffee, and the fruit selection was weak. Even the pineapple, which is usually fresh and sweet in African hotels, was unripe and hard. Housekeeping was also an issue. Every day after my room was cleaned, there were no towels, and I had to wait for hours to receive them. Despite asking several times, the same problem repeated daily. It's difficult to understand how cleaning staff can leave a room without towels. Unfortunately, this is still probably the best hotel in Blantyre, which makes the situation even more disappointing. I hope they take steps to improve, as the potential is there.
Dear Djevad, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and for choosing to return to Amaryllis Hotel. We deeply regret that your recent experience did not meet the high standards you previously enjoyed and rightfully expected. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered, particularly with the breakfast selection and the housekeeping service. Your comments regarding the limited variety, unripe fruit, and lack of basic international options such as cheese and espresso have been noted with great concern. We are currently reviewing our breakfast offering with the kitchen team to ensure better variety, freshness, and consistency moving forward. We also take your housekeeping concern very seriously. Leaving a room without towels is unacceptable, and we are investigating how this occurred repeatedly during your stay. Measures are being put in place to tighten quality checks and supervision, to ensure such lapses do not happen again. Your feedback is a valuable reminder that continuous improvement is essential, especially when we aim to remain the leading hospitality destination in Blantyre. Please rest assured that your comments have been shared with our entire management team, and immediate steps are being taken to address the gaps you’ve highlighted. We truly hope to welcome you back in the near future, and we are committed to delivering a much improved and satisfying experience. Sincerely Yours Ramy Waheed Managing Director
Dear Djevad, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and for choosing to return to Amaryllis Hotel. We deeply regret that your recent experience did not meet the high standards you previously enjoyed and rightfully ex… Show more
Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI absolutely love everything about Amaryllis hotel
Nothing
Dear Tayamika, Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re absolutely delighted to know you had such a wonderful experience at Amaryllis Hotel. Hearing that you "absolutely love everything" about your stay truly motivates our entire team to keep delivering exceptional service and hospitality. We can’t wait to welcome you back again soon for another memorable visit! Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Tayamika, Thank you so much for your kind words! We’re absolutely delighted to know you had such a wonderful experience at Amaryllis Hotel. Hearing that you "absolutely love everything" about your stay truly motivates our e… Show more
Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful well appointed rooms in a very safe location right in the heart of downtown.
The service at the restaurant Zaffron is excruciatingly slow. It took an hour and half for our food to arrive. Food was not very good. They seem to have no butter. At dinner they served bread rolls but when asked for butter said there is none. Same story for breakfast. There was also a very noisy karaoke party that went on till late at night. The previous night they had hammering/construction going on.
Dear Anagha, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amaryllis Hotel. We’re truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and appreciated the safety and central location of our hotel. Your kind words mean a lot to us. That said, I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your dining experiences at Zaffron. We fully acknowledge the delay in food service and the shortcomings related to the butter and overall food quality. Please rest assured that this is not the standard we strive to uphold, and your feedback has already been shared with our Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager for immediate improvement. We also regret that your stay was disrupted by noise from a private event and maintenance work. While we do our best to limit disturbances, we clearly fell short in this instance, and we’re taking steps to ensure better communication and noise control moving forward. Your feedback is invaluable as it helps us enhance our services and guest experience. We do hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the seamless and enjoyable stay you rightfully expect. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed Managing Director
Dear Anagha, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amaryllis Hotel. We’re truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and appreciated the safety and central location of our hotel. Your kind w… Show more
Reviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewFriendly and helpful staff
If you want a glass of wine/beer with your food, the staff must run down to ground floor, to a bar, and buy that separately, and pay for it separately.
Dear Sveinbjörn, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We would like to clarify that while our in-house bar is managed by an outsourced partner, all in-house guests are welcome to sign any bar or restaurant invoices directly to their rooms and conveniently settle everything upon check-out. There's no need to pay separately at the bar if you're staying with us. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back for an even smoother experience. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Sveinbjörn, Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for your kind words about our friendly and helpful staff. We would like to clarify that while our in-house bar is managed by an outsourced partner, all in-house guests are… Show more
Reviewed: 5 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewBreakfast was really good, with multiple options of hot and cold options. Food at the indoor restaurant was really good as well. Location was also great. Staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful and accommodate various requests.
Hotel shuttle did not pick me up from the airport ... I had to get a cab. Served coffee was not as good as ordered coffee, so I opted to order coffee (no extra cost) with my breakfast everyday. Cleaners could be a little noisy in the morning, talking to each other in the corridors.
Dear Eva Liliane, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Amaryllis Hotel. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you would warmly recommend us. It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed our breakfast variety, the quality of food at our indoor restaurant, and our convenient location. We're especially proud that our team made a positive impression your kind words about their friendliness and willingness to assist mean a lot to us. We do, however, sincerely apologize for the inconvenience regarding your airport pickup. This is certainly not the level of service we strive to provide, and we will be investigating what went wrong to ensure it doesn't happen again. We also appreciate your feedback on the coffee service and morning noise from housekeeping both are valid points, and we will address these with the relevant teams to improve the overall guest experience. Your observations help us grow, and we’re grateful for your honest insights. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better stay. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Eva Liliane, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Amaryllis Hotel. We are truly delighted to hear that you had a great stay and that you would warmly recommend us. It’s wonderful to know … Show more
Reviewed: 9 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewcleanliness, good food, quality room
nothing
Dear Sydney, Thank you so much for your superb review! We're thrilled to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed the cleanliness, delicious food, and the quality of your room. Feedback like yours truly motivates our team to keep delivering the best possible service. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another exceptional stay! Warm regards, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Sydney, Thank you so much for your superb review! We're thrilled to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations. It's wonderful to know you enjoyed the cleanliness, delicious food, and the quality of your room. Feedback li… Show more
Reviewed: 7 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLocated in the centre of Blantyre. Rooms are comfortable and the double room beds are HUGE and very comfortable. Staff are super friendly and happy to help. Food is very good although the price is higher given this is probably one of the poshest hotels in the city.
Whilst the staff are friendly the check in process seems slow. Be warned, if you are booking a deluxe room with two double beds through booking.com the beds are actually large singles, NOT doubles. We thought the room would be big enough for 3 people but it wasn’t. The hotel added a single camp style bed into the room for free.
Dear Tom, Thank you for your thoughtful review and for highlighting what you enjoyed about your stay from our central location and spacious, comfortable beds to our friendly team and quality food. We truly appreciate your kind words. We’re sorry to hear about the confusion regarding the bed configuration in the room booked through Booking.com. We understand how important clarity is when planning a stay. For future reference, we do offer Deluxe Twin Rooms, and some of these even feature interconnecting doors, making them ideal for families or small groups. Our team would be happy to recommend the best room configuration for your needs during your next visit. We also appreciate your note about the check-in process and are actively working to improve efficiency at the front desk. We look forward to welcoming you back to Amaryllis Hotel soon. Warm regards, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Tom, Thank you for your thoughtful review and for highlighting what you enjoyed about your stay from our central location and spacious, comfortable beds to our friendly team and quality food. We truly appreciate your kind words. We’r… Show more
Reviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewGood gym, clean and everything organized in the room
Breakfast can be improved.
Dear Assane, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our gym facilities and found the room clean and well-organized, your comfort is our priority. We also appreciate your comment regarding breakfast. Your suggestion has been noted, and we are continually working on enhancing our offerings to better meet our guests' expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better experience! Best Regards, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Assane, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our gym facilities and found the room clean and well-organized, your comfort is our priority. We also appreciate your comment regarding brea… Show more
Reviewed: 3 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewIn centre of city great facilities
Basement bar was disappointing
Dear Monica, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious and comfortable, our staff helpful, and the central location convenient for your needs. We’re sorry to learn that the Bar did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is invaluable, and we’ll be sharing it with the relevant team to see how we can improve the experience. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better stay. Warm regards, Ramy Waheed General Manger
Dear Monica, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our rooms spacious and comfortable, our staff helpful, and the central location convenient for your nee… Show more
Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Shower cold Broken toilet
Dear Shimon, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, particularly regarding the shower and toilet issues. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We take such concerns seriously and have already addressed the matters with our maintenance team to ensure they are resolved promptly. While we’re glad you appreciated our location, we regret that the overall value did not reflect what we strive to offer. We hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back and provide you with the high standard of comfort and service we’re known for. Warm regards, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Shimon, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re truly sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations, particularly regarding the shower and toilet issues. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience… Show more
Reviewed: 15 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe bedrooms are very large. We had balconies that overlooked the whole city - it was stunning. The staff are excellent - especially Mwai at reception.
Dear Georgea, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the stunning city views from your balcony it's always a pleasure to know our guests truly take in the beauty of Blantyre from Amaryllis. We're also thrilled to hear that our team made a positive impression, especially Mwai at reception. We'll be sure to pass on your kind words to her she’ll be so happy to know she made your stay special. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for another memorable experience. Warm regards, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Georgea, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and the stunning city views from your balcony it's always a pleasure to know our guests truly take in the beauty of… Show more
Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewExcellent
Dear Amit, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Amaryllis Hotel - Blantyre and for taking the time to send us your valued Amazing feedback, we greatly appreciate any comments by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. It always amazing to receive positive feedback or compliments from our guests, I will share your comments with our colleagues, which I am sure will act as a great motivator. Amaryllis Team will be definitely looking forward to your return in the future. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Amit, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Amaryllis Hotel - Blantyre and for taking the time to send us your valued Amazing feedback, we greatly appreciate any comments by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highe… Show more
Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 11 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 10 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewNot enough towels in the rooms based on how many people staying. Love that there are restaurants in the hotel that are halal
Dear Suraiya, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Amaryllis Hotel - Blantyre and for taking the time to send us your valued Amazing feedback, we greatly appreciate any comments by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. It always amazing to receive positive feedback or compliments from our guests, I will share your comments with our colleagues, which I am sure will act as a great motivator. Amaryllis Team will be definitely looking forward to your return in the future. Sincerely Yours, Ramy Waheed General Manager
Dear Suraiya, Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Amaryllis Hotel - Blantyre and for taking the time to send us your valued Amazing feedback, we greatly appreciate any comments by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the hi… Show more