Reviews of Thundi Sea View 3 stars
Stella, Vaavu, 12001 Fulidhoo, Maldives

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Bolsena, Italy
Apollon, Greece
Caorle, Italy
Westendorf, Austria
Agios Kirykos, Greece
Assiniboia, Canada
Kalutara, Sri Lanka
Castellina in Chianti, Italy
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewLocation is excellent and rooms are cleaned well
Rooks are a bit basic and dated; hot water runs out after a while
Reviewed: 15 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewLocation was perfect. Stuffs behavior was too good & there were super supportive.
Reviewed: 23 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewVery good location, at the beach. Clean room, and the island was amazing. Amazing staff. They working so hard and always with smile.
The food was under average. Really by that price I can expect more than everyday curry. All the time the same... And you must hurry because if you are late, is almost nothing... especially at breakfast. Anyway few words for the ower, your staff working without any rest! Shame on you. We need please 2 days for umbrella... in the end staff give us their... because hotel not provide!
Dear Marta, Thank you for your positive feed back regarding location, cleanliness of the room and staff. We are sorry we did not meet your expectation regarding the food, however it is not true that you had only curry everyday. We have much more variety in both buffet and set menu. However your feedback is noted and passed to the kitchen team for improvement. We have also reminded staff to pay more attention to re stock the breakfast buffet. Regarding your comment on our treatment on the staff, you stayed only for 4 nights during the busiest period of the year, and complain about staff being busy. For your information tourism industry is busy Dec-Mar, or sometimes April in Maldives, rest of the year we dont have much guests and the staff are not busy. You can't judge our treatment of the staff after staying for just 4 nights in the high season. Everyone is busy during this time, but they get their breaks, and earn more for their effort during this time. Our team is happy working for us, but they can move elsewhere if they get a better opportunity. Regarding the umbrellas, sorry you had to wait 2 days for an umbrella. However FYI staff don't have their own umbrellas here, all umbrellas we use belong to the hotel, so the one you got is from the hotel, not the staff personal umbrella as you mentioned. This is still unacceptable and was not brought to our attention. We apologise for this.
Dear Marta, Thank you for your positive feed back regarding location, cleanliness of the room and staff. We are sorry we did not meet your expectation regarding the food, however it is not true that you had only curry everyday. We have m… Show more
Reviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe staff very very nice and friendly, always there to help. Location was good as everything is close and island is small. The food was very tasty and very good. They had every day fresh fish which you need to pre-order. We could see that they are working on improvement which is very positive.
Room was not as expected as we could smell a lot mould even with AC..probably overpriced. We could not have balcony door open due to insects coming in. In description it is not mentioned that beach in front of the facility is not allowed to be used as a bikini beach. Would be good to get rid of the smell and mould in the room.
Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThis is a clean place to stay with a decent buffet breakfast. Location is very good. Rooms are somewhat characterless and it’s a bit pricey for what you get but basic and clean and well located for bikini beach and staff are accommodating
Reviewed: 22 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewnothing,
I chose it as beachfront. the picture is a lie, from our arrival we wore told no sunbathing/ swimming in front, so the picture with the beach beds is a lie. only 2 plastic chairs and unusable beach. beach is 500 m walking in the sun. choose something else as there are many options closer to actual beach. we were 2 women and we had to carry our own luggage.. food is average at dinner and horrible at breakfast. nothing but beans, no ham cheese and a white toast out of a bag . snorkeling gear 5 usd per HOUR, all the others offer for free. go elsewhere, the island is beautiful so are the maldives. we stayed 3 places, this was the worst
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding the beach access. While our property is located on the beachfront, closer to the beach than any other guest house in Fulidhoo, local regulations restrict swimming or sunbathing in bikini anywhere except in the guest beach, and recently made all guest houses move our sunbeds to the guest beach as many guests consistently kept using bikini on our beach area. I would like to correct your statement however, our guest house is just 3 minutes walk from the guest beach, not 500 meters. We also regret to hear that the food did not meet your standards and that you found breakfast lacking in variety. Your comments have been shared with our kitchen team to help improve both the selection and quality of our meals. As for the luggage situation, as per the housekeeper, he had 2 rooms luggage to pick same time, and you had come down with your luggage by yourself early, however he had helped you take the luggage to the jetty on the buggy after that. As for snorkeling gear charges we provide them free on excursions, but we can’t offer for free otherwise, as we have limited sets and need them for excursions. Furthermore, the next property you stayed in Maldives was a five star resort, the facilities and service level should not be compared to a budget guest house. We're truly sorry that your stay with us did not reflect the beauty and hospitality the Maldives are known for. While we’re disappointed to hear this was the least enjoyable stop on your trip, we’re grateful you still had a memorable time exploring the island and the other properties. We wish you all the best in your future travels.
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding the bea… Show more
Reviewed: 11 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe view from the room is amazing. The sandy beach in front of the door with lots of shade very pleasant. The food at the restaurant varied and very tasty - even with sufficient options for kids (pasta, pancakes…). Very responsive manager and helpful with arrangement prior to our arrival. The high chair in the restaurant.
Sliding door of our room not closing properly letting insects and noise form outside come in easily. Curtains to thin to black out the lights. Communication of guest representative not customer focused.
Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewSea view; Direct access to the beach and snorkeling reef; Simple good food and accommodation; Friendly multinational staff; Clean and friendly island in general.
WiFi had coverage throughout the accommodation, cafe and surrounding area but dropped out fairly regularly.
Reviewed: 19 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewView from the bedroom was spectacular overlooking the sea and palm trees. The property is just near bikini beach which is a real paradise. The long chairs in front of the hotel are confortable with a lot of shade, perfect for midday heat and with a lovely view of the sea.
Nothing
Reviewed: 8 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe staff were all lovely and very friendly who are great with children. The rooms were nice with a good sea view. Nice and quiet. The lunch options were good to choose from.
The breakfast and dinner buffet was always almost always empty, even if you got there early, and food always seemed cold. They never seemed to put more out that often. They need to have insence sticks to try tackle the amount of mosquitoes around the restaurant and seating area. We got bitten alive morning day and night, even with spray on to prevent.
Reviewed: 27 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewVery good hotel. The view is amazing from the balcony. Staff is very helpful and nice. They help you from the start to the finish
Nothing
Reviewed: 26 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewWe absolutely loved our stay at Thundi Sea View! As part of our honeymoon trip we decided to stay at three different islands in Maldives and this island and accommodation was by far our favourite. We didn’t want to leave! We had a ground floor room which was just perfect as you immediately step onto the beach. The sea is just a few steps away. Simply stunning. You can snorkel there and Thundi provide snorkelling equipment. You can also arrange excursions if you fancy. Really comfortable and clean rooms. The food is really delicious, we had full board which I recommend. The staff here are just so kind, helpful and friendly! Always around to help answer any questions we had. Ayesh made such an effort to make us feel welcomed and comfortable - plus he makes such excellent drinks!! Thanks so much Ayesh and the rest of the Thundi team for a great stay, we will never forget it!
Reviewed: 22 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe best thing about this guest house is the location and view from the balcony - it is just in front of the nice beach! The staff is very helpful and nice, they also clean the beach. The room is spacious enough. A/C works ok. Curry is tasty.
The bathroom is not good and small. If you take a shower, everything around is wet. There is an open window, and mosquitoes can freely fly inside. They should install mosquito netting. The breakfast is considered very poor, even if your expectations aren't high. No proper coffee available for breakfast. The lunch/dinner options are too limited if you take HB/full board (surprising no fish/sea food).
Reviewed: 16 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewGreat location just by the beach. Very quiet and relaxed island. Full board is local food and nice. Restaurant also serves more western food - not included in full board.
No indoor option other than the room. Somewhat annoying with lots of mosquitoes/ bugs. For a family with two small kids I think value for money was to low (as we needed two rooms). Next time i’ll find a place with a bigger room.
Reviewed: 15 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewLocation is excellent, 10mtrs from the beach, house reef about another 50mtrs out …. We were lucky to get a new room …. Staff always friendly and willing to help Food and drinks very good, unless from the buffet, which was all over the place
Breakfast is a shambles, we mainly ate toast as other options not very good Food generally was tasty, but the property rarely had the menu on offer and relied on the buffet, which it reserves the right to do depending on occupancy. Normally buffet consisted of 5 items that were always, always cold, as not heated, so unless you time it right and they have restocked the dish, always cold. Staff are friendly, but the Maldivian way is so laid back, it takes a while to get ordered food and drinks …. No TV in our room even though it was booked
Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 December 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewSeafront, staff and the restaurant are amazing. Clean and very private room with seafront
Reviewed: 16 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewgreat and welcoming team, best restaurant on the island, would not want to trade the stay for a resort island!
official rules regarding bikini: neither at the beach in front of the hotel nor on their own beach chairs. unofficially everyone wears bikini and it does not seem to be a problem
Reviewed: 22 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewThe staff is AMAZING. Every single person was super helpful, nice , and kind. They care about everything. Thank you for making our holiday unforgettable. We had rooms on ground floor, with direct entrance to the beach. It was awesome. Rooms are clean and nice. We really like the bathroom. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner included in price. It was worth it. The food was fresh and delicious. One more time... we will always recommend your place to everyone. Warm greetings from Poland.
Nothing.
Reviewed: 27 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewThe location was really good, right on the beach.
Maybe a little refreshment could be nice, such as the furniture.
Reviewed: 16 June 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewNothing. We left at the earliest opportunity.
We booked this guest house for 5 nights but left after one night! This accommodation is in my opinion just one notch up from a youth hostel. The room we were given stank of cigarettes. The dining area is under a lean to roof and food was cooked in an open kitchen despite there being flies everywhere. This was a disappointing experience after reading some very good reviews for this guest house so we were mystified as to what kind of accommodation some of those previous guests were used to, maybe they were just used to backpacking hostels. The island of Fulidhoo is also very strange, we expected a small idylic island but what we came to was piles of rubbish and building debris piled up on potentialy gorgeous beaches and what was worse is that we could see this garbage from Thundi guest house. I would imagine people who like the experience of Fulidhoo are very keen divers who spend very little time on the island itself as the surrounding waters are teeming with fish, turtles, stingrays etc. The locals, shops etc mostly hardly acknowledge you. For what it was Thundi guest house was, in my opinion, way too expensive and poor quality. They even charge you an extra 3% for using internationally recognised cash cards.
Dear Wayne, After arrival you had informed us you had an emergency back home and had to leave, we gave you free cancellation, and did not expect you to leave us such a misleading reveiw. All our rooms are non smoking, and the guests who stayed before you did not smoke in the room. The kitchen is not an open kitchen, this is not true. As you mentioned all other reviews are better reviews, maybe you booked a guest house and expected 5 star resort. Again, you complain about rubbish on the island, when you booked the first message we sent you if you had read properly you would notice that we mentioned that this is a local island and not a resort. Meaning everything is not perfect. You came to experience local life. If you booked a more expensive 5 star resort, they have staff cleaning the beaches twice a day, and everything would be perfect, but you came to a local island. Charging extra bank fees is done in other countries as well, not just in Maldives, and this as well was informed to you in the first message, which maybe you didnt read, or chose to ignore and complain later. On top of this, you bought jewellery from us, and lied to the staff who did the check out that the owner had given you discount, and the staff ended up having to pay for it later as she believed you and gave you the discount without checking with the management.
Dear Wayne, After arrival you had informed us you had an emergency back home and had to leave, we gave you free cancellation, and did not expect you to leave us such a misleading reveiw. All our rooms are non smoking, and the guests who s… Show more
Reviewed: 11 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewEach staff member is amazing, sweetheart and let you feel at home. Kista has golden hands for massage. Fazal is an exceptional manager and cooks in an exceptional manner. Fazal also organise a daily trip to shipwrecks and sandbank and we really enjoy it. Unfortunately I am not satisfied of the hotel like I was of the staff. The hotel has several pro as be on the beach, we were in on the beach room and is beyond comfortable. You go and come from the beach and swim and sleep with sea sound, BUT The room needs a severe maintenance, wall is full of humidity and also bathroom ceiling. I understand is hard considering they are directly on the beach, but I believe it is important to maintain room in a proper manner. The room photo are not so realistic considering the real condition of the room. Any courtesy kit. The WiFi is very lazy.