8.4

Reviews of Thundi Sea View 3 stars

Stella, Vaavu, 12001 Fulidhoo, Maldives

  • Maria

    Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Location is excellent and rooms are cleaned well

    Rooks are a bit basic and dated; hot water runs out after a while

  • Jamiul

    Reviewed: 15 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Location was perfect. Stuffs behavior was too good & there were super supportive.

  • Marta

    Reviewed: 23 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Very good location, at the beach. Clean room, and the island was amazing. Amazing staff. They working so hard and always with smile.

    The food was under average. Really by that price I can expect more than everyday curry. All the time the same... And you must hurry because if you are late, is almost nothing... especially at breakfast. Anyway few words for the ower, your staff working without any rest! Shame on you. We need please 2 days for umbrella... in the end staff give us their... because hotel not provide!

    Property response:

    Dear Marta, Thank you for your positive feed back regarding location, cleanliness of the room and staff. We are sorry we did not meet your expectation regarding the food, however it is not true that you had only curry everyday. We have much more variety in both buffet and set menu. However your feedback is noted and passed to the kitchen team for improvement. We have also reminded staff to pay more attention to re stock the breakfast buffet. Regarding your comment on our treatment on the staff, you stayed only for 4 nights during the busiest period of the year, and complain about staff being busy. For your information tourism industry is busy Dec-Mar, or sometimes April in Maldives, rest of the year we dont have much guests and the staff are not busy. You can't judge our treatment of the staff after staying for just 4 nights in the high season. Everyone is busy during this time, but they get their breaks, and earn more for their effort during this time. Our team is happy working for us, but they can move elsewhere if they get a better opportunity. Regarding the umbrellas, sorry you had to wait 2 days for an umbrella. However FYI staff don't have their own umbrellas here, all umbrellas we use belong to the hotel, so the one you got is from the hotel, not the staff personal umbrella as you mentioned. This is still unacceptable and was not brought to our attention. We apologise for this.

    Dear Marta, Thank you for your positive feed back regarding location, cleanliness of the room and staff. We are sorry we did not meet your expectation regarding the food, however it is not true that you had only curry everyday. We have m… Show more

    Thundi Sea View
    24 May 2025
  • See the property
  • Perisic

    Reviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The staff very very nice and friendly, always there to help. Location was good as everything is close and island is small. The food was very tasty and very good. They had every day fresh fish which you need to pre-order. We could see that they are working on improvement which is very positive.

    Room was not as expected as we could smell a lot mould even with AC..probably overpriced. We could not have balcony door open due to insects coming in. In description it is not mentioned that beach in front of the facility is not allowed to be used as a bikini beach. Would be good to get rid of the smell and mould in the room.

  • Maria

    Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    This is a clean place to stay with a decent buffet breakfast. Location is very good. Rooms are somewhat characterless and it’s a bit pricey for what you get but basic and clean and well located for bikini beach and staff are accommodating

  • Mara

    Reviewed: 22 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    nothing,

    I chose it as beachfront. the picture is a lie, from our arrival we wore told no sunbathing/ swimming in front, so the picture with the beach beds is a lie. only 2 plastic chairs and unusable beach. beach is 500 m walking in the sun. choose something else as there are many options closer to actual beach. we were 2 women and we had to carry our own luggage.. food is average at dinner and horrible at breakfast. nothing but beans, no ham cheese and a white toast out of a bag . snorkeling gear 5 usd per HOUR, all the others offer for free. go elsewhere, the island is beautiful so are the maldives. we stayed 3 places, this was the worst

    Property response:

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding the beach access. While our property is located on the beachfront, closer to the beach than any other guest house in Fulidhoo, local regulations restrict swimming or sunbathing in bikini anywhere except in the guest beach, and recently made all guest houses move our sunbeds to the guest beach as many guests consistently kept using bikini on our beach area. I would like to correct your statement however, our guest house is just 3 minutes walk from the guest beach, not 500 meters. We also regret to hear that the food did not meet your standards and that you found breakfast lacking in variety. Your comments have been shared with our kitchen team to help improve both the selection and quality of our meals. As for the luggage situation, as per the housekeeper, he had 2 rooms luggage to pick same time, and you had come down with your luggage by yourself early, however he had helped you take the luggage to the jetty on the buggy after that. As for snorkeling gear charges we provide them free on excursions, but we can’t offer for free otherwise, as we have limited sets and need them for excursions. Furthermore, the next property you stayed in Maldives was a five star resort, the facilities and service level should not be compared to a budget guest house. We're truly sorry that your stay with us did not reflect the beauty and hospitality the Maldives are known for. While we’re disappointed to hear this was the least enjoyable stop on your trip, we’re grateful you still had a memorable time exploring the island and the other properties. We wish you all the best in your future travels.

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we appreciate your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize for the confusion regarding the bea… Show more

    Thundi Sea View
    22 March 2025
  • See the property
  • Dominika

    Reviewed: 11 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    The view from the room is amazing. The sandy beach in front of the door with lots of shade very pleasant. The food at the restaurant varied and very tasty - even with sufficient options for kids (pasta, pancakes…). Very responsive manager and helpful with arrangement prior to our arrival. The high chair in the restaurant.

    Sliding door of our room not closing properly letting insects and noise form outside come in easily. Curtains to thin to black out the lights. Communication of guest representative not customer focused.

  • Stephen

    Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Sea view; Direct access to the beach and snorkeling reef; Simple good food and accommodation; Friendly multinational staff; Clean and friendly island in general.

    WiFi had coverage throughout the accommodation, cafe and surrounding area but dropped out fairly regularly.

  • Frederic

    Reviewed: 19 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    View from the bedroom was spectacular overlooking the sea and palm trees. The property is just near bikini beach which is a real paradise. The long chairs in front of the hotel are confortable with a lot of shade, perfect for midday heat and with a lovely view of the sea.

    Nothing

  • See the property
  • Lynette

    Reviewed: 8 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    The staff were all lovely and very friendly who are great with children. The rooms were nice with a good sea view. Nice and quiet. The lunch options were good to choose from.

    The breakfast and dinner buffet was always almost always empty, even if you got there early, and food always seemed cold. They never seemed to put more out that often. They need to have insence sticks to try tackle the amount of mosquitoes around the restaurant and seating area. We got bitten alive morning day and night, even with spray on to prevent.

  • Gigi

    Reviewed: 27 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Very good hotel. The view is amazing from the balcony. Staff is very helpful and nice. They help you from the start to the finish

    Nothing

  • Jennifer

    Reviewed: 26 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    We absolutely loved our stay at Thundi Sea View! As part of our honeymoon trip we decided to stay at three different islands in Maldives and this island and accommodation was by far our favourite. We didn’t want to leave! We had a ground floor room which was just perfect as you immediately step onto the beach. The sea is just a few steps away. Simply stunning. You can snorkel there and Thundi provide snorkelling equipment. You can also arrange excursions if you fancy. Really comfortable and clean rooms. The food is really delicious, we had full board which I recommend. The staff here are just so kind, helpful and friendly! Always around to help answer any questions we had. Ayesh made such an effort to make us feel welcomed and comfortable - plus he makes such excellent drinks!! Thanks so much Ayesh and the rest of the Thundi team for a great stay, we will never forget it!

  • See the property
  • Paulina

    Reviewed: 22 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The best thing about this guest house is the location and view from the balcony - it is just in front of the nice beach! The staff is very helpful and nice, they also clean the beach. The room is spacious enough. A/C works ok. Curry is tasty.

    The bathroom is not good and small. If you take a shower, everything around is wet. There is an open window, and mosquitoes can freely fly inside. They should install mosquito netting. The breakfast is considered very poor, even if your expectations aren't high. No proper coffee available for breakfast. The lunch/dinner options are too limited if you take HB/full board (surprising no fish/sea food).

  • Iben

    Reviewed: 16 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Great location just by the beach. Very quiet and relaxed island. Full board is local food and nice. Restaurant also serves more western food - not included in full board.

    No indoor option other than the room. Somewhat annoying with lots of mosquitoes/ bugs. For a family with two small kids I think value for money was to low (as we needed two rooms). Next time i’ll find a place with a bigger room.

  • Chris

    Reviewed: 15 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Location is excellent, 10mtrs from the beach, house reef about another 50mtrs out …. We were lucky to get a new room …. Staff always friendly and willing to help Food and drinks very good, unless from the buffet, which was all over the place

    Breakfast is a shambles, we mainly ate toast as other options not very good Food generally was tasty, but the property rarely had the menu on offer and relied on the buffet, which it reserves the right to do depending on occupancy. Normally buffet consisted of 5 items that were always, always cold, as not heated, so unless you time it right and they have restocked the dish, always cold. Staff are friendly, but the Maldivian way is so laid back, it takes a while to get ordered food and drinks …. No TV in our room even though it was booked

  • See the property
  • Preda

    Reviewed: 13 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Aleksandra

    Reviewed: 29 December 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • Gabriel

    Reviewed: 21 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Seafront, staff and the restaurant are amazing. Clean and very private room with seafront

  • See the property
  • Thomas

    Reviewed: 16 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    great and welcoming team, best restaurant on the island, would not want to trade the stay for a resort island!

    official rules regarding bikini: neither at the beach in front of the hotel nor on their own beach chairs. unofficially everyone wears bikini and it does not seem to be a problem

  • Anton

    Reviewed: 22 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • Ewe_lina93

    Reviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    The staff is AMAZING. Every single person was super helpful, nice , and kind. They care about everything. Thank you for making our holiday unforgettable. We had rooms on ground floor, with direct entrance to the beach. It was awesome. Rooms are clean and nice. We really like the bathroom. We had breakfast, lunch and dinner included in price. It was worth it. The food was fresh and delicious. One more time... we will always recommend your place to everyone. Warm greetings from Poland.

    Nothing.

  • See the property
  • Valentina

    Reviewed: 27 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    The location was really good, right on the beach.

    Maybe a little refreshment could be nice, such as the furniture.

  • Wayne

    Reviewed: 16 June 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    Nothing. We left at the earliest opportunity.

    We booked this guest house for 5 nights but left after one night! This accommodation is in my opinion just one notch up from a youth hostel. The room we were given stank of cigarettes. The dining area is under a lean to roof and food was cooked in an open kitchen despite there being flies everywhere. This was a disappointing experience after reading some very good reviews for this guest house so we were mystified as to what kind of accommodation some of those previous guests were used to, maybe they were just used to backpacking hostels. The island of Fulidhoo is also very strange, we expected a small idylic island but what we came to was piles of rubbish and building debris piled up on potentialy gorgeous beaches and what was worse is that we could see this garbage from Thundi guest house. I would imagine people who like the experience of Fulidhoo are very keen divers who spend very little time on the island itself as the surrounding waters are teeming with fish, turtles, stingrays etc. The locals, shops etc mostly hardly acknowledge you. For what it was Thundi guest house was, in my opinion, way too expensive and poor quality. They even charge you an extra 3% for using internationally recognised cash cards.

    Property response:

    Dear Wayne, After arrival you had informed us you had an emergency back home and had to leave, we gave you free cancellation, and did not expect you to leave us such a misleading reveiw. All our rooms are non smoking, and the guests who stayed before you did not smoke in the room. The kitchen is not an open kitchen, this is not true. As you mentioned all other reviews are better reviews, maybe you booked a guest house and expected 5 star resort. Again, you complain about rubbish on the island, when you booked the first message we sent you if you had read properly you would notice that we mentioned that this is a local island and not a resort. Meaning everything is not perfect. You came to experience local life. If you booked a more expensive 5 star resort, they have staff cleaning the beaches twice a day, and everything would be perfect, but you came to a local island. Charging extra bank fees is done in other countries as well, not just in Maldives, and this as well was informed to you in the first message, which maybe you didnt read, or chose to ignore and complain later. On top of this, you bought jewellery from us, and lied to the staff who did the check out that the owner had given you discount, and the staff ended up having to pay for it later as she believed you and gave you the discount without checking with the management.

    Dear Wayne, After arrival you had informed us you had an emergency back home and had to leave, we gave you free cancellation, and did not expect you to leave us such a misleading reveiw. All our rooms are non smoking, and the guests who s… Show more

    Thundi Sea View
    29 July 2024
  • 7.0 Good
    Ilaria

    Reviewed: 11 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    Each staff member is amazing, sweetheart and let you feel at home. Kista has golden hands for massage. Fazal is an exceptional manager and cooks in an exceptional manner. Fazal also organise a daily trip to shipwrecks and sandbank and we really enjoy it. Unfortunately I am not satisfied of the hotel like I was of the staff. The hotel has several pro as be on the beach, we were in on the beach room and is beyond comfortable. You go and come from the beach and swim and sleep with sea sound, BUT The room needs a severe maintenance, wall is full of humidity and also bathroom ceiling. I understand is hard considering they are directly on the beach, but I believe it is important to maintain room in a proper manner. The room photo are not so realistic considering the real condition of the room. Any courtesy kit. The WiFi is very lazy.

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Platani Hotel

Bolsena, Italy

Flora's Apartments

Apollon, Greece

Park Hotel Pineta

Caorle, Italy

Appartements Oberhauser

Westendorf, Austria

Anthemis Hotel

Agios Kirykos, Greece

Canalta Hotel Assiniboia

Assiniboia, Canada

Citrus Waskaduwa

Kalutara, Sri Lanka

Chianti Suite Borgo Quornia

Castellina in Chianti, Italy

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...