8.5

Reviews of Serene Sky Guest house

Sha Heed Ali Hingun, Alif Alif Atoll, 20237 Thoddoo, Maldives

  • Olga

    Reviewed: 3 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The price was great. I had a room on the upper floor with the view to the greenery and trees (they are blocking the sea view but there's nothing you can do about it and the view was great anyway). The hotel is new and nice looking.

    The hotel is new and therefore they yet short in stuff and miss some minor things. And my biggest disappointment was the mattress (well I love dense and hard one). And yet that didn't bother me much.

  • Olga

    Reviewed: 29 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    the hotel is completely new and is still at the completion stage, but this does not prevent guests from feeling comfortable. modern stylish comfortable spacious rooms with a view of the jungle. the staff does everything for your convenience. cleaning every day. the rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay. the nearest beach is 5 minutes walk away. I highly recommend for a great holiday in the Maldives

    Nothing

  • Mouhamadou

    Reviewed: 28 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    I stayed there for 2 weeks and it was nice. The place was quiet and nice environment around including amazing staff.

  • See the property
  • Полина

    Reviewed: 25 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    We spent a few wonderful days at Serene Sky Guest House on Thoddoo Island, and this place exceeded all our expectations. From the very first day, we were greeted with warm smiles — the owner and his assistant were incredibly kind and welcoming, helped us get settled, gave us useful tips about the island, and did everything to make us feel at home. The entire staff was very responsive, always ready to help, quick to respond to any requests, and created a cozy, almost family-like atmosphere. The guest house’s location is another big plus. It’s just a few minutes' walk from the jetty, so it’s very easy to get to after arriving on the island. Nearby, there are shops, fruit stands, and small cafés where you can grab a bite or enjoy fresh juice. It’s very convenient to have everything within easy reach. Each morning started with a delicious breakfast — always fresh and prepared with care. It set a perfect tone for the rest of the day. Our room had air conditioning, which made our stay very comfortable, especially during the hotter parts of the day. Everything was clean, well-maintained, and housekeeping was done regularly. I especially want to highlight the balcony: ours had a beautiful view — lush greenery, sunshine, and a tropical vibe. We loved spending our evenings there, enjoying the peaceful atmosphere and light breeze. Serene Sky Guest House is a great choice for anyone looking for a warm welcome, comfortable accommodations, and a convenient location on Thoddoo Island. Highly recommended!

  • Fathimath

    Reviewed: 15 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • Viktoriia

    Reviewed: 10 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    I have doubts about lots of positive reviews. Whether those people were checked in the different hotel with the same name, or the reviews are fake. I was placed in a building with no name at the worst part of the island. Lots of rubbish around, the nearest beach is 20 minutes walk (but that is not the issue, as you can rent bike for $5-6 a day, or get there in a Buggie). The location is confusing. The building isn't showing on Google Maps. The one that you see on maps is a different Serene Sky Guest House (though the owner is one). They burn the waste on the island, this smoke and smell often reaches the building. The building itself is not finished. Metal frames, dirty mattresses are just lying there randomly. The building inside is stinky and boiling hot. When I arrived, I asked for the water, but it had weird taste. When I asked why, they said 'or, it's filtered rain water'. That was gross. Who even came up with the idea it's ok to give it to people? The room was ok (I don't mention cables sticking out of the wall, curtains that were hung badly, the absence of basic soap, there was smelly water in the bathroom, spots on towels, absence of safe things storage). The rest was good - bright cosy room with double bed, wardrobe, mirror, chest of drawers, mini fridge, hair dryer, bedside table, comfy armchair. No TV (but I didn't need it). There was warm water in the tap, but only cold in shower (it's hot outside, but you sometimes need warm water, i.e. to wash greasy cream off your skin, etc.). The room was cleaned daily, which was great. They provided with 1 litre of bottled water daily. As for breakfast, I can't say it was too bad, but the serving was terrible. It matters a lot. The way it was done, seemed like you were not a guest, but a pig.

    Property response:

    Hello! Thank you for your honesty and for sharing your experience with us. We’re truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We genuinely appreciate every review it helps us grow and improve, and we always strive to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. We’d like to clarify a few things: • All reviews on Booking.com are left by real guests. We do have several buildings under the same ownership, and we always try to provide accurate and transparent information. • The building where you stayed is located in a quieter, more peaceful part of the island. We offer bicycles or a transfer service to make it easy and convenient to reach the beach and we’re always happy to recommend the best spots to visit. • Regarding the water on the Maldives, filtered rainwater is commonly used for daily needs. It’s safe and widely accepted across most islands. However, we will strengthen our quality control to avoid any inconvenience. • About the smell you mentioned: on many Maldivian islands, it’s common practice to burn dry leaves and garden waste. Sometimes the wind carries the smell toward the guesthouse, but this happens occasionally and is not a constant issue. It’s one of the small nuances of staying on a local island. • Regarding breakfast: most Maldivian hotels offer a buffet-style breakfast. However, when there are fewer guests, we serve breakfast individually with portions brought to your table by our staff. This is done to ensure everything is freshly prepared. We’re truly sorry if this format felt uncomfortable to you we will definitely work on improving the presentation and overall experience. Thank you for your kind words about the room, cleanliness, and amenities. It means a lot to us. Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback. If you decide to visit us again, we would be happy to offer you an improved experience and hope to change your impression for the better. Warm regards, The Serene Sky Team

    Hello! Thank you for your honesty and for sharing your experience with us. We’re truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We genuinely appreciate every review it helps us grow and improve, and we always strive to m… Show more

    Serene Sky Guest house
    10 April 2025
  • See the property
  • Fathimath

    Reviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    We had a pleasant stay at the guest house. The room was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating, always ready to help with any requests. I especially appreciated the quiet and peaceful environment, which made it easy to relax. A few suggestions for improvement: Wi-Fi connection could be more stable. Adding a few more breakfast options would be great. Overall, I would definitely recommend this place to others and would love to return!

  • Anna

    Reviewed: 22 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Spacious room with a big window, nice view over the sea, qiute place away from downtown, delicious food, very friendly staff, great snorkeling spot 5 min away

    Would be great to have a small shower at the entrance to clean the feet from sand, some minor construction needs to be completed. Bicycle is highly recommended as its not so close to the beach

    Property response:

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms, relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and our friendly staff. It's great that you enjoyed the snorkeling! Thank you for your suggestions - we will definitely take them into consideration to make your vacation even more convenient. As for the distance to the beach, yes, a bicycle can indeed be a great option for convenience. We will look forward to your return! It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again!

    Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so glad you enjoyed the spacious rooms, relaxed atmosphere, delicious food and our friendly staff. It's great that you enjoyed the snorkeling! Thank you for your suggestions - we will def… Show more

    Serene Sky Guest house
    22 March 2025
  • Olena

    Reviewed: 7 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    I loved the location! Everyone says it's far but how is far on a small island when everything is 10 minutes away from u 😂 Exactly in this the beauty is that no noises n random people, amazing sea view n breeze right in front of u, comfortable rooms with super big window ❤️❤️❤️ and u can peacefully rest n forget about the outer world! Staff was friendly n helpful and owner is veeery lovely person. Here u can ask for anything u want and they will care bout all ur needs. All this created a homie cozy feeling that made me fall in love with this place. ThanQ a lot for my unforgettable memories 😍 Definitely will come again!

    I should have stayed more 😭 I didn't like that my vacation finished so fast Hahhahah

    Property response:

    Thank you so much ☺️ for your kind words. Looking forward to serve you again.

    Serene Sky Guest house
    7 March 2025
  • See the property
  • Dmitry

    Reviewed: 2 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    It was good. Some things didn't work, but the owner arranged them to be fixed promptly, for example, replacing the shower head and providing me and my wife with two sets of fins and an iron. Thoddoo Diving Center and Black Anchor Restaurant, as well as Mango House, are right next to the hotel; it was very convenient.

    WiFi was not working on the first floor three out of seven days we were there, and most of the time there was not enough food for breakfast for everyone. You need to walk 20 minutes to the beach or rent one of the crappy local bicycles for that.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad to hear that you found our hotel a good value for the price and that we could promptly address any issues you encountered. We always strive to improve our service and provide our guests with a comfortable stay. We appreciate your comments about breakfast and WiFi we are working on improvements to make the experience even better. Regarding the distance to the beach, we understand that a 20 minute walk may not be ideal for everyone. For our guests’ convenience, there is an option to use a buggy, bicycle, or motorbike. We hope to welcome you again and make your stay even more enjoyable!

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad to hear that you found our hotel a good value for the price and that we could promptly address any issues you encountered. We always strive to improve our service and provide our guests with a comfort… Show more

    Serene Sky Guest house
    22 March 2025
  • Demis

    Reviewed: 25 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Amazing room, confortable bed and amazing staff

    Property response:

    Thank you sir, truly appreciate your review About us. Looking forward to serve you better next time. 😊

    Serene Sky Guest house
    30 January 2025
  • Sameer

    Reviewed: 4 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Nothing much

    After booking, i contacted the property and they gave me lazy excuse saying they are overbooked, due to some of there issue, they have place me in another property not the property which I booked. Also too much mosquitoes due to that we face lots of difficulties

  • See the property
  • Sameer

    Reviewed: 4 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Nothing much

    After booking, i contacted the property and they gave me lazy excuse saying they are overbooked, due to some of there issue, they have place me in another property not the property which I booked. Also too much mosquitoes due to that we face lots of difficulties

  • Alexandra

    Reviewed: 28 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Nice new furniture except the beds, nice quiet location. Modern bathroom, nice view and cleaning services everyday.

    Building was not finished, construction materials and residue everywhere. No TV, no fan, no clothesrack in the room as stated in the description on booking. It did have a good AC though. Wires in the room sticking out of the walls. First contact with the guesthouse was not the greatest, did not feel particularly welcomed. Speaking to other guests on the island we understood that this was not the case for other hotels, guesthouses on the island. The boat services provided by them for reaching Thoddoo was unprofessional and communicated very poorly. We had to wait 5 hours after arrival in the airoport which would have been ok if we were at least informed prior of this. We almost got on the wrong boat that would have taken us to a different island because thay did not pay attention to where we were going. Breakfast was nice enough but not varied, we had the same food everyday.

  • Maja

    Reviewed: 14 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024

    Verified review

    Just wonderful people full of kindness. And I would like to come back to see these endearing people. I understand the rating given. This guest house deserves only 10. The staff made our stay perfect. I already miss these guys. And for the rest, very clean room, shower open to the outside which is soothing, good food personally I advise you to eat at the hotel it's cheaper than eating outside. Taxi to the beach available whenever you want.

    Property response:

    Dear Maja It's a great pleasure to read of your experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a good time with us.❤️ Warm Regards

    Serene Sky Guest house
    14 January 2024
  • See the property
  • Agnieszka

    Reviewed: 1 December 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Helpful and very friendly staff, amazing breakfasts and comfortable beds:)

    Property response:

    Dear Agnieszka It's a great pleasure to read of your experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a good time with us.❤️ Warm Regards

    Serene Sky Guest house
    2 December 2023
  • Ada

    Reviewed: 12 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review

    Everything was just great. The owner was super nice and friendly, always ready to help, other employees was also very polite. On the first day owner welcomed us with coconuts, and dinner! Place is close to both bikini beach and near to the shops. I strongly recommend this place :)

    Property response:

    Dear Burkieciak It's a great pleasure to read of your experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a good time with us.❤️ Warm Regards

    Serene Sky Guest house
    12 November 2023
  • C_stermo

    Reviewed: 16 July 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Grete

    Reviewed: 11 March 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review
  • Maria

    Reviewed: 10 March 2023 · Stayed in March 2023

    Verified review

    We loved our stay in this guest house. Our host Ali was very friendly and he did make us feel welcomed. The staff was very helpful and the service was exceptional. Breakfasts were quite simple, but in comparison to what other hotels had- very decent. (The food was our main topic on a beach while chatting to other tourists ;)) Dinners here were our only chance to try and experience real local cuisine, as the restaurants that we tried on the island were mostly run by Europeans/Russians and the food was clearly westernized. Fresh, filtered water was available 24/7 :)) The room was spacious, clean and it had AC which was probably its biggest advantage when it was 30 degrees outside :D Room service was very good - towels changed daily. Another thing that is worth recommending would be a snorkeling manta trip. Ali equipped us with snorkelling masks, which was very kind of him. Even though it was a bit more expensive than the trips organized by a local tourist centre, the personal approach of the tour guide was something that no money can buy. His passion and willingness to share his knowledge made the experience of seeing these monstrous animals unforgettable. I would most definitely recommend this island as well as this guest house to a friend.

    The only disadvantage that I can think of would be the accommodation's location - it is situated approx 25 min away on foot from the nice sandy beach and walking this distance in a 30 degree heat was a struggle.

  • Dominika

    Reviewed: 16 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review

    Ali is very great host. He arrange our travel from airport to the Thoddoo, and then help us to manage transfer to another island. Very comfortable bed. Tasty and various choice for breakfast. Still water, coffee and tea, available all day. The island is really beautiful, green and wild. Wonderfull beaches and nice for snorkelling: you can see turtles, dolphins if you're lucky (We've been), or even sting ray.

    Property response:

    Dear Dominika It's a great pleasure to read of your experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a good time with us. Warm Regards

    Serene Sky Guest house
    24 February 2023
  • See the property
  • Melik

    Reviewed: 11 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023

    Verified review

    Thanks to Huseyin, she is a very good person

    There's a chicken coop next to it and they get up early in the morning and sing

  • Tsimafei

    Reviewed: 31 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review

    Very good guesthouse! The owner immediately connected with us to book the transfer, met us on the pier, and treated us welcomed coconut. It was very pleasant. The room is very clean and cozy. The cleaning was every day. Outdoor shower. Delicious breakfasts and dinners, tasty fruits were every day. 5 minutes to Sunrise Beach and 15 minutes to Sunset Beach. There are close shops and cafes. When we left the island, the owner helped us to clarify details about the public ferry and saw us off. Mental attitude and pleasant staff.

    Property response:

    Dear Tsimafei It's a great pleasure to read of your wonderful experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a wonderful time with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay with us! Warm Regards Team Serene Sky Guesthouse

    Dear Tsimafei It's a great pleasure to read of your wonderful experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a wonderful time with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful sta… Show more

    Serene Sky Guest house
    31 January 2023
  • Viktor

    Reviewed: 17 January 2023 · Stayed in January 2023

    Verified review

    The hotel was well located, we had a beach a few minutes' walk from the hotel, the other was a little further away. We were able to take bikes, which was great because it made our transportation around the island faster. As soon as we arrived on the island, we were met by a kind and smiling hotel owner who helped us take our luggage. Upon arrival at the hotel, they offered us a coconut and even invited us to a free dinner. The staff was nice, polite and willing to advise us on anything - trips, what they recommend us to see.. We wanted to see the glowing plankton, so they themselves suggested that they would show it to us and go with us. Breakfast was tasty and varied. Despite the fact that the hotel was the first on the island, the rooms were modern and clean. We were amazed by the beautiful bathroom and a differently arranged beddings awaited us every day. We also had an EU type adapter in our room. Amazing experience, recommend to everyone.

    Property response:

    Dear Viktor It's a great pleasure to read of your wonderful experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a wonderful time with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay with us! Warm Regards

    Dear Viktor It's a great pleasure to read of your wonderful experience with us! My colleagues and I were so happy to see that you had a wonderful time with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back for another delightful stay … Show more

    Serene Sky Guest house
    18 January 2023
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Pousada Vagalume

Ilha do Mel, Brazil

City Comfort Villa

Bucharest, Romania

Villa Mellon

Kitzbühel, Austria

Stegna Sea & Sun

Archangelos, Greece

Quality Inn Williamston

Williamston, United States

Muri Beach Villa

Rarotonga, Cook Islands

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...