Reviews of Mathiveri Thundi Inn 2 stars
Orchid Magu AA Mathiveri, 09040 Mathiveri, Maldives

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 26 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewWe were picked up from the harbor and shown around the island, which was cool. However, we didn't really feel comfortable there. The rooms are nice and new, but everything seemed a bit careless to us. The staff always seem to be busy. We did a nurse shark tour, which was only 25€ per person, but you were only in the water for 30 minutes. There is a kayak for the picnik islamd, but because of the wind we couldn't use it and had to pay 20€ for the 30 second crossing, which is really crass. We were able to hand in our laundry for cleaning, but instead of getting it back in the evening as promised, we got it back the day after next wet in a crumpled bag and had to pay €10. When you check in, you sign a contract that does not allow you to take tours with other providers on the island, although the overnight stay was good value for money, the rest was quite expensive. I hope the service and staff develop for future guests.
Reviewed: 9 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewWe had a great time here! The island is lovely and the place is super clean and comfy. They are always ready to help and provide what's needed.
The breakfast is very simple and not the best..
Reviewed: 28 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewGood value for money. The room was simple but well equipped. We booked the evening meal and could choose between a few different set meals. The staff was friendly. We could even use the kayaks for free - for a trip to the uninhabited picnic island and around Mathiveri.
The stay was not at Thundi Inn but at Kuda Giri. Both by the same owner. So the place looks different from the pictures, but the amenities are very similar.
Reviewed: 13 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewThe host was very very nice and helpful. We received from him more than we expected. Breakfasts were delicious, we could always come to the dining place and drink tea or coffee. We were receiving drinking water in bottles free of charge. The place was clean and very comfortable. We highly recommend it!
Everything was perfect!
Reviewed: 2 May 2024 · Stayed in May 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 January 2024 · Stayed in January 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 1 January 2024 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewAbsolutely delicious food!! Nice host, good communication, close to amazing bikini beach, beautiful sandbank nearby. We went on a trip to swim with mantas. What a beautiful creatures they are! Overall we spent an incredible one week there. Definitely recommend!
Reviewed: 6 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023
Verified reviewBed
Everything was okay
Reviewed: 28 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewDrinking water was availalable upon request, fransfer from the ferry port and back organised by the owner
The photos showing a superior king room don't represent the current state of the accommodation, especially the bathroom, that was dirty, mouldy and rusty. Also they made us first sign documents saying that they are not responsible for any theft or injury and then told us we can only book trips organised by them, otherwise we will need to check out immediately.
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We deeply value your input as it allows us to address the shortcomings and improve our services. We are glad to hear that you found our drinking water service and the organized ferry port transfers satisfactory. However, we are truly sorry for the discrepancy between the photos of our superior king room and the actual state of the accommodation, particularly the condition of the bathroom. We understand the importance of accurate representation, and we are committed to updating our media to reflect the current state of our rooms. Regarding the documents you were asked to sign, we apologize for any discomfort this may have caused. We prioritize the safety and security of our guests and have procedures in place to ensure a secure environment. However, we understand the concerns you have raised and will review our policies to ensure that they align with our guests' expectations and needs. We regret any inconvenience caused by the limitation on booking trips. Our intention is to provide a seamless and coordinated experience for our guests, but we understand that our approach may not have been communicated effectively. We will work on enhancing our communication to ensure clarity and transparency for all our guests. Please be assured that your concerns have been taken seriously, and we are taking immediate measures to address the issues you raised. We appreciate your patronage and hope to have the opportunity to regain your trust in the future. Warm regards, Mathiveri Thundi Inn Management Team
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We deeply value your input as it allows us to address the shortcomings and improve our servic… Show more
Reviewed: 4 October 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewEverything was great. The island itself is beautiful and we felt very welcomed at Mathiveri Thundi Inn. The host exceeded our expectations and it was really nice of him for not charging our first night (out of 9) because we arrived later than expected. I would recommend taking a boat trip/snorkeling tour with him.
Reviewed: 1 June 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewVery nice place and helpful host. Already miss that place!
Reviewed: 2 April 2023 · Stayed in March 2023
Verified reviewThe host and his family were incredibly friendly, and we felt warmly welcomed from the moment we arrived. We truly enjoyed our stay, and everything from the food to the accommodations and surroundings were exceptional.
Reviewed: 11 March 2023 · Stayed in February 2023
Verified reviewWe had a fantastic short stay at Mathiveri Thundi Inn, it is a very nice place for families. We've even seen the nurse sharks in the harbor and could visit the picnic island by kayak. We had a delicious dinner (big reef fish) and a very comfortable room.
Reviewed: 20 February 2023 · Stayed in February 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 7 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 14 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 13 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified review