7.8

Reviews of Chateau La Vallette - Grand Harbour Suite

43 Saint Dominic Street, VLT 1617 Valletta, Malta

  • Marina

    Reviewed: 18 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Excellent locarion in the heart of Valleta, close to the sea. Very clean. Easy check in.

    A little bit dark and early morning noise from the construction workers in the building just above our terrace.

  • Alexa

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    It’s so closed and accessible to everything within Valetta and so clean! The AC was also a saving grace in a hot summers day. If you want minimal people interaction then this hotel is for you! It’s so easy to check-in and check-out as everything was mapped out for you when you arrive ☺️

    N/A

  • Danijela

    Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The location is great.

    A room was a little bit smaller then I expected.

  • See the property
  • Kathleen

    Reviewed: 30 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Fabulous location on St Dominic Street. Beautifully furnished spacious ensuite room. Very comfortable and quiet. Shower with excellent water pressure and hot water. Cannot recommend it enough!

    Nothing!

  • John

    Reviewed: 19 March 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Well, we certainly liked the way the property was presented on booking.com, which is why we chose it for our two week Christmas holiday in Malta. The location in Valletta was ideal; the price, although not cheap, was at the level of similar properties in the vicinity. However the reality fell way, way short of expectations, for the reasons given below.

    The photos of the "Grand Harbour Suite" at Chateau la Vallette on booking.com misrepresented the experience entirely—this was by far the darkest room I’ve stayed in over four decades of travel. While the limitations of the location - mid-terrace on a lower floor in Valletta - were to be expected, what wasn’t disclosed is that the terrace’s light-well was largely blocked by scaffolding, leaving the single glass door between our room and the terrace nearly useless for natural light. Even on sunny days, it felt like we were inside a gloomy cellar, making it hard to even tell the time of day. We immediately messaged the property owners, shocked, but they offered no alternative. Thanks to booking.com’s no-refund policy, we realised that we were then trapped in this gloomy hole for a whole fortnight. The room was also far smaller than portrayed (wide angle lens effect) with inadequate storage (a flimsy rail and wobbly desk) for two adults. The lack of light, worsened by the scaffolding, made the space unbearably claustrophobic. This appears to be a calculated omission by Chateau la Vallette’s owners exploiting booking.com’s platform, prioritising their profits over guest satisfaction. Whilst we felt that Maltese people were honest and welcoming, the same cannot be said of our hosts in the way they misrepresented this property. We wonder whether booking.com finds this behaviour acceptable, as it certainly makes us much less likely to trust this platform ever again.

    Property response:

    Dear Sir We had no communication from you whatsoever. When we messaged you after a few days to ask if everything was ok, no reply was given. We would have immediately offered an alternative but no communication was received from your side. One can see from past reviews, all is good except that this is scaffolding is not ours and we are working on it to have it removed but it takes a bit of time. Should be removed at the end of the month and all natural light restored. I am very sorry but since no communication was made, no alternative could be offered. We hope that this matter is resolved as soon as possible and hope to welcome you back to be able to make things better :)

    Dear Sir We had no communication from you whatsoever. When we messaged you after a few days to ask if everything was ok, no reply was given. We would have immediately offered an alternative but no communication was received from your side… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Grand Harbour Suite
    19 March 2025
  • 3.0 Poor
    Lidija

    Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    My room was very clean.

    My terrace was facing the inner courtyard, which was completely covered with scaffolding, so I hardly had any daylight. The other guests were very loud.

    Property response:

    Dear Madam, I am very sorry. The scaffolding is not ours and its invading our privacy and we are working on it to have the scaffolding removed. There was no communication from. you whatsoever. We would have changed your room if you were that unhappy. Regarding other guests, we are not responsible for others actions but some communication might have gone a long way.

    Dear Madam, I am very sorry. The scaffolding is not ours and its invading our privacy and we are working on it to have the scaffolding removed. There was no communication from. you whatsoever. We would have changed your room if you were t… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Grand Harbour Suite
    5 March 2025
  • See the property
  • Christina

    Reviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Location

    Rooms 5 is tiny without closet to put clothes. There was not even enough space to open the suitcases. There were only hangers for our coats and only 1 hanger in the bathroom for 2 people’s towels. During 4 night stay no one changed neither towels not shits, in addition no one even empty the bin with Trish from the room and the bathroom. There was no physical light in the room and during our stay there were works in the patio. As a results we were awake every day from 7.15 am.

    Property response:

    I am deeply disappointed with your review Christina especially after we accomodated you. We opened up a room for you just for you to put your things. One can see that not all reviews and this is exaggerated. You booked a self catering accomodation and not a hotel with daily cleanings. We immediately responded to your requests and when we opened a whole room for you just for your space, I thought you would have been happy. You had 4 towels each for 4 days ... I did not expect that you needed extra. A small message and I would have changed them for you still. Sheets are not changed. Not even with hotels as they are only changed after check out. We did not know that works were going on next to us that early, if you had told us about it, we would have come and asked the workers to start later the following day. THe workers are not ours.

    I am deeply disappointed with your review Christina especially after we accomodated you. We opened up a room for you just for you to put your things. One can see that not all reviews and this is exaggerated. You booked a self catering accom… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Grand Harbour Suite
    25 February 2025
  • Konstantinos

    Reviewed: 2 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024

    Verified review
  • Daria

    Reviewed: 15 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    Easy check in, good location on a quiet street

    The room we stayed in had no day light. There was only a glass door leading to the patio (which was definitely a selling point when booking) but it turned out the whole patio inside was covered in scaffoldings and was impossible to use due to dust and smell, also making it impossible to air the room in the evening or sleep without the air con but with open door. The noise from construction started at 7:45 am, which was really annoying and disappointing. There was a very bright light at the patio that turned on in the evening and couldn’t be turned off manually, it would go away automatically at 1 am. The curtains in the room are not very good so if you have troubles sleeping with light in the room then this will be a problem. If you’re on a romantic getaway that you won’t like sink in the room as well

  • See the property
  • Tapalaga

    Reviewed: 26 March 2024 · Stayed in March 2024

    Verified review
  • Shirley

    Reviewed: 25 November 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review
  • Trond

    Reviewed: 11 November 2023 · Stayed in November 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Log1c_b0mb

    Reviewed: 24 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    Room number 5 Lovely terrace. The apartment is located in the heart of Valletta which makes it a perfect location as everything is close to your hotel. Check-in and check-out were super easy and you did not have to meet staff in person.

    The room was small.

  • Mauricio

    Reviewed: 23 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023

    Verified review

    It's a small room but clean and extremely well located. They do not offer any service and you will not see nobody. You will get de key in a box, use de room and leave the key in a box, but it works.

  • Tulus

    Reviewed: 30 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    The room is was clean and comfortable and small balcony, Good location and close to the center. Kitchen set

    No receptionist and everything self service. The price to expensive with that facilities only.

  • See the property
  • Carla

    Reviewed: 18 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    All equipped for a good stay. Rooms are airport rconditioned, everything is clean, beds are comfy.

  • Zoya

    Reviewed: 8 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023

    Verified review

    Great location , comfortable beds, spacious room, common areas had everything you need, close to bars, restaurants, bus stop and many attractions.

  • Ana

    Reviewed: 7 June 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Sarahje

    Reviewed: 2 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review

    Great location, and excellent communication. Really nice place, very clean, and a comfy bed. Shared kitchen great idea as you could prepare any meal. We had room 5 with own terrace which was lovely (although internal courtyard so no view)

  • Richard

    Reviewed: 1 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022

    Verified review

    Stylish conversion of an old property. Our room (no. 5) had a good-sized terrace out back. Located in the middle of old town Valletta.

    If you like anonymous, this place is perfect. We saw no staff from start to finish - checking in and out unassisted (door and key codes messaged to you). We did not expect the hostel-style shared kitchen, which had no coffee machine and was a little cramped. The floors in our room were dirty. It is Chateau DIY.

    Property response:

    Dear Richard, We are sorry you felt the need to write this review. The other reviews are quite the opposite especially when it comes to cleaning - which we give great importance. When I met you the week before I told you that I would be sending you the check in details to be able to check in. Its a chateau where everybody has his own suite and private bathroom. There is no need for any staff. We only have housekeeping who clean the common areas and the suites upon check out. Your suite had just been cleaned before your check in. You said that you will also be needing to go to Gozo and I took the time to search for you cabs around Valletta and send you a message with the details, but this was never replied back to. There were never any problems with your check in, so we thought a self check in would have been appreciated at any time which was convenient for you. We do not have listed a coffee machine. I don’t know why you would have expected that. There are coffee making facilities but no coffee machine. Its a residential chateau not a hotel :) During your stay, there was never any communication. Should you needed anything, we would have been more than happy to provide and also come and meet you in person should you have required that.

    Dear Richard, We are sorry you felt the need to write this review. The other reviews are quite the opposite especially when it comes to cleaning - which we give great importance. When I met you the week before I told you that I would be… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Grand Harbour Suite
    1 October 2022
  • Eva

    Reviewed: 6 September 2022 · Stayed in August 2022

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Diana

    Reviewed: 29 August 2022 · Stayed in August 2022

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 23

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...