7.8

Reviews of Chateau La Vallette - Barrakka Suite

43 Saint Dominic Street, VLT 1617 Valletta, Malta

  • 3.0 Poor
    Marianna

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Perfect location ,beautiful apartment

    Awful smell, water everywhere at the floor,low light and little dirty

    Property response:

    I am truly sorry you had a bad experience at Chateau La Vallette. There was no communication from your side whatsoever. When we proceeded to enter the room after your check out, the room was filthy. You even threw sanitary products on the floor which is highly unfair on our staff. The room was covered in garbage. Maybe thats why you said it was dirty because you left the room like a pig sty after we gave it to you all nice and clean, and for that I am sure.

    I am truly sorry you had a bad experience at Chateau La Vallette. There was no communication from your side whatsoever. When we proceeded to enter the room after your check out, the room was filthy. You even threw sanitary products on the f… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Barrakka Suite
    2 August 2025
  • Lakatos

    Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • Js

    Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Good location.

  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Livanou

    Reviewed: 28 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Ansel

    Reviewed: 2 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    The property was situated in a very good location, and has excellent facilities- washing machine, kitchen, and TV with Netflix.

    The tendency for the lights to go off— electricity supply should be constant, and the noise level is sometimes high if staying in room 1.

    Property response:

    Hi Ansel, We were very sorry about the inconvenience for the electricity. You failed to mention that the lights were going out when you plugged in the hairdryer. We had no way in knowing what was going on. After your check out we tried everything and we noticed that the hairdryer was cutting it off. We have now solved the problem as we have changed it.

    Hi Ansel, We were very sorry about the inconvenience for the electricity. You failed to mention that the lights were going out when you plugged in the hairdryer. We had no way in knowing what was going on. After your check out we tried ev… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Barrakka Suite
    2 October 2024
  • Jeremy

    Reviewed: 14 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024

    Verified review

    The location was spectacular- close to lots of restaurants, bars, and things to do. Also, the communication from the hosts was great - they sent several messages with instructions that made things easy.

    The description and images were a bit deceptive; I had a basic room and bathroom, but the kitchen and dining area was shared with the other suites - not what I expected. Also, there wasn't much soundproofing, so every time people came in or left through the front door it was loud in my room - conversations, steps, the door hitting the wall, etc.

  • See the property
  • Christina

    Reviewed: 14 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review
  • Magda

    Reviewed: 17 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    Excellent location, in the center of Valetta.

    Room was on ground floor, slight musty smell due to humidity.

  • Una

    Reviewed: 22 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024

    Verified review

    It was very clean, very pretty (even better in person than in pictures). The common area was great too. My friend and me are both super satisfied with our stay. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and responsive!

    /

  • See the property
  • Daniel

    Reviewed: 9 June 2024 · Stayed in April 2024

    Verified review

    The location is great, very close to the centre of Valletta. It has everything you need, including a communal kitchen and a small outside space with a drying rack.

    We were in Room 1. The room was nice, but it was quite damp. In fact the humidity was so high that nothing would dry. Towels didn't dry. Even dry clothes would get damp over time. My girlfriend's hair wasn't very fond of it either. The room would benefit of better ventilation. I hope they can fix this, then it would be perfect.

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 10 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023

    Verified review
  • Polina

    Reviewed: 23 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023

    Verified review

    Great location and spacy, lovely room!

    Room was on ground floor and the shower and toilet a few steps below. There was a very strong moldy odour and humidity throughout our stay. We had to keep the windows open while in the room to keep our clothes from being damp.

  • See the property
  • Alexandros

    Reviewed: 20 September 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review
  • 3.0 Poor
    Anonymous

    Reviewed: 21 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    The location is situated in city centre. The kitchen was in good condition, equipped with all the necessary stuff to eat or to cook.

    We are very disappointed. We have stayed in room no. 1, at the ground floor. In the room was present mold smell and a lot of humidity. Regarding the mold smell, we cannot leave the room with windows open for safety reasons (the window is at the chest level of the tourist that are walking on the street). The humidity impregnated our clothes that felt somekind wet. I guess the problem is due to the bathroom that is somehow under the room level (more like a basement). We are also sad because the host haven't warned us for the continuous pickhamer noise from the building across the street that is currently consolidating. For this reason, starting from 08:00 in the morning, there was an insane noise level. I guess the host knew about this problem but preferred not to warn us and take-the-money no matter how. Although we asked for another room, the property was unable to find a solution or to give us a discount. Maybe the other rooms in the residence are ok, we don't know. Also, on the common spaces, that smell wasn't present. All the things mentioned above can be proven with pictures and audio files.

    Property response:

    Dear Guest, Although this review is very biased, it is also unfair. You could not leave the window open I presume because you were 3 guests in the property instead of 1 - as initially booked. Because of the safety of your child. We reported this matter for additional payment and penalty but we received no communication whatsoever and left everything be. Regarding the noise, half of Valletta is undergoing works at the moment. We do not know where and who will start working everyday. Its an inconvenience to everyone but they always start working within working hours which are from 8am onwards

    Dear Guest, Although this review is very biased, it is also unfair. You could not leave the window open I presume because you were 3 guests in the property instead of 1 - as initially booked. Because of the safety of your child. We repo… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Barrakka Suite
    22 August 2023
  • Danielle

    Reviewed: 9 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023

    Verified review

    Location is a short walk from the main square with good restaurants steps away. Host was responsive, quick, and willing to work with us on a delayed check out and storing our luggage. AC worked amazing. Apartment was clean and felt safe.

    The first floor apartment is a little loud being right on the road.

  • See the property
  • Loukas

    Reviewed: 26 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023

    Verified review

    Excellent location near to all places

  • Katharina

    Reviewed: 21 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023

    Verified review

    - The location of the place is quite good - There is enough space to move around a stow away your luggage

    - The bathroom on the ground floor smelled bad, like really musty. We guess it was from the floor drain. Unfortunately the host was not very helpful in this situation and dismissed our concern with "the ones before did not complain". We asked if an other room is available, which unfortunately wasn't. So he offered a refund for the remaining stay but that probably would have meant we would have to leave the room immidiately and find something else. That is not possible on such short notice. So his suggestion was to just let air into the room and everything will be fine. Well, there are some problems to that: ~ The source of the smell would still be there ~ The bathroom itself has no window. So you need to open the window in the main room and let the bathroom door open. Which then again would let the bad smell into the room ~ But the room was on the groundfloor and if the windows are opened everyone could gaze in. And also then it is not really an option to let the windows open and go visit the island, for anyone from the outside could climb in. ~ The very weak ventilator in the bathroom is only on when the lights are turned on but the electricity of the room is only available when the key is in the card-holder at the door. So you can not keep it running while your away. - The room is not soundproof. The room's entrance is right next to the main entrance, so you hear the door buzzing, people talking, people going up the stairs, the water in the sewage pipes, etc. - The bed is a bit small.

    Property response:

    Dear Katharina, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately due to the way that some buildings are built in Valletta, it is very humid and the only solution for humidity is to open up a bit the room. You could have opened the room and closed the curtains so as nobody could gaze in. It is also very difficult for somebody to climb in due to the fixed railing. We use a card for electricity for sustainability so as no electricity is remained on whilst guests are away. This is common practice nowadays. The ventilator in the bathrooms keeps running for some minutes after it is switched off still as it is mechanically ventilated. After your first day I have offered you the only solution that I could have offered you which was a refund. I had no other properties available and a refund was the only solution. I believe that I could not be helpful more than that. Regards, Your Host, Ms. Sheldon Gauci

    Dear Katharina, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately due to the way that some buildings are built in Valletta, it is very humid and the only solution for humidity is to open up a bit the room. You could have o… Show more

    Chateau La Vallette - Barrakka Suite
    23 May 2023
  • Lea

    Reviewed: 21 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023

    Verified review

    We liked the apartment ad the location. Everything was clean, nice and had all the needed equipment.

    There was a lot of humid in the room and especially the bathroom (it doesn't have the window) so the towels couldn't dry.

  • See the property
  • Lori

    Reviewed: 13 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023

    Verified review

    Wonderful location in old town Valletta. Very clean, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. Absolutely recommend and we hope to return some day.

    Nothing to dislike, totally exceeded our expectations

  • Jaimin

    Reviewed: 21 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022

    Verified review
  • Teodora

    Reviewed: 17 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Huguenin

    Reviewed: 12 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022

    Verified review
  • Showing 1 - 23

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...