Reviews of Chateau La Vallette - Barrakka Suite
43 Saint Dominic Street, VLT 1617 Valletta, Malta

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewPerfect location ,beautiful apartment
Awful smell, water everywhere at the floor,low light and little dirty
I am truly sorry you had a bad experience at Chateau La Vallette. There was no communication from your side whatsoever. When we proceeded to enter the room after your check out, the room was filthy. You even threw sanitary products on the floor which is highly unfair on our staff. The room was covered in garbage. Maybe thats why you said it was dirty because you left the room like a pig sty after we gave it to you all nice and clean, and for that I am sure.
I am truly sorry you had a bad experience at Chateau La Vallette. There was no communication from your side whatsoever. When we proceeded to enter the room after your check out, the room was filthy. You even threw sanitary products on the f… Show more
Reviewed: 26 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewGood location.
Reviewed: 28 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 2 October 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThe property was situated in a very good location, and has excellent facilities- washing machine, kitchen, and TV with Netflix.
The tendency for the lights to go off— electricity supply should be constant, and the noise level is sometimes high if staying in room 1.
Hi Ansel, We were very sorry about the inconvenience for the electricity. You failed to mention that the lights were going out when you plugged in the hairdryer. We had no way in knowing what was going on. After your check out we tried everything and we noticed that the hairdryer was cutting it off. We have now solved the problem as we have changed it.
Hi Ansel, We were very sorry about the inconvenience for the electricity. You failed to mention that the lights were going out when you plugged in the hairdryer. We had no way in knowing what was going on. After your check out we tried ev… Show more
Reviewed: 14 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThe location was spectacular- close to lots of restaurants, bars, and things to do. Also, the communication from the hosts was great - they sent several messages with instructions that made things easy.
The description and images were a bit deceptive; I had a basic room and bathroom, but the kitchen and dining area was shared with the other suites - not what I expected. Also, there wasn't much soundproofing, so every time people came in or left through the front door it was loud in my room - conversations, steps, the door hitting the wall, etc.
Reviewed: 14 August 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewExcellent location, in the center of Valetta.
Room was on ground floor, slight musty smell due to humidity.
Reviewed: 22 June 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewIt was very clean, very pretty (even better in person than in pictures). The common area was great too. My friend and me are both super satisfied with our stay. The staff were very welcoming, helpful and responsive!
/
Reviewed: 9 June 2024 · Stayed in April 2024
Verified reviewThe location is great, very close to the centre of Valletta. It has everything you need, including a communal kitchen and a small outside space with a drying rack.
We were in Room 1. The room was nice, but it was quite damp. In fact the humidity was so high that nothing would dry. Towels didn't dry. Even dry clothes would get damp over time. My girlfriend's hair wasn't very fond of it either. The room would benefit of better ventilation. I hope they can fix this, then it would be perfect.
Reviewed: 10 December 2023 · Stayed in December 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewGreat location and spacy, lovely room!
Room was on ground floor and the shower and toilet a few steps below. There was a very strong moldy odour and humidity throughout our stay. We had to keep the windows open while in the room to keep our clothes from being damp.
Reviewed: 20 September 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewThe location is situated in city centre. The kitchen was in good condition, equipped with all the necessary stuff to eat or to cook.
We are very disappointed. We have stayed in room no. 1, at the ground floor. In the room was present mold smell and a lot of humidity. Regarding the mold smell, we cannot leave the room with windows open for safety reasons (the window is at the chest level of the tourist that are walking on the street). The humidity impregnated our clothes that felt somekind wet. I guess the problem is due to the bathroom that is somehow under the room level (more like a basement). We are also sad because the host haven't warned us for the continuous pickhamer noise from the building across the street that is currently consolidating. For this reason, starting from 08:00 in the morning, there was an insane noise level. I guess the host knew about this problem but preferred not to warn us and take-the-money no matter how. Although we asked for another room, the property was unable to find a solution or to give us a discount. Maybe the other rooms in the residence are ok, we don't know. Also, on the common spaces, that smell wasn't present. All the things mentioned above can be proven with pictures and audio files.
Dear Guest, Although this review is very biased, it is also unfair. You could not leave the window open I presume because you were 3 guests in the property instead of 1 - as initially booked. Because of the safety of your child. We reported this matter for additional payment and penalty but we received no communication whatsoever and left everything be. Regarding the noise, half of Valletta is undergoing works at the moment. We do not know where and who will start working everyday. Its an inconvenience to everyone but they always start working within working hours which are from 8am onwards
Dear Guest, Although this review is very biased, it is also unfair. You could not leave the window open I presume because you were 3 guests in the property instead of 1 - as initially booked. Because of the safety of your child. We repo… Show more
Reviewed: 9 August 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewLocation is a short walk from the main square with good restaurants steps away. Host was responsive, quick, and willing to work with us on a delayed check out and storing our luggage. AC worked amazing. Apartment was clean and felt safe.
The first floor apartment is a little loud being right on the road.
Reviewed: 26 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023
Verified reviewExcellent location near to all places
Reviewed: 21 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified review- The location of the place is quite good - There is enough space to move around a stow away your luggage
- The bathroom on the ground floor smelled bad, like really musty. We guess it was from the floor drain. Unfortunately the host was not very helpful in this situation and dismissed our concern with "the ones before did not complain". We asked if an other room is available, which unfortunately wasn't. So he offered a refund for the remaining stay but that probably would have meant we would have to leave the room immidiately and find something else. That is not possible on such short notice. So his suggestion was to just let air into the room and everything will be fine. Well, there are some problems to that: ~ The source of the smell would still be there ~ The bathroom itself has no window. So you need to open the window in the main room and let the bathroom door open. Which then again would let the bad smell into the room ~ But the room was on the groundfloor and if the windows are opened everyone could gaze in. And also then it is not really an option to let the windows open and go visit the island, for anyone from the outside could climb in. ~ The very weak ventilator in the bathroom is only on when the lights are turned on but the electricity of the room is only available when the key is in the card-holder at the door. So you can not keep it running while your away. - The room is not soundproof. The room's entrance is right next to the main entrance, so you hear the door buzzing, people talking, people going up the stairs, the water in the sewage pipes, etc. - The bed is a bit small.
Dear Katharina, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately due to the way that some buildings are built in Valletta, it is very humid and the only solution for humidity is to open up a bit the room. You could have opened the room and closed the curtains so as nobody could gaze in. It is also very difficult for somebody to climb in due to the fixed railing. We use a card for electricity for sustainability so as no electricity is remained on whilst guests are away. This is common practice nowadays. The ventilator in the bathrooms keeps running for some minutes after it is switched off still as it is mechanically ventilated. After your first day I have offered you the only solution that I could have offered you which was a refund. I had no other properties available and a refund was the only solution. I believe that I could not be helpful more than that. Regards, Your Host, Ms. Sheldon Gauci
Dear Katharina, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Unfortunately due to the way that some buildings are built in Valletta, it is very humid and the only solution for humidity is to open up a bit the room. You could have o… Show more
Reviewed: 21 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewWe liked the apartment ad the location. Everything was clean, nice and had all the needed equipment.
There was a lot of humid in the room and especially the bathroom (it doesn't have the window) so the towels couldn't dry.
Reviewed: 13 April 2023 · Stayed in April 2023
Verified reviewWonderful location in old town Valletta. Very clean, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Fully equipped kitchen and laundry facilities. Absolutely recommend and we hope to return some day.
Nothing to dislike, totally exceeded our expectations
Reviewed: 21 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 October 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewReviewed: 12 October 2022 · Stayed in October 2022
Verified review