Reviews of Wake Up Esch City
6 Rue Large, 4204 Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewLocation
Still waiting a call back from the staff
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry, due to a technical issue with our professional cell phone, some calls have not been made or received. Please, in this type of situations, contact us by email to reception@wakeupstr.lu Kind regards, Dany Pinto Management Team
Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry, due to a technical issue with our professional cell phone, some calls have not been made or received. Please, in this type of situations, contact us by email to reception@wakeupstr.lu Kind re… Show more
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewCommunication was smooth and plentiful.
I would have liked to see the beds readymade, not just bedsheets piled on the bed. Third bed was also missing a pillow and the kitchen did not have anything to clean dishes with.
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We’re glad to hear communication went smoothly. We apologize for the inconvenience with the bedding and the missing items — your comments are important and will help us improve the preparation of our apartments so future guests have everything ready upon arrival. We hope to welcome you again for an even smoother stay. Dany Pinto, Management Team
Thank you for your valuable feedback! We’re glad to hear communication went smoothly. We apologize for the inconvenience with the bedding and the missing items — your comments are important and will help us improve the preparation of our ap… Show more
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewEverything was great apart from a few small niggles. Communication was great, check in and out were great, and the location was great.
Air con didn't appear to work, or if it did, the controls.were indecipherable. There was only one really soft pillow, I would have liked the option of another. As a British customer, there were a couple of things that I would have liked to be in the kitchen, i.e. a kettle and a toaster. Finally, in the single room, the toilet felt a little crammed in between the sink and the shower.
Thank you for your kind and detailed feedback! We’re glad communication, check-in, and location met your expectations. Your notes on the kitchen items, and layout are very helpful—we’ll work on clearer instructions and adding those small touches to improve comfort for all guests. Regarding AC, we currently have none, but we're working on it. Warm regards, Dany Pinto, Management Team
Thank you for your kind and detailed feedback! We’re glad communication, check-in, and location met your expectations. Your notes on the kitchen items, and layout are very helpful—we’ll work on clearer instructions and adding those small to… Show more
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewNice,clean and staff communication.
Thank you! We're happy you enjoyed the cleanliness and our communication. Looking forward to hosting you again! Dany Pinto, Management Team
Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewNice decor and nice layout
No sheets or pillows for the sofa bed. The fitted sheet that was on it was dirty! We booked one night for 4 people, only sets of two towels. The bed was very uncomfortable, you could feel the springs! Shower broken! We had the worst night sleep here. I tried to contact the owner and he didn’t reply until 23:00 with no solution. If this was a hotel or a business where you see staff members, I would have demanded a refund and gone somewhere else!
Thank you for sharing your experience—we’re truly sorry it fell short. This is not the standard we aim to provide, and your concerns are being taken very seriously. We're sorry about the sofa bed situation, and we'll review the material quality, so we can avoid this type of negative experiences. We will review as soon as possible the shower to make sure this doesn’t happen again. Regarding Your feedback will help us do better. Dany Pinto, Management Team
Thank you for sharing your experience—we’re truly sorry it fell short. This is not the standard we aim to provide, and your concerns are being taken very seriously. We're sorry about the sofa bed situation, and we'll review the … Show more
Reviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe set up was wonderful. We were very happy with everything.
It really wasn't that well cleaned. There were long blonde/white hairs on the floor. It was dusty and there were spiderwebs in the stair area. In addition to that i found a use eyelash in the bathroom cabinet which was a little off putting
Thank you for your kind words about the setup—we’re very happy to know it suited you well. We're truly sorry for the cleaning oversight; this is not our standard, and we’ve already addressed it with our cleaning team to reinforce quality control. Your feedback is very helpful. Dany Pinto, Management Team
Thank you for your kind words about the setup—we’re very happy to know it suited you well. We're truly sorry for the cleaning oversight; this is not our standard, and we’ve already addressed it with our cleaning team to reinforce qualit… Show more
Reviewed: 7 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewCleanliness
n/a
Thank you for your feedback. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future. Regards, Dany Pinto Your Management Team
Reviewed: 10 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 26 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 18 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewStudio very nice and clean. Coffee machine.
First night, the noise of vmc conduct, from which we could hear the neighbours above appartment talking until 2 am. Their vmc was sti
Thank you very much for your kind words and helpful suggestions. We’re glad to hear you appreciated the studio’s cleanliness and amenities. Regarding your comments: we agree that a coat hook by the entrance and a towel rail near the shower would be practical additions — we’re currently reviewing such improvements across all studios. As for the VMC duct noise, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. It seems sound was transmitted unusually through the ventilation system, and we’re investigating a solution to prevent this kind of disturbance. We truly value your feedback — it helps us improve for all future guests. Bruno Guerra // Your Management Team
Thank you very much for your kind words and helpful suggestions. We’re glad to hear you appreciated the studio’s cleanliness and amenities. Regarding your comments: we agree that a coat hook by the entrance and a towel rail near the shower… Show more
Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewShower open in the bedroom in studio 4, we weren´t informed previously
Thank you for your message and your feedback. Regarding the open shower setup in Studio 4, we understand that it may not be the most conventional arrangement. However, this solution was chosen due to specific technical and construction constraints related to the structure of the building. It was the most efficient and feasible way to optimise the available space while maintaining proper ventilation and plumbing functionality. We appreciate your understanding, and we remain committed to offering comfort and functionality within the limitations of each unit’s architecture. Dany Pinto // Your Management Team
Thank you for your message and your feedback. Regarding the open shower setup in Studio 4, we understand that it may not be the most conventional arrangement. However, this solution was chosen due to specific technical and construction con… Show more
Reviewed: 30 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified review- Very complex e-key process - No soap or shampoo provided - Toilet paper - 1,5 rolls - both used by previous tenants - The linen was wet, had to wait till it gets dry before going to sleep - Room booked with a balcony, but the facility provided had no balcony - The personnel spoke no English at hotel, online manager was rude and not flexible to accommodate my requests That was among my worst staying experience I ever booked through Booking.com :(
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. However, we would like to clarify a few points. Our check-in process is fully digital, and this is clearly stated in the listing description. Regarding the checkout, we allowed you to leave at 10:30 AM instead of the standard 10 AM, but unfortunately, you left even later. Additionally, our listing specifies that we do not provide soap or shampoo, so this should not have been an unexpected issue. That being said, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered and will continue working to improve our services. Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Dear Guest, We are sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. However, we would like to clarify a few points. Our check-in process is fully digital, and this is clearly stated in the listing description. Regarding … Show more
Reviewed: 28 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewthe location is good near to the city centre and to bus and train station about 10 minute on foot.
I think the owner just wants to make money without spending any amount to improve the room. The apartment consists of a bedroom and a living room with a kitchen, but the problem lies in the furnishings. The bed is cheaply made and needs to be replaced because it creaks from overuse. As for the pillow, it's harder than stone and has caused us head and back pain to the point where we preferred sleeping without it. The bedding and towels don’t smell pleasant—they need to be washed with good-quality detergent that has a nice fragrance. More attention should be paid to cleanliness, especially since the bed has hair from previous guests. But the biggest disaster is the bathroom, which is inside the bedroom and has no door, causing most of the shower water to flood the room. I’ve never in my life seen a bathroom inside a bedroom without a door—the floor and bed were soaked with water. The coffee machine, due to overuse and lack of cleaning, has water coming out with an unacceptable and indescribable smell. The dishwasher smells like rotten fish,. The sofa in the living room is extremely hard and unsuitable for comfortable sleep. With the ultra-firm pillow, you’ll need physiotherapy by morning. There’s a window in the room, but when we opened it to get some fresh air, we choked on the smell of the Turkish restaurant below. The smell filled the room as if we were inside the restaurant—grilled meat, potatoes, burnt oil, etc. The apartment and location are acceptable, but they need serious attention from the owner, in detail.
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you appreciated the location of our apartment. However, we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our apartments are designed for practicality and modern living, and while the open-style bathroom layout may not suit everyone’s preference, it is a deliberate design choice that is clearly shown in our listing photos. We ensure regular maintenance of our furniture and amenities, but we will certainly review your remarks regarding the bed and pillows. Regarding cleanliness, our housekeeping team follows strict protocols, and we apologize if anything was not up to standard during your stay. We encourage guests to reach out during their visit so we can promptly address any issues. Additionally, as the apartment is in a vibrant urban area, occasional external scents are part of the city experience. We appreciate your comments and will take them into consideration as we continuously strive to improve our guest experience. Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are glad you appreciated the location of our apartment. However, we regret that certain aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Our apartments are designed for practicality … Show more
Reviewed: 23 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewI like the location, cleaningless and quick, nice communication with the property.
Perhaps the check out time (10am) it's a bit early. Average in other rooms/hotels is 11am
Thank you for your kind words about the location, cleanliness, and communication! We're glad you had a good experience. Regarding the check-out time, it is set at 10 AM to allow our team enough time to prepare the apartment for the next guest. Unlike hotels, where check-in is often at 6 PM, we offer check-in from 3 PM, ensuring a smooth transition for all guests. We appreciate your understanding and hope to welcome you again soon! Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Thank you for your kind words about the location, cleanliness, and communication! We're glad you had a good experience. Regarding the check-out time, it is set at 10 AM to allow our team enough time to prepare the apartment for the nex… Show more
Reviewed: 11 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe location was great and the facility was modern as pictured.
No hand soap nor bin in the bathroom. Seems simple but would make a huge difference for the comfort level and cleanliness. The bed was very hard making it difficult to get a good night’s rest. Very thin walls and neighbour played VERY loud music even after midnight making it difficult to sleep. A complaint was sent to the host but there was never a response
Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the modern design of the apartment. We appreciate your suggestions regarding hand soap and a bathroom bin, and we’ll take them into consideration for future improvements. Regarding the bed, we understand that mattress preferences vary, and we’ll keep this in mind. As for the noise issue, we sincerely apologize for the disturbance. We always strive to ensure a comfortable stay, and we regret that we were unable to address this in time during your visit. We appreciate your stay and hope to welcome you again under better conditions. Best regards, Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Thank you for your feedback! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the location and the modern design of the apartment. We appreciate your suggestions regarding hand soap and a bathroom bin, and we’ll take them into consideration for fu… Show more
Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewTerrible Experience – Avoid This Place! Our stay at this hotel was a complete disaster. First and foremost, they tried to scam us by falsely accusing us of damaging a door and demanding €250. We had no idea what they were talking about and were completely shocked by the accusation. Thankfully booking reviewed the case and ruled in our favor, confirming that the charge was baseless. The apartment itself was filthy. The bed linen was stained with what looked like blood and was still completely wet at 11 PM. If it hadn’t been wet, we would have assumed it hadn’t been washed at all. The towels were old, dirty, and covered in strange stains. The kitchenware was barely rinsed after the previous guests, definitely not properly cleaned. To top it all off, we found a giant spider in the apartment. This was by far the worst accommodation experience we’ve ever had. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else!
Dear Guest, We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide a high level of service and cleanliness, and we take all feedback seriously. Regarding the damage claim, we follow standard procedures when property damage is identified, and we always provide the necessary documentation to support our requests. However, we respect Booking.com’s decision and consider the matter closed. As for the cleanliness concerns, we wish you had reached out to us during your stay, as we would have been happy to assist you immediately. Our team works hard to ensure that all flats are well-prepared for guests, but if anything was not up to standard, we sincerely apologize. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to further improve our services. We hope that despite this experience, you will have many enjoyable stays in the future. Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Dear Guest, We are truly sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We always strive to provide a high level of service and cleanliness, and we take all feedback seriously. Regarding the damage claim, we follow standard … Show more
Reviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewThe room was in a good spot.
It was very difficult to enter the house since you need to download an app, so if you don’t have enough space on your phone, it’s quite inconvenient. Also, the room smelled very bad due to issues with the toilet. There was no soap or any basic essentials for spending the night. Additionally, someone tried to kick us out at 9 PM, even though the checkout time was at 10, which felt quite rude from the staff.
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. Our key system is designed for convenience and security, but we understand that it may not suit everyone. Regarding the smell, we would have been happy to assist if notified. As stated in our listing, we do not provide toiletries. Concerning the misunderstanding about checkout, we believe there may have been some confusion, as checkout is at 10 AM, not 9 PM. Nonetheless, we will review this matter internally to ensure a smoother experience for future guests. Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear about your experience. Our key system is designed for convenience and security, but we understand that it may not suit everyone. Regarding the smell, we would have been happy to assist if not… Show more
Reviewed: 28 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewApartment was clean
Application to receive the key was not working, then one of the room door was not working and we had to wait for almost 5 to 6 hours and then the crib was not there by default as we mentioned the baby is present and we paid for that too.
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you found the apartment clean, and we truly value your input. Regarding the key procedure, we experienced an unexpected server-side issue, which unfortunately impacted the process. However, we provided a solution promptly, and the waiting time was not as long as mentioned. During this period, you were in another studio you rented, and when we arrived and tapped on the door, there was no response. As for the crib, we did not receive a prior request for it, and unfortunately, we didn’t have one available at that moment. Please note that the crib is a complimentary service we provide at no extra charge, so no payment was required or processed for it. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for your understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a smoother experience in the future. Bruno Guerra Your Management Team
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We're glad to hear that you found the apartment clean, and we truly value your input. Regarding the key procedure, we experienced an unexpected server-side issue, which unfortunately impacted the pr… Show more
Reviewed: 27 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe Studio manager was very helpful especially when we had problems with the digital keys.
The see-through shower area just beside the bed.
Reviewed: 16 December 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewgood location, the studio is compact but good for a couple
the entrance with the code was complicated, it took us a while to figure out how to enter. there is no one to ask for assistance