9.5

Reviews of "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City 2 stars

27 Spathodea Ave, 00500 Colombo, Sri Lanka

  • Eleanor

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The home is beautiful and the breakfast was amazing! Very comfy beds.

  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Close to the center of Colombo, beautufull comfortable place, delicious breakfast, great service. Helped with whatever I needed. Highly recommended

    Property response:

    Thank you so much Maaya, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we wish you a wonderful holiday in Sri Lanka. kind regards Glenn Fiona and Sita

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    16 August 2025
  • Susanna

    Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Host Glen & Fiona welcomed us into their homes with welcome arms. The accommodation is really luxurious. Reminded me of a boutique hotel. Location is great, a perfect place to be just after or before a long flight in or out of Colombo.

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Hi Susanna, Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at 27, and indeed for taking the time to review your stay. We're so happy to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to always ensure our guests feel as if they're staying in the comfort of their own home. We wish you all the very best for the rest of your holiday and a safe return home. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Susanna, Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us at 27, and indeed for taking the time to review your stay. We're so happy to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to always ensure our guests fee… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Pinky

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    its cozy and with all the necessities provided. food is great and Sita is very accommodating and helpful

    can’t think of apart from the tight driveway that vehicles has difficulty going in and out. and lack of signage at the main road area for driver’s ease of finding it.

    Property response:

    Hi Pinky, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your short stay with us at 27. We're so happy that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay. As for the entry at 27 , we often hear from our guests that they love the fact that it is secluded and peaceful. we have many buses who actually use our entry for dropping our guests off so Im unsure of the issue your driver had in parking at 27. As we did for you we also do for all our arriving guests, we give each one specific instructions for finding us which are then passed onto their drivers. Colombo is a large city with many signs everywhere so using a sign (which we've tried previously) doesn't always work. We've found giving drivers specific instructions assists them much more. I'm sorry to hear your driver had issues finding us. again thank you for your feedback and we wish you a safe return home to your country. kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Pinky, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your short stay with us at 27. We're so happy that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay. As for the entry at 27 , we often hear from our guests that they love the fact that it … Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 August 2025
  • Shannon

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful place. Lovely art. Glenn, the owner helped us plan our whole holiday. Wonderful breakfast. Just go. It’s very nice.

    Nothing

  • Hannah

    Reviewed: 5 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Sita is the sunshine of this house. She provides very good food. Glenn is always reachable and is giving you useable advices for your stay in Sri Lanka.

    Property response:

    Hi Hannah, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and indeed for choosing to stay with us ! Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable . I wish you you all the very best for the rest of your Sri Lankan adventure and a safe return home. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Hannah, Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us and indeed for choosing to stay with us ! Im delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt comfortable . I wish you you all the very best for the rest of … Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Benjamin

    Reviewed: 29 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Wonderful little home in the city. For those enjoying a more personal experience and dislike the big hotels this is a wonderful option. Siti is the in house staff member and she is lovely; always happy to make a pot of tea and delivering delicious morning breakfasts at whatever time needed. Sadie is the house dog and a real sweetie. The home itself is small but lovely and comfortable and a great base for time in and around Colombo.

    Nothing disliked. The hot water takes a looooong time to kick in in the bathroom but the cool showers were fine for me.

    Property response:

    Hi Benjamin, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and indeed for choosing to stay with us. Thank you also for your kind review and for making us aware of the hot water issue. We have since checked the system and have made changes. Kind regards 'Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Benjamin, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and indeed for choosing to stay with us. Thank you also for your kind review and for making us aware of the hot water issue. We have since checked the system and have ma… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 July 2025
  • Amaury

    Reviewed: 11 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Everything

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Hi Amaury, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at 27 and indeed for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're very happy to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay and wish you all the very best for the rest of your travels. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Amaury, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at 27 and indeed for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're very happy to hear that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay and wish you all the very best for the rest of … Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    14 June 2025
  • Ahat

    Reviewed: 8 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Sandra

    Reviewed: 2 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely house, quiet, the owner is super helpful and respond quickly to any queries via messages. Sita is very kind and welcoming and cooks beautifully. We had dinner and breakfast there, we recommend!

    nothing

    Property response:

    Hi Sandra, so happy that we could assist you with the extra room and hope that all went well for the missing luggage. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We wish you all the very best for the rest of your trip in Sri Lanka. Kind regards Fiona, Glenn and Sita

    Hi Sandra, so happy that we could assist you with the extra room and hope that all went well for the missing luggage. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We wish you all the very best … Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    14 June 2025
  • Olivia

    Reviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Everything !

    Property response:

    Hi Olivia, Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at 27 and for taking the time to review your stay with us.We are so happy that buyout enjoyed your stay and wish you all the very best for the rest of your holiday. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Olivia, Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at 27 and for taking the time to review your stay with us.We are so happy that buyout enjoyed your stay and wish you all the very best for the rest of your holiday. Kind regards Glenn,… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    12 May 2025
  • Yoeri

    Reviewed: 23 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Very nice and quite place

    Unfortunately we didn't receive the take-away breakfast before our early morning flight as promised.

    Property response:

    Hi Yoeri, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at 27, and Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were there. Unfortunately I was not able to be there the morning of your departure, however after speaking both with you and our staff it seems that the problem was that you actually left prior to the departure time that you had agreed with our staff member to leave. In fact your pre-packed refrigerated complimentary breakfast was ready and waiting for you to take with you. When that staff member woke up early ready to see you off and give you your breakfast you had already departed leaving security compromised without your breakfast. A breakfast that the staff member had stayed up late to organise for you. The staff member concerned was quite upset having risen in plenty of time to hand over your meal and to see you off as is our custom only to find that you had already departed without a word. Again Im sorry for you having to purchase something to eat rather than your pre organised early complimentary breakfast, and I wish you all the very best for the rest of your travels. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Yoeri, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at 27, and Im so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were there. Unfortunately I was not able to be there the morning of your departure, however after speakin… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    12 May 2025
  • See the property
  • Hank

    Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    I had booked this property a little less than a decade ago, but had to cancel the whole trip then for various reasons. It was clear to me that I would book "27" again, because already then the owner, Glenn, an Australian, was so prompt in answering all my questions swiftly. It was the same this time, and I am very grateful for that. The good soul of "27" is Sita, a Sri Lankan lady who is extremely kind and helps with whatever she can. I had the pleasure to meet her whole family. Other guests wrote that Sita is also a wonderful cook, and everybody praises her dinners. I was offered one but, given that I was in Colombo only one day and wanted to do as much sightseeing as possible until late, I could not take advantage of the offer. However, the one breakfast I had was superb, and Sita also prepared a great takeaway breakfast on the second morning when I had to leave for the airport at 6.30. The property is in the busy Haveloch neighbourhood, but hidden away in a side street and therefore very quiet, indeed an oasis. My deluxe room was very clean and spacious, with an aircon that made no noise.

    I could not sleep well during these two nights because it was impossible to adjust the air condition. Whether it said 22 degrees or 27, it made o difference. It was just too cold, and it was not possible to get this sorted within a day. I understand..

    Property response:

    Hi Henk, Im so glad that you eventually made it to Sri Lanka after your hiccups ! It was lovely speaking with you over the last few years and your questions about your trip here. Unfortunately we were out of the country and were unable to meet you on this trip. Hopefully we might get that chance again if one day you return to our beautiful country. I was very sorry to hear of your issues with the air-conditioning. Unfortunately due to the Sinhala/Tamil new year when you stayed with us, we were unable to get someone to look at the airconditrioner during this period, however within 24 hours of you leaving the maintenance team were back at work and discovered that the timer on the remote control had been set (possibly by a previous guest) and so it had to be reset to prevent this issue happening again. Im personally sorry for this issue as I understand how annoying this issue must have been. Please rest assured that this issue has been rectified. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Henk, Im so glad that you eventually made it to Sri Lanka after your hiccups ! It was lovely speaking with you over the last few years and your questions about your trip here. Unfortunately we were out of the country and were unable to m… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    29 April 2025
  • Ciprian

    Reviewed: 4 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    Absolutely everything

    Property response:

    Hi Cipria, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt so comfortable. Kind regards Fiona, Glenn and Sita

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    29 April 2025
  • Daria

    Reviewed: 16 March 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Hsin

    Reviewed: 12 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Everything is protect.

    None

    Property response:

    hello and thank you for your kind review. we're so happy that you felt comfortable and enjoyed your stay with us. kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    20 March 2025
  • Sharon

    Reviewed: 2 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely and quiet property away from the centre of Columbo, but easy to get around in the plentiful and cheap tuk tuks that are easily accessible. Sita is the wonderful and friendly housekeeper and made us feel very welcome. She prepared a yummy Sri Lankan breakfast and also cooked for us twice in the evenings, a delicious and plentiful curry for US$10 each. The owner, Glenn, although not there when we stayed was very helpful prior to arrival and organised a taxi for us from the airport. Very good value for money and would recommend a stay here.

    Nothing.

    Property response:

    Hi Sharon, thank you again for choosing to stay with us at 27 and for your lovely review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope you've had a wonderful time in Sri Lanka. kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    20 March 2025
  • Tammany

    Reviewed: 20 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful decor

    Property response:

    Hi Tammany, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the very best for all of your future travels. kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    20 March 2025
  • See the property
  • Philippa

    Reviewed: 4 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review
  • Peter

    Reviewed: 2 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The lovely lady looking after this guest house and the owner keeping in contact.

    Property response:

    Hi Peter, Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your stay. I do apologise for our wifi, with all the rain the wifi in Colombo does slow down and I do apologise. Thank you again. Kind regards Glenn and Sita

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    3 February 2025
  • Peter

    Reviewed: 30 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Winkle

    Reviewed: 27 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Sita and Yannik were really friendly and helpful.The breakfast was really good.Nice big and comfortable bed.We were only there one night.Glen the owner was overseas working but still messaged us to make sure we had everything we needed.He also said we could message him if we needed any tips going forward on our trip.That’s what I call great customer service 👌🏻.I would highly recommend a stay here if you are in the area.

    The Wi-Fi was shocking.The toilet seat was loose and moved when you sat on it. The tap also was loose and moved around when you used it. I know it’s a bit petty but if you say it gives them the heads up to put it right.After all that’s what reviews are for, I think.

    Property response:

    Hi Dennis, Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at 27 and indeed for reviewing your stay with us and for the "heads up" on issues you felt needed to be attended to. Had we known whilst you were stayingwe could have helped make your stay more comfortable by fixing these issue straight away. As for our shocking wifi, I do apologise. As you are most probably aware while you've been travelling throughout Sri Lanka have experienced huge amounts of rain which is most unexpected at this time of year. Colombo in particular has experienced record breaking rainfall which was the problem with all wifi and indeed all TV and radio connections in the city at this time.Again, I do apologise for this inconvenience and I thank you for your feedback for your short stay. Kind regards Glenn, Fiona and Sita

    Hi Dennis, Thank you again for choosing to stay with us at 27 and indeed for reviewing your stay with us and for the "heads up" on issues you felt needed to be attended to. Had we known whilst you were stayingwe could have helped … Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 February 2025
  • Nazarij

    Reviewed: 26 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The villa is beautifully decorated, conveniently located in the quiet part of the city, and the staff are very friendly.

    Our room didn’t have a mosquito net, which would have been helpful since there were quite a few mosquitoes inside. .

    Property response:

    Hi Nazarij, Thanks you so much for choosing to stay with us at 27 and indeed for taking the time to review your stay, it was such a pleasure to have you as our guests. No we actually dont have mozzie nets in our rooms, in fact most homes/hotels/guests houses dont actually use them due to their unreliability. We explain to all of our guests that it's far safer to make sure that all windows and doors to your room (including bathroom doors) are kept closed from 4pm. That if your room has both a fan and ac that this should be put on (even if you need to turn up the temperature). Doing this will slow the mosquitos down and often makes them look for a way to get out of the room. If using a net the mossy can become stuck inside the net and hence will sting you more often. We ar 27 spray each room each day to prevent them coming in and use a plug in mozzie coil to assist in them dying as well. The current issue with mosquitos is due to the large amount of rain falling throughout the country over the last 2 months or so. I highly recommend that all visitors to Sri Lanka 9 or indeed anywhere is Asia)invest in buying a very good mosquito repellant preferably with "DEET" as an ingredient especially during our wet periods. Thank you again, we wish you a wonderful holiday. Kind regards Glenn

    Hi Nazarij, Thanks you so much for choosing to stay with us at 27 and indeed for taking the time to review your stay, it was such a pleasure to have you as our guests. No we actually dont have mozzie nets in our rooms, in fact most homes… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 February 2025
  • Mohit

    Reviewed: 23 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Location, staff and felt very homely.

    Property response:

    Hi Mohit, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at 27 and for choosing to review your stay. We're so happy to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay.We wish you a wonderful holiday and safe return home. Kind regards Glenn and Sita

    Hi Mohit, Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at 27 and for choosing to review your stay. We're so happy to hear that you felt so comfortable and enjoyed your stay.We wish you a wonderful holiday and safe return home. Kind re… Show more

    "27" Spathodea- Oasis in the City
    6 February 2025
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Continental

Milano Marittima, Italy

Hotel Melo

Balneário Camboriú, Brazil

BJ Playa Blanca

Sa Coma, Spain

Djajanti House

Semarang, Indonesia

City Palace Residency

Wandūr, India

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...