8.4

Reviews of Embiente Guest House

No.8 Jude Lane, Eththukala, 11500 Negombo, Sri Lanka

  • Brian

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Murray

    Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Lovely villa with a pool and good amenities. Staff are all super friendly and will help with anything you need travel and eating wise. Breakfast was lovely with a good amount of food. Great location super close to the town aswell.

    N/A

    Property response:

    Thank you very much Mam/Sir

    Embiente Guest House
    9 July 2025
  • Lole

    Reviewed: 10 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Really cute! Outside area is awesome.

    Property response:

    thank you

    Embiente Guest House
    10 June 2025
  • See the property
  • Tamás

    Reviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The garden and the pool area is very nice.

    The location is not so good, in addition they close the gate at 22.00 and the host doesnt really want to let you out, because they say the area is not safe because of drog users around, attacking foreigners. So we decided not to leave the facility after 10.00 pm. The owner/host is a bit rude and doesnt speak english , only on very basic level, which is not comfortable, specially when you travel with your 11y old child, and he says only one person can go to the city to change money, one should stay there as kind of “deposit”. :) wtf ? Of course credit card payment is not accepted, only cash. The 30y old aircon is as loud as if you were sleeping beside a generator house. Needs some improvement on handling tourists. The wife(I guess) is nice, and the property is very well maintained and lovely.

  • Jackie

    Reviewed: 23 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Room was OK for $$, shower was good, nice to have chairs outside door looking on to pool. The grounds were pleasant and it is well located for the beach and variety of restaurants.

    Too many flies !

  • Matthew

    Reviewed: 22 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Hidden away but great location. An oasis Pool was great to cool off after a long day.

    Nothing.

    Property response:

    thank you sir

    Embiente Guest House
    22 March 2025
  • See the property
  • Kaja

    Reviewed: 20 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Nice and cozy pool and garden area. Nice neighbourhood and close to the beach. Comfortable and clean room.

    The service was not good. I informed them that we would arrive at 16, but we had to look for them. They just gave us the key and left. The next day we had to pre order breakfast, but they should have informed us the night before. The next day we wanted to use the pool after check out, but we were not allowed in the pool. They let us stay in the garden but not the pool, and made us pay for swimming for 30 minutes. The lady also accused me of “stealing” a book from the library area, which was disappointing.

    Property response:

    Dear Mam,after checking out we can't offer you a room facilities or using pool.we are charging for you only period for your reservation from b.com.but don't be lie, we offer you free of charge using showers for your bath,use toilette & for both of you sleeping in our relax area until your very late checkout.Relax area mean not the garden as you written here.we gave our lot of extra facilities for you free of charge because you told you don't have money.It was will be better if you doing holiday in this poor countries & excepting free of charge the most things will unfair.as From Norway we are disappointed.because your next stop for holiday you told Maldives.If you don't have for money at least for budget hotel how do you doing this.You think we are poor & fool.thank you

    Dear Mam,after checking out we can't offer you a room facilities or using pool.we are charging for you only period for your reservation from b.com.but don't be lie, we offer you free of charge using showers for your bath,use toilette & for … Show more

    Embiente Guest House
    21 March 2025
  • Magdalena

    Reviewed: 10 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    Wonderful and quiet place near the beach. The room was very clean, with the possibility of early check-in. WiFi worked flawlessly, the pool was clean and the area was beautiful. I was surprised by the beautiful flowers around. Breakfast was modest but sufficient.

    We didn’t have warm water but outside was so warm that we didn’t care.

    Property response:

    thank you very much madam

    Embiente Guest House
    10 March 2025
  • Karen

    Reviewed: 28 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Pool and garden were lovely. A little oasis. Room had everything we needed except a fridge. Breakfast was lovely as we took the choice of the local Sri Lankan breakfast.

    That our room had the other guests outside the room's window having their breakfast on the verandah. There are only 2 other guest rooms so not really a big issue, but you'd expect the owners to have that particular room as it is also next to the kitchen?

  • See the property
  • Kerry

    Reviewed: 18 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful little place, lovely pool and garden and close to beach and restaurants and also the airport which is why we stayed.

    The shower did not work we had the smallest trickle of water coming out and there was a horrible smell in the bathroom, The bed was rock hard and I could not sleep well.

  • Nina

    Reviewed: 16 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    Very good room with a hot shower, a mosquito net and a swimmingpool outside.

    Electrical outlet above the bed was not that good anymore.

    Property response:

    thank you madam

    Embiente Guest House
    18 February 2025
  • Suzanne

    Reviewed: 9 February 2025 · Stayed in February 2025

    Verified review

    For Negombo it’s a quiet location The pool is ok, there are some nice plants

    Well you have to settle your bill up front when you arrive, which actually makes it difficult to move on. No internet, no room key , no toiletries in bathroom other than a toilet roll and a bit of soap. ( I wouldn’t bother to mention this but hey they say they offer it) The room next to the kitchen is not in anyway a deluxe room which is actually what I booked, tho the owner disputed this and would not move me unless I paid more money! The room was very shoddy, holes in mosquito net ( yes I got bittern ) informed staff of bugs in the room, asked for a spray , told bugs are normal, no solutions offered . The bed sheets are old and poor quality. Owner at best rude and worst personal and aggressive and I have complained to booking.com . He lied and said my booking was cancelled, I paid and completed my booking, I fully believe that he did this to prevent me leaving an honest review. I am a very experienced traveler and have staid in many guest houses and more expensive places and never had the problems I experienced here. Sadly this is the worst review I have ever had to write

    Property response:

    This Lady had problems not only with us.She made problems with our guests also.we explained to her should not do in this way & she got angry with us & writing here as review which everything is lie.please check & compare with our other reviews then everybody can standerstand what is happening here.I think she could have some treatments before her travel, because other Guests need their happy holiday without people like this.thank you

    This Lady had problems not only with us.She made problems with our guests also.we explained to her should not do in this way & she got angry with us & writing here as review which everything is lie.please check & compare with our other rev… Show more

    Embiente Guest House
    9 February 2025
  • See the property
  • Kai

    Reviewed: 16 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Vucic

    Reviewed: 7 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • Brenda

    Reviewed: 2 January 2025 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Nice breakfast in a lovely garden setting. Enjoyed the pristine pool to cool off in.

    The bed was uncomfortable, no hot water.

    Property response:

    thank you

    Embiente Guest House
    8 January 2025
  • See the property
  • Sean

    Reviewed: 29 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Monika

    Reviewed: 23 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    The garden is beautiful and well-maintained. We were always looking forward to swimming in the pool. The area is calm and one can easily walk to the beach. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Property response:

    thank you mam

    Embiente Guest House
    23 December 2024
  • Morten

    Reviewed: 22 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Beautiful garden and great pool. Small and nice place

    Bunk beds were shaky and with poor mattresses.

  • See the property
  • Małgorzata

    Reviewed: 5 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review

    Good location close to main Street and restaurants and shops but at the same time peacful, beautiful garden on the property, friendly staff and mosquito net and nice pool, would definitely recommend :)

    Property response:

    Yankees you

    Embiente Guest House
    6 December 2024
  • Agnieszka

    Reviewed: 24 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Lovely staff,good breakfast beautiful garden, close to the beach Quiet at night

    The shower pressure wasn't strong enough

    Property response:

    thank sir

    Embiente Guest House
    25 November 2024
  • Francesca

    Reviewed: 20 November 2024 · Stayed in August 2024

    Verified review

    perfect location, Negombo city center is at a walking distance and it isn't too far from the airport. the host is super nice and he helped us in finding the transportation to the airport for an early flight. the pool and garden area is very peaceful

    Property response:

    Thank you & you are wellcome again

    Embiente Guest House
    20 November 2024
  • See the property
  • Katharina

    Reviewed: 15 November 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Nice garden and outside area including the pool, the rooms are cute and the staff was nice.

    The rooms are very dark but definitely ok for a few nights!

    Property response:

    thank you sir

    Embiente Guest House
    15 November 2024
  • 7.0 Good
    Veronica

    Reviewed: 9 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    The guest house is in a very good location, only a few minutes walk away from the shops and the bitch. The room is very simple and the bathroom could have a better shower. The staff is polite and friendly. Good cheap option for a short stay.

    The shower had very low pressure and A/C is very loud.

  • Anura

    Reviewed: 7 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    POOL

    ROOM

  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Red Roof Inn West Memphis, AR

West Memphis, United States

Coffs Harbour YHA

Coffs Harbour, Australia

Il Tempio Di Hera

Marinella di Selinunte, Italy

Orchardz Hotel Gajah Mada

Pontianak, Indonesia

Apartment Sibenik Trtarska

Šibenik, Croatia

No. 17 Hostel

Xi'an, China

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...