Reviews of Sugarmon Villas
New Development, Soufriere, Soufrière, Saint Lucia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI love the cleanliness of the room and the room was so comfortable
The road leading to the property was so rocky and bad, I rented a car and good thing it was a jeep
Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewI love the view it was amazing the host whitney was amazing as well took us on tours an make us feel welcome the place was great we'll keep an cleannnnn
I can't say I didn't like anything
Reviewed: 30 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewWhitney was very responsive to questions prior to our arrival, as well as once we were on site. We had a nice view of the town from our balcony! We enjoyed the plunge pool and access to a grill. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The kitchen gave us what we needed to make some basic meals with a supermarket a short drive away. Overall, it met our needs!
The road to the property is pretty rough, especially on a lower car and rental car. We gathered some rocks to fill in some of the bigger holes as best we could. Not the property's fault, but we didn't realize it was Jazz festival and one of the concerts was below us, so it was a bit loud during their set up nights and on the night of the concert. Again, not the property's fault, but there are also the usual island roosters and local honking at the wee hours of the morning. Wifi did not always work on the deck.
Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewI liked that it was clean , the views of the mountains were nice .
The dirty nasty chair that greeted us by the front door . I looked at the other villas and realized that my villa was the only one with such deplorable patio furniture. The single beds were way to small , the kettle did not work , the stove gave some issues also , due to the European type wiring I had to ask for additional converter adapters which should have been a given (as they know my country of origin). Now I’m thinking based on my interaction with others on the island that this was due to colorism ,that’s very strong on the island but I can be wrong so I await a response from the villa management 😑
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay. We are glad you found our place generally clean and enjoyed our views. We take pride in cleanliness for guests comfort. We do acknowledge a chair being outside your unit and we do apologize for this. We are currently preparing for some renovations in the coming weeks so a few stuff may be out of their usual places while we dispose of some items. A travel converter is provided in each room but you requested additional since you had many devices which is understandable but putting this down to color is unfair to us. We welcome guest from all walks of life without any discrimination and especially one of similar background to us. Most guests are satisfied with one adapter but have never declined any request for additional in situations like this. We are very disappointed in this assumption. We accept any fair criticism of our property and always look for ways to improve our services but racism isn’t something we tolerate here. Warm Regards, Whitney Sugarmon Operations
Thank you for taking your time to review your stay. We are glad you found our place generally clean and enjoyed our views. We take pride in cleanliness for guests comfort. We do acknowledge a chair being outside your unit and we do apologi… Show more
Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe view of the Pitons, town and surrounding area was beautiful.
Firstly the road leading to the villa is very uneven on a hill which is not mentioned in the listing. We found three ways of getting to and from the property all of which require you to walk up and down hills and for those with mobility issues like myself it causes a problem and it ended up with my partner doing any trips to get groceries, food etc. It is advisable to rent a car to make your stay much easier. The property was very disappointing. We did not have half the items that were in the listing i.e. cleaning products, washing machine, dining table and chairs etc. The bed was old and every time you moved on it, it made a lot of noise. The bed covers were also old and worn and not inviting. We had issues with the water supply in the shower which was cold water most of the time and with barely any flow or power to the shower. We reported it and Whitney came and checked and it seems there were more issues going on so it was not going to be a quick fix. We were offered another room once another guest had checked out but we really didn't see the point as we were already very disappointed overall with the standard of accommodation. The ironing board was old and broken and the cover was worn and ripped. The iron kept cutting out so it made ironing longer than it needed to be. There were patio doors to the balcony which leaked every time it rained. We had to use towels to lay on the floor to soak up the water. The kitchen was old and tired. One of the cupboard doors didn't close. We thankfully had bought insect repellent as there were a lot of ants in the kitchen cupboards and around the sink. The bathroom was okay but was great let down by the issues with the shower The bedroom was basic. The wardrobe needs updating. It was nice to have an outdoor space to sit however the furniture again was old and worn. Overall we would not recommend this property. The negatives outweighed the positives which was very disappointing.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. I’m truly glad you enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Pitons, Soufrière, and surrounding area — though I’m genuinely sorry that other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Regarding the road to the property, we understand it can be challenging for some guests. While this is unfortunately outside our control, we do mention it in our automated pre-arrival messages and recommend renting an SUV for ease of access. Additionally, the elevated perspective seen in our listing photos is a true representation of the hillside location that provides our signature view. Many guests appreciate the combination of peaceful seclusion with only a 15–20 minute walk to the town center. However, we absolutely understand how this may be difficult for those with mobility concerns and have done our best in the past to accommodate guests with special needs by arranging transportation support when possible. As for some of the listed items, our laundry facilities are shared and available upon request, as stated in the listing. There is not a washing machine in each individual unit. We’ll make this detail even clearer moving forward to avoid any confusion. We sincerely apologize for the condition of the ironing board and iron, and both have since been replaced. Regarding the water issue, we acknowledge the inconvenience this caused during your stay. While we attempted to resolve it promptly and offered you a room change, we respected your decision to remain in the unit. You mentioned some improvement before declining the move, but we understand that the experience was still not ideal, and we take full responsibility. Please know that your feedback has already contributed to improvements at the property. We are committed to ensuring our future guests have a more seamless and comfortable stay.
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback. I’m truly glad you enjoyed the breathtaking views of the Pitons, Soufrière, and surrounding area — though I’m genuinely sorry that other aspects of your stay did not … Show more
Reviewed: 31 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewEverything was perfect🙂
Reviewed: 28 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewthe view of soufriere was fantastic
no 110 volts outlets
Reviewed: 24 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe staff were really helpful and responsive whenever we asked for assistance. The accommodation was really clean and tidy with lovely views . The kitchen was well equipped.
The sofabed wasn't really a bed.
Reviewed: 18 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewComfy bed, very clean, Deck overlooking Pitons was breathtaking and pool each evening after busy days exploring
Road in was not paved and difficult to maneuver at first; a bit hard to find
Reviewed: 6 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewGreat location just a short walk down the hill to town or up going back. The host was attentive and there as soon as we arrived. Very personable, kind, and available for anything. I really appreciated that they had the option for us to book a taxi through them- took a lot of anxiety off!
Nothing!
Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewWe had a great stay at Sugarmon. The apartment was spacious with comfy beds and well equipped for our needs. Whitney was outstanding, going above and beyond several times. It made our trip really special. Watching the hummingbirds off the balcony and admiring the amazing view was perfect.
Nothing - just be aware it's up a big ish hill out of the town centre. We did a mixture of walking and taxis.
Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe bed is comfortable and cozy, the view is nice and the location is quite.
The pool was dirty and uninviting as there were spots of brown and black things to the bottom of the pool and no pool cleaning was done, during the time we were there, so we did not get to use the pool which was a selling point for choosing this villa. The pans in the room needs changing as well.
Reviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewWhitney was so much help from start to end. Bathroom was well stocked and clean. Kitchen also well stocked. Size was perfect and the huge bed was so comfortable, I slept like a log. Kitchen had appliances which worked very well. The hosts offered us another room to use for the day while we waited for our flight but we didnt end up using it in the end, still it was so handy that they were able to assist. The view is stunning! Great to wake up to every morning, balcony is a sun trap. Aircon worked well.
The kitchen and appliances was quite dated, our other family's villa had a poor conduction hob and their fridge/freezer was weak but our villa had a stove with gas tank connection. No oven tray to use in the oven, one provided was too big and the oven door didnt shut. The plunge pool needed cleaning at the bottom, maybe a cover for the night time, and the steps into it needed replacing as they were rusty, rickety and moved with weight on, but still it was lovely to have. Beware - the road into the villa is rocky and has ditches and tonnes of holes. If you hire a car, you will need to go easy! I would advise doing research on which taxi driver to use if you need one, we were recommended David but we realised he was fleecing us as local friends told us so we stopped using him - his prices kept changing every day even though we were going to the same areas, not cool! Also they work on a connection basis so they were calling David for recommendations in what the cost would be for a boat ride etc even though it would have nothing to do with him.
Reviewed: 3 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe Villa has an incredible view of Soufrière and the Piton Mountains, with a short walk or drive down to the nearest beach it is an ideal location for anyone wanting a lowkey stay in Saint Lucia. The small private pool of the property is perfect for a dip after a long day in the sun.
Reviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewWe liked the freedom we had around the building, very nice apartment, very cosy pool and beautiful outstanding view from our balcony. Situated so close to the town centre and 15 minutes drive to Sugar Beach. The kitchen has everything you need, it's a very cosy accommodation and good value for money. The bed was really big and comfortable.
It's actually very hard to get to the accommodation, we had a Jimny hired and we were afraid we would get it damaged because of the side road in order to get to the accommodation. Very, very bumpy and it could damage a car. Also, we didn't know if we could get additional fresh towels for our staying (10 days), poor water shower pressure and the table in our balcony was ripped. There were some ants as well in the kitchen we tried to ignore them.
Reviewed: 27 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe view. Whitney was great.
There was no kitchen table, no chairs. Kitchen was unusable. No grill, no hair dryer which was listed in amenities. No water pressure or hot water. The trash along the road and surrounding the property is terrible.
Reviewed: 18 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewWhitney was kind, attentive and really responsive. The suite has everything one needs, and the views are stunning. Room was clean and bathroom was newly renovated and large. Location was close to downtown even walking (well, it's a hike).
I have no complaints at all.
Reviewed: 9 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewWe had a great 4 night stay at Sugarmon Good value accommodation in Soufriere which is nearby to a lot of the main St Lucia sites and walkable to the town and beach (on the road but many people walk just have your wits about you and walk on the sensible side) it is a bit steep on the way back but manageable Balcony was lovely, comfortable bed, air con, clean and spacious Our host organised taxis /a driver for us to visit the sites and also helped recommend a water taxi. This was great especially as he waited for us between sites so we could go to places when they were really quiet (such as botanical garden and waterfall) without rushing, and stop at a supermarket. But it’s worth knowing taxis are expensive in St Lucia so hire a car if you need - we managed without but it is pricy (eg 60usd for round trip to a destination 15-20 min away) Shower could have been more powerful/warmer and the kitchen slightly more equipped but this is good value accommodation so expectations not for everything to be perfect View was lovely and lots of hummingbirds in the trees Recommend seashells on the beach for drinks and food (amazing virgin pina colada) and a nice place to watch the sunset Recommend ‘big red maximum chill’ for water taxis- again, all are expensive, but they were pretty reliable and friendly. They are based on the walk down from the Villa near to seashells
Reviewed: 8 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewGreat location, spacious accommodations, equipped with kitchenette and balcony with lovely mountain views and excellent birdwatching! The location is perfect, just a short drive to town but far enough away to avoid noise and traffic and to have wonderful views. We found the apartment to be very comfortable, with no noise and a good shower. The balcony is especially lovely for enjoying a coffee and birdwatching. There is a pool area that we didn’t have time to use, but looked nice. We hope to come back soon!
We took a more difficult driving route when arriving at the property for the first time, but realized there is an easier way with host’s help. The road is a little scary at first, but we found it navigable with a little patience and without 4x4.
Reviewed: 5 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe property has a four-star listing on booking.com but I would not state that it is four-star. The interior is rather drab and dark with rather cheap furnishings. The bathroom has a damp/mould problem (so much so that you smell it every time you enter the room). The kitchen area is dated. The view of the piton is completely obstructed by a large tree and the sea is hidden behind a building (I was on the lowest floor so it may be that the view is better from one of the rooms on the top floor). On the positive side, the property is close to Soufrière which is the hub of all of the main tourist sites. The TV in the room was good and the bed was very comfortable. Aside from the aforementioned damp/mould issue in the bathroom, everything was very clean. And besides the issues with the view, the balcony was a very nice place to sit and look out over Soufrière. Care hire is definitely recommended as the area is very steep and hilly. Whitney was very friendly and helpful.
Reviewed: 3 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewWe loved our stay here, apartment was clean, comfortable bed and the views are amazing. Would recommend hiring a car due to the location up a hill, the walk into town is doable, takes about 10-15 minutes however car makes it easier if you want to bring food/drinks etc back from supermarket, also a must for getting around the island for sightseeing.
Reviewed: 1 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewWe were told before arrival that there was a drip coffee machine, so we bought ground coffee. When we arrived we mentioned that there wasn't a coffee machine in the kitchen, not as a complaint but rather in case it had been stolen. In less than 5 minutes the manager/owner was at our front door with a brand new coffee machine still in its packaging!
Reviewed: 28 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewGreat little spot, loved the views. Whitney is wonderful, we had David drive us a couple times! Perfect spot in Soufriere!