Reviews of KAMAKU Bungalows
Sunset Beach, Koh Rong Sanloem, Cambodia

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewThe owners are really nice and the place is magical, even during low season ! We really enjoyed our stay there 😍
Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewJulia is really sweet with the customers and the location is amazing! It’s not easy to reach the beach but it’s definitely breathtaking
If I can suggested, I would increase the number of seats on the beach (not only amaca) to enjoy the sunset
Reviewed: 21 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewWe loved our stay in our hut on this gorgeous beach. It is so worth going to this side of the island where Kamaku is to experience quiet, preserved and heavenly surroundings. The hosts were very nice and friendly + helpful with organising ferries. The food options were good and we even had a paella one night ! We enjoyed the board games and how chilled the environment was. A memorable stay !
We had not quite understood how much of a trek it is to get to sunset beach from the ferry arrival (Saracen bay). Make sure you book to arrive at the correct pier and have bags you can carry up and downhill in the jungle to get there. We didn’t find this to be a problem, just to be aware of, and it was totally worth it.
Reviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewOur two day stay at Kamuku was wonderful - amazing location, great food, gorgeous bungalow overlooking the beach and warm friendly customer service from Julia. My husband did, however, get food poisoning - so be extra careful on this front
Reviewed: 5 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewJulia was very welcoming and gave a Tour around the property. Because of offseason, I was one of a few tourists at the whole beach. Perfect four couples or groups. As a solotraveller who likes to socialise sometimes, I would recommend something at the arrival Beach.
Because of the remoteness: - limited times to order food - Wifi unreliable and slow
Reviewed: 16 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe property is on the most beautiful, peaceful beach. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The food was incredible!
Reviewed: 15 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewThe beach was one of the best beaches I've been to. The couple that own the place are lovely and cook great food.
Beds are outside just covered by a roof no walls so gets very noisy if there's a storm. The walk to the property was ridiculous the first 20 mins is fine then it's steep rocky descents for the last 15 covered in mosquitos
Reviewed: 2 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewWe loved every bit of it. The vibe on this side of the island is the most relaxed. The options for food and activities are great. We stayed in the family bungalow on the beach which is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. (Just bring mosquito repellent, I guess it's sand flies, not really mosquitoes but I'm full and I've been sleeping under the perfect mosquito nets). Don't be put off by the 30min little hike, we did it with our 2 boys of 8 and 10 (even at night, coming back from diner at Saracen Bay). It's perfectly manageable.
I know it's a very complexe problem everywhere in Cambodia and it isn't strictly their responsibility but something needs to be done about the waste that washes up the shore. It's hard to relax or do yoga with the sight of plastic. Again, not strictly their job and they do collect the worst of it.
Reviewed: 1 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewthe beach
The rooms
Reviewed: 24 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewI had a bungalow for myself for 5 days. Did not feel like a holiday, felt like I was being hosted by old friends, Oscar and Julia are lovely. Environment, food, service everything is 5 stars. Absolutely recommend and hopefully will be back one day. Thank you both ❤️
Absolutely nothing.
Reviewed: 23 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewExceptional location on sunset beach, great staff and met amazing people there.
Everything: staff, guests, food, even the music they played was always great
Reviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 April 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 17 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe place is a paradise, located in the best spot on the beach, and full of Hammocks, really the best if you are looking to relax. The vibes are great, the staff is also super nice, I felt very welcomed and the chef is amazing, everything I ate there was fantastic.
Reviewed: 16 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewAmazing location. Friendly staff. Good communication prior to trip to help with arrival.
Slightly more expensive food and drink than what you would expect locally.
Reviewed: 10 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewWe looved our stay here, the bungalow is in such a beautiful location and so quiet! The staff are super friendly and lovely and the food is amazing! Our only issue was finding it very hot at night and the sheets felt a bit clammy but other than that we loved it!
Reviewed: 10 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewJust as described!! I had some issues prior to arriving that was easily sorted out by the hotel staff! Thank you y gracias por todo! The bungalows were amazing,the location was great and I have never felt more relaxed and at peace.
Reviewed: 30 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewI absolutely loved this hostel! The dorm room is better in real life than in the pictures! I was initially a bit scared about sleeping in an open room, because of the lights, noise, and insects, but in the end I had a really good sleep. Each bed has a small fan that helps with the heat. I could sleep until late despite the sunlight, because the room is sheltered by the trees. And the sleeping net didn't allow any insect to enter (btw, I was there in March and there were much less mosquitoes than I expected!) The owners and staff were super nice. And the food was great! I especially loved the pulled jackfruit burger! Also, you can borrow goggles for snorkeling and enjoy the nice colorful fishes in the bay!
Reviewed: 26 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 24 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewIt was very clean and confy There are many toilets with shower, so enough for everyone. The location is awesome, a beach isolated from the rest of the island. A little paradise
The food was a bit expensive, but it was the same everywhere on this side of the island Maybe think about bring your own soap/shampoo
Reviewed: 23 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe bungalows are located directly at an absolutely gorgeous beach. To get there you have to walk about 30 minutes (last part is a narrow path through the jungle) but it's totally worth it. Bungalow itself is basic but all you need while staying there. Showers/toilets are outside and don't have warm water (I didn't need it but maybe it's relevant to you) The place is run by Spanish guys and the menu features some Spanish Tapas options. Food was good.
Reviewed: 20 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewBeautiful tent on the beach You can hear the waves while in the tent Friendly staff
It gets too hot in the tent unfortunately but it was a great experience! No water in the common showers and wc in the morning :(
Reviewed: 18 March 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewThe location alongside the beach is easily the best part — it’s also a more secluded area with less tourists.
There were rats in our room, unfortunately, but I do understand that it’s part of being integrated into the wild. Just made my sleeps less restful as I’d wake up to them scurrying around our bungalow as well as the next one over.
Hello jessie, thanks for your review, but is sad to read this. Our property is next to the jungle, you arrive with 2 bags full of food and we say to you to keep it on the reception because animals go on the bungalows for the food, but you weren't agree. Because of this, the second day you left the food on the reception and you didn't have any animal on your room. Is not fair that you write this when we let you know in advance that can happen
Hello jessie, thanks for your review, but is sad to read this. Our property is next to the jungle, you arrive with 2 bags full of food and we say to you to keep it on the reception because animals go on the bungalows for the food, but you … Show more