Reviews of Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge 4 stars
Tsavo west Park, Tsavo, Kenya

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 28 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewDear Susan, Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.It is always a special moment when wildlife comes for a drink, and we are glad you got to enjoy that unique experience. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay. Regards, Gilbert Toroitich.
Dear Susan, Thank you very much for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience with us.It is always a special moment when wildlife comes for a drink, and we are glad you got to enjoy that unique experience. We look for… Show more
Reviewed: 8 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewGreat place, amazing location overlooking the water hole, must visit to experience the wildlife!
The bathrooms are a bit dated.
thank you for your feedback. we are glad that you had a great time with us, we loved having you. We are currently renovating our swimming pool and we plan to do the rooms there after. we sincerely hope we will be in your itinerary for your next safari so that we can host you once again.
thank you for your feedback. we are glad that you had a great time with us, we loved having you. We are currently renovating our swimming pool and we plan to do the rooms there after. we sincerely hope we will be in your itinerary for your … Show more
Reviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewAmazing location
thank you for your feedback. Hopefully we shall be of service once again in the near future
Reviewed: 16 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location with views over the watering hole which had lots of visitors. I was able to arrange a birthday cake for my husband which was presented with amazing singing of Hakuna Matata.
Unfortunately the swimming pool is being renovated at the moment so was out of service.
Thank you for your feedback. it was our pleasure being a part of your husband's birthday celebration.. as they say .. Hakuna Matata. we sincerely apologise that you were not able to use our pool, we are upgrading it so as to enhance guest experience, maybe you may be back to see the new look pool. once again thank you for taking time to give as your candid feedback.
Thank you for your feedback. it was our pleasure being a part of your husband's birthday celebration.. as they say .. Hakuna Matata. we sincerely apologise that you were not able to use our pool, we are upgrading it so as to enhance gue… Show more
Reviewed: 8 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe watering hole. Great wildlife.
Far too many children and no control. Should have had separate areas and enforced noise control. Food was very bland.
Thank you very much for taking time to give us your candid feedback. we are glad that you enjoyed your experience at our outlook terrace and managed to see some good game. unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation as far as our offer goes. I have already taken this up with the Chef with every effort to improve our offer. Food is something that we take seriously as it encompasses the guest overall experience. kindly accept our apology as we make every effort to make the offer better.
Thank you very much for taking time to give us your candid feedback. we are glad that you enjoyed your experience at our outlook terrace and managed to see some good game. unfortunately, we did not meet your expectation as far as our offer … Show more
Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe animals come to you! No need to sit on rough roads for hours. Sit on the deck or have dinner or from your balcony watch the passing parade of lots of different animals. Staff great too.
Spa closed two days I was there.
Reviewed: 14 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis lodge makes safari so easy - the animals come to you! Over our stay we saw LOTS of gazelle waterbuck elephant giraffe wildebeest zebra eland warthog buffalo hyena jackal birds and even a lion with cubs on the last night.All from the comfort of our dinner table or our room balcony. Staff professional and friendly. Rooms a good size and balcony a great view spot.Pool area peaceful
That we couldn’t stay longer! The pool might take a renovation as tiles need some work. But this doesn’t detract from the place. The NP roads in are in poor condition. Some tarmac to the gate would be helpful
Your feedback has been noted and we are happy that you choose to stay with us in Tsavo West. Kind regards and welcome back. Thank you.
Reviewed: 10 June 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewIt was the best hotel experience in my whole life! Safari taken to a new level of comfort - when animals come right to you. We saw all kind of animals coming to the lake - zebras, antipopes, elephants, buffalo, giraffes, monkeys, even a lioness! All from the comfort of our balcony and the restaurant. We have been so amazed! Cherry on top, one evening we heard and then saw an elephant eating a bush right under our balcony. Also, this is one of the most comfortable hotels/safari experiences to get to from Nairobi. We took a luxurious train from Nairobi Terminus (about 3 hours), and then 1 hour hotel shuttle through the park. Staff, food, rooms, amenities - everything was on top. Thank you so much for this beautiful weekend, one of the best in my life!
Nothing, it was absolutely perfect and magical!
We appreciate you taking time to share with us your experience with us. I am delighted that you found Kilaguni Serena to be magical and absolutely perfect. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you. We look forward to your next visit at a time of your convenience. Thank you.
We appreciate you taking time to share with us your experience with us. I am delighted that you found Kilaguni Serena to be magical and absolutely perfect. It was indeed a pleasure hosting you. We look forward to your next visit at a time o… Show more
Reviewed: 29 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 21 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewlocation is 10/10, service 10/10.
Did hace a fan.
Thank you Bernardo for the review. Much appreciated.
Reviewed: 21 May 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewWas one of the best places I visited in Kenya . Good food, massage , amazing unforgettable view . I love this place a lot!
We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was great. Truly appreciated. We would be happy to host you once again in the near future. Thank you.
Reviewed: 10 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 4 May 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 23 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThis resort has been probably the best one on our whole 2 weeks trip in Kenya. The rooms are spacious, all the staff is absolutely professional but nevertheless kind and friendly. We fully enjoyed our stay at Kilaguni... the room, the pool and expecially the restaurant with its magnificent view of the two potholes.
The Serena group should definitely de-centralize the customer communication. We asked for a transfer from our previous resort and never got a concrete answer.
Thank you for your feedback much appreciated. Serena hotels prides itself with offering the best standards of product and service. Our associates are indeed our strength. Looking forward to be of better service to you on your next visit.
Reviewed: 22 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025
Verified reviewThe exceptional view on the pond within the park from the lobby/restaurant enabling a view on the wildlife by night (elephants, zebra, hippos, hyenaes, gnou, marabou stork,..)
Small swimming pool Architecture not as original as other Serena hotels we visited Food OKish
Indeed our waterhole is regularly frequented by animals on a 24 hour basis which is truly exceptional. We are delighted that you were fully immersed by it. Thank you.
Reviewed: 20 April 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThank you Jennifer for your positive feedback. We are constantly reviewing our food offers to ensure that food is as delicious and outstanding as possible. Welcome back.
Reviewed: 17 March 2025 · Stayed in February 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 16 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewThe location is awesome - sitting on the deck with a view of the waterholes while elephants, zebra, wildebeest, hyenas, etc drink below with kilimanjaro in the background could not be better. The rooms are good, the pool is nice (you can do some birdwatching there), food is ok. The staff are really good.
They initially charged my credit card twice but replied within 24 hours and fixedd their mistake - very professional group to interact with.
Thank you Thomas for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. We pride ourselves with offering the highest standards of product and service and are delighted that we realized our mistake and corrected it in time to your satisfaction. Indeed it was a pleasure hosting you. Welcome back.
Thank you Thomas for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. We pride ourselves with offering the highest standards of product and service and are delighted that we realized our mistake and corrected it in time to your satisfaction. Ind… Show more
Reviewed: 4 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025
Verified reviewAmazing spot, all the animals at the waterhole and elephants visiting at night! The food and service great
Drinks and water overpriced
Thank you for your feedback and choosing to stay with us. We have taken note of your comments.
Reviewed: 3 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025
Verified reviewthis place is THE place where to stay in Tsavo West, that's it. stop searching around. everything is awesome. they also gave us a free upgrade in one of their terrific suites: just one word...wow!
nothing
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Indeed the team and I strive to do our best in order to not only meet but exceed guest expectations at every given opportunity. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to welcoming you back at a time of your convenience.
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. Indeed the team and I strive to do our best in order to not only meet but exceed guest expectations at every given opportunity. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to… Show more
Reviewed: 22 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024
Verified reviewThe property was clean,the rooms had a really good view of the hills and watering hole.
Nothing
Reviewed: 30 October 2024 · Stayed in August 2024
Verified reviewIncredible location, setup and staff. This place is unique.
Very expensive, but still worth it.
Indeed Kilaguni is a unique place. Thank you for choosing to stay with us Cecilia. Much appreciated.
Reviewed: 10 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewThe view on the waterpool was fantastic.
The staff was very nice but a bit chaotic.
Thank for your feedback Martinus. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us. Kind regards.