8.6

Reviews of Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach

Galu Beach Kenya Beach Road, 80401 Diani Beach, Kenya

  • Alexandra

    Reviewed: 26 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Location is beautiful

    Poor maintenance, rooms are a mix of a dorm and room. It’s sold as luxury and eco but couldn’t see any of the two. Overpriced for what they offer.

  • Kitua

    Reviewed: 25 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Staff were awesome and friendly. Rashid and Beryl stood out. Beach bar was so beautiful. Entire property was beautiful, serene, private and very quiet. Thank you.

  • Nathalie

    Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Beautiful lodge at the beach, great breakfast, food and cocktails, friendly and very helpful staff, clean. Nice design of lodge and interior.

    Absolutely nothing, wish I would have stayed longer.

    Property response:

    Dear Nathalie, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the lodge, our food and cocktails, and that our team made you feel welcome. It means a lot to know you appreciated the design and cleanliness as well. We only wish you could have stayed longer too—hopefully next time! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Galu Ecolodge

    Dear Nathalie, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed the lodge, our food and cocktails, and that our team made you feel welcome. It means a lot to know you appreciated the design and cleanlines… Show more

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    24 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Carolyn

    Reviewed: 21 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Great location and setting at the end of the beach. Quiet. Great bar and seating area.

    Greater attention to cleanliness needed. Floor in our room was dirty, as was the garden furniture outside our room. We also needed to ask for the toilet to be recleaned on arrival. Sound proofing was insufficient - we could hear everyting the people next door in the adjoining room were saying. The pool was quite small but fine for kids. Being at the southern end of the beach, you will probably need to ask reception to call you a taxi/tuk tuk as not much passing traffic on the road by that point.

  • Catherine

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Peaceful and beautiful location. Very friendly staff especially the very efficient Pauline on reception and Stacy and Ebby in the restaurant.

    We would have liked a kettle in our room to make tea.

  • Sophie

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    The location is amazing . Beautiful beach access in a nice quiet area.

    The service in the restaurant was slow and the hotel did not fix a maintenance issue we had.

  • See the property
  • Nyaradzai

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Nizam

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Grounds were beautiful the staff were very attentive and accommodating from start. Food was exceptional and a massive thanks to the chefs. The hotel deputy manager was very kind and always asked if we needed anything. Honestly I would recommend anyone to stay and always return again and again.

    Food did take a little while to come so do wait for the delicious food, but good things come to those who wait. 😎

    Property response:

    Dear Nizam, Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds, exceptional food, and the attentive service from our team ,especially from our chefs and deputy manager. It truly means a lot to us. We sincerely appreciate your patience with the food wait time , we're actively working on improving our speed without compromising quality. As you beautifully put it, good things come to those who wait, and we're grateful for your understanding. We can't wait to welcome you back again and again! Kind regards, Galu Ecolodge.

    Dear Nizam, Thank you so much for your kind and thoughtful feedback! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful grounds, exceptional food, and the attentive service from our team ,especially from our chefs and deputy manager.… Show more

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    6 August 2025
  • Una

    Reviewed: 6 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The resort itself was lovely as were the staff.The grounds, pool area and bar area were great.Nice quiet part of the beach too.Easy to get around and security at the gate called a tuk tuk if none were around.

    Bathroom toilet seat was very old.A lot of the sockets in the ocean villa where we stayed were European 2 pin style which wasn't expected in Kenya.There was a very thin partition with the room next door so could hear everything. A shower curtain would have been appreciated so that the toilet cubicle could still be used while someone was taking a shower..small things but could easily be changed and would make a big difference.

  • See the property
  • 3.0 Poor
    Patel

    Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Nazia

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Excellent service.

    All good.

  • Tainá

    Reviewed: 1 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Amazing breakfast , wonderful view of the beach, garden ...

  • See the property
  • Camilla

    Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    It’s placed in probably the best location in Diani. The beach is very private and beautiful. The restaurant and bar placed at the beach is good - and vegetarian options at the menu is a big plus. It’s very child-friendly too with beach toy provided by the hotel. It’s a big plus that it’s possible to get a good massage too.

    They had mixed up our reservation with another room, but it was handled OK. Good coffee and drinks could be part of the breakfast included (just a recommendation!) During the day, the pool could be cleaned as it gets a bit dirty.

  • James

    Reviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Location directly on the beach. Staff were wonderful. Restaurant meals terrific. Impressed with the constant garden maintenance being performed.

    They’re closing down the backpacker dormitory.

    Property response:

    Dear James, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed our beachfront location, the delicious meals, and our dedicated staff. We're also glad you noticed the ongoing care we put into our gardens, it's all part of creating a relaxing environment for our guests. Yes, we’re in the process of closing down the backpacker dormitory as we focus on expanding our private room options and enhancing our facilities. Exciting changes are on the way, and we hope to welcome you back soon to experience them! Warm regards, Galu Ecolodge.

    Dear James, Thank you so much for your kind words! We're thrilled you enjoyed our beachfront location, the delicious meals, and our dedicated staff. We're also glad you noticed the ongoing care we put into our gardens, it's all … Show more

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    30 July 2025
  • Irina

    Reviewed: 23 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Pthlux

    Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Antara

    Reviewed: 22 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review
  • Eden

    Reviewed: 21 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The size of the room

    Poor communication, No Breakfast Buffet and very slow service, No Cleaning service.

    Property response:

    Dear Eden, Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you felt communication was lacking during your stay. Just to clarify, we do not offer a breakfast buffet and haven’t advertised one, but we’re always happy to explain our breakfast options in detail. As for cleaning services, they are available upon request, and we did not receive any during your stay . We truly encourage guests to let us know their needs so we can assist promptly. We appreciate your comments and will continue working to improve the guest experience. Regards, Galu Ecolodge Team

    Dear Eden, Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you felt communication was lacking during your stay. Just to clarify, we do not offer a breakfast buffet and haven’t advertised one, but we’re always happy to explain our breakfast… Show more

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    21 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Wafula

    Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Anna

    Reviewed: 18 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    A relaxing stay on a beautiful stretch of beach. Great value for money.

    Property response:

    Dear Anna, Thank you for booking with us and your wonderful feedback. We hope to have you with us again! Kind regards, Galu Ecolodge

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    18 July 2025
  • Philo

    Reviewed: 11 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The beach Bangalow is lovely

    INSTANT COFFEE AND CHEAP TEABAGS FOR BREAKFAST! This was a first one for us in Diani . Awful attitude from Larissa, the assistant to the a director Mark. Shocking response to our complaint re included breakfast. We paid for bed and breakfast Turns out if you stay in the beach Bangalow you pay an extra 500 to have basic full English breakfast . Larissa informed us that others have complained but they choose to do nothing . The only addition to the full English happened to be avocado slices which am allergic to. My other free breakfast options were green smoothies. I refuse to have that on holiday . Further there was option of avocado on toast ! More avocado Then it gets worse ! Mexican burritos etc. That surely is for lunch ? I believe this place is geared for a very specific group of people of a certain age and certain persuasion. Saying no more . If you like class and are used to places such as nomad or eleven pearl please avoid this place like the plague The Director could not be bothered to greet us the morning we left even though there were few of us. Could never return to GALU Ecolodge .

    Property response:

    Dear Philo, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, though we would like to clarify a few points for future guests. We offer over 10 complimentary breakfast options for guests staying in our private rooms, ranging from fruit platters and pancakes to eggs, toast, and even smoothie bowls. While we understand green smoothies may not be everyone’s holiday preference, many of our guests appreciate the variety and healthier options. Regarding the “Mexican burrito” , the item on our menu is Breakfast Burrito, a popular morning dish served at hotels and cafés around. It is not a lunch item, despite the name confusion. The Big breakfast is also available, but it comes at an additional charge, and this is clearly communicated to guests before ordering. No one is asked or required to choose a paid item. We are sorry if it came across as such. We value guest feedback and have included a new item similar to the big breakfast that comes at no extra charge. We understand that 500 might feel steep to some, but the price reflects the cost of ingredients and preparation. We aim to keep all add-ons optional and fairly priced. As for being greeted by our Director, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed not to receive a personal farewell. Had we been informed in advance, we would have been more than happy to arrange for the Director to see you off. We also regret that your interaction with our staff did not leave a positive impression. Our team works hard to provide a welcoming and inclusive environment, and we are always looking for ways to improve. Regards- Galu Ecolodge

    Dear Philo, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations, though we would like to clarify a few points for future guests. We offer over 10 complimentary breakfast o… Show more

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    11 July 2025
  • See the property
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 4 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The staff are friendly and ready to assist.

  • Pius

    Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The environment was great & people were great.

    The dormitory was not that great. No value for money on the food to be honest

    Property response:

    Dear Pius, Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the environment and the people, it is something we are proud of. We understand your concerns about the dormitory and the food value. Our dorm option is designed to be budget-friendly, and we offer three different breakfast choices included in the stay. Dorm guests also have access to a larger menu at an additional cost, which is complimentary for other room categories. That said, your comments help us identify where we can improve, especially in terms of value perception. We truly appreciate your input and hope to make your next visit more enjoyable. Kind regards, Galu Ecolodge Team

    Dear Pius, Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed the environment and the people, it is something we are proud of. We understand your concerns about the dormitory and the food value. Our dorm option is designed to be b… Show more

    Galu Ecolodge - Diani Beach
    3 July 2025
  • Salma

    Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Rachel

    Reviewed: 1 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    We went to Kenya for our honeymoon and we booked 2 nights with the beach bungalow at this amazing and beautiful place. The localisation is amazing. People are so nice, special shoutout to Pauline at the reception,Alex the security guy, the bartender with his delicious passion mojitos and the massage lady for her magic hands ❤️🥰

    At the beach bungalow I think they should change the shower installations because it is really oxidised due probably to the humidity of the beach and clean the couches outside because they were stained

  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...