7.6

Reviews of Amanohashidate Youth Hostel 1 stars

629-2232 Kyoto, Miyazu, Nakano 905, Japan

  • Lucile

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • O-town-davo

    Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The only positive thing about this accommodation was its location and accessibility to Miyazu, Yosano and the surrounding area, as there were not many available accommodation capacities in the area. Otherwise it was a big disappointment and one felt like one was in a third world country and not in Japan.

    The price for the accommodation absolutely did not correspond to the quality offered. Just the night before we had a hotel for only a slightly higher price, but the quality of this accommodation was many times higher. This accommodation was more like a hostel, which is fine, but it rather resembled some horror hostel from a B-movie horror movie. You can see that the building is older, which is also fine, but apart from its age it also seemed very unkempt. Unkempt greenery, last year's leaves not raked up, crumbling railings, wooden elements. The equipment was not only old, but also unkempt. Towels were not even part of the equipment, we had to pay extra for them. The bathroom in the form of an onsen was very old, variously repaired and glued tiles, joints,... here and there mold in the joints. We are not hypersensitive, but this was too much for us. We slept in strange sheets on even stranger mattresses. Really, everything was outdated, just poorly maintained. I understand that the equipment doesn't always have to be modern or new, but even older equipment can be maintained regularly to keep the accommodation clean and cozy. Luckily we survived the night, but in the morning we quickly packed up and left as soon as possible. The only small positive was the breakfast, which was pleasant, Japanese.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us. It is undeniable that the hostel is a little old. We strive to clean it daily, but there may be some areas that need attention. Youth hostels aim to allow as many people as possible to enjoy their trips by setting low prices. For that reason, towels and other amenities are charged for, and hotel-like facilities are not available. Please understand this when using our hostels.

    Thank you for staying with us. It is undeniable that the hostel is a little old. We strive to clean it daily, but there may be some areas that need attention. Youth hostels aim to allow as many people as possible to enjoy their trips by set… Show more

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    8 August 2025
  • Kumi

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    Extremely friendly and attentive staff, excellent home made food for great price, spacious private bedroom, homely atmosphere, laundry facilities and cheap bike rental. Affordable accommodation with old charm. Will go back again for a longer stay next time. Lovely hostel- if you are after luxury, it may not suit all tastes- go and stay in a hotel- but if you are after friendly staff and calm atmosphere it’s a perfect retreat.

    Nothing.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again in other seasons. Of course, it won't suit everyone's tastes. I would recommend it to those who prioritize affordability and don't mind a certain level of age.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    8 August 2025
  • See the property
  • Imke

    Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The girl behind the desk was so nice to help me get a taxi away from that place so I could reach another hotel I had to last minute book

    The room was not at all like the pictures, there was a hole in the floor in the middle of the room which was covered with carpet but you could still feel it. There was no ac on and all doors in the room (even a mysterious back door of which I still have no idea where it led to) were open so it was buzzing with a lot of musquitos. The room just overall looked very outdated and kind of like a haunted house, this made me (for the first time during my month in Japan) get the urge to do a bed bug search and I found some unsettling black things on the bed one of which was very clearly a dead bug. On top of all this there were no other people staying in the hostel next to me which made it even more creepy, so I booked the first hotel room I could find and was out of there within half an hour… Unfortunately they only refunded 50% of what I paid.

    Property response:

    Thank you for your reservation. I just realized after reading this review that you were in a room that was not next to Room 6 that we showed you... Room 6 that we showed you next door should be closer to the one in the photo... Although it is a little old, we offer accommodation at a reasonable price. I should have gone to the room and checked it then and there... I was confused when you suddenly told me you would be changing hotels. It is true that there were no other guests that day... It was a quiet day.

    Thank you for your reservation. I just realized after reading this review that you were in a room that was not next to Room 6 that we showed you... Room 6 that we showed you next door should be closer to the one in the photo... Although it … Show more

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    19 July 2025
  • Hiroko

    Reviewed: 22 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Good view and quiet location

    Food provided was not necessarily good for us; too heavy and too salty.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us. When it comes to food, it is difficult to prepare a menu and appropriate portions, as people have different eating habits and taste preferences, and we also have to take into consideration the balance with price (of course, there are also things that cannot be eaten for religious reasons or allergies). You can also bring your own food to eat in the dining room, so please consider this the next time you stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again!

    Thank you for staying with us. When it comes to food, it is difficult to prepare a menu and appropriate portions, as people have different eating habits and taste preferences, and we also have to take into consideration the balance with pri… Show more

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    28 June 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    Darrell

    Reviewed: 16 June 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Eva

    Reviewed: 13 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    Kitchen space available. Big lounge space. English speaking staff

    Location wasn’t great, hill is a bit tough with luggage. Facilities are quite old and not the cleanest but matches the price, I suppose.

  • 7.0 Good
    Jimmy

    Reviewed: 8 May 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    The rooms are big and comfortable, and the common room is an awesome spot to hang out. There’s a great view, and overall it’s a really comfortable place to stay.

    There’s a few things that are charged extra that we weren’t expecting, like use of the laundry machine and towels. There’s also only one western style shower, so there could sometimes be a line for people to wait. The WiFi was also hit and miss.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us! We are happy that you chose us for a long-term stay. It seems that it is difficult to improve the Wi-Fi due to the structure of the building. It is also difficult to add showers right away... We hope that you will also use the showers in the bathroom. As this is a youth hostel, the accommodation fee is reasonable, so you will either need to bring your own towels or pay an additional fee. Please make sure to balance this with the price and make good use of the facilities.

    Thank you for staying with us! We are happy that you chose us for a long-term stay. It seems that it is difficult to improve the Wi-Fi due to the structure of the building. It is also difficult to add showers right away... We hope that you… Show more

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    8 May 2025
  • Taryn

    Reviewed: 5 May 2025 · Stayed in May 2025

    Verified review

    The hostel was very comfortable and cozy. The location was excellent, with a view of the bay and a short walk to the ferry terminal, grocery store, bus stop, and entrance to the sandbar. While the room was a little dusty, it was clean overall and the beds were comfortable. The facilities were good, and we especially enjoyed the bath. The hosts were very kind and helpful; we reached out about some dietary restrictions for dinner in advance, and they were able to accommodate them. One of the employees even called the bus station for us when we had lost one of our bags on a bus, and helped to arrange for us to get it back.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us! Small troubles are inevitable when traveling, but we hope you continue your journey safely.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    6 May 2025
  • See the property
  • 7.0 Good
    Whitney

    Reviewed: 14 April 2025 · Stayed in April 2025

    Verified review

    A decent budget place to stay for the night. The bed was comfortable and the break room had a great view and a lot of books and games. The family rooms had nice patios that would’ve been lovely in warmer weather. If you’re only staying one night, which is all you should need in Amanohashidate, then this place is good enough for one night. The staff was friendly and helpful

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us! We hope you enjoyed relaxing in the living room. We will continue to strive to make our guests comfortable for long-term stays in the future.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    19 April 2025
  • Jasmine

    Reviewed: 20 March 2025 · Stayed in March 2025

    Verified review

    This hostel made me feel like I was back at school camp. And I loved it. Needless to say, it was fun, cosy, and it had a retro feel that made it so interesting. The views from the place are out of this world! Namaishkii (I hope I spelled his name correctly) was so sweet, helpful, and tentative to the needs of those staying at the accomadation. The bedding is super warm, if you stay during the colder weather.

    I unfortunately have terrible hay fever, and got bad congestion due to some dust buildup underneath my roommate's bed. But no one is at fault, because this place is run by mainly one person throughout the day and night and they're on top of everything else!

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us! We apologize for the dust that was left in your room. It's getting warmer, and pollen allergies tend to get worse... We're glad you enjoyed the retro atmosphere. We hope to have you stay with us again if you have the opportunity.

    Thank you for staying with us! We apologize for the dust that was left in your room. It's getting warmer, and pollen allergies tend to get worse... We're glad you enjoyed the retro atmosphere. We hope to have you stay with us again if you h… Show more

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    20 March 2025
  • Joe

    Reviewed: 3 February 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    great view from hostel. lovely shared space.

    could have been a little cleaner. especially bathroom.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us this time. I'm glad you were able to use the living space comfortably. We will try our best to clean. If you have another opportunity, we look forward to staying with you again.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    7 February 2025
  • See the property
  • Barbara

    Reviewed: 19 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    Nice quiet area next to a shrine and not far to walk over the Amanohashidate

    All good. Lovely youth hostel feeling.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us this time. It was a quiet weekend, but thank you for saying hello to other guests. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere unique to a youth hostel.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    20 January 2025
  • Isaac

    Reviewed: 8 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review

    The communal area was so nice. Fusbal table, lots of books to read at your leisure, comfy couches and awesome views to top it off. Staff was also friendly and the location was very convenient for visiting the main attractions of the area.

    The accomodation was cheap so it's no surprise but the rooms were a little flimsy, but hey you get what you pay for. It was super comfortable regardless.

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us this time! I'm glad you enjoyed your time in the living room. If you have the opportunity, we look forward to your stay with us.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    8 January 2025
  • 7.0 Good
    エドワード

    Reviewed: 6 January 2025 · Stayed in January 2025

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Tjun

    Reviewed: 23 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Sharon

    Reviewed: 16 December 2024 · Stayed in December 2024

    Verified review
  • Charlotte

    Reviewed: 15 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • See the property
  • Ariel

    Reviewed: 14 December 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    My stay at the hotel was a very disappointing experience. From the moment I arrived, I was met with an unpleasant and unfriendly reception from the staff, who seemed disinterested and impatient. Instead of feeling welcomed, I felt like I was viewed solely as a source of income. The staff's attitude was cold and unaccommodating, and they completely ignored my request for an early check-in. Additionally, the hotel did not look anything like the photos online. The walls were peeling, and the overall condition of the place was neglected and run-down. If you’re looking for a place that values and respects its guests while providing a pleasant experience, I strongly recommend avoiding this hotel.

    Change to a nicer team, and put pictures that really reflect what the place looks like

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused to you. We will do our best to improve things such as cleaning, and we will also strive to improve the staff's response. Thank you for your valuable opinion.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    14 December 2024
  • 7.0 Good
    Judith

    Reviewed: 28 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Great staff. Very friendly and helpful. Lovely dinner but needs to be ordered in advance. Nice to have a public bath. Good views.

    It's a little tired and could do with some refurbishment, but great value and we enjoyed our stay there.

  • 7.0 Good
    Hoi

    Reviewed: 23 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review

    Wonderful staff.

    Property response:

    Thank you😉😉

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    3 December 2024
  • See the property
  • Jarrod

    Reviewed: 20 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us! I think there were some inconveniences as it was an old facility, but I'm glad that it was used as a base for sightseeing around Amanohashidate.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    21 November 2024
  • Montree

    Reviewed: 16 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024

    Verified review
  • Ines

    Reviewed: 28 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024

    Verified review

    Really welcoming, comfortable, clean hostel with an old fashioned charm. Breakfast and Dinner were delicious!

    Property response:

    Thank you for staying with us this time. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the food. If you have another opportunity, we look forward to staying with you again.

    Amanohashidate Youth Hostel
    29 October 2024
  • See the property
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Hotel Atlantico Star

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

AmericInn by Wyndham Detroit Lakes

Detroit Lakes, United States

Econo Lodge Middlesboro

Middlesboro, United States

Pension Valja

Janske Lazne, Czech Republic

Maple Tree Cottage

Branscombe, United Kingdom

Villa Menaggio

Menaggio, Italy

Danfords Hotel & Marina

Port Jefferson Station, United States

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...