Reviews of Fikus - the Apulian B&B
Contrada Madonna della Grotta SNC, 70022 Ceglie Messapica, Italy

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 5 October 2024 · Stayed in October 2024
Verified reviewFirst of all I want to express my gratitude to Francesco and Louisa for being such a kind, genuine and warm hosts and for making my stay absolutely wonderfull. Fikus is a quiet, authentic and very beautiful hidden gem surrounded by olive trees where nature is at its best. Francesco and Louisa do everything in order for you to have the best (Italian) experience as possible, which is very much appreciated. I would highly recommend Fikus to anyone looking for a genuine, Italian experience in a highly esthetical setting. I will miss you :) big kisses and hugs to Greta, Dante and Frida xxx
/
Reviewed: 26 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewNice owners!
I don't recommend and I can't explain the rating! The place is far, the nearest town is 10 minutes away by car, which is inconvenient especially for going home late at night, after dinner, because such is not offered on site. The accommodation is basic - the rooms are small, furnished only with a bed, a sofa chair and something like a table, there is no wardrobe and the suitcases, and all the luggage cannot really be arranged anywhere. The bathrooms are the most problematic - I have never been in a smaller bathroom in my life - narrow and low at the same time, after a shower everything is flooded! The shower is separated by a curtain, which is also constantly wet and very uncomfortable! Breakfast is the same every day - there are 4 options to choose from. The first is 3-4 biscuits with a milkshake, the second is a sandwich with peanut butter and fruit, the third is yogurt with fruit and really the only nutritious one is the last one - a sandwich with cherry tomatoes, 2 slices of cheese and prosciutto! Thera aren’t any fruits and vegetables. If your stay is 5 days like us you won't want to look for a breakfast in the end. They also offer cake, hot drinks and juice. However, none of the things are homemade as the presented! We also had very serious problems with the internet, and there is no good network . There are an awful, awful lot of flies! The whole area around the houses is messed, neglected and unmaintained - just tables and chairs without any comfort. Dirty and damp cushions on which the owners' cats and dogs climb. There is a playhouse for children and an outdoor kitchen with a large table, but these too are dirty and run down. The only nice place is the pool area, but seeing the dogs and cats sharing the sunbeds with you will make you give up the pool! And in the end - all this big nothing is highly, very highly overpriced - too expensive for what is on offer!
Dear - we are sorry to hear your experience was bad and you did not enjoy your stay. We would have appreciated learning this at check out since you mentioned you had a lovely stay when we asked you. We understand we cannot be appreciated by all of our guests but we would like to give some context. Location: the first thing you can read while reserving your stay is that we are located 5.4 km away from the city center which is exactly 10 min drive from Ceglie Messapica, our municipality, so this should have not been a surprise for you. We are a bed & breakfast and do not provide kitchen services which is also something you knew when choosing your accommodation. We are sorry you did not appreciate our decor and we believe that 25sqm is a pretty good size for a double room - we understand that when travelling with big luggages the size of our room might not be ideal. Regarding the size of the bathroom, we wish to explain that our property is located in a rural area and as such the size of the building needs to be viewed in the context of the apulian countryside. The shower curtain is made in a washable material that can be cleaned during and after the stay and we've chosen it for this reason - we understand if you did not find it comfortable. As for breakfast, we do offer four different menu, beside homemade cakes and hot drinks and juice, specifically to offer variety for our guests that are staying with us longer so including savory, sweet, or healthier options feels right to us, but again we will take your review in consideration to improve our work. We have apologized for the internet issues, called immediatly the technicians and tried to solve the situation as soon as possible in a weekend - again considering we are located remotely it is not always perfect connection and there are some things that are out of our control. Similary regarding flies, we are located in the country side and we have been experiencing the presence of flies because of the drastic changes in temperatures that went down and then again up quite quickly. we do not believe our outdoors are messed, neglected and unmaintained but we appreciate receiving your feedback and will take into account to improve how we do things. The pets which are part of our family are clean and safe and have never procured any issues with our guests, and they were always called upon by you and your daughter so to be honest you commenting negatively about them is very unfair - also considering we've asked you multiple times if you wanted for them to be put aside. We are happy to have received your review online as this gives us the possibility to think about how we can work better, but We would have appreciated learning more about your issues during your stay so to try to make things better. Additionally we are sorry to say that for us it is not possible to give a review on our guests because the way you've left the rooms at check out was far from being nice - that honestly does not put you in the best position to provide feedback about cleanliness. We are very sorry for your unpleasant stay but we feel that your review is not representing at all the reality of our family run b&b, and hence we are sending you this message here as well as in a private conversation. Luisa & Francesco
Dear - we are sorry to hear your experience was bad and you did not enjoy your stay. We would have appreciated learning this at check out since you mentioned you had a lovely stay when we asked you. We understand we cannot be appreciated b… Show more
Reviewed: 2 August 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewFrancesco and Luisa are lovely hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast gluten and dairy free options were provided which was a great help.
There is scope to improve the presentation of pool amenities which are shared with family and dogs. We loved the dogs but sharing the pool furniture could be off putting for some :-)
Reviewed: 1 July 2024 · Stayed in June 2024
Verified reviewEverything was more than perfect. The house, the surroundings, the decor, all made it feel like a true Apulian experience. You could feel that Luisa and Francesco do this with lots of passion.
Everything was perfect
Reviewed: 26 September 2023 · Stayed in August 2023
Verified reviewOur stay at Fikus was perfect. We loved the place, the facilities, the hosts, the chef, and our breakfasts (including a dinner in the garden, in an idyllic atmosphere, surrounded by olive trees and singing crickets). I would totally recommend Fikus for a few days to disconnect from reality, but also conveniently being able to go to the main surrounding towns (such as Ceglie Messapica or Ostuni) within a short drive.
Reviewed: 24 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023
Verified reviewWe had an incredible week at Fikus especially due to the very welcoming nature of Francesco and Luisa! The B&B is located in the middle of a beautiful olive garden, has a very beautiful and relaxing pool area and we enjoyed every minute! Especially for families with kids, we can highly recommend to visit Fikus. Additionally, Francesco and Luisa gave us the best Tipps for restaurants, beach clubs and places to visit. Thanks a lot!
Reviewed: 17 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023
Verified reviewNot sure wether it was the superb hospitality of Francesco and Luisa, the serene and stylish setting or the excellent breakfast and dinner from Michele that made this stay exceptional. Or maybe it was the family dogs and cat that welcomed you every time they saw you… we had an excellent stay here and can’t wait to visit again!
Reviewed: 11 June 2023 · Stayed in June 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 29 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewA remarkable gem nestled in the heart of Puglia. From the moment we stepped foot onto its enchanting grounds, we were transported to a world of serene beauty. Fikus is surrounded by breathtaking olive tree views that truly capture the essence of rural Italy. We were warmly welcomed by Francesco. His and Luisa's genuine hospitality created an ambiance that instantly made us feel at home. Our trullo at Fikus was a testament to impeccable taste and attention to detail. One of the highlights of our stay was the culinary experience. We tasted the finest local ingredients, expertly prepared by Michele who masterfully crafted each dish. Fikus grounds are heaven of tranquility and natural beauty. The meticulously maintained gardens, blooming with vibrant flowers and fragrant herbs, provided the perfect backdrop for peaceful walks and moments of relaxation. The pool area, surrounded by lush greenery, offered a refreshing oasis to soak up the Italian sun and unwind in pure bliss.
Reviewed: 5 May 2023 · Stayed in May 2023
Verified reviewReviewed: 5 November 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewFor parents with Kids perfect. A small Playhouse, swimming Pool, a few dogs and plenty of space. All you need. Luisa, Greta, Francesco and Michele are very welcoming and comforting. Pleasure being their guests.
Reviewed: 24 September 2022 · Stayed in September 2022
Verified reviewWe had a wonderful stay at Fikus:) The property is very nice and directly gives you holiday vibes. We also liked our cute little house which was bigger than expected. It is a great place to just relax but also to explore puglia. There are very beautiful cities nearby to visit or to go for dinner. Thanks also to Francesco and Michele who are very nice and helpful persons. We received great tips what to visit or where to go out for dinner. We also loved the dogs that really well behave and like to cuddle :) we hope to come back in the future and would definitely recommend to stay there.