6.9

Reviews of Hotel Edda Egilsstadir

Tjarnarbraut 25, 700 Egilsstadir, Iceland

  • Cristian

    Reviewed: 15 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    The hotel was clean and the beds were comfortable, which we appreciated.

    However, everything else felt very outdated. The bathroom, in particular, was unacceptable – extremely small, with no ventilation, and an unpleasant odor. It made the stay much less comfortable than it could have been.

  • Cheryl

    Reviewed: 13 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Andrew

    Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Fani

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Patryk

    Reviewed: 10 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review

    IT is good located hotel, nice rooms (stairs inside, our son was delighted), standard Continental breakfest Room because of two levels, was quite big.

    IT is hardnl to find a reception first timer, IT is weird located and I have feeling like hole place is half closed, what was strange for MEN because I think ut is a good place

  • Wing

    Reviewed: 9 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Anonymous

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • 7.0 Good
    Iris

    Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025

    Verified review
  • Benni

    Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review
  • See the hotel
  • Elisa

    Reviewed: 4 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Room was big , beds comfortable, staff was super welcoming and nice and breakfast was really good

    The bathroom was a bit old, especially the shower, it wasn’t very appealing to take a shower. Appart from that, everything else was excellent

    Property response:

    Dear Elisa, Thank you for your lovely review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the room, comfort, and breakfast, as well as the service. We appreciate your feedback about the bathroom and will look into improvements. Hope to welcome you back soon!

    Dear Elisa, Thank you for your lovely review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed the room, comfort, and breakfast, as well as the service. We appreciate your feedback about the bathroom and will look into improvements. Hope to welcome y… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    9 August 2025
  • Lisa

    Reviewed: 2 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Central place on route 1, amazing view and cooperative people, it has the charm of a college - but for a stop over totally fine!

    Property response:

    Dear Lisa, Thank you for your kind review! We're thrilled you enjoyed the view and our team's hospitality. We’re glad the charm of the place worked well for your stopover. Hope to see you again soon!

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    9 August 2025
  • Stephen

    Reviewed: 30 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    It had last minute availability

    Exceptionally hot, no fans to keep air moving. Distance from parking to reception is quite long/rough and once inside there were many stairs to the room - it was very dysfunctional to move luggage around.

    Property response:

    Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us at Hotel Edda. We sincerely apologize for the discomfort caused by the heat and the challenges you experienced with the accessibility of our property. We understand how important comfort is during your stay, and we're sorry that the lack of fans and the distance from parking to reception impacted your experience. We are currently reviewing options to improve the airflow in our rooms and exploring ways to make access easier for guests, especially those traveling with luggage. Your comments are valuable to us, and we will take them into consideration as we continue to enhance the guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back in the future, and we’re committed to making improvements that will make your next visit much more comfortable.

    Dear Stephen, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us at Hotel Edda. We sincerely apologize for the discomfort caused by the heat and the challenges you experienced with the accessibility of our … Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    30 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Greta

    Reviewed: 29 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Adrian

    Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Central on town

    Loft rooms could be hot

    Property response:

    Dear Adrian, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found our location convenient and central to the town. We appreciate your comments regarding the loft rooms. We understand that the temperature can sometimes be a concern, and we are currently exploring ways to improve comfort in these rooms for future stays. We hope to welcome you back soon and provide you with an even better experience.

    Dear Adrian, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you found our location convenient and central to the town. We appreciate your comments regarding the loft rooms. We understand that the temperature can… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    30 July 2025
  • Gary

    Reviewed: 26 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    Nothing to speak of.

    First and foremost, this is NOT a hotel!!! This is actually the Egilsstadir Upper Secondary Boarding School! It is used as a "hotel" only during the summer vacation months. Stepping into this BOARDING SCHOOL, you immediately feel like your are in a BOARDING SCHOOL! Dark, sterile, bare hallways echo with your footsteps as you walk down long passageways to your dormitory room, the hallway lights turning on automatically as you step into the next stage of darkness and then off behind you. By the time you reach the your room, any unexpected noise makes you jump out of your skin as you can clearly imagine Jack Nicholson from "The Shining" jumping out of the darkness with an axe shouting, "Heeeeere's Johnny....!" Very creepy! While there are elevators, they don't reach all floors, and you have to haul your luggage up stairs and down more long corridors. The room itself is small, with few amenities, as befits a teenager's room in a boarding school. The bathroom gave off an unpleasant odor, which turned out to be the sulphur in the hot water... of course, boarding schools for kids being what they are, we couldn't shake the imagery of something else... The blackout curtains didn't do much to keep the room dark. BREAKFAST was abysmal: the food was stale: stale bread, stale, shriveled fruit, stale cereal, even stale yogurt. And if that was coffee, well, I wasn't sure.

    Property response:

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, Gary. We’re sorry to hear your stay didn’t meet your expectations. Our property does have a unique style, as it’s a boarding school during the school year, which may not be to everyone’s liking. We truly appreciate your comments about the breakfast and room amenities, as we strive to improve the guest experience. We’ll take your observations into consideration for future upgrades. Safe travels! Best regards, Edda Hotel Egilsstaðir.

    Thank you for sharing your feedback, Gary. We’re sorry to hear your stay didn’t meet your expectations. Our property does have a unique style, as it’s a boarding school during the school year, which may not be to everyone’s liking. We truly… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    26 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Sigurdur

    Reviewed: 25 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Kerry

    Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Clover

    Reviewed: 24 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    A lovely family room on two levels, we were pleasantly surprised with the amount of space

    Due to the hot weather during our stay the upstairs level was incredibly warm and the windows don’t open widely enough to make a difference

    Property response:

    Dear Clover , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Edda. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the size and facilities of our family room and that it exceeded your expectations in terms of space. Your satisfaction is very important to us. We apologize for the discomfort caused by the heat during your stay. Thank you again for your valuable feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

    Dear Clover , Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Hotel Edda. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with the size and facilities of our family room and that it exceeded your expectations in terms of space. You… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    24 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Joan

    Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review

    It was a great location. The beds were comfortable. The staff was excellent and very friendly. They provided us great information about the local area and provided us easy to understand directions

    No

    Property response:

    Dear Joan, we sincerely appreciate your kind words. It's fantastic to know you enjoyed the comfort, convenience, and service during your stay. Thank you for choosing us—we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again. Best regards, Edda Hotel Egilsstaðir.

    Dear Joan, we sincerely appreciate your kind words. It's fantastic to know you enjoyed the comfort, convenience, and service during your stay. Thank you for choosing us—we hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again. Best regards, … Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    19 July 2025
  • Yanhui

    Reviewed: 14 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
    Property response:

    Dear Yanhui, Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We're really sorry to hear that the hotel did not fully met your expectations. Best regards, Edda Hotel Egilsstaðir.

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    14 July 2025
  • Dario

    Reviewed: 12 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    Two floor room very nice . Lake and Mountain View from the room . Good restaurant with very friendly staff

    Nothing

    Property response:

    Dear Dario, thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed the room and the beautiful lake and mountain views. It's great to hear our restaurant and staff made a good impression. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Edda Hotel Egilsstaðir.

    Dear Dario, thank you for your kind review! We're glad you enjoyed the room and the beautiful lake and mountain views. It's great to hear our restaurant and staff made a good impression. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regar… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    12 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • 7.0 Good
    Thomas

    Reviewed: 10 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Brian

    Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025

    Verified review
  • Andrei

    Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The facilities of the apartment must to be improved. It was a (very) poor breakfast. The price is much too high for the conditions.

    Property response:

    Dear Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services, and your comments help us identify areas where we can do better. We're especially sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the breakfast, and we will pass your remarks on to our team. As for the pricing, we understand that Iceland can feel expensive, especially compared to other countries. Our rates reflect the high operating costs in remote areas and the seasonal nature of tourism here. That said, we always strive to offer fair value in a unique and beautiful location. We appreciate your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Iceland.

    Dear Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services, and your c… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    9 July 2025
  • See the hotel
  • Andrei

    Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025

    Verified review

    The facilities of the apartment must to be improved. It was a (very) poor breakfast. The price is much too high for the conditions.

    Property response:

    Dear Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services, and your comments help us identify areas where we can do better. We're especially sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the breakfast, and we will pass your remarks on to our team. As for the pricing, we understand that Iceland can feel expensive, especially compared to other countries. Our rates reflect the high operating costs in remote areas and the seasonal nature of tourism here. That said, we always strive to offer fair value in a unique and beautiful location. We appreciate your visit and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Iceland.

    Dear Adrian, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please know that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services, and your c… Show more

    Hotel Edda Egilsstadir
    9 July 2025
  • Showing 1 - 25

Loading

Guests also reviewed these properties:

Ilga Hotel

Collecchio, Italy

Pipa Lagoa Hotel

Pipa, Brazil

Apartment Valsorey Ski In Ski Out

Verbier, Switzerland

Elpis Rooms

Mylopotas, Greece

La Ginestra

Todi, Italy

Sky Green Resort

Ella, Sri Lanka

Capital O 1926 The Regent

Chandīgarh, India

The guest reviews express the personal opinions of Booking.com customers who filled out a questionnaire after their stay at the hotel. These opinions do not necessarily represent the views of Booking.com. See our Review Guidelines

Loading...