Reviews of Downtown Charm Reykjavik
Pósthússtræti 13, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Malcesine, Italy
Prague, Czech Republic
Le Sauze, France
Ruzsa, Hungary
Brisbane, Australia
Lecco, Italy
Surin Beach, Thailand
Istanbul, Turkey
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation of the property was wonderful. The size of the apartment was also great for my family of 4. Really appreciated having a washer/dryer in the unit.
The bathroom was very small and the shower was difficult to shower in. The bathroom was also very dimly lit, making it hard to do makeup in it. Also, would appreciate shades that are much more blackout for the summer months.
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your detailed feedback! We’re glad the location and apartment size worked well for your family and that you appreciated the washer/dryer. We’ll take your comments about the small, dim bathroom and blackout shades into consideration to improve guest comfort. Warm regards, Darko
Dear Sarah, Thank you for your detailed feedback! We’re glad the location and apartment size worked well for your family and that you appreciated the washer/dryer. We’ll take your comments about the small, dim bathroom and blackout sha… Show more
Reviewed: 20 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewGreat location! Very spacious and comfortable. Well stocked kitchen.
Dear Hui-chang, Thank you for your wonderful review! We’re delighted you enjoyed the great location, spaciousness, comfort, and well-stocked kitchen. We hope to welcome you back soon! Best regards, Marija
Reviewed: 15 November 2024 · Stayed in November 2024
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewGreat location! Easy access to major attractions in DT Reykjavik. Comfortable. Appreciated the elevator, washer/dryer in the unit and dedicated parking spot in the basement garage.
A bit confused locating the access door into the building. Opening the parking garage door not clear although we figured out a method. Second bedroom a bit small for two.
Dear Denise, Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you'd consider booking us again and that you enjoyed the great location and appreciated the many amenities we provide like the dedicated parking. We appreciate your comments about the access door and parking garage, as well as the size of the second bedroom. We’ll work on clarifying those details for future guests. We hope to welcome you back for another comfortable stay! Kind regards, Stefan
Dear Denise, Thank you for your feedback! We're thrilled to hear you'd consider booking us again and that you enjoyed the great location and appreciated the many amenities we provide like the dedicated parking. We appreciate your co… Show more
Reviewed: 17 September 2024 · Stayed in September 2024
Verified reviewParking space, spacious, good kitchen, comfortable beds
Noisy from outside, not completely clean, shower drain is blocked (overflowed shower unless plunged mid-shower), laundry machines very slow (parking space requires a person of over 5’9” to reach control!)
Dear Sarah, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you found the parking space convenient, the apartment spacious, the kitchen well-equipped, and the beds comfortable. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. We’re sorry for the noise from outside, and we will look into ways to improve soundproofing for a more peaceful experience. Additionally, we regret that the cleanliness did not meet your expectations, and we will address this with our housekeeping team to ensure better standards. We also appreciate you bringing the blocked shower drain and the laundry machine issues to our attention. We will investigate these concerns to ensure they are resolved promptly and look into the accessibility of the laundry machines. Thank you for your valuable input. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more comfortable and enjoyable stay in the future.
Dear Sarah, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We’re glad to hear that you found the parking space convenient, the apartment spacious, the kitchen well-equipped, and the beds comfortable. We apologize for the issues you encountered during… Show more
Reviewed: 12 July 2024 · Stayed in July 2024
Verified reviewThis was a very well located city apartment within walking distance of attractions and restaurants. It gave our family of 4 room to spread out and was well stocked. It was a great first stop on our tour of Iceland. It was nice to have a key box for check in.
Check-in and parking were complicated. The owners did their best with detailed instructions and photos, but it's a bit complicated to get into the garage. If you have a large vehicle, it isn't going to work. We had a Subaru Forrester and could get in easily. However, the person parking next to us had not pulled all the way forward (they came in after us), so backing out the next morning was extremely difficult. It took two of us outside the car, guiding my husband back and forth, inch by inch, to wiggle out. It would help if there was a sign on the wall asking people to pull all the way forward when they parked.
Thank you for your detailed feedback about your recent stay in our city apartment. We're glad to hear that overall, the apartment met your family's needs and served as a great first stop on your Iceland tour. We appreciate your comments regarding the check-in process and parking situation. We understand that garage access can be tricky, especially for larger vehicles, and we apologize for any inconvenience caused. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us enhance our services for future guests. Safe travels!
Thank you for your detailed feedback about your recent stay in our city apartment. We're glad to hear that overall, the apartment met your family's needs and served as a great first stop on your Iceland tour. We appreciate your comm… Show more
Reviewed: 15 February 2024 · Stayed in February 2024
Verified reviewPerfect location for discovering Reykjavik. Nice view across the square from the balcony . Apartment clean and super comfy beds . Going communication via email for location and key code to enter property.
Disappointed there was no where to leave suitcases when checked out and had to trek across town and pay to leave them in a car park .
Dear Jayne, thank you kindly for your great review. We truly appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. We are happy that you were pleased with our location, views, cleanliness, and comfort. Clear communication and guest satisfaction are our top priorities. Your remarks about luggage storage have been noted and we will do our best to improve our service. We would be happy to host you again. Kind regards, Katerina
Dear Jayne, thank you kindly for your great review. We truly appreciate the time you took to give us feedback. We are happy that you were pleased with our location, views, cleanliness, and comfort. Clear communication and guest satisfaction… Show more
Reviewed: 31 October 2023 · Stayed in October 2023
Verified reviewThe location was amazing. Very cute and comfortable.
A little noisy at night with the bar scene so close but we were so tired from sight seeing it didn't really bother us.
Dear Teresa, Your review made our day. We’ve passed your comments on to our team so they can enjoy the good vibes too. Comments like yours make our work worthwhile. We love that you enjoyed your stay. We couldn’t provide the service we do without great guests like you! Thanks for choosing us for your stay, we can’t wait to welcoming you again! Kindest regards, Jelena
Dear Teresa, Your review made our day. We’ve passed your comments on to our team so they can enjoy the good vibes too. Comments like yours make our work worthwhile. We love that you enjoyed your stay. We couldn’t provide the service we do … Show more
Reviewed: 18 September 2023 · Stayed in September 2023
Verified reviewOnly issue is that we arrived by car and there was no way to park the car temporarily while we retrieved the keys from the key box
Floors were a little dirty. We used the vacuum cleaner. Coffee pot was dirty. No stopper in bathroom sink.
Dear Glen, Thank you for the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide cozy and pleasant stays for all our guests. We do have service available 24/7 at your convenience, to assist you with any inconveniences that might occur during your stay. If your travels ever bring you back to Iceland, we would be honored to welcome you again. Kind regards, Ana
Dear Glen, Thank you for the time to give us feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We strive to provide cozy and pleasant stays for all our guests. We do have service available 24/7 at your convenience, to assist you with any inc… Show more
Reviewed: 24 July 2023 · Stayed in July 2023
Verified reviewGreat location with easy, walkable, access to all the attractions - Flyover Iceland, the Lava Centre, The Perlan and whale watching (all excellent). Benefit of a washing machine. Clean and comfortable. Enjoyable stay.
Spent 40 minutes locating the keys in the key box, then locating the entrance to the underground parking and then the shutter release in the ceiling. During this time, we were fortunate to have a parking space. The instructions given were very poor and could be made so much clearer with a screen shot from Google of the parking entrance and its relationship to the apartment, a photo of the key box (saying it was on the opposite wall the the entrance and not with the other cluster of boxes would help) and what we were supposed to be looking for to release the shutter at the garage entrance. None of this was clear for the first time visitor after a long journey with accompanying children. Got us off to a bad start....
Dear Mike, Thank you for your time and effort to express your view regarding your stay with us. We would like to express our truthful apologies for any inconvenience you've experienced. On a positive note, we really appreciate your comments on those areas that you felt we are doing right. We are always aiming to provide the highest possible experience to our guests and it is heartwarming to hear that our effort was appreciated. best regards, Igor S.
Dear Mike, Thank you for your time and effort to express your view regarding your stay with us. We would like to express our truthful apologies for any inconvenience you've experienced. On a positive note, we really appreciate your co… Show more
Reviewed: 23 December 2022 · Stayed in December 2022
Verified reviewfabulous location, walking distance to all the sights, lovely view out over the square. apartment is very well equipped- loved the extra touch of a few Xmas decorations. beds very comfortable.
Kitchen sink is unsightly, bathroom is a bit ‘tired’
Feedback like yours is very valuable to us. It helps us continue to improve and provide the best possible service to guests like you. Thank you and we hope we can welcome you back in the future! Best and warmest wishes from our team.
Reviewed: 25 September 2022 · Stayed in July 2022
Verified reviewwonderful combination of location and view. loved the balcony view…very relaxing
disappointing customer service. have read several complaints abt directions to property and keys yet this still was not addressed. (resto mentioned have been closed for a long time) and confusing (key location easy to miss). we were just lucky to have found a very friendly and accommodating receptionist at the nearby hotel who helped us find it.
Dear Rosemarie, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you were happy with your stay overall. We appreciate your feedback on how to improve. Thank you for staying with us. We do hope that we are able to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Lena
Dear Rosemarie, Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are glad that you were happy with your stay overall. We appreciate your feedback on how to improve. Thank you for staying with us. We do hope that we are able to welcome you a… Show more