Reviews of A. Bernhard Guest House
Vallargata 6, 230 Keflavík, Iceland

Loading
Guests also reviewed these properties:
Obergurgl, Austria
Lander, United States
Busswil, Switzerland
Oetz, Austria
Novafeltria, Italy
Busan, South Korea
Chelyabinsk, Russia
Beau Vallon, Seychelles
How guest reviews work
Each review score is between 1-10. To get the overall score that you see, we add up all the review scores we’ve received and divide that total by the number of review scores we’ve received. We use a weighted review system which means that the more recent the review, the bigger the impact on the total review score calculation. In addition, guests can give separate ‘subscores’ in crucial areas, such as location, cleanliness, staff, comfort, facilities, value for money and free Wi-Fi. Note that guests submit their subscores and their overall scores independently, so there’s no direct link between them.
You can review an Accommodation that you booked through our Platform if you stayed there or if you arrived at the property but didn’t actually stay there. To edit a review you’ve already submitted, please contact our Customer Service team.
We have people and automated systems that specialise in detecting fake reviews submitted to our Platform. If we find any, we delete them and, if necessary, take action against whoever is responsible.
Anyone else who spots something suspicious can always report it to our Customer Service team, so our Fraud team can investigate.
Ideally, we would publish every review we receive, whether positive or negative. However, we won’t display any review that includes or refers to (among other things):
- Politically sensitive comments
- Promotional content
- Illegal activities
- Personal or sensitive information (e.g. emails, phone numbers or credit card info)
- Swear words, sexual references, hate speech, discriminatory remarks, threats, or references to violence
- Spam and fake content
- Animal cruelty
- Impersonation (e.g. if the writer is claiming to be someone else)
- Any violation of our review guidelines.
To make sure reviews are relevant, we may only accept reviews that are submitted within 3 months of checking out, and we may stop showing reviews once they’re 36 months old – or if the Accommodation has a change of ownership.
An Accommodation may choose to reply to a review.
When you see multiple reviews, the most recent ones will be at the top, subject to a few other factors (what language a review is in, whether it’s just a rating or contains comments as well, etc.). If you like, you can sort and/or filter them (by time of year, review score, etc.).
We sometimes show external review scores from other well-known travel websites. We make it clear when we’ve done this.
Guidelines and standards for Reviews
These guidelines and standards aim to keep the content on Booking.com relevant and family-friendly without limiting expression of strong opinions. They are also applicable regardless of the sentiment of the comment.
Contributions should be travel related. The most helpful contributions are detailed and help others make better decisions. Please don’t include personal, political, ethical, or religious commentary. Promotional content will be removed and issues concerning Booking.com’s services should be routed to our Customer Service or Accommodation Service teams.
Contributions should be appropriate for a global audience. Please avoid using profanity or attempts to approximate profanity with creative spelling, in any language. Comments and media that include 'hate speech', discriminatory remarks, threats, sexually explicit remarks, violence, and the promotion of illegal activity are not permitted.
All content should be genuine and unique to the guest. Reviews are most valuable when they are original and unbiased. Your contribution should be yours. Booking.com property partners should not post on behalf of guests or offer incentives in exchange for reviews. Attempts to bring down the rating of a competitor by submitting a negative review will not be tolerated.
Respect the privacy of others. Booking.com will make an effort to obscure email addresses, telephone numbers, website addresses, social media accounts, and similar details.
The opinions expressed in contributions are those of Booking.com customers and properties and not of Booking.com. Booking.com does not accept responsibility or liability for any reviews or responses. Booking.com is a distributor (without any obligation to verify) and not a publisher of these comments and responses.
By default, reviews are sorted based on the date of the review and on additional criteria to display the most relevant reviews, including but not limited to: your language, reviews with text, and non-anonymous reviews. Additional sorting options may be available (by type of traveller, by score, etc.).
Translations disclaimer
This service may contain translations powered by Google. Google disclaims all warranties related to the translations, express or implied, including any warranties of accuracy, reliability, and any implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular purpose and non-infringement.
Reviewed: 24 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe studio unit was very clean; bed was comfortable enable a good night rest for my husband and I after a long haul of over 30 hours. Checked in was smooth and best of all communication was easy and responses quick. Would stay again if we visit Keflavik.
Nothing
Reviewed: 23 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 22 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe bed and the bathroom. It was a real guesthouse.
There was no kitchen to share
Reviewed: 12 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe room and bathroom were both spacious and very well appointed with modern, stylish furniture and all the amenities one could ask for. Communication with the proprietor was very good.
There was nothing we didn't like.
Reviewed: 11 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewWe had been on a boat in Greenland for two weeks so a nice hot shower was the thing we looked forward to and it didn't dissapoint.
Reviewed: 7 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewEverything was perfect! The instructions to get there were super easy to follow. Everything was very clean and comfortable — it really felt like being at home. Highly recommended!
Reviewed: 5 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewThe room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. The hosts were very kind and welcoming. The location is great, right next to the airport and town. Rooms have everything you need, including tea and coffee facilities, towels and a mini fridge.
Nothing, the stay was great.
Reviewed: 3 August 2025 · Stayed in August 2025
Verified reviewVery comfortable stop over before flight home. Walking distance to food and shops.
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVery convenient location for an early morning departure from Keflavik airport.
There were no kitchen utensils
Reviewed: 31 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewEverything fully exceeded all of our expectations. Everything was top tier comfort but we also got that very welcoming homely feeling, created by the hosts. The bed is very comfortable, all amenities are wonderful and well thought out.
Nothing, it was all amazing. Would 100% recommend!
Reviewed: 27 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewVery close to Keflavik airport. Check-in and out very easy 24/7. Good price according to Iceland price level.
For 4 people quite small (we knew it), for 2 people would enough. It was one night stay after coming to Iceland
Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLocation was great
Good for 2 but no more. While some supplies were there many were out of date so the owners don’t check this out.
Reviewed: 19 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewClose to airport, comfy bed, clean, dark blinds, and easy parking. Shared bathroom was nicely renovated and shared with one other room.
No A/C, pretty hot on the summer day we visited
Reviewed: 9 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewA short ride from the airport, the night before a morning flight so suited us well after a busy week touring the West Fjords. We were glad to just relax! The studio was very well equipped with all we needed and some condiments, oil, coffee perhaps left by previous guests or provided by the owner. Modern furnishings, comfortable bed, good kitchenette. Very clean and peaceful. A supermarket just round the corner and a just a couple of blocks back from the sea front. Owner was charming and friendly. We would stay again.
Well decorated but personally would like lighter colours however it in no way affected the comfort of our stay!
Reviewed: 7 July 2025 · Stayed in July 2025
Verified reviewLovely accommodation great location, lovely owners. The town is great loads of places to eat. Really good for the airport.
Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in May 2025
Verified reviewVery nice room, super clean and cosy
Privacy is fine, but you live very close to the owners, who are friendly and also respect your privacy.
Reviewed: 3 July 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewCozy and nicely decorated room, 10 min drive from Keflavík airport. Convenient self check-in process including clear explanations and photos for a late arrival (in our case, passed midnight). We thought it was a nice touch they offered coffee pods and milk for coffee making in the morning!
Very minor thing - We were not the biggest fans of the individual duvets for a double bed!
Reviewed: 28 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThe room, bathroom was clean, spacious and well maintained. Only place where I saw stocked with tampons, which is very essential at times especially in Iceland where many time closest shop mayke like 50 km plus at times. Proximity to aiport makes it a good choice.
There was no microwave available. For full ring road trip we had microwave available at every guesthouse to heat up food. Here only electric kettle was there. Addition of microwave would help many of us who get frozen food while driving up to the guesthouse to heat and eat at the end of the day. The amount of creamer in the jar was very low and despite asking for more the host never provided it.
Reviewed: 24 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis was a great place to stay he night before my flight out of Iceland. The home itself is comfortable, clean, and quiet, with free parking. It’s only a seven minute drive away from the airport making it easy to just wake up and go. Communication with the owners was great. I was glad I booked a room here rather than at a hotel.
No complaints!
Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewWe stayed here overnight because our return flight to Germany was early in the morning. There is a bus to the airport, but it does not run at 5 a.m. We paid 4,500 ISK for the taxi (about a 10-minute ride). The apartment was quiet, clean, and very well furnished; the bathroom is shared with a maximum of two other people. The host is very friendly and is happy to order a taxi. There are small restaurants and a pub around the corner. We highly recommend this guest house.
Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewThis guest house was perfect for a night before an early flight. It was clean, comfortable and only a 5 minute drive to the airport. There aren’t cooking facilities but there was a kettle with tea and coffee and also some bowls, spoons and a little chopping board so we could make a small breakfast before leaving. The host responded quickly to messages and was accommodating when we moved out check in time back by a couple of hours on the day.
Nothing
Reviewed: 23 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 20 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewReviewed: 19 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified reviewLocation Clean room
We paid for a room that included an Airport Shuttle. Owner said we had to pay for a taxi. He owes $40.us. Hopefully Booking will get us a refund before I ask my credit card co to block the payment.
hi there and thanks for choosing A Bernhard and thanks for your review on Booking.com, when we stopped giving shuttle service we send you email regarding that and that was on 26th of Feb,so you had plenty time to arrange other option and now you know why we stopped giving this service free of charge, because of people like you
hi there and thanks for choosing A Bernhard and thanks for your review on Booking.com, when we stopped giving shuttle service we send you email regarding that and that was on 26th of Feb,so you had plenty time to arrange other option and n… Show more
Reviewed: 17 June 2025 · Stayed in June 2025
Verified review